Brisas Guardalavaca

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    A

    Loved the people the town and being able to walk about town and feel safe.

    Reviewed by April on May 25, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    Really enjoyed our holiday at Brisas the people and all the little extras things so well done thank you Brisas will return for sure!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    r

    tom & robin think we are going back in november

    Reviewed by robin & ankles on Aug 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Large group

    yes yes yes

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    Great Price, Beautiful Weather, Relaxing Vacation!

    Reviewed by M&M, Chatham, ON on Jan 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We went to Brisas Guardalavaca in April 2016 and we had a great vacation!! Weather was great, beaches were beautiful and the staff was very friendly. Norbello waiter at the buffet was always so friendly and happy to see us. Drinks were awesome - Spanish coffees at main lobby bar are the best! Sometimes the slushy drinks weren’t always frozen depending on the time of the day. Food was what we expected as this was our third time to Cuba. Pasta station & stir fry station in the buffet were really good. Breakfast at the Cuban restaurant is the best and it is a nice quiet spot to start the day. Snack bar offers fries and poutine burgers & hot dogs as well as individual pizzas during the afternoon which were delicious! Ice cream station was tasty. Resort is close enough to walk to the market. We stayed in the main hotel villa side was too quiet for us and the view from our room was absolutely amazing 418 Oceanview . Beach was very close to resort other places you have a bit of a walk to get there . Never had an issue with finding chairs at the beach or pool. Entertainment team and nightly shows were good especially the water ballet. Met many people that have been to this resort time and time again and they said that they are always improving it and love coming back. From what we saw Brisas is definitely a nicer and cleaner resort than Club Amigo we walked through that resort a few times . Would definitely recommend going off the resort for a walk, bike, moped or buggy ride through the surrounding villages and small towns to meet the local people. This is our favourite part of going to Cuba- the people are always so friendly and you feel safe. We always bring things to give away to people that we meet- no matter what you give them, they are thankful. One thing that we didn’t like was having to pay 2 CUC per day for a lock for our safe and then having to worry about a carrying the key all week. They should upgrade to the combination locks and include it in the pr

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    we loved our stay

    Reviewed by The Gallants on Sep 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We have been to Brisas twice and we are returning in April 2017. We brought our 4 children with us . We all really enjoyed our vacation . The villa was nice and spacious. We did not have any difficulty finding something to eat. The staff wa a always helpful . We will keep returning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great experience and holdiay

    Reviewed by Shantel on May 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    The hotel was great, food was to be expected it is Cuba and all. You definitely wont go hungry as there is always food available. The Pizza and the Ice cream were the best foods there. I travelled with our family with two children 8 yrs old and 13 yrs old . The staff were amazing, the excursions were fantastic, you must see the country side to get the feel for the culture and the local people. If you like quiet definitely stay in the villas well worth the extra money! Disappointed on how the tourists treated the beach area, plastic cups and straws littered the beach even though the hotel had recycling bins which was fantastic! Beds were hard, by the time I got use to it I was on my way home. All in all I would go back to this resort in the future!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    A great placed to relax and unwind. Would definitely return again and again.

    Reviewed by M Holland on May 23, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    An amazing place to stay! Would go back again in a heart beat. Staff is very polite and the facilities are well maintained. Excellent selection for food and drink. Absolutely awesome vacation experience!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Can't wait to go back!!!!

    Reviewed by Lewis on May 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Wonderful vacation! The resort was great, the staff were amazing! Only suggestion - read the description of the food at the buffet and know what you're eating. The food was good if you paid attention to what you took and weren't surprised.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    Love Brisas !!!

    Reviewed by Rick Patterson on Apr 26, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    4th time at Brisas Guardalavaca and will be returning. Great staff ,beach , Snorkeling and entertainment. The food in the buffet was very repetitive but lots to eat. Went deep sea fishing which was probably the biggest disappointment of the trip. Very hot with no where to get out of the sun and after 4 hours no fish!!! Snacks and drink on boat where pop, rum and canned tuna. Was told by boats captain that april is a poor time to go. I wish our representative had provided that info. Overall a great time at Brisas !!!

    What to expect (based on 4732 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Honeymoon Heaven

    Reviewed by thisissharonp(Eastbourne, United Kingdom) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I chose Brisas for our honeymoon destination and we truly had the best of times. Everywhere was clean, the beach and pool were beautiful and the staff go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable and relaxed. We loved the on-site Cuban restaurant - big shout to Michael for excellent service there - and the Italian restaurant and Cappuccino Bar - again, Rigo, thank you for an excellent Valentine's meal :) Little touches, such as the blanket art by the maid in our room daily, really added to the experience and it was great to get to know a few of the staff better - Henry in the entertainment team was lovely and Victor, one of the waiting staff is a darling. After a fortnight at Brisas, I really didn't want to come home and after a month of being back in the UK, I'm already looking at return visits for us - I miss Brisas and Cuba! The food is varied on site, and if you're veggie or vegan, it's not for you really, but the themed restaurants are fun with good food and if in doubt, there's always pizza by the pool. The Havana Bar and Martini Bars are a must. Roberto in the Havana Bar, thank you for being so patient in trying to help me improve my Spanish! We hope to see you all again soon. Sharon & David

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Fabulous Holiday

    Reviewed by Sue020960(Preston, United Kingdom) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here in July 2017 to celebrate our Pearl Anniversary and have to say it was by far the best holiday we have had. We stayed in the hotel on the 4th floor overlooking the pool, glorious view. The staff were amazing, so helpful and always a smile for you. The a la carte choice of 3 per week is great, we tried the seafood, Italian, Cuban and have no complaints at all. I turn 60 next year and are looking at the Brisas again, hopefully have the same experience, so relaxed and great entertainment. Hopefully we will get the same room too ?? keep up the good work Brisas, please ignore the negative reviews, we couldn’t fault it, the food is plentiful and varied, the grounds were immaculate, the beach stunning, I could go on and on, see you in July 2019 ??

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great in most respects

    Reviewed by paininthenuts(Milton keynes) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I am half way through my holiday, and this is what I have to say. Rooms A bit tired, but for the price I have no real complaints Beach and pool area Absolutely lovely. No more to say Staff Those who are in a position to get tips are very friendly and helpful. Those who are not are a bit different. To be fair this is pretty much the same everywhere. Food and drink. Great drinks package, but food needs working on. We are vegetarians, and believe me, we don't expect much, but having to spend two weeks eating nothing but salad and pasta isn't much fun. There are four themed resteraunts and not one of them has a single veggie dish. It's 2019, and 12% of the UK don't eat meat, and I would think Canada is much the same. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who isn't a vegetarian

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    7th return to Brisas

    Reviewed by Richard P() on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Return to Brisas for the 7th time only to find the standard's have dropped. Poor food in main restaurant, no access for wheel chair in restaurant. Run out of glasses in main bars plastics cups not for cocktails. No sun shades iroumd .gardens pool . No sun beds on beach or pool all gone by 7.30 am. Rooms very tired & lack of hot water.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-3

    Help for stray dog at Brisas

    Reviewed by canucksunseeker(Toronto) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just finishing up another’s great trip here. I’ve seen & befriended the cutest pup here- he’s about 4 months old, still has puppy teeth & friendly. I saw today that he’s covered in tics. Unfortunately we leave tomorrow,so I can’t get him to a vet . Is anyone coming down soon- maybe a vet or vet-tech, who could bring tic med for him?? If I had more time I’d take this cutie back with me,to Toronto, Canada,but I’m pretty sure I can’t bring in a dog covered in tics. If you were in GTA. I’d even supply the med.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX