Secrets Vallarta Bay Puerto Vallarta

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Fabulous ocean view

    Reviewed by Silly Traveler on Dec 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Fabulous ocean view and pleasant staff (for the most part) make us want to go back. A la carte restaurants were great but we left the French before ordering due to a dark atmosphere and the pushing of the specialty wine list by a very unpleasant waiter. The buffet was good for breakfast but lacked variety at lunch and dinner. We missed not having a "disco" but they did have live bands where you could dance if you wished. Tendency to push the vacation club at arrival but they lay off after that. It was great not to have to wear wrist bands or make reservations for dinner. A real plus! All in all a nice resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    Mario is Phenominal

    Reviewed by Francie on Dec 20, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Went down the week of December 4/17. This was amazing. I really don't have much to complain about (I will tell of the little things that did bother me at the end of the post). We had an awesome time. Our server around the pool bar was Mario, again he was amazing. If I wasn't in his section he always came around to make sure we were doing ok. The preferred lounge had a Phenomenal Bartender Benny that greeted me with a smile and a great coffee first thing in the morning. And Jan in the evening for our late night cocktail. Our housekeeping lady Marlen was good. A couple things were missed but nothing major. Carlos at the pool bar was a hoot to chat with, and he made some great shots too. Now for all those that wonder about the Spa. Monkia was amazing when she came down and gave a sample of what you can get at the spa, it was amazing. We went to the spa and I was so relaxed and refreshed after that. It was a couples massage and Bertha and Maxi were wonderful. I would totally recommend this to all. The server we had at Himitsu was Zaim. He was so wonderful. The BEST server we had at all the restaurants. Now for the little things that did upset me. Our service at the Oceana Restaurant was horrible. We couldn't seem to get a drink or order our food at a reasonable time. Other people were being seated after us and being served food, and drinks before we even ordered anything. I am not one to complain much but that really bothered me. Over all I love this place. Would definitely go back (can't wait actually) and recommend to all.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Absolutely amazing!!

    Reviewed by Melissa on Jan 30, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Amazing hotel 5 stars all the way! Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. I would recommend this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    We would stay here again!!!

    Reviewed by Lee on Dec 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Stayed 10 days at this resort. We booked room deal of the day and we were not disappointed. All of the rooms have an ocean view, higher up will give you amazing views. Food was delicious, my husband is fussy & had no problem finding plenty of food to eat. Entertainment was good, and the staff went out of there way to make sure everyone was having a fun time.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5656 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Time at Secrets!

    Reviewed by fumocasa(Arlington, Texas) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Right when my wife and I arrived at the resort, our room was not ready, but we were served champagne and allowed to indulge in the stellar food and drinks while we waited. The junior suite is great for a couple! The A/C worked well and we were provided with a humidifier. Great walk in shower and jacuzzi tub. Housekeeping was excellent. Overall, the resort has a lively atmosphere, and other guests and staff are always friendly. We enjoyed the crazy game the most. Aldo, Giovanni, Canelo, Rogelio, and others in the entertainment department are always eager to make sure that everyone is having a great time - whether enjoying the activities around the pool area or watching the nightly show! Caleb, who was our poolside waiter, was spectacular! Our favorite show was the Aztec sunset dance in the lobby. We also enjoyed listening to great 80s and Beatles covers from the Black Sheep. Food and drinks are prepared well and ice on the resort is made with purified water. Every time we went to the Market Café, Cesar and Raul would always go the extra mile to make sure everything was delightful. Ask for the Cesar Special if you want a great tequila drink at Market Cafe! Alfonso at Bordeaux was also great! Edgar, the teppanyaki chef at Himitsu (on the Now Amber side) put on a great show and the food was better than any Japanese restaurant that we have been to in America! The Spa can be a little expensive, but it has everything you can ask for - several massages and treatments, a sauna, steam room, pool with various types of water massages, hot tub, cold pool, and a relaxation area with lounge chairs. Teodoro and Martha at the Spa made sure that both my wife and I had a great experience. We definitely want to either come back to Secrets or try out a sister resort!

    Perfect Vacation

    Reviewed by rebelwaltz80(Kent, United Kingdom) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by the friendly staff.Our room was on the 5th floor (1503). It was our 35th Wedding Anniversary and it was so nice to see the staff had decorated our room and we had a banner going across the door to welcome us.Really recommend the ocean view rooms, the large balcony was supplied with two sun loungers and a table with 2 chairs. In the afternoons it got really hot out there right up until 7pm. The interior of the room was faultless, very clean and had everything we would want.Our fridge was daily stocked with bottled beer and soft drinks. The restaurants we tried were all very good, during our weeks stay. We eat at the Italian Restaurant twice and the French Restaurant twice. The Italian was our favourite, excellent choice and all the food is very well presented on the plate.We are not fans of buffet restaurants so we can't comment on those having not tried them. The Asian restaurant was a little disappointing we thought it was a little over spiced (maybe a Mexican influence)?.Just an observation,The French restaurant could do with better lighting as the wonderful food was hidden in the shadows of a dimly lit restaurant. Breakfast options are so varied from healthy fresh fruit and yogurt options to eggs cooked so many ways, there was Spanish Sausages, Argentinian Sausages? and of course Mexican sausages. The live cooking stations will cook to order your omelettes or Mexican eggs.If you want a less formal setting for breakfast Cafe Coco is good for a coffee and a pastry. There is also fresh fruit and yogurts on offer.We tried lunch a couple of times at Oceana really nice views of the resort and the sea. Also Barefoot Grill was good, really nice hot-dogs and burgers that you can enjoy on your sunbeds. The entertainment we saw was very good, we really liked the live band Black Sheep who played a selection of 80's and rock covers. The entertainment staff were all very good at getting people involved in "Crazy Games"! and the many other daily activities available to all guests. We liked the fact the staff would ask if you would like to take part but if you didn't it was no big deal. I wish I could remember all their names to say thank you for making us laugh. A daily newsletter keeps you up to date with what is going on and which restaurants are open for dinner.I booked a 6 hour fishing trip at the hotel through Amstar which was very good, an early start though getting a taxi from the hotel to the Marina at 6am. We left the marina at around 6:30am and whilst it was still very dark the sky was lit up by a spectacular lighting storm going on all round the bay that lasted for around 40 mins. Great mornings fishing off the Islas Marietas,catching 5 fish 2 nice snappers a couple of Parrot Fish and a long silver fish the skipper called a Neon? It looked like a Barracuda with a long mouth with lots of teeth. I did also get lots of bites during the morning you just have to be quick otherwise their gone and so is your bait! Whilst on board the skipper took one of my Snappers removed the fillet and made Ceviche with other ingredients he had brought with him. You can't get fresher than that! We liked the beach although be aware the floor drops away at around just a few steps in to the sea it's over your head. We loved the pool area very relaxing with everything you could wish for close by. We also visited Casino 52, the Casino won!! :-) We hope to return soon. Thank you for giving us such happy lasting memories. x

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Excellent!!!

    Reviewed by G9679XXmiked(Louisiana) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everyone is so helpful, food and drinks were delicious. Jaime VIP concierge as well as Alexandra and Rolando and Noeh very friendly Carmina got us a swim out at the last minute. Capers was our favorite restaurant!!! Everyone here made it their goal to see to every need and it was met beyond our expectations. Members sunset cruise was a blast too!!! Spa service was great. Definitely a 5 star resort experience!!!

    S is for service, not just Secrets

    Reviewed by nelly17202020(New Britain, Connecticut) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort is amazing. Not only is it beautiful but service is king at this facility. The staff couldn't be more helpful or willing to make one's stay as great as possible. Noeh made sure all was well around the pool area. His flair and sweetness really stood out. Aldo, Diego and Rodriego made the exercises at the pool fun, fun, fun. Ah, the pool...one would think based onthe size of the complex that the pools would be crowded. No sir. We enjoyed plenty of room to just hang out but there was fun volleyball and even a foam shoot one afternoon. What a blast. Jaime made sure our dining experiences were top notch. The various restaurant on site serve a variety of taste buds and all the food was excellent. The Market Cafe restaurant became our breakfast meeting place and Cesar accommodated our every need. By the third day, Cesar knew I was the tea drinker in the group and had the teapot in place. A teapot! Yes! (Only tea drinkers will appreciate how important that is.) This place is so attentive to details that they have a falcon patrolling to scare away birds. No bird poop on any of the loungers or tables!! Speaking of loungers, we never had to worry about availability. No trooping out at 8am to throw a towel on some to "reserve" them. Loungers and thirsty, huge towels were always available. We took a free ride on a Hobie Cat and also on some kayaks and Jaime took good care of us. The waiters at the pool couldn't have been nicer. Again, service seemed to be the mantra of the day. Every day. Entertainment at night was very good. Black sheep band performed a variety of styles very well. I especially like their Beatles tribute. You need water shoes if you're going into the ocean. The beach is nothing much but the various pools more than make up for that.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Fun fun fun

    Reviewed by nazyc4(San Jose, California) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Secrets is a wonderful resort with an amazing restaurants, friendly staff, excellent entertainments , clean and wonderful service. The good thing about this resort is at the same resort with Now amber. It means you can use pools and restaurants at both facilities. Secret had a wonderful buffet, which I highly recommend for breakfast and lunch. Restaurants are great at pool side for lunch. It has a very good spa with a lot of different affordable packages. Entertainment group are amazing. They keep everyone busy with different activities. Do not forget about foam pool party.... it was amazing experience. They have casino inside the hotel and during the day, they also provided casino table in the pool. Black sheep is the live band that entertainment everyone with many different music. I would like to say special thank to Alejandra for her positive energy, she always had smile on her face and greeting everyone very friendly. I need to mentioned that she is a very good dancer. I highly recommended this resort if you are looking to have fun at the wonderful atmosphere.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX