Sandals South Coast

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 8785 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Exceeded expectations!

    Reviewed by GregoryDem() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We've never been to an all inclusive resort or to the Caribbean before so we really didn't know what to expect. Fresh off our wedding and months of planning this was a much needed trip. Upon arrival we were greeted with champagne and immediate service. Didn't have to lift a finger. Went right to one of the restaurants near our room in the French Village for an excellent lunch with some fancy drinks. Speaking of food all the restuarants were top notch. We had our favorites like Jasmines, the food was great but our server Cassandra was beyond excellent so we kept going back for her. Loved the Sushi on the Sand, breakfast buffet at Bayside and lunch at Schooners almost every day. The service was top notch. This place actually gives you drinks, not watered down stuff. Cheers to Jackson and Oshane at Latitudes, and Fritz at the French pool for always taking things to the next level. Now for the entertainment the shows were excellent but we really enjoyed the poolside antics from Chevon & Tete. They got the party started every day wherever they were. They're energy was contagious. You truly felt like they were your friends after a few hours being around them. Couldn't have asked for a better group of people all across the board to make us feel special on our honeymoon. The beaches were always clean. The water was great. Always something to do but it also felt manageable if you just want to hang by the pool one of the days and chill. Also really enjoyed seeing the wildlife and resident cats. Sure some people find them annoying when eating dinner outside or if you're allergic but as someone who volunteers shelter with cats, does local TNR (Trap Neuter Return), etc. it was excellent to see these cats were all TNRed and well taken care of. Cheers to Sandals for setting an example. Did a few excursions off site. Was incredibly easy to just book at the desk on a whim. Maybe we spent a few extra bucks for that convenience but to us it was worth it. Highly recommend YS Falls and we took the trip up to Negril to hit Ricks Cafe. Honestly hard to find anything to complain about. Had a few days with some shaky weather, mind you it was July and thats prime rainy season but we never got fully rained out for a day. Hey you're in Jamaica better than being at work! Best thing about the entire trip were the people. Never met so many nice people in my life. Yes, it's their job but everyone took it to the next level on every interaction. We'll definitely be back!

    Can't wait to go back!

    Reviewed by arielle506() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I had such an amazing time with my boyfriend and his family. They were more than accommodating for our party of 6. Everyone said hello to each other, and I mean EVERYONE. Guests, employees, everyone was kind, inviting, and genuinely enjoyed being at the resort. Maxlin was our guy! My boyfriend is a chef and talked with him about traditional foods, spices, you name it. Bartenders Peter and Josh were amazing. We got to go snorkeling which I would highly recommend. There were so many food options and the entertainment was on and poppin! DJ took requests, everyone was encouraged/wanted to participate. Shout out to Shelly for being a great MC. 10/10, excited to go again

    Top Notch

    Reviewed by Firstimer40(Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    - never to disappoint - can't say enough of the genuine staff and service - loved all the restaurants and delicious food (did not do sushi bar) - appreciated tashika's help and efforts booking with her once again at the loyalty desk - loved hanging out with Kendrick at the dutch pool always so friendly, hard working and checking on us - enjoyed meeting Bru (choreographer) very professional and well spoken - club level was so impressive from the very moment we stepped off the shuttle to the property. - loved all the club level events and prizes! - appreciated accommodating us by moving us to corner room 2405 was the BEST room in the village! - excellent housekeeping service - outstanding attention to detail - no bugs EVER - miss the ocean sounds and the peepers at night! (no the sounds are not piped in on speakers!!!!) - paradise. true paradise. I'm actually afraid to try another property so I won't be disappointed! - the jamaican demeanor and genuine kindness will be hard to duplicate! - thank you for all of your hard work and efforts!!!! I can't wait to go back! Suggestions: - firmer pillows

    Excellent Service and Amazing Food

    Reviewed by Susan M(Broomall, Pennsylvania) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We visited this resort for the first time on June 16 to June 23, 2019. It is a beautiful resort on the southern part of the island. We are Sandals Select Members and have visited other Sandals and Beaches properties. We heard a lot of great things about this resort so we decided to visit here based on others' recommendations. The ride from the airport was not bad (we were warned it was a bumpy ride). We made it in under 1 1/2 hours. They are paving the roads so it may even be a better ride for those visiting after us. Upon arrival we were welcomed to the lobby (but did have to wait for the bellman first). Our driver was concerned because he couldn't find anyone immediately upon arrival and would not leave us until someone from the property came out to take our bags. I must also mention that our driver was a very cautious and good driver and we felt very safe with him behind the wheel. Our room was not ready so we were asked where we would like to go for lunch and we decided to go to Jerk Shack. We were escorted to Jerk Shack and had lunch and drinks and then went back to the lobby to check on our room. It was not ready. We were offered a different room, but were told it wasn't as nice as the one that was reserved for us so we decided to walk around and enjoy the property. The desk clerk came and found us by the pool to let us know our room was ready. They were very attentive and accommodating. Our room was beautiful. All rooms are ocean front. We had a corner room and a view of the ocean through the trees. We ate at every restaurant and enjoyed all the food and drinks. The entertainment was very good. We especially loved the steel drum band. One of our favorite dinners was the Loyalty Rewards dinner. We had the pleasure of sitting with 3 wonderful couples and the resort manager, Mr. Whitehead. He invited us on a tour of the castle on the property. He leads this tour every Friday morning. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and the history behind it. We also loved the overall hospitality offered by the staff. Other than the bartender at the piano bar being grumpy, we really didn't encounter bad service. The food, drinks and service were amazing overall! Our favorite restaurant was Eleanor's and Sushi by the sand. Eleanor's had a special dinner planned for father's day - the night we arrived. It was filet wrapped in bacon topped with shrimp - delicious. The maid service was excellent. Our room attendant was Tanaska who did an excellent job! OWayne at Latitudes bar was so friendly and helpful. Sakeyar and Tamar at the front desk were wonderful and went out of the way to help and answer questions. Tamecka at Loyalty desk was a big help in getting our future reservations secured for the right dates and room. Our only big disappointment was that we couldn't swim in the ocean with all the seaweed. Our favorite part of going to the Caribbean is enjoying the beautiful ocean. At this resort, the seaweed is so thick you couldn't see bottom. I even brought my water shoes after reading the reviews. I thought that would be ok, but it wasn't. We had to swim in the pools the entire week. The only time I was able to enjoy the ocean was on the snorkeling excursion, but I wanted to be able to snorkel off the beach and couldn't. So, if you are a beach person and really enjoy being in the water, this may not be the resort for you. However, if you like great food, great service and swimming in the pools, this may be the resort for you. Also, they were out of a lot of top shelf bar items. We were told that the bar manager ordered Petrone and to keep checking back, which we did all week. Unfortunately they didn't get it in while we were there so my husband didn't enjoy any tequila all week (because he just could not drink Cuervo) so he had drank other things he liked. It would have been nice if the bars were better stocked. As much as we did enjoy our week, we don't have plans to return mainly because of the beach. We do recommend Sandals and Beaches as they have a great loyalty program and great service and food and amenities which keeps us coming back.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    3x Sandalisto Review

    Reviewed by Matt C() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    After being to other Sandals properties, my wife and I decided that we wanted to go to one that had a beach that was usable and we could not have been happier with our decision to stay at Sandals South Coast. The beach is stunning, yes there is sea grass in spots, but that doesn't take away from the spectacular color/clarity of the water or the beautiful white sand which is raked and manicured daily. If you think the sea grass might bother you, just bring water shoes or beach it up closer to the French building/bungalows where there is less grass. One last tip on the beach, we spoke with the GM Gary and he suggested walking along the shore past the bungalows which my wife and I would enjoy almost every morning. Daily activities are managed by a group of employees known as the Playmakers. In the words of their manager Champagne, they are all "super super talented!" They bring energy to every event they run and are extremely hard-working. AWESOME OWEN, DAVION, Chevon, Tavon (TT), Glenroy and Tequila will do their best to make sure you are having a great time and are working from 10am-2am to accomplish this in some cases! Now to the food. They say in Jamaica, tell it like it is and while we had mostly good experiences, there was one bad one. We went to Sushi on the Sand one night and they were packed and there were people that had to wait to be seated. With that being said, being at full capacity seemed to affect the quality of the service/food. Being on island time I expect to wait a little longer than I'm used to to receive food but what was meant to be a semi-quick stop for only 3 rolls took a lot longer than planned. And then a couple of the rolls with fish on top seemed a little warm for sushi as if it had sat for a bit and my wife got sick 3 times over that night/next morning and I had some issues as well. Others said they had good experiences, but we did not see the restaurant as packed as it was the night we went so that may or may not have been related to our issue. Other than that experience, all others were great! Our favorite was Jasmine's, both times we dined there I ended up going back for seconds. We had the opportunity to meet the chef and make sure you ask about all the daily specials! Eleanor's was a close second with Earl and his extremely professional staff providing a high level of Caribbean hospitality, with the food quality meeting that same standard. One last shout out to Debbie-Ann and Damion at Bayside who would always start our days with a smile and a laugh while making our omlettes/smoothies. Lastly, the room. We stayed in the R&J Walkout Honeymoon Room in the Dutch building. We had a beautiful view down the coast and were far enough away from the main walk that provided privacy. The rooms are in definite need of renovation which I believe is planned. We had two issues with the room which were communicated to our Club Sandals representatives and resolved promptly. As we were not there to sleep all day and watch TV, the room met our needs and did not detract from our experience. Overall, the good heavily outweighed the bad and I would definitely recommend staying at South Coast and we look forward to the possibility of coming back in a few years.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX