Occidental Punta Cana

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    H

    Loved the beaches and the pools. Enjoyed the service by the chefs, servers and the bartenders. Management staff needs to be improved.

    Reviewed by Huzaifa Khanani on Mar 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    The bar and buffet service was great. Our room smelled really bad and they didnt do anything about it. They didnt change our room nor did they reply to us when we called the front desk. The wifi is a bit expensive and doesnt work properly as well. The room keys kept malfunctioning as well as the room lights. But the pool and beach were amazing. Overall i feel that the management staff performs poorly. But the servers, bartenders and chefs did a splendid job to keep the guests happy. Personally, because of my bad experiences, i wouldnt go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4692 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Beautiful resort

    Reviewed by Peter R(Coplay) on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have been coming to this resort for a few years and it is always a great stay. The staff is awesome, Everyone from the gardener to the Hotel manager care about your stay and work very hard to make you happy. Gabriella, Andy, Willie & Edwin at the Royal Level Beach Bar always have a smile on their face and enjoy interacting with the guests, Sammy, Hippolto, Vladimir, Diego, Carlos and the rest of the staff in the Royal Level restaurant work hard all the time, they go out of their way to accomodate evryone and anyone who has special needs. Ray and his staff at The Royal Level check in are wonderful and always have time to answer any questions you may have. Aris, Karina and Naty in The First Club are always a welcome sight with a smile and a hug. Rooms are exceptionally clean. We will definitely be back!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing week in Paradise!

    Reviewed by philippascott(Bournemouth, United Kingdom) on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Occidental PC is great value for money & I would definitely go back! Plenty of pool options (some with a more party atmosphere and others with a chill out vibe). We ever had any issues trying to get a sunlounger & the white sand beach is stunning - lots of sun loungers & palm trees. There are several food and beverage outlets - mexican, Italian, taco, snack bar & the main buffet had so many options to choose from. Really lovely spa & the treatments were reasonably priced (massages from $50 upwards). There is also a small gym (a little hard to find as located within the spa itself & no signage) but when I did find it, it was never too busy The rooms are clean, spacious & air conditioned. Mini bar restocked with bottled water & fizzy drinks daily. We were in block 22 which is close to the restaurant, theatre & main pool. You can hear the noise from the theatre in evening from this block so if you don't want to be disturbed by evening noise I would suggest requesting a block away from the main area & closer to the beach. The resort is the perfect size & you could walk everywhere. If you prefer, there are caddy's that can transport you. Lots of maintenance & cleaning staff which meant the resort was clean & tidy! There were a lot of security patrolling which made us feel very safe. Overall everyone was really friendly and accommodating! WiFi is an additional charge unless you are in the Royal Club - $10 for a 1 day pass. Thanks Occidental Punta Cana for a great holiday!

    Good stay

    Reviewed by Nomad777555() on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Love this resort. It’s not a mega resort where you get lost. You can actually meet people from around the world. Being smaller you run into the same folks .First club area pool is too hot and needs a Airiatior to cool pool down.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    We were ok with the appearance of the hothe service was med at best. And for a pool bar to constantly be out of alcohol

    Reviewed by Flyer24127402182() on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We were ok with the appearance of most of the resort, but the service was poor. And for the pool bar to be constantly out of alcohol was completely unacceptable. The only decent alcohol was at the first club. We won’t be coming back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Fifth Visit since 2013

    Reviewed by Lakeladybeth(Littleton, North Carolina) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort has a Beautiful beach, the grounds are kept immaculate, the rooms are clean and the bed is very comfortable. We found most of the staff to be very friendly. This was the first time we did the Royal Level. Worth every additional penny.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX