Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    A

    Love this place and plan to keep going back!

    Reviewed by Astrogal on Nov 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We love this resort, have been there twice already and are planning a third visit. The grounds are beautiful, tropical, and lush with tame peacocks and a family of flamingos roaming around which we just love! There are enough restaurants that you could eat at a different one every night for a week, and the food is good - not necessarily 5 star chefs here, but really tasty and satisfying. We have never gotten sick there from the food, just got the runs from the water even though they give you bottled water and you brush your teeth with it, but it hasn't ruined anything. That's not the fault of the resort but the whole island. The biggest selling feature by far for us is the amazing pool. It's huge and winds throughout the resort, and it never feels crowded. Even on a full sunny day there are still quiet spots to be had. The shows are ok and I can't judge the beach as we were always by the pool. Can't judge the kids or teen clubs though the teen club looks pretty mediocre from what we saw. They have burgers, hot dogs and ice cream by the pool every day, as well as a fresh fruit stand. The rooms are clean and bright. The place is not highly sophisticated and not really 5 star quality but that's part of the island charm of it and they certainly try their best. It's fine and beautiful and you will love it! Because of the pool and the grounds we love it and would keep going back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    Not really "Excellente"

    Reviewed by RT on Feb 13, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Our families first time to DR. Have been to the Caribbean before-last year. Pros- Property grounds maintained well, some of the staff really customer focused-Luis and Ramon at the core zone kids/ teen area , Jessica Coco Cafe , Fior Spa , Emmanuel server World Cafe -great job Food was really good, lots of variety, clean, food displays were good, specialty restaurants were good. Good effort by the entertainment crew for the daily shows/performances-see attached pics Free WiFi in room- not well advertised. Beach was good, some rocky patches-beach shoes would help, water was clear, hardly any sea-weed, cleaned daily Hotel transportation company was good, the rep should have been closer/more visible as guests leave the baggage claim, several other reps approached us before WJ designated rep confirmed our arrival-very unorganized Cons- The hotel does look worn, the rooms clearly need an upgrade. They were clean, but the fixtures were coming apart, our bed post was separated from the bed, the built in safe key pad was cracked, the bathrooms had inadequate lighting, and the bath tub was really high to get in and out. Also there was half a glass in the tub no shower curtain , so most of the time the water was on the bathroom floor. Asked for a change of room- Building 3 given- the fridge was broken-however was repaired quite promptly DO NOT REDEEM RESORT CREDITS-complete waste of time. On check in you are given a card which you take to a set of tables to the left of the check-in desk for redemption. This is the Time-share staffs desk, so once you get there, they start with how beneficial this would be for you, quite persistent. The resort credit doesn't work for everything on property-least of all the spa-WJ should work with the property to have the credit given at the front desk itself. Most of the general staff were not very friendly-staff pass you by in the corridors and hardly say anything-house keepers included

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 13853 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Week Long 16th Birthday Party - Success!!!!

    Reviewed by Tania L() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Carolina received all 18 of us with open arms and made us feel so welcomed. Bell boys quickly dropped our suitcases to our rooms and we then had our first feast at the buffet. The food and beverages were all very good and no one in our party got ill during the entire week. The location and hotel amenities were exceptional specially for all our teens. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool, the beach and all the activites and events. Our only complaint - check out! That was a rough hour and a half.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Vacationing with my StrokeSurvivor mother. Who has right sided weakness.

    Reviewed by Denise T() on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This is NOT handicap accessible! Please know that they do NOT have handicap bathrooms. We had to pack a portable shower chair and suction cup handle bar. We also had a long walk to dinner. So we needed to rent a scooter to get around. The workers are Excellent as are their service. There are other resorts that are handicap accessible, had I did my research better. You can make it work as we did! It is just a lesson for me to ask all the right questions. Knowing Spanish is a plus. Google translate could be a very useful tool for you.

    Amazing Experience

    Reviewed by JessicaBMullins(Hampton, Virginia) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This place is absolutely beautiful. The pictures online don’t do it justice. There were shows and a bunch of food options. There were also several pools and a beautiful soft sand beach. Plenty of chairs and beach towels to go around. We had servers take our drink orders everywhere we sat. Service was quick. Tons of top shelve liquor choices. Every drink I had was delicious. We had one bartender, Victor, make us his “Victor Special.” It was sooo good. I have to get his recipe. He was so good at mixing drinks and always had a smile on his face. He served us drinks as we waited for our table and invited us back the next day for his special sangria.... which was also AMAZING! We also had wonderful concierge service. Debei helped get us set up with excursions. He was so nice and super friendly. We saw him later in the day and he took the effort to come over and say hello to us again. It felt very welcoming. All in all, it was just the greatest vacation. Great food, great relaxation, and great people.

    Not just good...Excelente!

    Reviewed by KarenS234(Cambridge, United Kingdom) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here from 5th-16th August and couldn't have chosen a better place for our holiday as a family of 3. The resort was beautiful, clean, tidy, well looked after and just stunning. The garden maintenance team work so hard keeping the grounds immaculate. The food was fantastic, we couldn't fault the food as you could have a different thing every day. The buffet was huge, with a brilliant variety of food... trust me, there's no way you could go hungry at this resort! There was air con in all but two of the restaurants and the ones without air con had fans so you are kept cool. Everyone works so hard here and the staff made our holiday. From the morning greeting "Hola!" to drinks in the evening, all of the staff work so hard to make Dreams Punta Cana an amazing experience for their guests. The pool and beach are stunning and our room (8202) was beautiful and kept so well. Any questions please do send me a message as I'd love to answer them. We could not fault our stay and would highly recommend going there. We would 100% return!

    Honeymoon

    Reviewed by 103kerryh(Leeds, United Kingdom) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Amazing hotel for our honeymoon. The staff couldn’t do enough for us. Food was the best I’ve ever had on a holiday before. We didn’t upgrade to preferred and I feel we didn’t miss out by not being preferred. We were greeted with a honeymoon banner on our door and a fruit basket with a Champaign breakfast which we could request any day to suit us. We were also given a free massage at the spa which was amazing. The pool was amazing, was always clean and the grounds of the hotel were well looked after. I would definitely recommended a trip to coco bongos and soana island we had a brilliant time on both these trips which we booked through the tour guides at the resort.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX