Majestic Colonial Punta Cana

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    N

    ...returned from the beach one evening to find a bath filled with bubbles, rose petals and champagne on ice (very appreciated)...

    Reviewed by Nicola on Apr 22, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Just returned from 10 days at Majestic Colonial. Had a fantastic time. Great Staff, food, amenities, room. Worth upgrading to All Adults Side for little extras like two river-like pools with cabana -type beds and swim-up bars. Also access to Colonial Club Room: ongoing food, free use of computers free wi-fi anyway ; "butler" service; we returned from the beach one evening to find a bath filled with bubbles, rose petals and champagne on ice very appreciated . Staff very friendly and accommodating. Great Entertainments' team who work very hard to make sure all visitors have the opportunity to join in and know what is going on. Evening entertainment flows well from buffet, to dancing to live music followed by a show at the theatre and for real "night owls" casino and disco. Hotel is well designed, particularly with regard to layout of foliage and many little "oases" surrounded by palms and lots of soothing water areas with fountains, especially around the lobby area where there are large areas of water with "Mayan" type statues. Hotel seems to be continually maintained from gardening to painting to room maintenance. The gazebo right on the beach is in a wonderful position for weddings and we witnessed almost one wedding a day for the time we were there. All areas are very spacious, like the theatre and the main buffet, yet all within very easy walking distance. The rooms were huge and everywhere was immaculately clean. The beach was beautiful with breath-taking views in either direction and you could walk for miles along soft white sand ...or just lie on a cabana or bed beneath a palm tree and there were plenty of them for everybody and usually not long before a waiter/waitress appeared to ask what you would like to drink no pressure! Would definitely go back and recommend to anyone without hesitation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    E

    Je recommance sans hésitation

    Reviewed by Emmanuelle on Mar 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Nous avons adoré notre voyage. J'y retourne dès que possible. Site enchanteur. Le site est très propre, l'ambiance est super et la bouffe est très bonne. Nous avons bien profiter de notre séjour. Je recommande sans hésitation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 20036 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Go to this resort!!

    Reviewed by Bracebridge1973(Mississauga, Canada) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is my third time in Punta Cana and this was the best resort. In our group we had two seniors, 4 adults and 2 kids ages 11 and 13. Perfect for all ages. Perfect size...not too big, not too small. Never felt pressure to save chairs on beach or poolside..plenty of seating available in the shade. The grounds and public areas were extremely clean. The staff work so hard to make this place amazing. There were daily activities on the beach or in pool bar area which we all enjoyed..watching or participating. The animation crew did a great job at organizing volleyball games every day. Very enthusiastic! We loved all the food we had and think the restaurant staff were extremely efficient and hard working. A real highlight was the weekly beach party. The buffet was closed and essentially set up on the beach! This must require so much work, but pulled off effortlessly! The live music was great and so was the whole atmosphere (staff handed out glow wands...so fun). We also enjoyed the nighty music on the patio area. Nice to have that early in the evening. We had great drink service each evening in the lobby bar area where we could sit at coffee tables and play games. l. Oh...can't forget to mention the unique pool. It runs almost the entire length of the lodging area, so all rooms have very close access to the pool. We all had so much fun swimming up and down, stopping for drinks and swimming back up to our chairs. Kids couldn't get enough of the pool. Both pool and beach water warm!

    Very nice resort!

    Reviewed by Joanie M(Dover, Ohio) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The resort was well maintained and pretty big. We stayed in the “club” section for adults only which provided a private club lounge that had food and drinks at all times. We also had a butler named Freddy Baez that was great. He’s checked in with us every day to see if we needed anything. We could also text him if we had any issues or needed anything. Our room was nice and big. It was very damp. It was literally wet feeling bedding and any paper in the room was damp as well. I was not a fan of the bathroom setup. Nice jacuzzi tub and double sinks, but the toilet was a very small “stall”. The shower was large with rain and handheld shower and nice bench, but dark. The food was better at the restaurants than the cafeterias. Best restaurant was Japanese in my opinion. The WIFI sucked and said it wasn’t secure. The staff all work very hard. We had an excellent girl that took good care of us at the main pool who’s name was Ana Luisa. We were never without a drink! There was a live band every night, but was very repetitive. There was a different themed show nightly at the theater. The grounds and the beach were very nice. Take more sunscreen than you think you’ll use because it’s 24-36 USdollars at the resort!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Fun trip with small quirks. Worth the money

    Reviewed by Zuzkin(Fort Myers, Florida) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We, a family of four with two kids, decided to book through Costco a last minute trip. After hours of research I chose this resort. Checked in late with no issues (other than very annoying sales pitches at the airport). The room was ready and a champagne was waiting for us. Not to bore everyone with a long story, here are the things we liked and disliked during our 6 nights stay. Liked: Room was relatively clean. We had the junior suite with jacuzzi inside. The kids club was awesome!!! Not too many (about 12) kids and about 4 caregivers. There were slides and fun activities. Our kids did not want to leave that place. We ended up having some "us" time. Also, you can hire a child seater and they will watch your kid for a reasonable price. The beach is awesome. Did not have any issues with lounge chairs. They try hard to organize some fun activities for everyone. We enjoyed it a lot. The french restaurant is the best. This is a truly gourmet restaurant that would easily cost you couple of hundred dollars for a couple. All the other ones are ok. The worst was the steakhouse by the beach. Food Ok and the waiters seem not to care much about you. The shows were entertaining. I mean, these guys really tried hard to put up good shows. You gotta give them that. Did not like: The service staff, as mentioned by many here, was very dreadful. It felt like they were underpaid severely. You can tell by their faces that they were miserable. This was a big negative. I left tips as many times as possible, but it did not seem to matter. During our stay nobody truly asked/cared how we were doing. Occasionally, we would be asked if we needed something. Forget about trying to motivate us to come back. We were not offered any upgrades or anything of this nature. Occasional drunken/wasted teens by the bars. The drinking age in DR appears to be 16. The drinks (alcoholic) were very cheap. I guess you get what you pay for. Overall we had a lot of fun. I would add another half a star if it was possible. They do deserve it. I read that many were bothered by the beach merchants. It did not bother us a bit. Just poor folk trying to make a living. Not like they were in your face. I would recommend this place to families. Just know what you are getting for the money. It is a good value. Not sure if a more "luxurious" resort in DR would have made much of a difference. Based on many reviews I read here, the underpaid and dreadful staff is widespread.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Great Vibes

    Reviewed by Vjum89() on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall good experience. Only issue was room smelled like mildew but besides that super fun resort staff and good food. Always activities going on to keep you entertained. The specialty majestic drink was delicious.

    Majestic Colonial club

    Reviewed by BestOfTravel() on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed in colonial all club side. We travelled with another couple. The resort was large, well manicured and beautiful. Food was great! Entertainment and animation team were great. They always had something going on. Beach was beautiful and easy to swim in. Really No complaints. I would like to express special thanks to Jeffrey , our butler. He made all of our reservations, made a special effort to find us daily, and really made our vacation feel more special. I also wanted to send a special thank you to Jey Jey, she very fun to visit with. She made our vacation complete. Thankyou Junor for the great service on the beach. Thankyou Denise, you were one of our favorite bartenders.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX