Waves Hotel & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Loved it!

    Reviewed by CathyO on Oct 26, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We loved this hotel and will be going back! its a larger boutique hotel with great restaurants. The food was delicious and a very good selection. Small beach but the water was lovely. We found the spa side of the resort is tropical and relaxing but we like to be on the beach. Our room had a contemporary feel with all the necessities. The location is good, we were able to explore the area and try other beaches very easily and even not too far from some shopping.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 536 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Staff is wonderful - rest is mediocre at best

    Reviewed by nycatty35(New York) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Just returned from a visit to Waves. I will start by acknowledging the wonderful staff. From the moment you check in, the staff is wonderful. The front desk staff are lovely and so helpful. The staff in the Seascape couldn’t be nicer or more helpful (shout out to Sabrina and her team) as well as the water sports and beverage team at the beach. Sadly, that is where the superlatives end. At these exorbitant prices, the experience needs to be much better. There is zero service, other than beverages, at the beach. No towels, no person to help with umbrellas or lounges. The beach is a sliver of sand and it is not flat, so all day you are sitting at angle and feeling as if you are sliding off your chair. The drinks are seriously a joke. The liquor is watered down so much that nothing has any flavor. Even Absolut on the rocks didn’t cut it. We finally resorted to just drinking wine. Breakfast and lunch were fine. Nothing more. Dinner at the Seascape was very nice and the food was a bit better than fine. During cocktail hour, the lovely waitress came over with the “chef special” snack for the night. I kid you not, it was ham and cheese rolled up in a wrap and cut into pieces. At over $850 plus another $136 for my niece who was staying with us, this is pretty shocking. There is bottled water in the room. The front desk tells us we can get bottled water at the bar for the beach. The bartender tells us there has been no bottled water for days, yet every night the bottles are replenished in the rooms. What?? And bottled water at dinner is $10?? Other than dinner, the food and drinks are no better than a middle school buffet. Rooms are spotless and functional. I can’t imagine there isn’t a better experience in the island for these prices. We won’t be returning. That said, I will end where I started, the staff is seriously wonderful.

    Excellent

    Reviewed by PCuratolo(Boston, Massachusetts) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just completed a wonderful 6 night stay. All the superlatives in the reviews are accurate. The staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful. Food was outstanding, particularly for an all inclusive. Rooms, lobbies, restaurants all modern and well kept. We will definitely return. Some practical info: Spa was booking 2+ days in advance when I was there. Plan accordingly. If you want an appointment for the first or second day, consider calling ahead to book. The water taxi stops around 4:30 PM. If you want to visit one of the other hotels for dinner on the “Dine Around” program, you’ll need to arrange a taxi. The beach is very nice, but small. Not a negative, just FYI. If you want a secluded beach spot or yearn to throw a frisbee, you’ll need to go elsewhere on the island.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Wave goodbye

    Reviewed by Bertieandtags() on Mar 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    No thanks . Very expensive . Surly , aggressive management although the restaurant staff are lovely .Far too many rules . Although folks sit around the public area in swimsuits and stand at the bar with bare torso . Far too much like Benidorm but with sky high prices . Make sure you are not put across the very busy road opposite in the annexe .. soulless

    Waves hotel and spa

    Reviewed by nirmaladindial() on Mar 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Lovely hotel with comfortable rooms. I stayed in an ocean suitewith a spectacular view. Great large lobby overlooking the ocean and extended into an openairdeck with umbrellas and lots of comfortable seating. Coffee shop is the best. Water sports. Courtesy water taxi. Friendly helpful and knowledgeable staff who go all out to assist. Would have liked a better selection of scotch whiskey. Delicious food with a variety and be sure to dine in the in-house Shisa oriental fusion restaurant Free sauna to all guests and certain spa features are complimentary depending on the length of your stay. Comfortable beach chairs with umbrellas - NOT the cheap plastic chairs with the usual canopy. I could go on and on. I will be returning. Gorgeous sunsets. Quiet and relaxing environment and enjoyable variety of nighttime entertainment - refreshing welcome rum punch or whatever you’d like. Last but not least - yoga class and nature walks on selected days. ??

    Fantastic hotel, amazing service, lovely staff

    Reviewed by Tazwayne(Derby) on Mar 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We visited Waves hotel and spa for 14 nights during the last 2 weeks of February 19. The hotel is tremendous, the service is amazing, the staff are mostly long standing employees who love their job and treat you like family. They are always cheerful, smiling, fun, warm and welcoming as many other people have stated. We have chosen not to mention any names, as in our opinion they were all fantastic. The spa treatments are lovely, some are included with your room. During busy times like English school holidays we would recommend you book them in advance. We did, so our requirements re times were met. The food and drinks in our opinion was excellent at all times with plenty of choice both local and international and the most amazing cocktails. (Try the cocktail making class too.. was such fun). Our stay sadly fell over the English half term holiday due to our wish to visit the cricket. Otherwise as a couple we would not choose to stay during school holidays as it changes the dynamics of the guests from couples to family groups, which impacted on the atmosphere in the restaurant and on the beach. However this was not the hotels fault. Once half term as over things changed back to being able to get a sun lounger on the beach easily, lack of larger groups of people at meal times in the restaurant and a more chilled atmosphere in the hotel overall. However, it did demonstrate to us just how the staff clearly can cope and maintain to provide excellent service when at full occupancy. We experienced an incident with the shower in our room. The hotel on call manager and facilities team were there in minutes, managed the issue very effectively and our change of room. To be honest this again demonstrated how well they reacted to and managed an unforeseen incident, ensured my partner was ok both immediately afterwards and throughout the remainder of our stay. Again demonstrating how Kim the manager and her team run an effective and efficient and very customer focused operation. We can’t wait to return to Waves hopefully in the next 12 to 18 months (when we can afford it ??) Points to note: The there is a lift to access rooms in the main building but not the rooms over in the adults only block by the pool. I would say that there are steps (sometimes only a couple) to access all areas of the hotel. I didn’t see any ramps. For people like myself who have multiple joint issues and who doesn’t use a lift, there are many stairs down to the beach and with no toilets on the beach, it means regular climbing the stairs to access the only general toilets off reception through the main building. Toilets on the beach would be welcomed by many guests that I spoke with, not just those with physical issues. For this reason we tended to use the adults only pool which has toilets on site and is very quiet and relaxing. The courtesy boat between the hotels runs on time, but note check with reception each morning to see if it is running as it depends on the tide. A visit to the Colony Club is highly recommended. It is an absolutely gorgeous hotel, very colonial. We would also recommend Fabian the taxi drivers from Crystal Cove who took us on a very informative island tour. Ask reception to contact and arrange this with him if you want a private bespoke tour, rather than a group tour. Once again thank you to Kim and all her team at Waves for a fantastic and memorable holiday. We can’t wait to return. L & M ??????

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX