Disney's Art of Animation Resort

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    J

    Loved being there, can't wait to go back! Beautiful property, easy to get to and from the parks and downtown Disney Springs!

    Reviewed by J on Jun 20, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Great resort for everyone! Easy for transportation (just typically located at the furthest point when loading and unloading at parks and downtown Disney). Beautiful resort, the Big Blue Pool was amazing! Onsite laundry made it easy to clean clothes during the week. Food was fantastic. Friendly staff. Absolutely can't wait to come back here again for some fun!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    This Hotel is perfect for the kids!

    Reviewed by Josh on Nov 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    Wonderful all the magic of Disney and it's movies all in one place! Also very easy to get from one park to the next!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 8249 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not our fav

    Reviewed by mykidsr1derful(Buffalo, New York) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    First I have to say we travel to Disney yearly and always stay on property always in value resorts and we have stayed at all of them. This was our first Time at Art of Animation, we were in the Cars suites. I know my opinion won't be the popular one but it's my honest view. The food court and the gift shop are connected something I don't prefer. It also gets very busy, lines get extremely long and it can take awhile to get food. When different members of your family are eating different things it makes it difficult. But it is Disney and the food itself is ok. My biggest letdown was the room itself. For the price of the suites I expected more. Our carpet was just filthy and I mean stained,gross, dirty where carpet should be orange it was brown. Disney, for the money charged you can afford new carpeting from time to time. The hallways are dark and gloomy. Walls are thin and you hear every noise, and I mean every noise thank God I always bring a fan. I am not a picky person but when I find rooms at the All-Stars quieter and with cleaner carpets there is a problem. I do love the outdoor areas. Theming is wonderful and the pools are nice. I just expected a little more from the room itself. Our first and last time here next time it will be All Stars or Pop.

    The Pros and the Cons...

    Reviewed by Rucksacks2Resorts(Alabama) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    During this trip, there were four of us- my sister in-law, nephew and me. We wanted a room with enough beds, where we could stay together and with a small kitchenette. We got a room in the Nemo section, preferred. There are a lot of reviews commenting that the resort is spread out, not convenient, etc. Though I’ve only stayed in the Nemo section, I can confirm two things- yes, the resort is HUGE and the Nemo family rooms are convenient to Big Blue, lobby and food court. If it’s within budget, I’d spring for the preferred location- and we love to walk! First the Pros: PROS: Resort theming is immersive, on point and genuinely great for kids (or adults looking to walk into a cartoon!). Room set up for what we wanted worked great- the Murphy bed that flips up to a table, and sofa bed that becomes a couch offered very flexible room configurations. I slept on both, and both were comfy (rare for a pull out and adult). I also thought the parking was fairly convenient- we were able to park very close to lobby without issue. Now, the Cons: (Sorry in advance if you LOVE this resort) CONS: The theming is immersive.... As in, LOUD colors- even in the rooms. Our room was an aquarium shade of blue... effective coloring... and after 5 days, dizzying. The kids loved it at first and by the third day, my son was complaining that it was he didn’t like it. Second, you hear toilets flush- in other rooms, all night. Yes, sometimes in hotels you hear that. I don’t know if it’s every room, but in ours, it was loud and terrible and everywhere. The food court is great, but when busy can be overwhelming. And, be forewarned, you must pass a huge gift shop and arcade on the way out of the lobby and into the food court. Most resorts have some kind of gift shop and arcade, but most are not so obvious. Prepare your kids... TIPS: As previously mentioned, pay for the preferred location if you can afford it and walking is a consideration. If you are a light sleeper, the walls in this hotel are THIN- bring an Alexa or other noisemaker to drown it out at night (I regretted not having mine). Try to visit the food court at “off hours” which makes for a more pleasant meal. Overall, theming is awesome and you really feel Disney at this resort. The floor plans are a bonus and second bathroom are nice. That said, the prices of the family suites tend to be high. If given the option to stay in a family suite with a separate bed at AA or a two bed queen in Wilderness Lodge or AKL (which many times of year have similar pricing), I’d choose one of the latter. But that depends totally on what your traveling party’s configuration is, and what you are looking for!

    Limited Appeal

    Reviewed by BOSjourneyer(Boston, Massachusetts) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I had heard great things about Art of Animation going into this trip, but was left sadly disappointed. I can see the appeal for a very select group of people - folks who need significantly more space than the average Disney hotel - but don't understand the appeal outside of that. We were automatically upgraded to a suite from a standard room, which was a nice surprise, but the room was dated and cheap looking. It seemed like Disney spent all the money tiling the (lovely) bathroom and then went thrift shopping for the rest. Art of Animation has interior hallways, which is unique among non-deluxe hotels at Disney, but they're dimly lit and musky, adding to the cheap feel. You can get a much nicer room at Pop Century for less, or at Coronado for a bit more, so I'd go with one of those over Art of Animation unless you need the space.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Great Disney Hotel

    Reviewed by sfangie() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We are Disney FL annual pass holders and typically stay in our RV at Disney's Fort Wilderness. We took a short weekend trip and decided to stay at Disney's Art of Animation instead of camping for the weekend. We stayed in the Radiator Springs section in a family suite and ventured out to check out the hotel amenities. When we returned to our room a few hours later luggage belonging to other guests was inside our suite. I called and they said they would come and retrieve the luggage it took over an hour so we again ventured out, long story. More luggage in our room upon our second return that did not belong to us! I called the front desk...again. Eventually the luggage was retrieved and I noticed a guest survey letter in our room which asked if we would respond while on site to any issues so Disney could address. Within 3-5 minutes of submitting an online response to our luggage issue I received a call from management and a knock at the door. Disney went above and beyond to make us happy and correct the situation while we were still on site. Response and corrective measure was amazing and very much appreciated.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    First timer and wont be our last!

    Reviewed by KimGoesDisney(Houston, Texas) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Wow!! My family and I have been planning for this trip for over a year and its finally here! Everything was great, the staff, the buses going from the parks to the resort! A truly magical experience and can't wait to come back! Rooms were clean and my kids love the pool!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX