Royal Lahaina Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    Amazing!

    Reviewed by Beckie on May 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    All I can say is WOW! I didn't want to leave this hotel, the rooms were amazing and the LUAU is an absolute MUST! Everyone was very friendly and helpful, and I will definitely be back for another visit!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Loved it!

    Reviewed by Kris on May 16, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    I love this hotel. The perfect Kaanapali location. Stayed in an ocean view hotel room and will definitley go back. The louvred patio coverings make it so you can enjoy total privacy but still listen to the surf at night. The super private beach was a treat after dark. Even saw a turtle here! Steps to black rock for some of the best snorkelling. Like Luau's? this is the best one I've been to.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Great location

    Reviewed by Barb M on May 15, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Stayed at the Royal Lahaina in a tower room a few weeks ago. It was well appointed with tons of room to move around and a great up to date décor and offered great views of the ocean even the partial view was breathtaking . It's located on a gorgeous stretch of Kanaapali beach and if you like long walks on the beach, this is the hotel for you. You can easily walk to Whaler's Village via the beachwalk. The Luau at the Royal Lahaina is a must. Its oceanfront location offers a stunning backdrop and the food and entertainment was great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    A

    love the view

    Reviewed by Amyn on May 11, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Big room beautiful view nice long beach to walk restaurant was good

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    A Royal Escape

    Reviewed by AALB on May 10, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    At The Royal Lahaina the rooms were absolutely gorgeous, spacious and the view was breathtaking. The urban decor and wooden shutters were a great accent to the room. The grounds were also well kept. The location of the property is ideal for those who want to be away from the hustle and bustle but also have activities within walking distance Whalers Village - shops and restaurants The property was also close to others in case you wanted to visit or be able to do other activities such as tours. The beach was easily accessible and clean. We even saw a Sea Turtle. The pools were open early and closed late so you could have a full days use. We dined in the lounge for breakfast one morning. The area could use an update and the food quality as well. I had a broken fridge in my room that I reported on our first day and upon check out it still was not fixed. I would definitely recommend and revisit this property

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    I will go back.

    Reviewed by Marla on May 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a lovely hotel. Clean and tidy. Had a great ocean view looking up the beach and up the hillside. Nice little balcony...big enough for 2. The beach is very walkable. Swimming is better in the early parts of the day as the waves get pretty big as the day moves on. Only had the opportunity to eat in the restaurant once and the food was very good. Service took a bit of time but we were a big table. The luau was lots of fun. The performers were amazing. Great evening of dinner and entertainment. I will have to go back because I missed the ukulele lesson!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Can't wait to go back!!

    Reviewed by Jen on May 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beautiful Property and location. Very relaxed atmosphere and staff was very helpful. Amazing running/walking path right outside the hotel. Would love to go back anytime to this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Beautiful location

    Reviewed by Cathy on May 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    I stayed in an Ocean View Deluxe room. The view was amazing. Room was nice and big but the balconys are pretty small and not very private. Works well if you're traveling with people you know in the room next to you and you want to talk from your separate balconies. The beach is wonderful and the location is great. The Luau has great entertainment, strong drinks and delicious food. Service was pretty slow in the restaurant at lunch time but the food was really good. If booking a cottage room book the deluxe cottage room to get the nicest ones that have been recently renovated. The pools are nothing special but there were plenty of lounge chairs and the water was refreshing.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    Fabulous property on great stretch of beach!

    Reviewed by Tracie on May 06, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beautiful ocean views and beachfront. There is a great stretch of beach that you can walk along as well as beach walk pathway. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Fabulous luau right on site. Large store on site for snacks and beverages and shopping. Coffee and ice cream shop with tables out back to enjoy the ocean views.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Great staff, terrible room.

    Reviewed by Jim on Apr 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We stayed here as part of a vacation package that included airfare and hotel. First, the good stuff: the staff were excellent, and these guys have customer service nailed. First rate. The pool area was not bad, and the restaurant served good, if expensive, food. The location was also pretty good and the beach was nice. Now the bad: our room was terrible. We were in one of the cottages that dot the property, and this tired, dirty old room hadn't been updated for decades. the carpet was dirty and pulling up, the fixtures were all broken, rusty, or both, and there was no desk or chair to sit in. So, all your electronics had to be plugged in wherever you could find as plug and left on the floor to charge. The TV was tiny, although it worked OK. The window-shaker air conditioner dripped water all over the floor, so every time you went outside your feet got all wet. I would not stay at this place again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5126 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    The Perfect Place

    Reviewed by Greg B(Palm Springs, California) on Aug 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were lucky enough to stay for 3 weeks. We played tennis almost every morning. The folks at the club set us up with great matches the whole time. The beach is absolutely perfect. You can beach it, lay on the grass, or hang out by the pools. The bartenders are all great! Our favorites are Rebecca, Richard (Mate), Jose, and Eric. Marc and Michael are great as well. The food on property is first rate. Rooms we fine. I did ask for some WD-40 on the doors and cabinets but I couldn't make it happen. That is the only issue and it;s super minor and fixable. We will definitely be going back next year- PS- Make sure to talk story with Uncle Bobo at the valet......hes been there over 50 years!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great resort on a fantastic beach

    Reviewed by Rachel S(Milwaukee, Wisconsin) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort is very charming, clean and laid back. Pools are basic but clean and saltwater. Staff is very welcoming and helpful. Definitely felt at home here. We stayed in a Deluxe Ocean front Cottage Suite. It was the best view. I just wish that the kitchen included a toaster and microwave. These would be very useful and inexpensive inclusions for the resort to add. Please do Royal Lahaina! The grounds are immaculate and gorgeous. This would be a great place to get married and for your guests to come at an affordable price. The beach is awesome but not necessarily calm for little ones under 7 or 8. I saw many snorkeling beyond the waves however so it must be very good for that. Happy hour for Mai tais and some other drinks start at 2pm and goes til 5 or 6pm, cant remember. Did not eat at the restaurant so cannot comment but it was always busy and appeared to be well staffed. I really liked that they had water stations to fill up your reusable bottles at and it was filtered and cold. Also that beach towels were available early in the morning for those headed out on excursions. The valet staff were amazing too as well as all front desk staff. I would definitely stay here again as this was my second time here:)

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Awesome location and very clean

    Reviewed by Shrirambo(Lexington, Massachusetts) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Royal Lahaina was one of the best places we stayed in our trip to HI (4 islands) and the best part is the Luau in the evening. Walking to a show from your room and back, nothing like that. The rooms are like a townhouse, separate from the main building and very convenient to get to the beach or the swimming pool. Waiters at the restaurant were nice and friendly. One can relax in the lounge after swimming or at the bar. The resort was awesome and highly recommend, whether you're going as a couple or family.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Satisfied

    Reviewed by Barbara M() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We did not get the two queen beds as requested. Room was not ready until 4:00 where many from our group had been able to access their rooms earlier. I realize that the 4:00 p.m. was what was stated, but still they knew we were waiting and evidently did not rush to clean it. Sink was very, very slow draining and the remote for the TV did not work.

    The Browns

    Reviewed by Teambrownz() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We LOVE the Royal Lahaina! It’s just close enough to Whalers Village that you can walk there or take the free trolley but also just far enough away that it’s quiet and peaceful. There’s always a lounger at the pool or a spot on the beach. Almost feels like your own private beach! We stayed in a cottage as opposed to the tower and our slider opened up to our own private patio with a golf course view. We will never stay anywhere else in Maui!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX