Playacar Palace

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    Perfect location!

    Reviewed by Marie on Jul 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    This hotel is a wonderful location. Easy access to Playa del Carmen and right next to the ferry to Cozumel. Great pool that looks out to the ocean with a view of Cozumel island. The staff is wonderful and go out of their way for you. The food is top notch gourmet. The Italian restaurant was my favorite.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    It is such an amazing location.

    Reviewed by M on Jul 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    The Playacar Palace is a gem within the Palace resorts. Location is key with this being right beside the Ferry going to Cozumel and right in the heart of Playa Del Carmen. The suites are genourously sized, with great amenities. The services within the resort are great. I would highly recommend the Priviliedge level to have access to the water circuit. The Spa is lovely. The restaurants are very enteraining with great service and a nice selection of chef suggested menus. My favorite was the French Restaurant. The desserts were delicious. I would go back ot this property to be closer to PLaya Del Carmen. It is such an amazing location.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    P

    Location, location location!

    Reviewed by Pam W on Jul 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    You can see the Ferry dock from this resort. Makes it very easy if you want to go experience Cozumel. Also a 5 minute walk to 5th Avenue. You can shop to your heart's content. Great location! Wonderful service. The food was delicious at all the restaurants. Really enjoyed my stay here. Beds are super comfy and the rooms are a nice size. Thank you for a great stay!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Amazing hotel in the most convenient location!

    Reviewed by Basia on Jun 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Had a wonderful stay. Enjoyed the amazing food with a wide variety of delicious food choices. The hotel rooms are spacious. No limits on a la carte restaurants. Located only steps away from 5th Ave in Playa del Carmen, yet feels secluded enough for a wonderful relaxing time. The ferry terminal to Cozumel is only a few minutes walking distance. No room key cards required which is a convenient feature as your wristband is your room key at the same time.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    H

    The Perfect Place

    Reviewed by Heather on Jun 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Loved this resort! The rooms are extremely clean and the beds are so comfortable, I fell asleep in seconds! The food is out of this world and the service is impeccable. The staff at this hotel are happy to help you with anything you need. They are genuinely concerned about making sure you have an incredible experience at their property. It is also only steps away from 5th Avenue in Playa Del Carmen. It's so easy to go there and explore and shop. The pool is a little on the small side but perfect for the size of this resort. When you stay an any of the Palace properties, you are able to explore some of the other hotels in their chain (which hotels, depend on where you're staying so make sure you check what is available to you, it's totally worth it). If you are looking for a beautiful spa - this hotel has it!! Make sure you check out the fish spa and the hydrotherapy circuit.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    L

    Great water circuit spa experience and amazing quality of food and service!

    Reviewed by Lisa on Jun 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great location of this property right in Playa Del Carmen. Located next to ferry to go over to Cozumel and minutes away from 5th avenue. Amazing food and unlimited a la cartes!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    Excellent location

    Reviewed by Traveler on Feb 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Location was great for shopping, tours, close to the ferry to go to Cozmel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1361 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Day visit

    Reviewed by cp14tty(Upholland, United Kingdom) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I visited the Playacar palace in Playa del Carmen as day visitors as part of our stay at the Moon Palace Grand in Cancun. The pool area is fantastic for children and adults overlooking the Caribbean sea. We would like to give Isabel Sanchez the public relations manager at the Playacar Palace a special mention - she went out of her way to make our visit run smoothly with excellent customer focus in a very friendly manner - thank you Isabel! We will certainly return back to the Playacar palace.

    Just ask and they will provide!

    Reviewed by 926debbiet(Cambridge, United Kingdom) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I was going to whinge about the ‘towels at dawn’ problem which meant that I compromised all my principles by leaving towels on sunbeds each morning, despite not needing them until the afternoon. However I was wrong. (Although I still wish all hotels would prohibit this selfish practise!!) I should have just asked. Today I was too late - so I just asked. We popped to the delicious array of breakfast and when we returned it was sorted: 2 beds by the pool with shade as requested. Eder & Horacio, I salute you! Do try all the restaurants, & the nicely cosy Cafe del Mar buffet: they are universally amazing, & stylish. The best calamari I have ever tasted in the Italian. There’s even a real pizza oven and you can order that from any restaurant table (ie if one person wants pizza) if you need to. You need to pre-book the 18+ Mexican, & the Tenpanyaki, but that’s easy. And Chef’s Dinner: again to be booked (via Credits*) but easy. Good fun and delicious food. Excellent & friendly service. Antonio, Fania & team: thank you! The rooms are lovely. We have a walkout suite: definitely a great choice. (Not convinced about the huge hot tub in the rooms (all of them, I think?); personally I’d rather have the space but it’s handy for our dive gear!). The location couldn’t be better: literally a 3 min walk to town for those who like to sample local bars. Right next to the ferry for easy trips to Cozumel. The Spa is sublime. Susana (manicure), Dulce (pedi) & the 2 ladies of the muscle-knot-detangling, headspace-inducing Kukulcan massage, in such serene surroundings... unforgettable. *Resort Credits are new to us but essentially mean we’re paying 16% of the published price as long as we have sufficient credits from our booking. We’re staying 12 nights so get a couple of thousand ‘dollars’ of credit. So my amazing massage actually cost me ~US$48 in real money plus ~$300(?) ‘credits’. It makes sense when you get here! Otherwise, ‘All inclusive’ really does mean that, at a very high level. Yes, I believe we will be back, here or to another Palace. Meanwhile, I have a sunbed to enjoy, so excuse me...

    We love this place!

    Reviewed by 481joycek(Columbia, Connecticut) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We always love coming here because it is small and intimate. Upon arriving we are were greeted by Abigail and Elvira. They welcome us with open arms but many other employees do the same. Our concierge, Paola, is so sweet and kind and so efficient! Gladis made several reservations for us with consideration and a smile. Dinner at Bocelli was amazing, celebrating our friend Rob’s birthday with service by Pedro and Chef Jaír who presented the chocolate bomb that was delicious! We miss Antonio-please get well soon! Dinner at the Brazilian was great with wonderful service and food. Special thanks to Olivia and Moises. Breakfast is always amazing with our friend, Dionicio, but also perfect due to Sotero,Porfirio,Francés, Marysol, Jesús, and Marcos. Poolside service is great largely due to the amazing Eder. He is always striving to be the best he can be and is very in tune to the needs of the guests and making our vacation the very best experience. Also great service by Keyla, sweet Sylvia (I love her hugs), Herlin, Perla, Guisseppi with his amazing tricks and last but not least Carmen, a man with a very big heart. Entertainment was great by Fania the “drama queen”, Cain, Pepe, Joshua and Alex. Also, all new at Playacar is “Wine, cheese and art” in the zen garden. Cain led this fun event that my husband had never done before. He is a great teacher and he made it fun and easy to create a beautiful piece of art! It’s relaxing and fun-a must do! The spa services were amazing. We had holistic massages by Virginia and Sara. Both have a nice touch. Maria took care of me in hydrotherapy. My friend Debe and I did the fish spa with service by Maria. It’s a nice experience! My beauty parlor mani/pedi was done by Dulce. She’s so good I want to take her home with us! Lobby bar services and entertainment was great. Paulina served us and remembered us, and the jazz man, Juan, playing sax is very talented. The Lady singers had very beautiful voices. Also the sand art presentation was amazing! Dinner at Momo was great. We were welcomed by Antonio and served by Miguel. My husband loves the duck and I love the catch of the day. I had sea bass once and mahi mahi another time. Yum! In our room, Patricia provided turn down service with lots of sweet treats. Room service with Emanuel was extraordinary; he was very polite and helpful! And David you lead a great team! Thank you to everyone!!!

    Outstanding Palace Resort

    Reviewed by franztrierweiler(Courbevoie, France) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Spent 12 days at the Resort with family. Excellent location near Tulum and Cobá Maya cities. Very good transfer service between airport and Resort. Pool service of excellent level (I recomend to book your lounge chair with bath towel early in the morning). Rooms with view on the sea are spacious and comfortable, bathroom is huge. The Resort has several hi-quality restaurants with a large set of meals. The staff provides high quality, top level and efficient service in several languages. I recomend Edgar or Israel as waiters, excellent - they will know by heart your preferred dishes or coffee flavour. The Resort is extremely clean with styled furniture (Staff keeps cleaning, fixing, painting - never saw such attention paid to a resort building). Lugagge service is fast and efficient: just ask bell boys Manuel, Carlin, Leonardo, Marco and Luis Jesus to get a reliable service. Tours can be pre-booked in advance with a tour planner. Resort facilities are extremely modern: wrist contactless key to unlock youre room and smartphone application to check your Resort credit and balance or to book a restaurant. As a conclusion: I highly recomend Playacar Palace Resort in Playa del Carmen !

    Fantastic small resort

    Reviewed by LoveTravel564111() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent 11 nights here after visiting the grand several times before. When we pulled into reception we were extremely under whelmed and the rooms were smaller. However, after spending a few days we began to fall in love with this hotel. Firstly the kids club was the best we have found to date. Brenda and xiomara and the other rep were amazing my two girls never wanted to leave. A credit to the resort. The bell boys were extremely helpful and around the pool the best waitress by far was Sylvia, she works tirelessly and even helped us when we were not in her area. We loved walking into 5th avenue shops and the ferry across to Cozumel which was stunning and the palace hotel over there was also small but so friendly. Alberto in the Caribbean was great. We would definitely return to this hotel.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX