Occidental Tamarindo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    A

    the daily activities and evening enterainment was the best i ever experienced, with the dancers at broadway level of quality, amazing!!!!!!!

    Reviewed by Anakyt on Feb 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    great hotel with an amazing helpful staff, great delicious food, entertainment was above any other resort, loved the location, the beach, a perfect holiday.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    We loved our stay. The manager of food and beverage is amazing "William" very interested in making the stay enjoyable

    Reviewed by Doyle on Jan 30, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    We had a great time! We just got back and we would go again to this same resort. We have NEVER said this before. the rooms were clean, the food was excellent. the pool warm and lots of room around the pool area to get out of the sun if you had too much. All in all perfect!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3157 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Average accommodations, nice beach, fun evening shows

    Reviewed by Tracy K() on Jan 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Our family booked 7 rooms at Occidental for a family reunion. All the rooms were clean, but some had a musty smell that couldn't be overcome. A few had missing or broken screen doors, and one had an air conditioner that poured water from the ceiling. The distribution of towels was beyond stingy. One bath towel per body -- not wash cloth or hand towels! Outside of the rooms we had a lot of fun. We went body surfing and played volleyball on the amazing beach. (This part of the coast has light shell-rich sand, unlike the black fine sand in other parts of Costa Rica.) The teenagers on the trip loved the evening entertainment and were called on stage many times to participate in dances and skits. There weren't a ton of English speakers on staff, but that didn't bother us. (Thank you, Google Translator!) We used the travel desk to book some amazing day trips, including horseback riding and scuba diving. All in all, I think we received value according to what we paid for the place.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Couple stay for two

    Reviewed by Stay46743039834(Decorah, Iowa) on Jan 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Relaxing atmosphere but with live bands and fun stuff. Overall food quality poor-average. Rooms very comfortable. Great spa. Great location, Good excursion planning. Great staff. No swim up bar, and bar by pool never staffed well enough to get drinks timely.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Perfect relaxation spot!

    Reviewed by G-Wingenbach(Bryan, Texas) on Jan 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Occidental Tamarindo provided the perfect mix of activities, food, pool, and beautiful sandy beaches to unwind after two weeks in the rain forest. Their beach access is unmatched. Service is awesome, always smiling and friendly attendants seeking to help with every need. We will be back again on the next trip. Pura Vida!

    January 2019 Average Rating

    Reviewed by Sean H() on Jan 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The majority of the resort does not speak english. The entertainment lacks at night for english speaking people as they only talk in Spanish. The disco / Club only plays latin/Spanish music which was disappointing. The pool and location to the beach is awesome. The food sucks. Overall it is a good value for the money.... If your looking to enjoy a beach and pool with "free' drinks its a good option. Don't come expecting awesome food or entertainment. This is not within walking distance of the nightlight in Tamarindo as it leads you to believe. The hotel is off the beaten patch.....

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-3

    Great rooms, service and food

    Reviewed by ericdI571NY() on Jan 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We enjoyed our stay. Rooms are super clean and modern. Beach is super with a 15min walk to the main Tamarindo beach. The food quality is also good. Gym equipment and Spa is recent and modern. Staff were happy to help. The only bad thing is the wifi was too weak in our room, we had to move to main lobby for signal/work and there is only one open bar at any time...during the day it is the pool bar, evening its the lobby bar. We enjoyed the stay but no Wi-fi in our room was a disapointment. Thanks to all the staff

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX