Now Onyx Punta Cana

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Amazing Resort, loved our vacation it was a TROPICAL PARADISE!

    Reviewed by Canadian Couple on Sep 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Now Onyx was everything we had expected, property was very very clean and the location was perfect. The Beach was a little disappointing but to no fault of the resort, it's just weather that has been bringing in the seaweed but the workers were working around the clock cleaning and trucking it away. The Staff at the Resort were exceptional, worked very hard and met your every need. Very friendly and always there to chat or get you something. We remarked that everytime your glass or tea/coffee cup was empty they were right there to refill it. We will definitely be returning to this resort, sooner rather than later.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4197 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Family vacation

    Reviewed by Wendyscholten() on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved the resort! Very clean and staff was very friendly. Chris and Tom with entertainment were outstanding. Simon at the swim up bar is A+ ~ Jenny serving at the pool area is amazing. The buffet was smaller than other resorts but from what I understand they are working on that. They were doing construction during our stay but it never bothered us, occasionally we could hear pounding.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Just okay

    Reviewed by TeresaC906(Franklin, Tennessee) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I have stayed a few Sandals resorts before but this was my first time at a Now resort. The room had a strange smell and was in need of renovations. There were some stains on the furniture. The food was decent though not amazing (aside from the French restaurant). As a plus, the ac worked very well in our room. The pools were nice as was the seating at the beach. BUT we were being accosted all day long by different vendors while at the pool or on the beach. I didn't want to go on an excursion, buy jewelry, get my photo with a monkey, etc. It was over the top and very annoying. I haven't experienced this before while on a resort property (Jamaica, Cayman Islands, or St. Thomas)...only at a cruise port. I am not sure why the resort allows so many outside vendors to continually bother you. I wouldn't go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Great family vacation

    Reviewed by Local760(Greenville, South Carolina) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We traveled with my family of 4, my wife's sister and 2 daughters and my wife's father. Everyone was looked after by our butler and received everything requested. The food throughout the resort was very good, French was probably our favorite. We have been to the Dominican many times and have stayed at 5-6 resorts and this was one of our favorites.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    best time ever

    Reviewed by Road50098614772() on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I had a great time. we felt totally safe, comfortable, received great service and will be returning next year. Cannot wait. We met some of the nicest people. Our room and the amenities were great.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Preferred Club for the win

    Reviewed by ggljp(Fort Worth, Texas) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This resort is great for both a romantic getaway or a family vacation. When you pull up to the resort you are stopped at the gate to ensure that you have a reservation with them before they even let you in which made me feel very comfortable with all the latest news from the DR. There are two separate check-ins we were staying in the 'preferred club' part of the resort so we went to that check in and it had a bar and snacks set up for all of the arrivals and departures. The checkin process was easy they had us sign some agreements then showed to the room stopping along the way to show us some highlights of the resort. We had one of the rooms with the private pool, I highly recommend this option. With this pool we hardly ever left the room. The servers came around to our pool and took orders and were very attentive. The room itself was great there were a couple of things that i would have changed. 1. there was no conditioner, so please don't forget to pack you own. 2. the floors are really slippery so be careful getting in and out of the pool outside. i feel like they needed more rugs especially one coming in from outside. The Food Being an all-inclusive resort i never expect there to be amazing food and this holds true to this hotel. I feel like they did try to make the best food they could but feeding the masses is hard work. Nothing i tasted was very fresh even the fruit wasn't very good, but we didn't come here for the food. We ordered room service a couple of times and each time we did they forgot something we ordered, again no big deal because there was plenty of food but worth noting. The Service Service was great everywhere we went. The bartenders never let our drinks go empty and the severs at the restaurants were very attentive. Every employee always had a smile on their faces and were happy to assist in anyway possible. The only time we had 'slow' service was at breakfast one day but even that wasnt a huge deal he came right over after he noticed we were there. The Spa I had a massage booked and it was okay. Before hand you get to enjoy the sauna and different types of pools which was fun. The massage itself wasn't worth the expensive price. I had to ask her twice for more pressure and i am not sure she understood because it felt like she was just rubbing in the oils and not really giving much of a massage. The Resort They had the resort split into two sides, the main side and the 'preferred club' side. Like i said earlier we stayed on the preferred club side and it was MUCH quieter. The main side was more families and events and games going on all day long. We walked past it a couple of times and it looked like a lot of fun with dancing and music going. The preferred club side had no music and everyone there was just relaxing by the pool. It just depends on what type of vacation you are looking for. The Beach The beach was clean and had plenty of chairs out there for sun bathing. They also had kayaks and SUP boards that you could use for free. Plenty of activity on the beach if you wish to spend your time there. i liked this resort and i would stay here again if we ever came back.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX