Occidental Punta Cana

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    H

    Loved the beaches and the pools. Enjoyed the service by the chefs, servers and the bartenders. Management staff needs to be improved.

    Reviewed by Huzaifa Khanani on Mar 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    The bar and buffet service was great. Our room smelled really bad and they didnt do anything about it. They didnt change our room nor did they reply to us when we called the front desk. The wifi is a bit expensive and doesnt work properly as well. The room keys kept malfunctioning as well as the room lights. But the pool and beach were amazing. Overall i feel that the management staff performs poorly. But the servers, bartenders and chefs did a splendid job to keep the guests happy. Personally, because of my bad experiences, i wouldnt go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5300 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Russians in the Dominican Republic

    Reviewed by delilash() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The staff is very polite and helpful. From our room to the beach 1 minute walk. The beach is very beautiful and cozy. Delicious food in restaurants. The hotel rooms are not in the best condition and also with cockroaches. but the cleaning was very high quality and daily. Air conditioners are constantly breaking. When checking in, there were serious communication problems, which spoiled the initial arrival at the hotel. But on the whole, the rest exceeded my expectations and small flaws did not prevent me from enjoying the rest.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    The worst time ever

    Reviewed by Akram010(Toronto, Canada) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We spent 8 Days at the resort. Terrible Buffet from Service to Food all BAD. You ask someone to bring you something they will not show up at all. When you reach at the table hoping someone will guide you well Good Luck find your own spot and if you find an empty table good luck finding someone to clean if dirty.If you found all of the above good luck someone providing you utensils. Evening entertainment was not good at all. At least the specialty Restaurants at least Japanese food was good. Daily entertainers during the day were quite enjoyable. Nothing else to say

    Great stay

    Reviewed by Experience20565() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The staff is welcoming and lovely view my family and I had a great time staying. People were friendly and kind. Food is good the pool and beach were great. I would come back again to this resort because it was peaceful.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Evolution

    Reviewed by amilkajuniorm(Havana, Cuba) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    You should put more people to serve the guests in the reception and the buffet should have more variety of foods. The bar in the Mangu Club is week. Put some nice Vodka and Scotch too. But its a very very nice place, good control, good service.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Just Okay

    Reviewed by JavierB1735() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Food Quality and Variety has much to be improved. Service was average. The beach was very beautiful and clean including the rooms were kept very clean. Overall, our 7 day vacation was just okay, the amenities and pools were very nice.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX