Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    M

    Stunning Property and Awesome Staff

    Reviewed by Mac on Jan 30, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    Likes: Property is stunning, spotless and beautifully designed. Buffet offers excellent variety. Staff is phenomenal, so pleasant and accommodating. Entertainment is uplifting. Dislikes: Samana - shop owners are in cahoots with taxi drivers and will rip you off. Purchase goods at the resort gift shop instead. Final dislike is leaving the Island. :(

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Very effective and friendly services

    Reviewed by Dan and Marilyn on May 06, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I would like to thank Lizairi, Diego Gomez chef cook of this beautifully resorts , Would like to mentions all staff of this hotel Island was very notable during our visit with the warmest welcome with the Concierge Gabriel,Emanuella ,Caesar,took time and good care of us as we were celebrating our 35th anniversary.we were a little deceived about the cleaning in the room example sheets were not change every second day as we know some accident can occurs during the 7 days so imagine 14 days. Food were superb in the Don Pablo, Rodiozio grill, Mediterranean,was excellent. The Elportillo was not bad except for Banos a lot of Beach flees and strange crawling insects. Required more insecticide. All other Banos were very clean. Bar at the Jaccussi was very high quality service thanks to Leudy , Sanael De La Cruz and Measael. I would like to thank West Jet Crew for the care at the Pearson airport as we required assistance for spouse as she very ill on the arrival. My spouse and I are very thankful about the help we got outstanding to West Jet and Pearson airport personnel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    m

    Not a 5 star resort

    Reviewed by mmahal99 on Jun 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    If you are truly looking for a luxury 5 star vacation, this is not the place to go to. I would say it's more like a 4 star overall. We stayed here June 11 - 18, 2016 for my birthday and selected the resort based on the great reviews we read. We were quite disappointed. People can smoke anywhere outdoors, around the pools & the beach. This made it hard to get away from the smoke fumes. The good side of the beach there's a calm side & windy side is pretty confined. We had to move locations 4 times one day to get away from smokers. The resort really should divide the beach and pool areas into a smoking and non-smoking side. Furthermore, the service on the beach was pretty much non-existent, despite us tipping. We were there for a week and were only offered drinks on two occasions. Also, people hold the good spots on the beach all day with their towels as the resort doesn't set a time limit for chairs to sit unused. We noticed beach chairs would be reserved with towels yet unused for hours. Because the beach isn't that big, they really should set a time limit and remove towels from chairs that go unused for a couple hours as some of the other resorts we have been to do. We had upgraded to one of the villas that offers butler service, and the service was pretty much non-existent. Little things were missed, the maid didn't leave any shampoo or soap one day and didn't replace the empty tissue box another day. The toilet was dirty upon our arrival I just cleaned it myself because I didn't want to bother waiting for someone to come clean it . On my birthday, we had ordered champagne and chocolate strawberries for an additional fee to be delivered at a particular time, which never came. Management did apologize, but you get the point that this was no where near the 5 star experience we had hoped for. Other small issues of note, we ordered tea, they delivered coffee instead. Then they brought tea bags with no hot water. The hot water finally came about 20 minutes later.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Simplement fantastique

    Reviewed by Josiane on Apr 22, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Tres beau sejour, tout simplement parfait, chapeau au represetant westjet Herman, disponible et tres gentil.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6024 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A peaceful paradise with amazing staff

    Reviewed by meaganlodon(Port Robinson) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at this resort during the last week of March this year, travelling there with another couple. Overall, I found the resort itself breathtaking. The lush, impeccably maintained grounds are an excellent reflection of the overall level of care taken of this resort. The rooms, restaurants, pools, spa and other areas we visited were spotlessly clean, and well appointed. The food was of excellent quality in both a la carte restaurants we visited (Rodizio and Don Pablo) and the buffet. Don Pablo deserves extra recognition for the overall atmosphere and service - the attentive,friendly staff there made the meal feel extra special, and the food was unbelievable. The bars were always well stocked, and the beverages never tasted watered down, or mediocre. Quality wise, the best and most consistent drinks in our opinion came from the lobby bar. Though the resort is no longer adults only, we noted the few kids present to be very well behaved overall, and their presence did not have any negative impact on our stay. We had no issue during our stay securing loungers on the beach or by the beach pool, though I understand that the resort was not at full capacity the week that we were there. Your mileage may very. The best part of our stay, however, were the staff. It didn't matter if they were maintenance or grounds crew, housekeeping, or any other position - every single person we encountered was friendly and engaging. Everyone greeted us as we walked by or shared a smile. These are some of the hardest working people who I have ever had the pleasure of meeting, and still gave the impression that this was not "just a job" for them, and that they were happy to be there. There were, of course, some extra special staff who went above and beyond, and who were very difficult to say goodbye to. I do not remember everyone's names (and I'm terribly sorry for that!) I will include a few: Erick - Entertainment Crew - What a total joy to be around. He honestly was such a pleasure, and had us laughing constantly. This man has boundless energy, and again, was such a hard worker. Luis - Public Beach Bar - Luis was a riot, and kept us very entertained in the evenings we spent down at the public beach bar. This bar tended to be very quiet for the most part, and we spent a lot of one-on-one time with Luis. The animation team also deserves recognition for being such a multi-talented bunch. The circus show was incredible, and had everyone on the edge of their seats. This was easily the best show we saw all week.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great Vacation Spot!

    Reviewed by flhrci05(Kentville, Canada) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel is one of our favourites. It offers many high end features that other hotels lack. The place is immaculately clean and is staffed by very friendly/helpful people. We enjoyed the al a -cartes, especially the Rodizio (managed by Gerson; he is a very friendly host who goes out of his way to make you feel like family and ensures you are completely taken care of), the food there is meat based (serving lots of different meat varieties). Our daily breakfast/lunch was at the main buffet; we really enjoyed Lucia (our server); she ensured that we were taken care of daily. When she saw us walk in and had our table ready with fresh water and hot coffee before we even sat down. With the addition of children this year made it a little noisy at times when they didn't get their way. I would like to see the hotel return back to an "Adult Only" hotel (the reason we chose the hotel in the first place). The only issue we had with our last stay is that there was no air condition working (during our entire stay); this made it very difficult to fall asleep and a reprieve from the hot/humid climate. Normally when a resort hotel loses air conditioning it is usually up and running the same day; it seemed like nothing was getting repaired as we just kept being told that they are working on it (Really - for 7 days!).

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Fantasy Island - "da boat, da boat, hey boss, da boat"

    Reviewed by Woody547(Ontario) on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just returned from a week at this beautiful resort. We had a very large suite and fully furnished balcony with a view of the ocean. The buffet and the four a la carte restaurants were all excellent. Our reservations for the a la carte restaurants were all booked for us prior to our arrival which was very convenient. Our servers were very attentive especially Candido, Manaury, Elena, Luis, and Teofila. The pools are very large and well maintained. There are plenty of loungers both at the pools and on the beaches. The beach is shaded with palm trees and the pools with umbrellas or canopies. The only fault was sometimes there was a shortage of beach towels. The island is very hilly and transportation is provided for those with mobility issues. The gardens were amazing and constantly being groomed. It was also very interesting that the electrical power in the room was activated by the room key and the air conditioning went off if the balcony door was opened. It is definitely a unique way of conserving energy. This resort far surpassed our expectations and we will be sure to return.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    excellent resort, we highly recommend for everyone to visit it

    Reviewed by GrandTour446821() on Apr 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort is a must to see. Cayo Levantado Luxury Bahia Pincipe gave us an experience that we will remember as a wonderful experience and trully recommend to friends and relatives. We cannot wait to come back in 2 years.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Another Excellent Vacation

    Reviewed by Big_G_Racing1() on Apr 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife and I just returned from our annual trip to Caya Levantado. We had another great week lying on the beach, met up with friends who we had met there before and made new ones also visiting from Toronto. As always, it was the beautiful locale and staff that were the greatest part of our visit. The warm welcome by our favourite servers Daniel, Gerson, Rosario, Edwin, Johan, Erick, Luis and Eduardo my favourite bartender is one of our top reasons for always returning to this resort. The food is top notch and the island and beaches are beautiful. Important to note though that the air conditioning was weak again this year, I am starting to see this as an ongoing cost saving/ environmental issue, but I am not sure. It may be a lack of maintenance or better equipment that Is lacking. Our friends had no air conditioning at all.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX