Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort
    6. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort review

    What to expect (based on 11115 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A tale of two rooms

    Reviewed by oriahlee(charlottesville) on Aug 17, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I've been a little slow in writing my review. I think this was the fourth time i've visited the Rivera Maya and stayed at an all-inclusive resort. I upgraded my vacation and booked the trip via bookit.com which is now defunct. I stayed in the Laguna Villa Suites room #6032 in Feb 2020 just before the shutdowns from covid began happening. I traveled and checked in solo and my boyfriend met up with me three days into my trip. The villas are amazing. There was champagne waiting for me, the mini fridge was stocked, and there were a few bottles of liquor in my room upon arrival. Check-in was quick because the villa guests are given priority check-in. The room was immaculate and exactly as pictured in their advertisements. The concierge, i believe her name was Connie, at the villa pool cabana was amazing and did a great job with my dinner reservations. The villas are definitely worth the upgrade in price. You have easy access to dinner reservations, premium liquor, and breakfast in the Chill Out restaurant (which is right next to the beach and has a great view) is included rather than charged as an a la carte. I'm primarily vegetarian but will eat fish while on vacation (which makes me pescatarian but you may not be familiar with that word) and found plenty of things to enjoy. I only at at a buffet the morning we were checking out and it was your average all-inclusive food. My favorite restaurant was Miso (asian) and i ate there twice. Overall, the villa accommodations were great. It was nice to have an "adult only" space and pool. I would highly recommend booking this class room. The food at the resort was about average. The noted exceptions were Miso and Chill Out (which made a wonderful smoked salmon eggs benedict); both were what i would classify as "very good." In the villa class of rooms, you get top shelf liquor at the bars and the cocktails all around the resort were above average for an all-inclusive. My boyfriend arrived three days after me. We couldn't figure out how to create a reservation with different arrival days so he booked a separate room in the lowest room class which i believe was labeled as a "junior suite." His room number was 6032. The nice thing about his room was that it was close to the beach but i would describe the room as "tired" and perhaps in need of a refresh. The decor was much more dated than my suite. It was clean and serviceable but by the time i saw his room, i was a bit spoiled. Now for the strange parts of the stay.... I arrived alone and during the three days before my boyfriend arrived, i think i was asked "where is your husband?" at least 40 times. When i reserved a pool cabana, the reservation card had "Mr & Mrs my last name." When having dinner, the maitre d's invariably sat me at a table in the middle of the room and in one instance there was an actual light shining directly on me as if to illuminate my solo-traveler status. On another evening, they sat another solo-female traveler at the table adjacent to mine in the middle of the restaurant. I struck up a conversation with her; she was from England. I asked her whether the staff kept asking about "her husband" and she said they had and it was making her uncomfortable. There were no "mixers" or activities listed for solo travelers to meet and mingle. When my boyfriend arrived, we tried to upgrade his stay and add him to my room but according to the desk clerk, the upgrade fee would be an additional $100/day despite the fact he wouldn't need an additional room. So, we just skipped it and he slept in my room, i made all our dinner reservations, and ordered our drinks at the bar so he would get the better liquors. He joined me at Chill Out for breakfast and just paid the a la carte price which came to about $15 per meal. It felt silly to have a second room but it ended up working out nicely because it gave us access to a clean private bathroom close to the beach. Overall, i really enjoyed this stay and wouldn't hesitate to book another stay in the villa class suites if the price is right.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    FINI JEWELLERS.... total rip off!!! BEWARE!!!

    Reviewed by Jen G(Broxted, United Kingdom) on Aug 15, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I am so upset to hear others having problems with the jewellers onsite at the hotel! Let me start by saying, the hotel itself is stunning and I can honestly say that it was one of the best holidays we’ve ever had! The room, facilities and staff... exceptional! However, during our stay my husband bought me an eternity ring and paid over £1,000 for it, only to be told by a UK jeweller that they stones aren’t diamonds!!! To say we are upset is an understatement! The hotel isn’t opening until December 2020, so we cannot get hold of the FINI jewellers. If anyone has any details, please let me know as we really need to contact them. We’re hoping to go back next year and our first port of call will be the jewellers showing them the proof from the uk, as well our the receipt for my so called diamond eternity ring!!! ???????? please think twice about spending money in this jewellery store!!!

    Amazing Resort & Great Staff!

    Reviewed by Adam_Clarke96(Prince George, Canada) on May 28, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was my first time in Mexico and I stayed back in mid February to avoid the harshness of the Canadian winter and had the Laguna Villa Suite. Immediately after getting on to the coach at the airport, you’re offered refreshments, margarita or a beer which is great. I booked through WestJet Vacations and the process was so simple. Upon arriving at the hotel, you’re greeted with wonderful staff who are happy to take your bags as you get off the bus. Check in was quick and easy and you were offered a glass of champagne. Upon getting to the room, I was greeted with a bottle of champagne on ice, a bowl of fruit, a bottle of tequila, rum and vodka. As well as a daily stocked mini bar fridge. The room is big and spacious and includes a programmable safe as well as a jacuzzi tub and an outdoor shower that features Spanish tiling, which is absolutely beautiful. Your concierge is decided upon the room tier that you booked for me the concierge was the platinum and up level and was conveniently located just outside my villa. Unfortunately however, upon calling them to make my dinner reservation for the Italian restaurant, what I wouldn’t find out till later is that they had booked me in to the Sushi restaurant instead. Not a big deal, just would’ve been nice to know. The grounds are well maintained and have natural wildlife, including your average house cats. There was also a 45 minute spa package with the room I booked and oh my god, it was the best massage I’ve ever had in my life. The bars are always serviced by the friendliest staff which is nice considering I did travel alone, so it was easy to talk to them. There are plenty of cigar options here as well if that’s your thing. Every night they have a show going on at the Center of the resort so there is plenty of entertainment going on throughout the day and night. The only negative I could think was not being able to bring a guest back to my room, yes we both had wristbands just not the same colour. We were stopped by security and they said it was because they had a lower tier wristband than I did. Which doesn’t make sense to me as I just wanted the guest to sit on my balcony and have a drink with me, I tried explaining this but they told me no. That was the only downside to this otherwise wonderful resort. Overall the food was good, nothing special, but good. The room service food you can pass on, does not seem to be the freshest. If you’re looking for fun things to do off the resort I’d recommend checking out a guided tour of Chichen Itza and the Hubiku Cenote. Chichen Itza is full of such vast history and was extremely hot the day that I went I’m pretty sure it was +36 degrees Celsius with the blaring sun, so please make sure that your skin is covered with sunscreen! The Hubiku Cenote was super cool to see, after swimming in the natural sink hole, I went to the tequila museum they have on site where they grow the blue agave plants and actually bottle the tequila there. Once there you’re greeted with an assortment of flavoured tequila shots, butterscotch, chocolate, coffee, mint, etc. The entire trip was fun and I will absolutely go back to the Grand Riviera Princess!

    Horrendous experience ?????? NEVER AGAIN

    Reviewed by MarkRachDan(Gloucester, United Kingdom) on May 27, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Having saved up all year for a dream holiday in Mexico how wrong was I about this hotel. It’s taken me so long to write this review as I have had a claim in with TUI since last July and they have just replied with one big FOB OFF !!!!!!! When we landed at Cancun Airport and got our coach transfer we were all handed a letter as we boarded the coach informing us about reported cases of Cyclospora and infection caught by a parasite. We stayed here from 30th June TIL 14th July 2019 and on day 2 of the holiday I became ill. At first I thought it was sunstroke but then I had diarrhoea, cold sweats, stomach cramps and after 5 days in bed and only drinking cold water I had to see the hotel doctor. I had lost about half a stone ( ON AN ALL INCLUSIVE HOLIDAY ???? ) She confirmed I had caught a bug called Cyclospora ( a parasite type bug ) or Gastroenteritis She said if I hadn’t gone to see her I would of ended up in hospital as I was so dehydrated. I spoke to the hotel holiday reps who were in all fairness helpful and even they said I had to put a claim in. They also informed me that other guests had been ill and that they had to close certain pools because some peoples blonde hair had turned green and people had been sick in the pool. In the final letter of correspondence from TUI they and the hotel have completely denied any knowledge of any sickness bugs or Cyclospora as it was commonly known at this hotel. What an absolute joke !!!!!!! I would never recommend TUI or This hotel to anyone unless you want to be ill. I am currently seeking legal advice as BOTH TUI and the hotel were well aware of issues here and did nothing about them. I have enclosed a copy of the letter handed to us on boarding the coach.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Wonderful trip

    Reviewed by R7173ZIkristenf() on Apr 14, 2020

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort was unreal. We purchased it on cheap Caribbean and we were not expecting much (since it was almost too Affordable) and when we arrived we were immediately greeted with the most hospitable service (champagne etc). Our room was clean and had beautiful views. The food options were GREAT! (Said no one at an all inclusive resort). It was just what we needed to relax and escape for a week. I can’t wait to come back here again!!! Highly recommend- not one bad thing.