Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    G

    Great Place. Don't Let the Negative Reviews Deter You.

    Reviewed by Guest2223 on Apr 29, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    I read over quite a few reviews of the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum from various sources before deciding to book a vacation there. Here is what I thought of the resort while I was there. Food: Yes, the buffet is pretty standard and only has slight changes per day. That is normal for most of not all resorts. The food was excellent and had no issues during my stay. The A-la-carts are always difficult to book. What I noticed was that a number of people will book and not show. If you don't get the one you want, you can always take a chance and wait for an empty spot at the restaurant. But please, dress appropriately for them. Beaches: Yes, there was some seaweed when we first arrived. It was cleaned up in the morning of the third day we were there. There was no smell and you can easily walk over it to get to the water. It was no big deal. Animals: Yes, there are animals there. You are in the jungle and so there are lizards, birds, etc. most of the areas are open and so yes, the animals can wander in there as well. It is no big deal. Rooms: I was very surprized at how well the rooms were kept. The one we were in did not show it's age at all. Clean and all was functional. Overall, I highly recommend this resort and will definitely be staying there again. The staff was excellent and very helpful. Additionally, tip the staff! They work hard and deserve it. Many of the staff there went out of there way to help with directions, free rides, etc. Amazing how many people did not tip at all. Regardless of whether it is all inclusive or not, you would always tip in your native location. Why not there?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    We LOVE Grand Bahia Principe Tulum. The staff at the swim up bar always friendly and the waiters at the Internation Buffet were great.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Nov 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our 3rd trip to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum and we will be back again next October with family to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We Love Westjet and whenever possible we fly with them. The Resort was very busy this time but the service was still excellent. The location is excellent as you are close to sightseeing tours or perhaps a shopping trip into Playa Del Carmen..For the most part the staff was great, however, we didn't find the people on the reception desk to be very friendly..got more help from the fellows at the front that help unload your baggage. We were able to accomplish what we set out to do getting things arranged for next October and having an enjoyable vacation once again at the resort. Next year will be vacation Number 4 to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    We are going back. Loved it

    Reviewed by Mona on Sep 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The staff were amazing. From the cart drivers, to the wait staff to the room cleaners. The staff at check in were fantastic and very helpful

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    This resort is awesome..staff went beyond what you'd expect to accomodate your requests. Best place in our view to stay in the Tulum area.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Jan 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    We LOVE the Grand Bahia Principe Resorts and have stayed at GBP Tulum 3 times and plan to go back again this October and again next October. Great location, the staff are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. Lot of variety as far as food and beverages are concerned. Great location to go exploring ..Like I said we just love it there. Would hightly recommend it for family, friends or just two people. GREAT is all I can Say

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Home away from home

    Reviewed by Shanzsato on Sep 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This resort is my home away from home. My whole family has been many times including my wedding in the Tulum Gazebo. Amazing staff and some of the friendliest people I have ever met. Before coming here we were the type of people who always tried new places and never went to the same place twice. Since our first trip here in 2009 we have not gone anywhere else and now are planning out 16th trip.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Families will love it here!

    Reviewed by ChristineK on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This property has so much for families! I loved how clean it was, loved the pool and beach! Lots of watersports! Close to Tulum!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    Y

    If your looking for a nice resort, KEEP LOOKING. This is not for you!

    Reviewed by Yellowdukk on Feb 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    It all started within the first 30 minutes after arriving. We checked into the hotel and immediately went to guest services to book our A La Cart dinners. We did our research and decided beforehand what we wanted, but to our surprise there were no decent reservation times available anytime during our entire stay. We could have booked for a 10pm dinner but who wants to eat that late! We had to settle for whatever was left, which wasn't much. note: there were never more then 50% of the tables used when we walked by We soon learned that certain travel companies allow pre booking of meals but WestJet wasn't one of them. It just went downhill from there. 2 hours later we were settled into our room. Not by choice, but to find a room that didn't have 2 twin 4 post beds or a hole in the ceiling and water all over the floor. Front desk were little to no help in resolving this issue and persisted to try and make us stay in these rooms for a few days and then move. Not happening! Finally off to bed but to only be awaken at 2am with a room at 13 degrees. The A/C was broken and wouldn't shut off. We decided to just turn the unit off and on as needed for the week instead of moving again. Lets just say that this was just the start of our horrible holiday. It didn't get any better throughout the week but we did make the best of it. It's a safe bet that we will never be back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    not impressed!

    Reviewed by KelliHeikel on Apr 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Went for my best friends wedding, paid for an upgrade to a larger room to accommodate my small child. Only to find out that this is a scam and there actually is no upgrade and all 30 people that came with us had the exact same room and didn't need to pay. I notified the hotel staff and they simply said that yes we paid for it and everyone that was with us must have been upgraded for free. Then they told me to speak with the rep on site. He basically told me you pay for what you get and too bad.... The hotel staff were not friendly, rooms need many upgrades, lights not working, mold in the room and an awful smell. Some days we did not get towels even though we tipped everyday. We also did not get face cloths and always running out of toilet paper. We were there for 10 days and we were unable to book an a la carte which was included in our price. Eating at the buffet for 10 days became very tiresome as it was always the same food, it would have been nice to eat something different. By the last few days, my baby wouldn't eat anything and looking at the buffet literally made my stomach turn. I would like to mention that my best friend's wedding was absolutely gorgeous. The service was amazing, the food was great...I was very impressed by that as I am planning my own wedding at this time. Ceasar was fantastic and the service at the wedding was superb. This service would have been nice to have more than just one day. Also Jordan in the buffet was the best server there and we enjoyed him very much. The grounds of the hotel were well kept and beautiful. I absolutely love westjet but this trip has left a sour taste in my mouth and this make me very sad.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 14719 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Nice Resort, Great people!

    Reviewed by Excursion41741828608() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The staff was fantastic. They try very hard to give you a great experience. The villa we stayed in had some intermittent issues with no hot water and low water pressure. However, they did work hard to fix when I surfaced the concern. Very hot and humid in June and July... likely August too.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    the best place EVER.

    Reviewed by charlotte c() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    recently went on holiday here with the boyfriend and it is the best holiday that owe have ever been on. The place itself was incredible, there is so much to do for people of all ages; including a pop up cinema for kids on the odd evening. The staff made the holiday. All the staff from bar tenders to the people that clean the rooms are so friendly and seem genuinely happy to help but the entertainment team were the stars of the resort. Shout out to Eduardo and Johnathon who were extremely bubbly, funny, attentive and very good at their jobs. We honestly couldn't recommend this resort anymore, whether looking for a family holiday, a get away with your partner or just going with friends. We haven't stopped raving about it since we got back. We cannot wait to return!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    FANTASTIC SERVICE

    Reviewed by stormy000(North Yorkshire, United Kingdom) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My partner and I just enjoyed 10 days here and had a lovely time! The service was genuinely fantastic, nothing was too much! I always did my best to tip the staff as they work hard long hours and deserve it! Food was great 99% of the time! However the first night I was quite alarmed to see a chicken kebab been used in a live station (top was raw dripping onto cooked at the bottom) I informed the hotel of this and they contacted me personally. This was my only issue with the food. The Italian night was fantastic and did an AMAZING roast pig! Hotel, pools, room clean, bed was enormous and extremely comfortable! Unfortunately the beach on the hotel has a huge seaweed problem! The staff work tirelessly from noon till night trying to fix this problem. This is not the hotels problem by any means but it did affect my holiday as I do love a nice beach. I do feel the staff try to provide entertainment in other areas though! THE ONLY REASON why I’m giving this rating 4 and not 5 stars... is because of the POOR DOLPHINS! They kept 6 dolphins in a TINY pool. Anyone who does simple research into dolphins will know this is highly cruel. The dolphins were clearly depressed and when not doing shows the dolphins just floated lifelessly at the bottom of the pool (the depth is knee height) if you google this behaviour it’s a sign the dolphins are severely distressed and depressed and can lead to death. The holiday and this hotel was so great that seeing the dolphins in such a poor state really put a damper on the experience. I would of returned time and time again, but PLEASE grand Bahia principe tulum stop making money off the dolphins in the pool x

    Disappointed by Bahia

    Reviewed by ukblade(UK) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We have stayed at alot of Bahia hotels over the years as we have always had superb service, however this years stay was very disappointing from a customer service point of view. Room was great, sea view as requested and very clean. The complex is huge but we already knew this as we have been to Coba section previously. Food was plentiful and great choice and staff always cheerful and happy to help, so in a nutshell the hotel was great and what we fully expected. Now here are the 2 negative points on this occasion, first is not an issue or problem to be honest, as returning guests from many stays we have previously been recognized as vip, doesn't get you anything extra as such just a token gift, however not this time and when i asked about the reason for this it took the whole 2 weeks to be informed that they lost my details in their system and only have me down as visiting twice before. If i could provide dates of every trip i have made to a Bahia hotel over the last 20+ years they will sort for me. Needless to say i didn't bother with it being my last day and not having all the details with me. Now for the bigger issue during our stay, we are pool people and stay out for the majority of the day. During this visit on our second week early one afternoon a buggy turned up with a number of tables around where we sat so we thought this was for showcooking or BBQ. People were forced to move as more and more tables arrived and staffto set up, people were literally told to move to make space, including a gentleman with 2 walking sticks and clearly having mobility problems. I had seen enough so we just packed up and went for a walk, on our way round i was surprised to see that the set up was actually for a wedding party and not for people around the pool, so from 13:00 people were evicted from a quarter of the pool area for a private function, no notices were placed in the morning or reasonable notice or explanation from any member of staff. I did speak to the customer services manager regarding this and he did apologise for the way the tables were rushed out, however also stated that a wedding party takes priority of standard guests, as one of these 'standard' paying guests i found this comment a little wrong. After i pointed this out he quickly offered me 2 free tickets to the mexican show which i politely declined. This has tarnished the brand for myself and will not be heading back to a Bahia hotel again anytime soon.

    Great vacation in a nice area of Mexico

    Reviewed by SuwanneeSong(Live Oak, Florida) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    With everything you're reading nowadays about the dangers of vacationing in Mexico, we were relieved to find this area seemed fine when we visited for a week in May 2018. That being said, we did stay at the resort after dark and do our "excursions" in the daytime. We were in one of the units of Bahia Principe Tulum within easy walking distance to the beach which was nice. As we strolled along the sidewalks towards the beach or restaurants, we were surprised to see the local wildlife that we hadn't expected to see, out in the open. The capybara and large iguanas were out almost everytime, and sometimes you'd even see a coatimundi dash out of the vegetation. As members of the Privilege Club we had golf carts at our beck and call, and able to visit the special restaurants every night if we wanted, so maybe our service experience might have been not the norm, but I don't think so. The staff was really nice and accommodating and when I asked for a foam pad to go on top of the mattress, they promptly took care of it. We enjoyed the good food (well presented) and the buffet was varied and well stocked (don't expect to lose weight on this vacation) The location was good for various outings we undertook such as visiting Atchen Chen (?) Park and Xel-ha. Thoroughly enjoy the trip and will likely return in the future.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX