Ocean Maya Royale

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    Not again.

    Reviewed by Shawn on May 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Wedding

    Hotel was older. Not a lot to do on site. Staff was great.food not so good. Stephan was great had a lot of fun visiting with him . Best of luck to him on all his travels. Would not go back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    Fantastic Trip

    Reviewed by Tanya on Jan 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    This review is a little long but I think it’s fairly comprehensive. A few months ago my friend and I were searching for a resort for a girl’s trip. We had stumbled upon this one, but had doubts due to it being so new, the distance from the airport and the majority of traveler photos only showed desolate landscape This was false advertising on part of those travelers . We are so happy we decided to choose this resort. I’ll start with the bus ride – it’s about 1 ½ hours, which sounds like a long time but it really wasn’t. The bus to the resort sold beer and had a washroom. You will travel through 3 towns; Camajuani, Remedios and Caibarien, the tour guide will tell about each town. Treat like an excursion and enjoy. Now the bus ride back to the airport didn’t have a washroom, but if people need to they will stop in Caibarien for a pit stop. It will cost you 1 peso to use the washroom and I recommend that you bring your own tissue. Check in – fast smooth and easy. The front desk staff is very friendly and extremely efficient. We had no issues so we only dealt with them for check in and check out. Resort grounds and beautiful right now and will only get better once all the vegetation has a chance to grow in. There is a stretch between the main resort and the beach; it’s a little barren right now. This used to be a lagoon and they have filled it in and created a walkway. They are now working on creating the gardens and putting in vegetation. In about 5 years this will be an absolutely stunning spot. There are pools and accommodations on both sides of the main building so you it’s almost like two small resorts in one. The buildings are new and modern. The beds are firm and the pillows are flat, it didn’t ruin our vacation, I would recommend that the resort upgrade the pillows and maybe put a mattress cover on the mattresses. I say this because they use flat sheets on the bottom and if you are anything like I am and move in your sleep sometimes you wake on laying on a

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8290 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    All inclusive resort

    Reviewed by Curtis H() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The staff here made the whole experience so much better. It was great from the buffet, to the pool parties, to the restaurants, to the evening entertainment. All of the bartenders and event staff were great, and Paulo in the sports bar was exceptionally excellent as well as entertaining.

    Amazing experience

    Reviewed by Aimee_S007() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We traveled to Mexico for a wedding. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful at all hours of the day. The hotel was clean, safe and well maintained. The food was above and beyond what I had expected. It was had a wide variety of all food types and restaurants throughout the property. They were even very well educated and helpful when it came to food allergies. We especially loved the sports bar near the lobby. Bartender Paulo was absolutely fantastic! He knew our whole group and always had drink refills ready for us before we could even ask for another. He went above and beyond his customer service roll and joked around with us and even did a fancy flaming drink presentation for the bride and groom. We had an amazing experience, definitely visit here if you have the option to!

    Fun Resort!!

    Reviewed by mariaham2() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I had so much fun at this resort. All I did was swim and get drunk everyday but it was a blast. The bartenders at the pool and lobby are awesome. The entertainment staff was great! Adrian and Arturo were my favorite! They were so funny and friendly and you can tell they love their jobs! I miss Mexico already and want to go back!

    We loved this place!

    Reviewed by AforAmanda620(Milwaukee, Wisconsin) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I just returned from our stay at Ocean Maya Royale and we loved it so much! The variety of restaurants was amazing- Mike's Coffee was our favorite! Coming from two 20-somethings from Milwaukee who are both coffee snobs, the coffee was AMAZING! It was so nice that they also had desserts and sandwiches available in between meals. So yummy. The Sports Bar was also at the top of our list. They have late night hours and the burgers were fantastic. They have so many activities planned every week- everything from sushi making lessons, to dance parties, to music in the square. The foam party in the pool was our favorite. :) The staff was PHENOMENAL! Friendliest people ever- everyone says hello and smiles even when just walking by. They are so kind and welcoming. Be sure to take advantage of the spa- you can reserve the hot tub/cold tub balcony for an hour as a part of your all inclusive package! The locker room also has a sauna and showers to end your experience. We loved that! We had an ocean view room with a king bed- just the standard, not the "Privilege" package. The room was beautiful and the beds were so comfortable. The staff refreshed our room so quickly and timely. Here are our only cons: The beach is NOT good. We didn't even swim in the ocean because the seaweed is so bad. So if you're going for a beach experience- this is not your place. The housekeeping staff knock on your door every morning around 8:00am and we didn't know why. They didn't even want anything, just seemed like they were trying to see if anyone was in there? It was really annoying when we were on VACATION and wanting to sleep in.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Naomi & Andrea ??

    Reviewed by JoeyTheKidd(Detroit, Michigan) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The resort is excellent. Naomi and Andrea are awesome. Those two create such an amazing energy, all the guests have a blast in their presence! They are beautiful personalities and made the experience a 10/10. The hospitality was wonderful and service was very professional. Thank you Naomi e Andrea!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX