VIK hotel Arena Blanca & Cayena Beach

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    s

    Not a great first impression, but enjoyed this hotel overall

    Reviewed by sfseibel on Jan 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Family vacation 3 kids (11,10,6) We learned to enjoy this resort. Great pool, fantastic beach. Basic amenities in room (one towel & pillow per person, no clock, no dresser, 5 hangers in closet, 2 chairs on balcony for a family suite). Room was always clean and lots of bottled water placed for us in our mini fridge. Buffet was great - kids found lots to eat, adults enjoyed the variety. We were approached at many points for upgrades, tours, services etc. at the resort and on the beach, but never harassed - people take no for an answer. Kids mini disco each evening on the stage was a great highlight for the kids. Glad we brought pool toys/floating mats/masks for the kids - kept them entertained for hours at the pool. Read thorough the reviews, bring some extra supplies, create reasonable expectations in your mind and this is a very good budget-friendly family resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Lobby needs TLC - deceiving web site

    Reviewed by Debbie on Feb 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    The advertisement is very deceiving. There are only 2 alacartes at one time. Main Buffet was closed and due to open by end of week Feb 24/2017 but remember thats dominican time . 2 restaurants for an 11 day week is repetitive but the food is very good. They used one of the restaurants and converted to the Buffet. Was considerable smaller and you sat with strangers most of the time. Fridge in room you have to pay $75 for the week one time fill that is not on this site either. site also has to be updated. very old pictures. If the price is right i would recommend but please note lobby is very depressing when you first see it. rest of resort is great. it just needs a little TLC I would return if price was right and to see the knew buffet we couldn't use.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    f

    French speaking and smoking resort

    Reviewed by froggygirl on Mar 25, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great location! Nice beach! The staff was not accommodating at all. We paid for a King bed and got two twin beds and they never changed us after we complained right away. Oceanview was more like ocean peek. Could hardly see the ocean. Food in the buffet was really good and a nice variety every day. The a la carte restaurants were not very good at all. This resort was a majority of French speaking people. If you are a non-smoker, don't go here. People smoke every where, except two sections of the buffet. I would never go back to this resort :

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    This resort is for smoking and french speaking people.

    Reviewed by Joyce Reitsma on Mar 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    The VIK Hotel Arena Blanca was a good hotel but it has the majority of French speaking people that go there and they are catered to. The smoking at the resort was ridiculous! It was every where, except two sections of the buffet. We paid for a king bed and got two twins and they never changed us to another room. The hotel was clean and the food was good in the buffet with quite a variety every day. The a la carte restaurants were not good at all. I would go back to the Dominican but not this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3802 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Vacation!

    Reviewed by imlvd(Cambridge, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and I traveled with friends for 10 days. Check-in and Check-out was quick and efficient. Front Desk always helpful when needed. We had an issue with room keys not working. Stayed in Building 5. Very close to the beach and snack shack. The grounds were well maintained. Our room was very clean and great view of the ocean. No reservations required at a-la-carts. Mexican was the best. Buffet had a good variety of food with Stir-Fry and Pasta Stations. Drinks are good. Constant warm breeze and sunshine during the days. Pool area was beautiful but we spent most of the time on the beach which was also beautiful. Beach went on forever. A lot of seaweed on the beach during our stay but staff did their best to keep it clean. Powder white sand and lots of palapas. Signs said no reserving chairs but it was not enforced. Loved the Snack Shack! Didn't appreciate being constantly approached by Guest Services in the lobby and at Buffet entrances to get VIP. Nightly entertainment but it needs some work. If your looking for a calm quiet relaxing vacation, I would recommend the VIK.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Last time.

    Reviewed by Margaret B(Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    First, they weren't going to let us in because we didn't print off the resort voucher. Really? They had our payment and names but a piece of paper was going to matter? Got that straightened out and got to our 3rd story room. No elevator. We are senior citizens with bad knees. AC didn't work. We did get them to change us to the main floor on day 3. Liquor and beer watered down. Vendors drove us crazy. They would follow us and insist on telling us about their wares. The no reservation allowed shelters at the beach would have towels over them at 7:30 in the morning with no-one using them until much later. Beach was beautiful! Not all staff were friendly. Hey, we are paying for this vacation and keeping you employed. I think we will go else where next year.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-3

    Good resort for families or people preferring a quiet vacation.

    Reviewed by Kim A() on Apr 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My husband and I just returned a few days ago from the Arena Blanca. For the price we paid I would say it was a fairly good experience, more like 3 stars rather than 4. We went mostly for the beach and the ocean, which is just beautiful! Even though it says no reservations on beach lounges, you need to put your towels and maybe a magazine or something on the lounge chairs in the morning so you will have a seat. The food was okay, but not wonderful. The fruit was delicious, and the food that was made to order, like stir fry, was best. If you go to the Mexican restaurant, have something like the fajitas, which are cooked to order. Italian restaurant, blah. The churros at breakfast in the main buffet restaurant are very good! Thought the coffee in the machines in the lobby were actually better than the coffee in the Mirador (buffet restaurant). Drinks were horrible! I'm not a wine snob, but the wine was terrible! The bartenders are very nice, but they can only work with what they're given. Sometimes a tip will get you a somewhat better drink. If you order something like a white or black Russian you might actually get some alcohol. Our room was great. Very comfy bed, nice little balcony, AC, and fan. We were in building #3, the superior ocean view. I wouldn't classify it as a superior ocean view, but more of a superior pool view. You could see bits of the ocean. Maid service was very good and very friendly. Even if you don't speak Spanish, just smiling and saying 'hola' to people goes a long way. They do appreciate the effort. This is not a four or five-star resort, but I feel that the staff that work here appreciate their jobs. We did not do any excursions, so I can't comment on that. Tips: The closest bathroom to the beach is at the back of the Mexican restaurant, on the beach side. Don't be shy about asking the housekeeping staff for water every day. DO NOT drink the water from the tap. If you are not interested in what any vendors are offering, simply say "No gracias." This is a polite way of saying, "No thank you."

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Wouldn’t return

    Reviewed by Adam C() on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We are current guest at the VIC Arena Blanca and the resort is so sub par I couldn’t wait to write the review. I will preference this by saying the resort isn’t horrible and you get what you pay for but you should still expect some sort of quality. Food: the food is average at best. Not a single meal you would repeat and you won’t get sick. Probably. Oh and the drinks are pathetic. Service: a few people are nice but overall no one who works here seems to enjoy their job and your time will not be valued. It only took an hour waiting to check in and if one more person tries to sell us on a time share we will go nuts. Beach: the beach although busy is very nice and finding a good spot is fairly easy. The water is clear. Grounds: this could be a very nice place but it is run down. Many people will tell you it’s part of being old and that is true but it’s not hard to paint the wall with pain peeling off or trim up some dead bushes. There is very little upkeep or pride taken in this resort and it shows. Rooms. The rooms are simple. The bathroom is nice. Again the upkeep is poor. The beds are horrible. Overall: we’ve been to many all inclusive resorts. We would not return and will make sure our friends don’t waste their money.

    The Motel 6 of all inclusive resorts

    Reviewed by junebug2017() on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    4th time in the DR. I've stayed at Majestic and Dreams and once in Cabarete in a condo. (that was the most fun). Thought I would try this resort for some crazy reason. I booked through Apple which was fine. On our 1st night, we slept in a king bed that seemed to be only a box spring. When people say beds are not comfortable, that is an understatement! Room was shoddy. We moved to another room, a little better, at least bed was ok. From the very start, this resort has a dozen or more people from dawn to around midnight milling around the place grabbing you to "invite you to a special breakfast, lunch, whatever. This is a ploy for a timeshare at the Cayena side. When you say no to one and walk away, another grabs you, day after day. They are relentless!! I was approached about 15 times in 5 days. There are also day vendors and excursion reps selling their wares all day long. Every time you walk by they bug you. I've been to DR several times and understand this sales style, BUT only off resort areas. It is one big sales pitch all day. There are no waiters here at the pool or by the beach. Bars are "weird" the people serving are often completely disengaged. Takes your drink order and passes it along to you (with the exception of the reception bar) Avoid the beach bar, the guy doesn't even look at you. Watered down drinks in the entire resort. Although I knew there was no swim up bar... I missed having one. There is not a lot to do here, a boring resort at which to drink and eat. Food is mediocre. If traveling with Apple Vacays DO NOT be fooled to take the "free trip" that Apple rep offers you to see coffee, cigar rolling and taste local rum. It is a setup. They take you 3 miles down the road to a small shopping area and leave you there for an indeterminable amount of time. You go from shop to shop, all the same stuff. They even put a tag on you when you get there, like herding sheep. If you turn one down, he calls the other merchants and they all come out of their shops to stare you down. We had one man follow us through the parking lot. If you take the buggy trip, do the one that has the cave swim stop etc. The other one at the adventure with the "waterfall" stop is a joke. It is a horrible buggy ride on dust roads, stopping for a sales pitch at a local "village" culminating in a half hour or so sales pitch at the end for buying pictures..... No waterfall, no rum tasting as advertised. Meanwhile, back at the VIK....the girls in the mini-mart are snots who never smile and often follow you around as if you are there to rip them off. I could go on but you get the idea. Please don't go here unless you understand that this is a basic report where you will not be able to relax and have someone at least get you a drink while sitting around the pool. Pluses: Close to airport, chambermaid works very hard Minuses: missing everything else you might want on a nice trip. This one has soured me on the DR, it makes me sad

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-1

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX