Occidental Punta Cana

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    H

    Loved the beaches and the pools. Enjoyed the service by the chefs, servers and the bartenders. Management staff needs to be improved.

    Reviewed by Huzaifa Khanani on Mar 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    The bar and buffet service was great. Our room smelled really bad and they didnt do anything about it. They didnt change our room nor did they reply to us when we called the front desk. The wifi is a bit expensive and doesnt work properly as well. The room keys kept malfunctioning as well as the room lights. But the pool and beach were amazing. Overall i feel that the management staff performs poorly. But the servers, bartenders and chefs did a splendid job to keep the guests happy. Personally, because of my bad experiences, i wouldnt go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4441 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Vacation Review

    Reviewed by Marisa N(Dublin, Ireland) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The resort overall was good with great entertainment, but cleanliness could be better in room and servie at bars could be better, ignored many times. Also the restaurant booking process could be improved.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Vacation

    Reviewed by Jet15757703927() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The place was very nice and the staff was friendly and nice.the room was very comfortable and cleaned, service was excellent, food very good, the show at night impressive . The music ?? at the pool bar was ordinary not feeling to have fun .

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    THIS PLACE IS A SCAM – DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

    Reviewed by JohnWaHi(New York City, New York) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We were ripped off twice in our one-week stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. We had planned a trip for my 40th birthday with six of our friends. One of the nights my sister was going to stay in our room because her roommate came a day later. We had called Barcelo in advance, we were informed that it would be $81 for her to be added to our room for one night, and we had it in writing when we checked in. However, when we got to the resort, the price tripled and was suddenly $240.00. Feeling stuck because she needed a place to stay and not wanting to ruin the trip, we went ahead and paid the $240.00. While it pissed us off, we moved past it. HOWEVER, that is not even close to the worst of it. A couple weeks after we get back, my fiance’s credit card is almost declined while trying to make a purchase. After checking the credit card statement, we realized that the charge for our room was over $1,700.00 more expensive that what we were quoted when we booked the room. The paperwork at the hotel was only printed in Spanish and pesos so we had no idea. After a couple dropped phone calls and some condescending emails from their Guest Service Manager, Luz Salce, we were informed that because we used their airport shuttle bus service, the hotel rebooked our entire reservation 48 hours before our trip at the increased price. We had no idea! We later found cryptic emails with no prices on them and their website that had the increased price on it, BUT WE HAD NEVER AUTHORIZED THEM TO REBOOK OUR RESERVATION!!! And certainly not at a $1,700.00 price increase. We would never have booked the hotel in the first place at the price or planned the trip at all. In addition to being charged almost $1,900.00 more than what we planned; the food was mediocre at best. Almost everybody in our group got nauseous and a couple of us were sick for multiple days. Thankfully, we lucked out with nice weather and my friends can laugh through almost anything, otherwise, the trip would have been a complete disaster. Regardless, we will not be staying at the Occidental Punta Cana or any other Barcelo property again, and most likely will never return to the Dominican Republic.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Very nice hotel stayed for our honeymoon

    Reviewed by Trip54891149368(North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We came for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed at all. The royal level club really took care of you and treated you like family while you were staying. The staff went above and beyond to make sure they accommodated all of our needs

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Friends/ birthday reunion

    Reviewed by sorindy0318(Flushing, New York) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Excellent service food was delicious amazing we had a great time. Rooms were very nice and clean. Staff are very friendly. They have an amazing show at night for entertainment and then a club call mangu.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX