Occidental Nuevo Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    H

    Great location, beautiful beach, fantastic food, friendly and helpful staff.

    Reviewed by Happy Traveller on Feb 01, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    I had a wonderful stay at this resort. It's located on one of the best beaches in the area. The restaurants had great food and the staff were very nice. There are only 2 bars, the bar by the pool and a lounge in the main area so it was usually fairly relaxing. I don't think I saw a drunk person all week. If you're looking for a resort to party at this isn't it. Great resort for families, couples, singles. The gym was fairly small but had everything I needed for a good work out. I'm heading back to this area one month after my stay at Occidental Nuevo but the resort is full. I would have stayed there again if they had a room for me.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Immaculate hotel, amazing staff! Perfect vacation.

    Reviewed by SamlovedMexico on Jan 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Westjet made our travels stress free. Nice to have prearranged airport transportation. Our westjet rep was very helpful the morning after we arrived. We loved this hotel. The staff was amazing. Rooms, hotel, pools and grounds were immaculate. The beach was beautiful and we could walk for hours to the north. The hotel had free boogie boards kayaks and paddle boards. I recommend requesting a room in the south wing. The middle section was noisy with the lobby party/music until about 11 pm. Hotel needs to put felt pads on all chairs in the rooms and lobby. Check in was quick. Would have been helpful to be given more information about the hotel. There were generally always loungers available but it?s a good idea to lay out your towels in the morning. Dissapointing not to be able to use adult pool without upgrading. However main pool was never crowded. Our belongings were never touched on the beach, by the pool or in the room. We used the safe in our room mostly but found staff very honest. We had to ask occasionally for minibar refill despite leaving tips. Note the minibar is not filled by housekeeping so we left separate tips after we clued into this. Had to request water one day and they literally had it in our room before I got back up to our room. The al la Carte restaurants were amazing. The buffet had fresh diverse options. Seafood was excellent. It would be nice to make all restaurant reservations the first day. Servers were friendly and attentive. Loved having the option of having drinks brought to us on the beach! Bartenders were at times inconsistent. Main buffet was not always open at lunch just snack bar. I would have preferred the music at the pool in the lobby and in the shows be not as loud. The bass in the pool music was annoying. Entertainment was awesome. Very talented dancers. Beautiful costumes very synchronized and well choreographed routines. Note if you have children some of the costumes and routines are pretty sexy. 200 peso cab to town.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Best vacation by far. Occidental Nuevo Vallarta was top notch.

    Reviewed by Joe H on Feb 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We booked the Occidental Nuevo Vallarta through WestJet Vacations. From start to finish this vacation was amazing. We were picked up at the airport and taken directly to the hotel. Check-in was prompy, friendly and efficient. The resort is on the smaller side which makes it perfect for families. The rooms are modern and clean. Our room was within 100 steps to the beach and pool. The beach was beautiful with white sand and no rocks. The entertainment staff was there to ensure there was always something to do. There were boogie boards, kayaks, stand up paddle boards all available and free to use. The restaurants and buffet were all amazing. We never had one bad experience in ten days we stayed. The staff were all extremely friendly and genuinely there to ensure you had the best experience possible. The drinks were made with all the premium brands and the drinks made with juices were freshly squeezed. Try the Greyhound's! All in all this was a 10/10 trip for myself and my two kids. I will be returning to this resort again without hesitation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    Loved it! Want to go back.

    Reviewed by WENDY and Olga on Sep 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Lovely property and great staff! Everyone from bellman Carlos, to check in Michelle, to Bartender Alfredo, to Servers Perla and Jesus and Angeles were all ready to serve and attend to our wishes! Alfredo kept saying..."it is my pleasure" to serve...and I truly believed he meant it! Location was excellent and food great....definitely want to go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Good hotel

    Reviewed by Leni on Nov 19, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel was great, food, service, clean, location... all good. Only a couple of complaints. 1 time share people. I had to be rude to them to get the off my back. 2 no balconies 3 rooms next to the elevator are very noisy

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4659 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Best Puerto Vallarta Resort!

    Reviewed by Escape715756() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We are a family of 4, and stayed one week at Barcelo PV, and one week at Occidental Nuevo Vallarta (also in the Barcelo family). Occidental was hands down the best resort I have been to in Mexico. It is not a huge complex, it is small, perfect in every way. Because of its size, I think of it more as a boutique resort, the staff learned our names, drinks, kids drinks and preferences. We are not picky or entitled, we are a pretty average family that wanted an amazing trip. We opted for the Royal level service and it did not disappoint. Rubi, Jocelyn, Augustin, Julio, Juan, there are so many individuals that made our experience one that we stayed for 2 more days because we loved it there. The food at the Royal level is true 5 star resort quality, even the room service came at the same quality level. The Mexican restaurant was amazing, with an unconventional perk - if you eat dinner at 9pm, the Hard Rock hotel next door has their nightly concert, so you can eat your meal and hear the greats! It was amazing! All that aside, it was the personal attention, the care and kindness, my children loved the chess set in the royal lounge and all the amenities that went with being members. Entertainment staff was great! We loved the cabanas, not only for the location, but also the security. Juan, the young security guard watched our belongings and we saw him help elderly and disabled guests on to the beach. This was above and beyond. In every way the staff helped and were genuine, that's what makes this hotel a place to return to. We will return to Occidental, it was just perfect!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Friend vacation

    Reviewed by sunbound09(Saskatchwan) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Fernando aka “Peewee” was the greatest bar waiter. Great service and great personality:) so much fun was had. Drinks were good and plentiful. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Travelled as a group of five singles. Spent most of our time at the pool

    Fantastic relaxing vacation

    Reviewed by Pat T(Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have been to the Occidental 5 times now and every time it’s like going home. The resort is small enough that you get to know the staff and they treated us like family. A special shout out to Ricardo,Yesinia,Erik,Arce,Gitimio and Marrisa who worked as a team to anticipate our every need in the dining area.The food was second to none with a variety every day. The rooms are well kept and comfortable. The beach in front goes on for miles which was perfect for our morning and evening walks. We found the Occidental to have something for every age group from a kids play area to the endless adult games and entertainment. High 5 recommendation!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Family vacation

    Reviewed by Extraordinary242061() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Need little more choice for vegetarian, all other experience was great including finding baby Turtles. Great nightly entertainment, nice beach and pool, wish there was a Jacuzzi. Food was great, Italian and Mexican dinner was great too.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Lovely vacation in Nuevo Vallarta.

    Reviewed by Lori W(Calgary, AB) on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    There were six people in our party. We all had a great vacation enjoying the food, pool, beach and entertainment. The weather was perfect. Thanks to all the First Club staff for making our stay a special one.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX