Roc Arenas Doradas

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    X

    Has seen better days

    Reviewed by Xadur on Jul 01, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: June 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Only stayed here briefly, but how can you even rent a room (822) that has a toilet seat that is stained on the top and bottom with some sort of black mildew or something it would not wipe off. Absolutely gross. Compared to other hotels this one is priced like a 2 star which is about what it is. If you are only looking by price then maybe it?s for you. Another note, the Lobby is open air, no A/C.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    This place is Awesome.... No shirt, No shoes and Excellent Service!

    Reviewed by Janine Baxter on Mar 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    We had a group of 9 so the initial check in, sorting out rooms, safes and exchanging money was a bit trying. Probably because of language barriers but always double check and confirm exchange rate and monies returned. If you need anything, extra- water, toilet paper or towels etc ..talk to your maid directly - they are very willing and can make it happen! Front lobby bartenders and the coffee barristas made our trip. Mulatas are to die for -hot or cold. Friendly and attentive always with a smile. It is an all inclusive so the younger crowd liked to indulge, they were rowdy and having fun, some older people did not seem impressed but we had no problem... it is everyone's vacation. Good times and let loose! Definitely try the Italian restaurant across from coffee bar it was the best food there with 5 courses and good music. The free shuttle to Varedero was convenient for shopping and The Beatles bar rocks. Sadly, my only complaint was the beach, littered with cigarette butts and cups. Not any fault of the resort or staff, just guests being ignorant. We did the katamarand -make sure it's hot and not windy, the Havana day tour -a cooler temps best, comfortable shoes are a must, lots of walking and don't go on a Sunday, and the Jeep tour was great. We would definitely do it all again. Special thanks to Roly, Annens and Maria, you are good people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Great family experience!

    Reviewed by Luv2trvl on Jan 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our first Westjet Vacations experience and also our first visit to Cuba and the Arenas Doradas resort. Although this resort is listed as a 3.5 star, I picked this resort because of my budget and most of all the reviews. My family and I were SO PLEASANTLY surprised by this resort. Proximity from the airport - A! You just want to start your vacation. You don't want to have to travel another 45 - 1 hour after getting off the plane. The WS transfer from the airport was so convenient. Well organized by WS. It's a guided tour along the way. Staff were great! The resort itself - A! Come with an open mind and you'll find the value. Rooms were spacious and clean - A! We brought our two kids age 7 & 3. Lots of activities for them. Mini club and its staff were so awesome. Kids pool - great! Lots of food options for them. Food was decent. Just get creative with condiments. The coffee bar - A+!!! It's Starbucks on Cuban coffee. We stayed in Block 5 and it was such a great room. Ground floor - easy access. Quiet AC. Spacious Room. Love the Villa Style resort so that you don't have to keep waiting for an elevator to get to your room. Beach access was so easy and beautiful! WS staff meets you the following day to help you plan your stay and confirm your return to the airport. Honestly, such great value! Thank you WS. Always a loyal customer.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    H

    Perfect

    Reviewed by Hogie on Apr 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    The hotel was great. The staff was very accommodating. We would go back in a heart beat. When we first got there the first 2 days were a bit overcast so we went to Varadero the first day then Havana the 2nd. After that the days were beautiful. Town of Varadero fun to walk around. Havana tour was great to learn about the history of Cuba. We would recommend this hotel. Special thanks to Rocio at the front desk who kept her composure even when customers around her are sometimes rude & hi to Jesus at the pool bar. He makes everyone feel very welcomed. We found the food at the buffet good. Good selection, no complaints. We celebrated our 40th anniversary while there. For our anniversary supper we took in the international al a carte, it was perfect. Thanks again Paul & Sandra

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Westjet shouldn't be offering this resort.

    Reviewed by Scott on Feb 02, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    First of all let me say that our stay was ruined by weather. It was cool and rainy and windy most days of the two weeks we were there from Jan 16-30 2016. The water and beach were truly beautiful but it was a rare occasion to see people braving the often impressive waves. Beach walking was the only way to be close to the water but it was depressing to see people in sweaters and heavy jackets trying to enjoy a walk. It wasn’t that bad every day but the wind was relentless. What I can blame the resort for is the very frustrating time we had in the buffet restaurant. The coffee machine rarely worked properly and the famous Cuban coffee we so looked forward to never happened. Coffee cups were usually absent. We resorted to soup bowls for coffee, until they also were all gone. We had to scrounge up our own glasses, silverware etc on a daily basis. Sometimes we just couldn’t find any. The frustration level rose daily. The staff were overworked and barely had time for a smile. I realize that Cuba doesn’t have access to food we take for granted, but at least it could be hot! The bread and toast were great. The breakfasts were good if you went for fresh cooked eggs. Bacon was nearly raw. If you don’t like cigarette or cigar smoke, stay away from Cuba. Because of the inclement weather most people gathered in the one big bar/lobby area, but unless you went outside to look for a table cool , it was way too smoky for non-smokers. Our room:…..in bldg. 500, top floor…nice sound of waves, very close to beach. No hot water, ever. Water barely trickled out of the sink tap. Very old ugly room. Bathtub was so gross I took pictures to prove it to people. After a week of cold showers I asked for a different room. Got one in 100 bldg. Right close to lobby and ‘mess hall’. It was beautiful in comparison! Like a Mexican 5 star! It was recently renovated. Then evening came and we found out why it was available. We were the closest to the night club and the show stage.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3929 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Nice hotel

    Reviewed by ksin111(Edmonton, Canada) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This is a nice hotel with an amazing amazing staff, they really are the reason we had a good stay. They have a swim up pool bar, really nice beach restaurant and amazing nightly shows (we made sure to be home for them every night). Beware there is no air conditioning anywhere but two of the al la cartes and in your room only so you get stuck in your room a lot.

    Fantastic Family and Friends Vacation

    Reviewed by Alex P(Ottawa, Ontario, Canada) on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were four mothers and fours teenage sons spending a week in Cuba; 3 nights in Havana and 4 nights in the Hotel Roc Arenas Doradas. The hotel was exceptional for our group and met everyone's needs; beautiful beach with waves, clean rooms, charming pool and everything you could possibly want to eat or drink in a safe and relaxing setting. Nightly entertainment added to everyone's enjoyment.

    Decent Hotel, needs some updating

    Reviewed by Alex N(Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec, Canada) on Aug 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Sent a week in all-inclusive deal at the ROC. Rooms were clean, but outdated. There are other units that have renovated rooms. Pool is too small if the hotel is full. Drinks are plenty, but only one bar (at reception) is open late (24 hours). The food is plenty, however not to our family's taste. Considering it is Cuba, the food was fine. Hotel staff are very nice and courteous. The staff makes the this hotel bump from an Average rating to a Very Good rating.

    Beautiful Resort-Amazing Staff

    Reviewed by Marco A(Montreal, Canada) on Aug 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Staying here for 10 days with my family and all i can say is the admin staff is amazing and super competent. Lubisel was truly super helpful and accommodating and i cant say enough about the orhers, Yeny, Yoly, Onys, Omar, Ariel and Santi!! Beautiful beaches!!!!

    Great beach..... terrible resort

    Reviewed by beachlife1986(Calgary, Canada) on Aug 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    My family came to this resort for 7 nights and will never go back or recommend the hotel to anyone. Cons: It was 35+ degrees and the buffet did not have air conditioning. Staff also would not open the windows for a breeze to flow through. I have never sweat so much eating breakfast or dinner in my life! Why is there no air conditioning in the buffet?? Even the cooks didn’t have the hood fans running above their grills. The food at the buffet is terrible. The only great thing was the bread. Baked daily at the hotel. But in order to cut the loaf of bread/buns you had to touch the whole thing. They have one dirty/ severely stained cloth napkin to use but no one uses it and everyone’s touching/cutting the loaf. Unsanitary! Servers are few and far between. We struggled just to get water for breakfast and dinner. You can serve yourself for coffee but the water is brought by servers so it was frustrating when they didn’t come around. For our second day at the resort we tried 4 times to get beach towels throughout the day. We weren’t able to get any beach towels until day 3! It’s low season and they had no towels :( not sure what happens when they are busy. The toilets in the rooms don’t flush well. It’s a serious struggle to empty the toilet. The a/c broke half way through the stay. Ants in the bathroom. We had to ask several times for bath towels and sometimes only got hand towels. Also the bath towels are half the size of an actual bath towel. I’m not a big woman and it didn’t wrap around me! The bathmat was yellowed and stained for 2 different days (2 different mats). Beds are twin size and put together to make a “queen” and they are hard and uncomfortable. The blankets (bed spread and extra blanket) smelled like B.O and need to be washed! There was a life guard for the beach but when we did see him he was hanging around a building by the beach bar which is not even on the beach or in sight of the beach. He did a great job of not doing his job. The drinks - pina coladas are served over ice. Umm? They have frozen daiquiri machines but not pina coladas. The pina coladas were a huge let down. Service everywhere was bad. The staff talk amongst themselves and ignore guests waiting for a drink at the bar or front desk. There was two grounds keepers that just stood in the shade and offered coconuts from there waste bins all morning and afternoon. Super annoying when you have to continuously say no to the same guys 4 times a day for 7 days. Pros: the beach is the best beach I have been to. I’ve travelled to over 30 sun destinations and this is the best beach! Nothing scary or sharp in the water (except the crab I must have stepped beside and he didn’t like me!) the beach was clean and huge! Super soft sand and warm water. The coffee bar was fabulous. The drinks from the coffee bar were a nice treat and delicious. The pianist was great to listen to and played some great songs. Great talent ! The Italian restaurant was pretty good and recommended to book a dinner or two there. Service was really good there too. They had a luau like lunch at the beach grill one day, they should have done it more because it was amazing. Roasted pig. Best meal of the week! We went to this resort as a very large group and I read the reviews before going. I knew what I was walking into so it wasn’t as bad but I have to say this is the worst Cuban resort I’ve been to. (7 in total). If you just want to hang out at the beach and eat simple meals then you will be happy here. I lost weight during this trip so ... yay!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX