Ocean Maya Royale

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Not again.

    Reviewed by Shawn on May 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Wedding

    Hotel was older. Not a lot to do on site. Staff was great.food not so good. Stephan was great had a lot of fun visiting with him . Best of luck to him on all his travels. Would not go back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    Fantastic Trip

    Reviewed by Tanya on Jan 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    This review is a little long but I think it’s fairly comprehensive. A few months ago my friend and I were searching for a resort for a girl’s trip. We had stumbled upon this one, but had doubts due to it being so new, the distance from the airport and the majority of traveler photos only showed desolate landscape This was false advertising on part of those travelers . We are so happy we decided to choose this resort. I’ll start with the bus ride – it’s about 1 ½ hours, which sounds like a long time but it really wasn’t. The bus to the resort sold beer and had a washroom. You will travel through 3 towns; Camajuani, Remedios and Caibarien, the tour guide will tell about each town. Treat like an excursion and enjoy. Now the bus ride back to the airport didn’t have a washroom, but if people need to they will stop in Caibarien for a pit stop. It will cost you 1 peso to use the washroom and I recommend that you bring your own tissue. Check in – fast smooth and easy. The front desk staff is very friendly and extremely efficient. We had no issues so we only dealt with them for check in and check out. Resort grounds and beautiful right now and will only get better once all the vegetation has a chance to grow in. There is a stretch between the main resort and the beach; it’s a little barren right now. This used to be a lagoon and they have filled it in and created a walkway. They are now working on creating the gardens and putting in vegetation. In about 5 years this will be an absolutely stunning spot. There are pools and accommodations on both sides of the main building so you it’s almost like two small resorts in one. The buildings are new and modern. The beds are firm and the pillows are flat, it didn’t ruin our vacation, I would recommend that the resort upgrade the pillows and maybe put a mattress cover on the mattresses. I say this because they use flat sheets on the bottom and if you are anything like I am and move in your sleep sometimes you wake on laying on a

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8948 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    awsome Resort, great entertainement team !

    Reviewed by clownchauve(Montreal, Canada) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We absolutely loved this resort... the resort is fairly small, 18+ (no Kids) Staff at the pool bar is excellent, and always smiling (Manuel). since it is a smaller resort the accessibility and availability of restaurants is good, not too many peoples and no need for reservations, it is first come first served. My favorite thing about the resort was the entertainment staff (Rodrigo & Naomie) activities are fun and well organized. Foam Parties were awsome ... rooms are clean; no bugs of any kinds Negative Points: Yes there are seaweeds, but the resort is doing all it can to pick them up. the pool with the bar made our swimsuits (pale color) green-ish after an extended time in the water. I will return for sure and do recommend this resort

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    From Morocco to Playa del Carmen

    Reviewed by Sightseer755002() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It’s my first time here in this resort , and it’s amazing, my favorite restaurant is the Italian call Dolce Vitta and the buffef in hacienda are very good food, pretty nice staff I want to thank you Ines for teach me to do it the bracelets and Naomi because she is a very tourist guide of the laggon

    Excellent

    Reviewed by vickygS7074CQ(Tonyrefail, United Kingdom) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just returned from a two week holiday with my husband and have to say the hotel certainly doesn’t disappoint. On arrival check in was quick and efficient and a welcome drink awaited us. Rooms: We stayed in block 31 which is close to the beach and pool area and a two minute walk to the entertainment and amenities. The room is large and very spacious. Bed very large, we could literally starfish all night. The room is provided with an iron and ironing board which proved very handy for us. Fridge is updated daily with soft drinks and beers and towels changed regularly. Entertainment: the entertainment staff at the resort are second to none. Lots of activities and games provided daily by them, they really tried to get everyone involved and succeeded. We had lots of laughs with them daily, the humour used was fantastic. They really got to know the guests well. The shows in the night were very good, a range of dancers, musicians and fire shows. Only thing I would criticise is they repeat the same shows weekly, which when you are staying for two weeks can get a bit boring, maybe a two weekly program would be better! Food: Breakfast was in La Hacienda which is a buffet. Lots of choice including omelettes and smoothies freshly made, fruit, pastries and hot food. I did find it quite repetitive daily and was bored after two weeks. It also didn’t have as much choice as other 5* hotels I’ve stayed in over the years. They did seem to have a spoon shortage as we regularly played hunt for a spoon in the morning!! Lunch: again was in La Hacienda (buffet) El Charro (Mexican buffet) or around the pool (burgers, hot dogs or kebabs) Fairly good choice but again repetitive! Evening: this was the best part! Spoilt for choice with the A la carte restaurants. El Charro provided lovely Mexican food, La Dolce Vito provided Italian food, Blue Moon provided general A la carte. There is also a Japanese restaurant (which is the only one you have to book for), the Sports Bar providing burgers and ribs and the buffet again at La Hacienda. We ate nearly every night in the different A La Carte restaurants and the food was amazing! The service by the waiters/waitresses was fantastic and couldn’t do enough for you. Beach: the beach does have a problem with seaweed but this didn’t affect us at all. Most days it was clear and only had the odd day with lots of seaweed, but the staff work tirelessly to clear it. Staff: all staff at this resort were great. Each spoke as they past us and couldn’t do enough for us whatever we asked. Grounds: the grounds of the hotel are well kept and are spotlessly clean. Lovely walk around and the wildlife you see will be breathtaking!

    First time in playa del carmen

    Reviewed by Awade94() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My favorite restaurant is El charro because I like it the Mexican food, I drink tequila all the time here in the pool, I was dance in the foam party with Ines and Selza , they are amazing dancers, I enjoy a lot of this place

    Awesome staff

    Reviewed by I A() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Eniz took me on a kayaking tour. She was very pleasant and made sure that I had a great time. I typically do not enjoy all inclusive trips as I run out of things to do, so when I found out about the water sports, I couldn’t say no. Thank you Eniz for keeping me busy

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX