Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    T

    Worth every penny

    Reviewed by Tony on Jan 24, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is our second visit to this Iberostar complex but our first time at the Grand Paradiso. Firstly, the drive up and walk-in was great but the check-in was a disorganized, which made for a rather disappointing start. However the facilities just make you relax by their design. The walk to your room is in an AC environment, which makes you feel relaxed right away. The ceilings are tall and the hallways wide and well-lit at all times of the day. Great atmosphere. The room was equally great. The rooms had a great selection of snacks and drinks. The cleaning services were great for the duration of our stay. Please be sure to tip them with their name and a thank you letter! I did have an issue with switch placement in the room, their brightly lit alarm/radio clock, and the lack of plugs by the nightstand but good beds and they don't turn off the AC in your room. Leave the room cool, to a cool hallway, and come back to where it was.... just a huge relief after a "tough" day at the pool. The pools were great, very clean and peaceful. In fact my wife and I went to go see where we were staying before... and It was like going down 3 stars in our minds. The most important part of the stay was the food and the alcohol. The restaurants were decent and the Surf & Turf buffet was amazing; you can either get off the menu or go to the buffet table. Please be aware, their water at the restaurants taste different because its filtered not bottled. This facility has real alcohol! This makes a huge difference the next day after relaxing day.... basically tastes better, digests better, and doesn't annoy you for the rest of the trip. At the other hotel in this facility we visited in our last stay, we stopped drinking because it didn't feel good. We felt relaxed the whole time, just wonderful! Pool time is 7am to 7pm. FYI the coupons they offer as incentive to book this are useless, see attached photos.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Over Promised and Under Delivered with Average Service.

    Reviewed by Kenneth R on Jan 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Upon checking in we where led to our room. Once the door was open, a terrible musty, moldy odour greeted us. I asked the host if we could be moved to another room. They declined requesting to clean the room while we waited after a long day of travel. About 90 minutes later they said the room was ready. The smell was still evident along with cleaning solutions. We again requested a move and again it was denied. With no other choice, we decided to stay the evening in the room in hopes of speaking with a manager the next morning. No luck. The second day the bath tub had only cold water and the drain had plugged. We where asked to stay out of the room the entire afternoon while they took the taps apart and replaced them along with the drain plug. The odour was still high. Next morning the electricity quit to the room. Called the front desk and several hours later a repair person showed up. He opened the panel in the closet, gave it a good bang with everything coming back on. The air conditioner would only go down to 22c and we cooked with the high humidity. Was told it was computer controlled. On the third day, I approached the manager at the main counter and asked if we could be moved. This gentleman was not in a pleasant mood as I was third in line with other guests requesting a move. By the time he got to me, his mood had deteriorated that I left. I later found out that the occupancy rate the week of Jan 15-22nd 2016 was just over 50% and felt they could have accommodated our request to move. This was not an inexpensive resort. After considering our experience, this resort is over-priced for an average experience. Noted I did not mention the quality of the food. It too was average considering our experience at other upscale resorts. The beach area is excellent as is the pool area, hot tubs and indoor pool area. The servers have a wonderful attitude when bringing meals to your table. Management was the surprise in the little attention to guests needs. Regards, Ken

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7019 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Overall Great Experience!

    Reviewed by KatieFranchise() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The accommodations, the food and the staff were all wonderful! My favorite staff was Humberto (Pool Bar Manager) and the other bartenders-Norberto, Alberto and Rodrigo! Super fun, made great drinks and will definitively come back to see them! The only advice I would give is have ALL restaurants mark food allergies on their menus. Most restaurants did a fantastic job, but it would be nice to see that at all restaurants, or even have the manager be more knowledgeable of ingredients and allergies. Other than that, I would definitely come back! See the circus show for sure!

    Grande !

    Reviewed by Lee B(Surrey, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everything was top notch - the nicest place we've EVER stayed. It was a 5 star hotel and every star shone brightly - from the room to the food to the staff to the weather to the water (even the bottled variety) to the relaxed pace. None of it could be beat !

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Beautiful resort and people

    Reviewed by bchurls(Ontario, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our first visit to the Grand and will definitely not be our last. The staff are so kind and work hard to make sure you are enjoying yourself. Special shout out to our butler Victor who checked in on us all the time and chatted with us whenever we saw him. Another special shout out to Rodrigo who knew our names after we first met him and the rest of the pool bar staff (Eli, Humberto, Norberto...). They make excellent drinks (yum, Coco Loco) and they were always smiling! We got the superior ocean front on the third floor and will have to do that from now on - gorgeous. I loved having my coffee on the balcony swing each morning and watching the ocean. The buffet is just as delicious as the a la carte restaurants and the tacos at the shopping centre were unlike any taco I have ever had in Canada, just delicious! We loved that you could walk around the whole complex and there was something for everyone. Quite quiet at night but there was a club on site you could go to for some dancing. We even watched the Leafs play in the mixology bar. We usually like to try new places but won't be after this experience, we are already planning when we can go back.

    Wonderful Holiday!

    Reviewed by Jumpinround(Toronto) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    As a group of six women travelling together, the Iberostar Grand Paraiso was a perfect choice. Our group thorough enjoyed ourselves. Having visited this resort three years ago with my husband, I have noticed improvements to the level of service. The food and drinks were really good this time around. One morning we witness a good quality inspection of the breakfast buffet. We were impressed with the care taken to ensure good safety. Our favourites meals and drinks include: - Dinner at The Carribean Raw Bar and Grill; EVERYTHING was delicious and perfect! - The sparkling lemonade was perfect and refreshing for a hot day on the beach. - Elderflower Gin Fizz and the Rainbow shooter set at the Rhapsody Bar. - The Sirenita Wet Bar (pool bar) was a fun spot. - The main breakfast buffet is really good, betterthan room service, and you can also order a la carte if that’s important to you. - The main lunch buffet is also good, and again, you can order from the a la carte menu. - Top shelf alcohol is readily available, just specify what you would like. - Since the property consists of several Iberostar hotels, guests of the Grand Paraiso can eat and play at the other neighbouring properties, including the shopping area. The food at these locations is all included in your room rate. - The main shopping mall has a little coffee shop and they make the best coffee. - Guests can prebook 3 dinner reservations prior to arrival to ensure you get a time or your choice as it can be difficult to arrange dinner reservations before 8:30 p.m. The rooms are all nice. If an oceanview is important to you, book a room in building 70 on either the 2nd or 3rd floor (a first floor room will have you looking at beach palapas). The beach in front of this building is nicer and you’ll have easier access to your room from the beach. If an oceanfront is not important, staying in the main building is a good choice. Having stayed previously in the Honeymoon villas, I wouldn’t pay for the upgrade because the regular rooms are really quite nice. If you stay in the oceanfront or villa suites, you can use the hydrotherapy spa located at the main spa at the shopping centre. It is included in your room rate. You can also use the spa at the Grand Paraiso. The indoor pool is beautiful. There is also a hot sauna and a steam sauna. There is always lots of things to do at this resort. The Star Friends are very good at keeping guests entertained. A special thank you to Oscar and Alejandro from the Star Friends crew. The fitness centre at the Grand is small but does have enough equipment for a good workout. The main gym is excellent and hosts several classes throughout the day. We found the staff of the Grand to be very helpful, particularly Mauro, our Butler. One of our party members had a luggage mishap upon arrival. Mauro graciously took time from his afternoon off of work to shop for a replacement suitcase at the Walmart located in Playa Del Carmen. He brought the suitcase back for my friend, (we paid for the item). It was perfect and meant that we could continue to enjoy our holiday rather than spending a day in a taxi cab and at Walmart. That is exceptional service. Thank you Mauro! We would also like to thank our special hostess, Ines. We will truly miss your beautiful smile each day. She made our mornings extra special and always gave us the perfect table for our happy group of 6. This hotel has taken steps to be environmentally conscious. They have changed to refillable water bottles and have a sanitation system in place. Only one guest of our six took Dukoral prior to our arrival and none of us became ill. Also, the hotel has eliminated paper, thus, guests are encouraged to download the Iberostar App where you can access information for the resort...maps, restaurants, daily schedules, etc. It is a bit confusing at first but it becomes a useful tool. The entire resort has free wifi. It sometimes fades in and out but is reliable for the most part. Tipping at this resort is definitely not required, but it is appreciated. The staff work very hard for guests. The exude professionalism and graciousness. As a group of women traveling together, we always felt safe and were always treated with respect. We tipped our staff regularly and did so because they truly deserved it! The resort is immaculate and is decorated with opulent decor but not ornately done. The bathrooms are kept clean. Each bathroom stall has a light switch so you won’t be left in the dark. Housekeeping does a great job! Pillow menu was heavenly! The groundskeepers are very nice and do a good job. We did have to use the medical facility on site as one of our party members had an accident with a broken glass. The doctor was very nice and the problem was taken care of. Enjoy your holiday at this resort - we certainly did!

    Change is hard...

    Reviewed by FarmersAsset(KY) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is our second trip to IGP and 25th trip to the Riviera Maya. We've stayed at SMB, Paradisus, ERC, EPM and Beach Palace. To keep this short and to the point let me say this, the staff is top notch. I do not want to duplicate what all the other 5 star reviews are saying so I will explain why I can only give the resort 4 stars. First, they have eliminated single use plastic water bottles. That means that for a runner, or anyone that drinks a lot of water it becomes a bit of a challenge to get fresh purified water at the pool, beach or restaurants. They now use an in-house filtration system called Vero water. The water is in large glass containers in your room. The containers are reused and I do not know how/if they are sanitized. There is a sticker that was on the lid stating when it was refreshed but there is no seal. I had to call and order individual water bottles multiple times a day. The staff was always warm and friendly when they had to deliver them to my room. They now only serve canned drinks or cups of water. I am all for saving the environment but not at the risk of my health. The day the change from bottled water to cups of water on the beach took effect was the day I became sick. Yes, I did drink the water that the server said had been poured from the individual bottles but I did not see it so I have no way to know. I lost 2 days of vacation due to it. Mexico is not the place to "try the water". The other issue that we had was that our room would not get cool enough for us. They are able to lower the temp to 18c but our system was not working properly. Maintenance was sent right away that night and two times the next day. I requested a fan and that helped some but it was still too humid for our tastes. Daniel, our butler one day, did find another villa that we could move to but at the time it wasn't much cooler either and with out going back several hours later to see if it was cooling properly there would be no way to know if the move was worth it. They would have been more than happy for us to relocate but I chose to just stay put and try to enjoy the rest of our vacay. To sum this up the pros are the people that work here. Edgar, Ana, Gabriel and all the others are truly a delight and go out of the way to make your stay enjoyable. The cons (for me at least) having a very limited water supply that I know I can trust is a big one. Until the issue is resolved I will be returning to SMB.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX