Roc Arenas Doradas

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    J

    This place is Awesome.... No shirt, No shoes and Excellent Service!

    Reviewed by Janine Baxter on Mar 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    We had a group of 9 so the initial check in, sorting out rooms, safes and exchanging money was a bit trying. Probably because of language barriers but always double check and confirm exchange rate and monies returned. If you need anything, extra- water, toilet paper or towels etc ..talk to your maid directly - they are very willing and can make it happen! Front lobby bartenders and the coffee barristas made our trip. Mulatas are to die for -hot or cold. Friendly and attentive always with a smile. It is an all inclusive so the younger crowd liked to indulge, they were rowdy and having fun, some older people did not seem impressed but we had no problem... it is everyone's vacation. Good times and let loose! Definitely try the Italian restaurant across from coffee bar it was the best food there with 5 courses and good music. The free shuttle to Varedero was convenient for shopping and The Beatles bar rocks. Sadly, my only complaint was the beach, littered with cigarette butts and cups. Not any fault of the resort or staff, just guests being ignorant. We did the katamarand -make sure it's hot and not windy, the Havana day tour -a cooler temps best, comfortable shoes are a must, lots of walking and don't go on a Sunday, and the Jeep tour was great. We would definitely do it all again. Special thanks to Roly, Annens and Maria, you are good people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Great family experience!

    Reviewed by Luv2trvl on Jan 24, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our first Westjet Vacations experience and also our first visit to Cuba and the Arenas Doradas resort. Although this resort is listed as a 3.5 star, I picked this resort because of my budget and most of all the reviews. My family and I were SO PLEASANTLY surprised by this resort. Proximity from the airport - A! You just want to start your vacation. You don't want to have to travel another 45 - 1 hour after getting off the plane. The WS transfer from the airport was so convenient. Well organized by WS. It's a guided tour along the way. Staff were great! The resort itself - A! Come with an open mind and you'll find the value. Rooms were spacious and clean - A! We brought our two kids age 7 & 3. Lots of activities for them. Mini club and its staff were so awesome. Kids pool - great! Lots of food options for them. Food was decent. Just get creative with condiments. The coffee bar - A+!!! It's Starbucks on Cuban coffee. We stayed in Block 5 and it was such a great room. Ground floor - easy access. Quiet AC. Spacious Room. Love the Villa Style resort so that you don't have to keep waiting for an elevator to get to your room. Beach access was so easy and beautiful! WS staff meets you the following day to help you plan your stay and confirm your return to the airport. Honestly, such great value! Thank you WS. Always a loyal customer.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    H

    Perfect

    Reviewed by Hogie on Apr 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    The hotel was great. The staff was very accommodating. We would go back in a heart beat. When we first got there the first 2 days were a bit overcast so we went to Varadero the first day then Havana the 2nd. After that the days were beautiful. Town of Varadero fun to walk around. Havana tour was great to learn about the history of Cuba. We would recommend this hotel. Special thanks to Rocio at the front desk who kept her composure even when customers around her are sometimes rude & hi to Jesus at the pool bar. He makes everyone feel very welcomed. We found the food at the buffet good. Good selection, no complaints. We celebrated our 40th anniversary while there. For our anniversary supper we took in the international al a carte, it was perfect. Thanks again Paul & Sandra

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Westjet shouldn't be offering this resort.

    Reviewed by Scott on Feb 02, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    First of all let me say that our stay was ruined by weather. It was cool and rainy and windy most days of the two weeks we were there from Jan 16-30 2016. The water and beach were truly beautiful but it was a rare occasion to see people braving the often impressive waves. Beach walking was the only way to be close to the water but it was depressing to see people in sweaters and heavy jackets trying to enjoy a walk. It wasn’t that bad every day but the wind was relentless. What I can blame the resort for is the very frustrating time we had in the buffet restaurant. The coffee machine rarely worked properly and the famous Cuban coffee we so looked forward to never happened. Coffee cups were usually absent. We resorted to soup bowls for coffee, until they also were all gone. We had to scrounge up our own glasses, silverware etc on a daily basis. Sometimes we just couldn’t find any. The frustration level rose daily. The staff were overworked and barely had time for a smile. I realize that Cuba doesn’t have access to food we take for granted, but at least it could be hot! The bread and toast were great. The breakfasts were good if you went for fresh cooked eggs. Bacon was nearly raw. If you don’t like cigarette or cigar smoke, stay away from Cuba. Because of the inclement weather most people gathered in the one big bar/lobby area, but unless you went outside to look for a table cool , it was way too smoky for non-smokers. Our room:…..in bldg. 500, top floor…nice sound of waves, very close to beach. No hot water, ever. Water barely trickled out of the sink tap. Very old ugly room. Bathtub was so gross I took pictures to prove it to people. After a week of cold showers I asked for a different room. Got one in 100 bldg. Right close to lobby and ‘mess hall’. It was beautiful in comparison! Like a Mexican 5 star! It was recently renovated. Then evening came and we found out why it was available. We were the closest to the night club and the show stage.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3801 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Home again

    Reviewed by leannes568() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our third trip to RAD...and we were not disappointed, not that we expected to be! If you've read my previous reviews, you'll know that I provide lots of detail, so here we go... 2018 was a very tough year for our family, as our son was diagnosed and treated for Hodgkin's lymphoma, a blood cancer. We were not even sure when we booked if we'd be able to go. We kept in touch with hotel staff, so they knew we were coming. Upon arrival, our suite was ready, despite the early arrival, well before check in, and it was immaculate. They were expecting us, and we were greeted like family. The wonderful ladies at reception made a quick check in for us, and we settled in quickly. Dont forget that this resort was hit hard in 2017 by a hurricane.. but you'd never know it! Amazing how fast they've not only recovered, but improved. Here's the lowdown by category: Pool & pool bar; Pool was very clean, lots of loungers, more umbrellas than in the past, I think. Animation staff was awesome, although we missed Eddie, Yuya is awesome and so much fun! Daysy at the pool bar makes an excellent mojito, well, amazing drinks period. It was so nice that everyone remembered us and were so happy to see our son doing well. Pool restaurant: Delicious burgers!!! Do I need to say more? thanks to Jesus and staff for treating our children like family!! À la cartes : Italien was so yummy, kids loved the pizza, lobster amazing! As usual we loved it! But I must mention Natura... great improvements! All 4 of us loved our meals, our son loved the beef stroganov which he raved about. Hubby and daughter had the chicken and loved it! Main buffet: food was good, lots of variety, Andreis makes the best omelettes! Remember that this is Cuba, and with limited resources, they manage to still create lots of yummy food... if you want your bacon cooked more, just ask! The staff in here are super attentive and friendly. Bars: lobby bar: thanks to Pepe for remembering us, and making non alcoholic beverages for our kids! Yalilys, we love you! Every one at that bar was fantastic, drinks are always wonderful, but the friendliness of the staff is the best. We were surprised and delighted to find Edoardo at the beach bar, along with Yalilys, but so happy. don't miss out on the coffee bar, these folks do amazing things with coffee! Beach: how can I express the beauty of the beach? Incredible as usual, no seaweed, lots of shaded areas , lots of loungers, this year we went snorkeling, thanks to Tony, and his beautiful staff for the wonderful experience! I cant remember the name of the young man who took us out, but he was lovely. For children: how do I thank Yani? (Yaneibys) .. she loves my children and is so kind, so awesome.. I dont have words. her activities are fun, amusing and delightful! additional: Yoli, customer service.. I would hire you to be my customer service manager any day of the week. This lady cares so much and works so hard! any problem you take to her will be resolved! We didn't leave the resort once this year, as we felt all our needs were met. But if you want to go into town, lots of great restaurants and shopping! To Alina..our housekeeping lady and so much more.. You are an amazing human, and we love you... sending gifts on 27 abril. Love you and miss you! people, if you want to bring gifts, bring vitamins, creams for sore muscles, like Voltaren A535, etc. Also Canadian chocolate. Anything Blue Jay's. Finally, I just cant say enough about how kind these people are. Yolly, Pepe, Eduardo , Alina, Daysy, Dayanna, Andreis, and countless others, we love you, miss you, and cant wait to see you again! Keep up the great work! oh, I almost forgot, a gardener made our son a beautiful hat of palm leaves...just incredible! Miss you all, can't wait to see you again! note to travelers, bring bug spray, lots of sun cream, ketchup, peanut butter, and remember bugs happen in Canada too!

    We loved it and we want to go back!

    Reviewed by Marija N() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was my third time in Cuba and the first time for my husband. It was sort of a honeymoon for us so we did extensive research to find a good resort within our budget. And we were pleasantly surprised when we got there! We stayed in room 624 from April 5-12. I’m going to try and be really detailed in my review and hopefully it’ll help some of you decide whether this resort is for you or not. Pros: - It’s a smaller resort and that’s something we really enjoyed. Not too crowded, just the right number of people so there is plenty of space in the pool and room in the buffet restaurant, no long lines anywhere. - The fact that it’s not one big building of a hotel but rather several smaller 2-level buildings makes it all feel very cosy. - Amazing coffee bar in the lobby!!! I’ll miss it the most. - Nice selection of products and souvenirs in the lobby store. Nice souvenir stand in the lobby as well, reasonably priced. - Cigarette machine in the lobby for smokers. The prices are much better than in the store or anywhere else in Varadero. For example, a pack of Dunhill costs 5 pesos in the store, but just 2.90 CUC in the machine. - Friendly staff, especially in the pool bar. - Friendly gardeners, always offering small flowers and fresh coconuts with straws. - Good air conditioning in the restaurants. - The food was a little disappointing the first day, but was great every other day. Pretty much the same selection, but every day there is something new to try. The selection of breads and buns and the taste of them all is to die for. - There are lots of hot sauces and other sauces for those of you who are always complaining of “bad, bland” Cuban food. Both of us personally love their food. The cheeses, milk, breads, fish, meat. Very tasty and they don’t need sauces and marinades. - Good entertainment. Fun and engaging. - Italian restaurant was good. The space kind of confined and dingy, but the food tasted delicious. We had the carbonara and garlic shrimp for entrees and minestrone and cream of chicken soups for starters. - The international restaurant is amazing! They didn’t have tuna that evening so they had mahi mahi instead which I chose. The BEST fish I’ve ever had in my life. Ever. - It was my husband’s birthday while there and the staff left a bottle of champagne and a note for him in our room. It was a really nice surprise. - The pool is big and has a great bar. Tons of chairs, both in the shade and the sun. There is a pool table and ping pong table. Both beat up but they’re fun. Ice cream stand within the snack bar by the pool. Fun activities during the day. - The room was fantastic. The best I’ve had in Cuba. Great functioning A/C. Very, very comfortable bed and pillows. Good tv. Lots of space for clothes etc. Spacious bathroom. Nice sized balcony. Tiny fridge but enough to store some drinks. - The beach. So so nice. Big, clean, tons of lounge chairs. The water is turquoise and so clean and warm. Drink bar right at the entrance of the beach which closes at 6pm. Lovely staff. - Lots of greenery, trees, bushes all over the resort. We took some great pictures. - The Sunwing rep was so amazing and informative. Huge help. - Free bus service to downtown Varadero a few times a day is great. The resort is about 12km away from downtown so a nice short drive. Cons: - The pool hours are 9am to 7pm and this was one big disappointment for us. We would have loved to been able to take an early morning swim or a late evening dip. The pool bar closes at 6pm. - We we’re informed that the snack bar by the pool was open 24 hours, but it wasn’t. - The resort is smaller in terms of number of rooms, but the size is big and there is lots of walking. It’s ok the first couple of days, but gets tiring after once you’ve had a sunstroke and burned. - We both did have diarrhea a couple of days, but we don’t know what caused it so don’t know whether to blame the hotel/food or ourselves. I’ve never had diarrhea in Cuba before, though. - We used the iron in the room and there was a lot of dirt/rust in it so it ruined my husband’s white shirt. - The bathroom door in the room is not solid. It’s like a shutter door so you can hear and smell everything coming from the bathroom. Not cool, especially when you have traveller’s diarrhea. - No vent in the bathroom, I guess no need because of the shutter door but it would have helped to have a vent. - Not the greatest water pressure in the room but it was manageable. - Don’t use the coffee machine in the buffet restaurant yourself, you’ll spill everything and just make a mess. Better to ask the server to make you your coffee. - Previous resorts I stayed at all had servers walking around the lobby/lounging/beach areas serving drinks and taking your orders, but here you had to always go and get your own. Because the hotel doesn’t have a big parking lot, they don’t offer scooter rental, but the hotel right across the street does. We rented them for 35 CUC each and $50 CAD deposit for 24 hours. We did the Havana tour which exceeded our expectations and is a great deal for the price of $86 CAD. Highly recommend it. I’ll write a separate review for that. All in all, we would definitely stay at this resort again and we recommend it to everyone except for the very elderly and those with babies but only because there is some walking involved from most rooms to the lobby/restaurant area.

    First Time in Cuba

    Reviewed by Marcie M(Alberta, Canada) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This was my first time visiting Cuba and sadly, will likely also be my last. This resort was disappointing. The beach was beautiful and some of the staff were friendly. However, the rooms were outdated, beds uncomfortable and very few amenities. Service was extremely poor at the front desk and you often felt like an inconvenience to the people working there. Service at the buffet was also terrible. Service at the bars was okay, as long as you are a generous tipper. The food was terrible. If you were not at the buffet in the first hour that it was open, the food was cold and not replenished, so the options were limited. We talked to many people who would not even eat the food. Many other people were sick from the food at the resort. Room fridges were not stocked with beverages, except some water. Overall, I was disappointed with this resort and I would not recommend it to other travelers.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Great place to stay! Amazing staff & stunning beach!

    Reviewed by Elitsa_Georgieva(Sofia, Bulgaria) on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent 4 nights in Roc Arenas Doradas and after extensive research of Varadero hotels we are super happy with our choice. The room was great and very close to the beach as we requested upfront (room 610). The beach in the area of the hotel is gorgeous, long, spacious and chairs and umbrellas were available (always). The hotel offers animation mornings and evenings and tries to keep people entertained (but generally a calm place to be). The stuff is super nice, they have all treated us amazingly: the ladies from reception (Miriam, Yeni, Osleyois), customer service (Santi), all the people from the bars and the coffeeshop, the animation crew, the lady that was taking care of our room was great and creative and of course the gardeners that were bringing us flowers almost every day! The food in the buffet had enough variety. The hotel also offers free shuttle to Varadero downtown with comfortable schedule. We are definitely coming back: THANK YOU!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Friendly resort

    Reviewed by Newfieinvasion() on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I was there at Roc Arenas Doradas April 2-9 2019, it was my first time in Cuba, the resort is ok, it’s clean, a lot of walking, there was a group of 8 and half got travellers diarrhea. There was some pros and some cons. Pro’s were that the staff were amazing, the grounds staff would always pick you coconuts & flowers and always talk to you, our maid that cleaned our room was nice and Cuba has lots to do, its really safe, easy access to Varadero, just jump on the bus. Con’s were that the hotel would never give you any small money for tips when you cash up our Canadian money at front desk which made it difficult to leave many tips because you had all bigger money. The lobby bar had a bell that they ring everytime they got a tip, 1 ring for every dollar, so if you didn’t leave a tip, everyone knew it. I was appalled, first time I ever seen that, thought it was just weird.there was no beverages in your room fridge, just water. Breakfast buffet was closed at 10am so if you slept in and it was after 10, you didn’t get breakfast food!! All food at buffet in warmers was cold, so if you didn’t get it warmed, fried or grilled at the cook stations, you had cold food.. I’ll end this by saying, I seen Cuba, beaches were fantastic, food was a nah, if I ever go back and that’s a big if, Ill prepaid for sickness.over all wherever I go, family and friends make the trip !

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX