Excellence El Carmen

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    Best All Inclusive Vacation Yet

    Reviewed by Dave B. on Nov 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Fantastic vacation the moment we walked into this outstanding property. Both my wife and I have traveled a great deal to various all inclusive resorts the last few years, and we both strongly believe that Excellance El Carmen was by far the best. Certainly we will be returning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Unique, Inspiring and relaxing escape

    Reviewed by JR on Jun 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    From the minute you slip behind the majestic sliding doors, you feel like you have stepped into another world. This is luxury at its best. A perfect spot for those that are young or young at heart and have exquisite taste. This one was built less than two years ago and you can tell how much planning went into this right down to the tiniest detail. This place feels very exclusive, but not in a snobby way. You just know you are getting the best of the best. It is foodies dream and definitely aimed at those who enjoy the finer things in life. The Spa is stunning and has a variety of treatments at your fingertips. I would love to know where they got the chairs that grace the lobby, as they are truly unique. When you stay here you really believe you are in a lovely private world away from it all.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    New, trendy hotel with great feel.

    Reviewed by Marie on Jun 11, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a very new hotel with a very trendy and modern feel. The beach was gorgeous and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. If you are a foodie, this is the place for you.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4098 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Deserving of its name Excellence

    Reviewed by Marcelle T(Ontario, Canada) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed at Excellence El Carmen from May 5 to 15 2019 inclusively. We travel 2-3 times per year and regularly stay at Sandals Resorts. We have been to Punta Cana well over 50 times in the last 25 years. This hotel is one of the rare where we would return. The grounds are impeccable. The rooms are well appointed, big and close to the beach if you select the Excellence Club category. Regardless, nothing is far. It’s a perfect sized hotel. If you like having everything unlimited like preferred restaurants, preferred private beach area, with servers beyond alcohol who prepare your chairs for your arrival, and special wines etc.,the attentions in club category are well worth it. The people are all very service oriented and always so kind and smiling. The service team at Excellence El Carmen is exceptional! We do have to note a special thank you to the exceptional service and attention provided by Profete. He is attentive to his guests and will treat you like a king and queen. Any little special request is never a problem. He makes your experience of the most memorable. Profete takes service attention to a level beyond anyone can dream. And he is a real gentleman ! From the moment he meets you, throughout your stay and to the last goodbye - Profete is always there to ensure all is excellent for you. Regardless of service oriented training Profete received, we can tell he loves his job and it is in his bones to make your stay exceptional. He is king of his favorite restaurant and main assignment - The Grill! You will also find him working the lunch serving at The Oregano restaurant if you are a club member. Rest assured that if there’s a special request you have, Profete will make it happen! In the morning, at the à la carte restaurant for club members The Lobster House, you will meet Alexander who’s smile is absolutely contagious! Alexander is always there to ensure you have everything you need to start your day on the right foot. Alexander loves his job and he too is very focused on service excellence. He will remember you and ensure every little attention is given to you and that your needs and expectations are met. You’ll also find him working at The Grill for dinner and regardless of putting in a more than 12 hour day, he’s still smiling and as energetic as you’ll find him first thing in the morning! Thank you gentlemen! Jacques and Marcelle from Canada ????

    Honeymoon

    Reviewed by Explore46286039910() on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Went on our honeymoon and had a great time. Great location for couples. Highly recommend the catamaran excursion and horseback riding. Excursions are tremendous value for the price. Rooms and entertainment are excellent

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    We Love Excellence El Carmen!

    Reviewed by Elizabeth S(Union City, California) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is our second trip to the Excellence El Carmen. The staff is friendly, helpful, personable and fun! The property is beautiful and well taken care of. We had a problem with the safe in our room and the door had to be replaced. They said it would only take 5 minutes to get there and replace it. We were sure it would take a little longer than 5 minutes but to our surprise he got there and installed it in 5 minutes! Anything we needed was taken care of in a timely manner. I was also impressed with room service. They were always there in less time than was estimated and the food was hot and delicious. The entertainment staff are awesome! We had so much fun with the activities! We will definitely be back!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Love El Carmen Resort

    Reviewed by RandyandCheryl(Lebanon) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We love the resort. It is modern but still has the Caribbean atmosphere. You get a lot for your money at this resort. The staff is hard working and caring to your needs. This was our 14th visit to an Excellence in the Dominican. The rooms are spacious and the resort is laid out nicely and very clean. There is plenty to do during the day and there is enjoyable entertainment every night. We had no issues with the quality of the food and there is a large variety of cuisines to chose from. The beach is nice and it is not an issue wondering off the resort on the beach. Management is always visible, checking to see if everything is good and if not they will make sure it is good. We are looking forward to returning to El Carmen.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Excellence el carmen

    Reviewed by OnAir08807907647() on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    As soon as we pulled up we were greeted pleasantly. Handed a cold towel and champagne, took our luggage. We were then sent over to excellence club area to check in. Our room was not ready (we got there at 9:30 am). Told the room would not be ready until 2:30. We went to eat at the lobster house for lunch. Was not impressed with the lunch here, had a fried egg sandwich and nachos. We checked on the status of our room at 1ish and they said it wasn't ready and instead they gave us another room (same room, that one was just ready sooner). They took our luggage to the room for us. Room was AMAZING. BEST PART OF THE STAY HERE. We had the oceanfront honeymoon suite with two floors and a plunge pool. The view was unreal, everything was well kept up with. We went Mexican for dinner that night. Was not impressed here either. The staff was extremely rude. However the food itself was good. We then went to the show which was the circus that night, the show was amazing. When we got back to our room it was cleaned and the bedsheets were pulled down, robes laid out for us and the tv was set to calming music (we actually slept with this music on all week it was amazing). Next day we went to the beach. Only complaint was the seaweed but they do a great job of picking it up right away in the morning we were very impressed. The waiters on the beach are great, so friendly. The excellence club has the cabanas which are great as well. Only other thing I did not like was when you are at the beach the guys selling jewelry or excursions DO NOT STOP talking to you and hounding you. Can be too much when you are just trying to relax. Magna was great for breakfast, service was good. Best service was at the steakhouse for dinner, he went out of his way to make a drink they did not have. He actually ran to the coffee house to make my boyfriend an expresso martini. Food was not bad either. Pools were great, pool bar service was great as well. Italian was by far THE BEST restaurant. There lunches and dinners are unreal. Their seafood risotto was the best I have ever had in my life and the service there is great. Asian food was our second favorite although the service there is very slow. The last night there we did the romantic dinner on the beach. Service was amazing there and they take professional pictures that you can buy later which was fun. Room service was perfect as well. Food was good, came hot and quick.Overall amazing stay and CANNOT WAIT TO RETURN TO ANOTHER EXCELLENCE RESORT

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX