Gaylord Opryland Resort and Convention Center

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Loved our stay.

    Reviewed by Jane Whaley on May 18, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2019

    Trip Type: Large group

    Amazing. Would go back definitely

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11279 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Quite a place!

    Reviewed by Stan S(Austin, Texas) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is quite a hotel, unlike any I've been in. It is huge, with massive indoor gardens, fountains, ponds, restaurants, stores, and all kinds of other things. It also has an amazing water park in which we spent quite a lot of time. There are even boat rides you can take within the hotel. Be prepared to walk a lot! The breakfast buffet is very expensive, but also very good, so although it seems too much to pay for breakfast, at least you feel like you're getting something better than average. Not everything was perfect. The check-in process took almost a full hour, and this was in the "short" mobile check-in line. The hotel was completely swamped with incoming guests, and the staff was overwhelmed. The check-in clerk completely ignored the request for a roll-out bed (which was also requested, and ignored, in the online check-in process). The room was tiny, beds were not very comfortable, and there was dirty underwear waiting for us in the room. However, the rest of experience was so positive that I'd still give it 4 stars.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-2

    This place is massive

    Reviewed by NoVAFamilyof4(NoVA) on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Visited for the first time to attend a conference and was amazed by the size of this place. it is a self contained little town with room spread throughout the property, various stores, restaurants, and activities all inside. I think it is a great place for a convention. My room was very clean and had a nice balcony view overlooking the "river". There are various restaurants and food shops that range from casual to higher end. I will say that after two days of being inside I had to step outside for some fresh air. My biggest complaint was the price of a small Starbuck's coffee was $4 at the coffee shop and even more expensive using the coffee machines throughout the property.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    A warning to Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center visitors!

    Reviewed by katie8388() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I spent 4-5 hours in their gardens during each of 2 days (July 8 and 9, 2019) and was covered in bites especially my arms, neck, and face (see attached pics). They were later diagnosed as being from a type of mite that floats in the air evidently enhance by their indoor HVAC system. The hotel denied there are any bugs living in their gardens and offered no assistance or care. In fact, they would not even permit me to be seen by their own clinic unless we agreed to pay ourselves for the consultation. All visitors should think twice before spending time in the gardens of the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center. Despite their beauty, a visit to these gardens could result in many long weeks of discomfortor or even worst!

    Definitely and experience

    Reviewed by dlan10(Cleveland, Ohio) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We finally got to spend a night here after having this on our bucket list for many years. We would come here to just visit in the evening many years ago, but it has been quite a while since we were there. The check in process was a little confusing. There’s several different entrances and parking lots and was overwhelming for first timers. When booking we requested an Atrium view room and a high level floor. When we got there we were in the Atrium, but on a low level hidden behind some plants. I understand that the high level is not guaranteed, but after waiting so long for this stay it was disappointing. The front desk though was very accommodating and did get us a higher level room although it was in the smaller atrium. I do still appreciate their willingness to help us with something like that. It would be nice to have more food options available as well and a more reasonable price, but we only stayed one night so it wasn’t that bad. I was also surprised that no bar in the Atrium could make a frozen drink. It would’ve been nice to sit there and enjoy our drinks instead of having to sit in a sports bar in another location since we were looking for a specific drink. We will definitely stay again and next time we would love to check out the water park. We really had a great night.

    very nice property!

    Reviewed by travelin m(ohio) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I was pretty much impressed with this property as it was my first time there. Rooms were very nice. the beds were just ok. I did like the fact that everything was covered up! I never experienced a property like this. The property is very large and it takes some time to find the meeting rooms. the directions are not clearly marked. we walked almost 20 minutes one day looking. So, if you're there for a conference, etc, do a walk thru the night before because getting around and finding meeting rooms is a challenge (other than going to the food court). the reason I give a 3 star is one day (i was there for one week) we needed towels. i was on hold for over 40minutes before someone answered the phone. we finally went to sleep -no towels. The next morning, we open the door and the towels were outside the room ON THE FLOOR!! What 5 star hotels leaves towels on the floor for their guests? How are we to know if someone didn't swap them out with theirs; but just leaving them on the floor took the cake. The other reason I only give 3 stars is the time it takes for someone at the front desk to pick up the phone. Why is it more than 30minutes to be on hold? Even in the evening, long wait times. Don't expect someone to pick up immediately if you need something. The next reason is the food. If you're a vegetarian, this resort is NOT the place to be. Yes, the had veggie burgers - that's about it. I went to the Cascade restaurant and asked the manager at the desk if they had anything vegetarian. She replied "yes, we have a veggie burger but it is not listed on the menu". I went in and ordered. My waiter had to check with the chef to see if they had any. I did get my veggie burger, but i'm not sure how old it was since they don't get them ordered frequently. This hotel does NOT have a microwave in the room. There is a small refrigerator, but no microwave. I found this odd it being a 5star hotel. Even 2 and 3 star hotels have microwaves. The pizza shop ran out of dough one day before noon. Not sure how that happened! I ordered there 2 days later. I got my pizza to go. they do not put any wax paper or anything between the pizza and the box. They just put the pizza in the box. Well, my pizza was stuck to the box. Was not able to eat it. The grounds are very nice. Will I stay at this hotel again? Yes, I probably would.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX