Occidental Cozumel

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    n

    Disappointing, badly managed resort

    Reviewed by nellikapro on Jan 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Worst resort experience in Mexico by far - been to this part of the country just about every winter in the past decade. Incredibly poorly managed. Changed 3 rooms in the first 24 hours - 4 of us were housed in a ONE KING BED room: 2 adults, a teenager - paying FULL PRICE - and a 7-yr old; second option was 2 DOUBLE beds - not queen, uncomfortable for two adults. Ended up sleeping with the young one in a king bed, and a roll-out bed for the teenager - worst sleep ever. Had room for only half the clothing in the small closet which is in the bathroom, BTW. Bell boy brought someone else's purse to our room; while our 5 suitcases went missing. Eventually discovered who knows where - not at front desk, nor storage room. Staff were unmotivated and indifferent, nice sometimes but mostly seemed burdened and rarely smiled. I don't necessarily blame them - they must be dealing with unsatisfied guests all the time. Exceptions: Carolina, Chrystal, Olegario, Sonya, Jesus, Edgar. Long wait for service ALL AROUND: front desk; beach towels - self service most times; at buffets: to be seated, order, be served, refills; a la carte: once waited 45 min for appetisers, 90 min for main; bars - especially at pool/beach. Have never seen such poor variety of food choice in Mexico; especially the fruits and veggies. Though, most cooked fare and a la carte food were tasty. Once we had a la carte reservation, but the restaurant was closed. Some of the timeshare people are duplicitous, annoying and cocky - especially the project managers. Beautiful grounds and beach, lots of potential; but not under the current management. Will not return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6199 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Now, One of my favorite places to stay in Cozumel

    Reviewed by 82greggm(Rockford, Illinois) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a group of 6 that went and everyone wanted a all-inclusive, except me. I do not feel I ever get my monies worth. Not true here. The food is spectacular. They bring such great selections at all times. Shrimp prepared 8 different ways for lunch and hamburgers that are great. I can go on for a long time about the food. Best way to summarize, it was fantastic. The drinks went on for days. Normally not a get-drunk crowd, we had a difficult time moderating as they kept us as HYDRATED as we wanted to be. As the drinks are part of the package, we would tip the guy at the pool $20 in the morning and made sure he kept them coming as much as we wanted. If you want a spot at the pool, make sure you get there very early as people MARK their spots with towels and their stuff. Then go to breakfast. BE EARLY!! My only real negative was at chicken and dinner reservations. the people at the desk were not at a 5 star level. Defiantly not a language thing, although this was there but very slightly, it was more an attitude. They deal with hundreds of people all the time so do not make you feel as welcome as other places we have been. Once past this, the staff was amazing. Not at the top for families as little children don't have as many activities as the adults. We will stay here again!

    Loved every minute of our group vacation

    Reviewed by TracyvdO77(Cornwall, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were a group of 11 adults, there from April 5 to 12. We had one day of rain, but otherwise, weather was sunny and beautiful! Snorkeling off the beach was OK, not much to see, but there were always fish in the water! Some would even bite body jewelry and men's nipples! We rented a car to tour the island; we'll worth the cost! Timeshares are pushed on some, just say no, they will leave you alone. Food was great, always something to eat somewhere; you may not find foods you eat back home, but you'll be sure to find delicious local food! Their salsa and guacamole is delicious!!!! We made it to 1 a la carte, The Mexican, it was very good, service was great! Pizza place was harder to find as it is located upstairs (section posted on wall as Royal/VIP guests), they use that area during the day, then pizza place opens at 9:30pm for the rest of the resort. Pool table in the disco, did find one anywhere else, had to wait for disco to be open to play. Night shows were very good. Pools were relatively clean most days. Not much for kids to do, if you are booking a family vacation with younger children, highly recommend the Allegro resort next door!! (been there twice)

    great all inclusive

    Reviewed by matthew m() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    the resort is chill and relaxed. Which I enjoyed. exactly what i was looking for. the dive shop located on the resort was helpful ad great to have such easy access. the staff on the resort all went out of their way to ensure our stay was an enjoyable one. We will be back for sure.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Wonderful stay

    Reviewed by Seaside38997802065(Colgate, Wisconsin) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It was an excellent stay..so peaceful ! The staff was very genuinely kind! I like that there was staff on the beach serving drinks....the room was always clean when we got back from the beach. Drinks were good not to strong perfect!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Love Cozumel

    Reviewed by Dave H() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This hotel offers such a wonderful quiet location with immaculate and beautiful grounds and service from almost everyone at the hotel. It is just far enough away from all the madness of downtown and the cruise ships that we will be back again next year. Amazing food offered though out the day is so good and the included drinks makes it so fun. The staff are there to help you enjoy your stay and are so helpful!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX