Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
    6. Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    W

    We made the best of it. We worked with what was offered and had a great time.

    Reviewed by Westjetter RLang on Mar 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    After visiting numerous 5 star and 4.5 star resorts this certainly isn't a 4.5 star as rated by Westjet. That said we made friends and did our best to enjoy our time there. The staff were awesome, no complaints there. We booked for the cove and idea of snorkling off the beach. There was so much seaweed that was impossible. There was 20 workers daily trying to collect it but it just sat in piles and stunk up the place. There was also a pond on the far side that was supposed to be "amazing" but it looked like a dirty pool of disease and garbage..ummm NO! I suppose this was just seasonal, so take your chances. I've heard it was nice in other months. There is a nice pool, though a bit small and not enough chairs, that said, if the beach didn't reek, more people would have been on the beach. Based on experience of other resorts, I wouldn't pay the same to stay here and not likely to again. it is not up to "dreams" standards.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    We stayed at the Dreams Puerto Adventuras from November 20-27, 2017. We were extremely disappointed with this resort in general. We have tra

    Reviewed by Travelaround on Dec 01, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Horrible, won't be back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    H

    Amazing Dreams comes through at DREAMS!

    Reviewed by Hector on Sep 10, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: August 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Our 8 days at DREAMS Puerto Aventuras was fabulous. Beginning at check in, where we were greeted with drinks and a cheerful staff, to our room overlooking the pool, beach and sea. Breathtaking! All staff encounters were friendly and courteous; great service. We enjoyed three nights of dining on the beach viewing performances, including the big fight between McGregor and Mayweather. What a sight, white cloth covered tables and chairs in the open air on the beach with the sea right there, astonishing; considering that there were hundreds seated. The kids Explorer club was fantastic. Chock full of activities for the kids both day and night. All Night time activity ends at 9:45pm, truly a full days worth of fun. Plus Dolphins are on the premises. Also Dreams is close to local attractions which we visited, Xplor, Xenses, Dolphins, etc. In conclusion, we took full advantage of the facilities; pool, beach, restaurants, games, aerobics, cardio exercises. This resort gets top marks mainly because of exceptional services that were provided by their staff.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Overall a great experience, would recommend.

    Reviewed by Chris on Dec 21, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very nice resort, most staff were friendly, drinks were good, although they seemed to be made differently depending on which bar you visited. Our first experience without an adults only resort. Nice to have an adults only area totally separate from the rest of the resort. Food was just ok at the buffet, A-la-cartes were much better. Beach was very nice, but a lot smaller than the pictures represented.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    H

    Not very appealing on the outside but rooms, beach, pool is good.

    Reviewed by Honest review on Aug 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This is definately not the Bahia or Iberostar....if you are looking to enjoy the beach and pool with your kids not worrying about the long walks to eat or swim then this is the place. Not a 5* more like 4* in Cuba this would be considered a 5* I've been to Cuba....Resort not so appealing on the outside but tbe rooms are spacious and clean. Bathrooms are very large with up to date decor. Hotel lobby not very appealing, pictures in the website are probably from when it was new. Furniture up to date. The rooms are not mouldy as some reviews say and the AC and elevators are fine. Food is ok. This is an honest review. If you pay maximum of $3000 Can. for a family of 4 then it would be worth it........I wouldn,t pay more. If you have never been to a 5* resort you will like this one as there is nothing to compare it to. Overall, its ok though. Service is good. Would I come nack? Not if i can afford a 5* expérience.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great service, great food. Can't swim. Tiny pool.

    Reviewed by SS20 on Apr 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    It was a bit of a challenge to rate this resort. Good things first. The staff was fantastic, going overboard on every occasion. Most of the restaurants were great- Oceana, El Patio and Portofino. Buffet , Seaside grill were OK. Shows and entertainment were good. You can snorkel right from the beach. Theme dinners on a beach Caribbean, Mexican are great. Bad things. The beach is adjacent to a reef. The basin of water is tiny and shallow. So you can walk waist deep or sit in the water. Access to the sea is blocked by the reef. Shallow, plenty of fish, rocks and sea urchins under them. Bottom line is you cant swim properly. Pools are small and shallow. One of them with adjacent area is designated for adults only - an odd management decision for a family-friendly resort. The other is packed with families and drinking adults at the wet bar. You can barely stand there without touching another person. On a wedding day pretty much every day the volleyball field and, sometimes, the Barracuda bar get hijacked by wedding planners. Should they coincide with a theme dinner at the beach - you have almost no space for anything. Our room was dated and a/c was circulating wet cold air. Everything inside the room was damp and smelly. Bottom line is - service , food and entertainment are great,but barely compensate for the missing beach and pool areas along with dated facilities.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5702 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    very well Staffed and Maintained

    Reviewed by Navigate30137586263(Saint Louis, Missouri) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    An older resort yes.... but it is very clean, the entire staff is outstanding and the grounds are very well maintained. I would definitely return or suggest it to my friends and family. Oh yeah, the food and drinks are wonderful as well.

    Great place wonderful people!

    Reviewed by Companion40140472250(Abbotsford, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My girlfriend and I spent a week at Dreams Puerto Aventuras and enjoyed it all especially the people who work there! The Entertainment Team particularly Didier went far beyond anything we could have hoed for! I woul go again in a minute! Great food, great facilities, great people!

    Not my Dream Vacation

    Reviewed by Mobile59852077771(Seabrook, South Carolina) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Rooms needed updating. Bed was uncomfortable. Not much storage space for clothes. 3 of the 4 people in our group got very sick and ended up staying in their rooms the last 3 days of our stay. Be careful what you eat. Also, make sure you don’t drink any water unless it is in a sealed bottle. The adults only pools were not cleaned enough.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-2

    Wonderful family vacation

    Reviewed by Diana S() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our family of four (two daughters, 11 and 5) just got back last night from one week at Dreams Puerto Aventuras. It was our first time to the eastern side, and we will be back for sure. We loved the hotel - smaller, family friendly, quiet at night, great, safe location. Food was good, beach was nice (lots of seaweed/grapes as noted in other reviews, but they worked so very hard to clean it up!), main family pool was great - lots of activities going on thru the day. Rooms were spacious and beds were comfy, and our cleaning staff were great. Issue when checking in (we had booked a king size garden view which was not available when we checked in late that night - we had to pay extra to upgrade to a dolphin view with a king size). We liked the room but ended up being moved a couple of nights later (water issue). Upgraded to a preferred club room on the top floor which was stunning. Issues with safe locking (fixed very quickly). Very comfy cot for our oldest. We fell in love with the staff... the ones we connected with all went above and beyond... The explorer's club was great (the girls went every day for hours, and we had to beg them to hang out with us) - Leslie, Gabriela, Denisse and Mirna were amazing with the girls - taking them to dinner, the pool, the tramp, wall climbing, arts and crafts - they were very attentive and took great care of them. Dulce (?) in the preferred lounge was so sweet and kind with us in the morning. And, the entertainment team - where to begin?! Our family wanted to bring them home with us... Berenice, always calm, cool and collected (we loved dancing with her and chatting). Giovanni, his energy and enthusiasm were beyond compare, loved the bike tour and daily water aerobics he led with Erik (who is an amazing professional dancer). Didier took us on a super fun snorkel tour one morning. The hostesses and servers at Seaside Grill who were always smiling as they got us ice cream in the hot afternoon. We were all pretty close to tearing up when saying goodbye. We can't say enough great things about the staff and hotel - recommend for couples or families with young kids that want a smaller hotel (not a party hotel).

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Had a good time

    Reviewed by Nathan K() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Overall was a pleasant stay. The beach was a little smaller than we expected but was still nice. Lots of seaweed but that’s probably seasonal so can’t count that against them. Service was excellent and the rooms were very nice

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX