Moon Palace Cancun

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 35765 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Where is my money

    Reviewed by Skee21() on May 04, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We were to attend a wedding in June of 2020 and then the world turned upside down and the wedding was postponed for a year. We kept our reservation. Then, the wedding was pushed back yet another year. We decided to not commit to the 2022 date and requested that our reservation be canceled and our money refunded. I was told, in writing, that I could get a full refund if scheduled within 45 days of our arrival. I canceled on January 29, 2021 and have yet to receive my money. Now the wedding coordinator, Ray Flores, will not return my emails or calls. They had no problem taking my money six months before I was to arrive at the resort. No way should this be taking months to return it. We had planned to visit at some time in the future, but there is no way I would give Palace Resorts my business. What a shame. I want my money!!

    Mr. Kyle Lyons

    Reviewed by E2726PBkylel() on May 03, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I stayed for 9 wonderful days! Huge shout out to Lilliana at the pool, Raul and Apolino at Bugambillas, and Wilbert at the swing bar. BEST SERVICE EVER! Palace Resorts are the only way to go! Great food, great golf, and world class service all around! Kyle and Jenna

    Great week celebrating my wife's birthday....

    Reviewed by Jason S(Manchester, New Hampshire) on Apr 30, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First of all, this is our third time visiting a Palace Resort (Moon Palace twice and Playacar once) and are never disappointed. The staff is so friendly and the property always looks so nice. A great getaway when we needed it to celebrate my wife. I have read that others felt a little limited with Nizic being closed until June, but we did not feel the same. The Sunrise portion of the resort was more than enough for a great week. We very much enjoyed out time at the pool, especially the friendly service of Claudia and Linda and the entertainment staff was great with Ernesto and Fernanda keeping us engaged and laughing. I do have to say, one of the great experiences we had was because of Ramon at La Gondala (Italian restaurant in Sunrise). We went in for dinner and happened into his section. Once he saw my daughter and niece were both having alfredo, he mentioned next time we come back he will make it personally next to the table. We did go back and he did not disappoint. He made their dinners right in front of them and tasted fantastic. A great experience for the girls and I very much enjoyed his wine choices. We will always sit in his section going forward. We also noticed that the beach was so much better than last time we visited. Where seaweed was an issue in the past, this time was so much better. We enjoyed the water and the catamaran you are able to use at no additional cost. I could have used a lessen (which they offer) but we figured it out. Again, I want to thank Moon Palace and those that stood out for a great vacation. We will be back!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Top Shelf Staff and Management

    Reviewed by 778worldtraveler(Waterford, Wisconsin) on Apr 24, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Another successful vacation at Moon Palace Sunrise. This was our seventh stay at the Palace and it is still the premier resort in Cancun in our opinion. The Nizuc section is closed for renovation until June, so the resort seemed much smaller to us with half the restaurants and activities we were use to. And during our stay in mid April the Sunrise was at 40% occupancy and fairly quiet in the restaurants, bars, and pool area. I would recommend waiting until Nizuc reopens to enhance your enjoyment of the full resort. We are not interested in the Moon Palace Grand, as it is more family oriented due to it's large water park and children's play areas, etc. The restaurants at the Grand seem to cater to a more culturally diverse crowd with many ethnic themes. Sunrise offers enough variety with anything from steaks, seafood, Italian, Mexican, and typical poolside fare. The presentation of the dinners and desserts was almost gourmet quality in Trattoria, Pier 8, Riviera Maya, and Gondola. All the ingredients in all the dining venues were of highest quality but my only complaint is that anything on the buffets was at room temperature. Even at opening time the food was lukewarm. But all buffets had a grill chef for your entre cooking right in front of you and all meals were excellent and hot. Just the side dishes from the buffet line were cool. A minor problem with an order for a premium bottle of wine brought both the wine sommelier and restaurant manager to our tableside to rectify the problem. After that, we were treated royally by the manager of the Gondola, Sr. Eduardo Valencia. After his sincerest apology, he greeted us by name as we entered his restaurant daily and had reserved a special table with a view, complete with flower petals on the tablecloth and their finest dinnerware. His whole staff fawned over us and provided an experience fit for a king and queen . Special thanks to Efren and Isidro for an enjoyable dining experience. We have been in dozens of countries and twenty cruises and the whole staff at Moon Palace is the best trained and disciplined we have ever encountered. Every employee will greet you constantly and smile, from the front desk to the waitstaff to the pool people to the bellmen to the gardeners. You won't find that in the United States, I assure you. The physical buildings are just a little dated with smaller rooms, but spotlessly clean and functional. I'm guessing they are putting most of their effort into promoting the newer Grand section. The whole resort is a series of winding walkways and beautifully maintained gardens complete with fountains and gazebos. The place is so large that there is a scheduled fleet of ten person electric trams to transport you anywhere you need to be. The pool is said to be the largest in Mexico and was completely replaced less than a year ago including all new concrete decking with new chairs and umbrellas. There also is very talented and professional poolside entertainment at night on a large stage with seating for hundreds and drink service. Just Google Moon Palace videos and you'll see how gorgeous the resort is. In conclusion, Moon Palace is our go-to spot for a relaxing week in the hot Riviera Mayan Sun.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Spring Break

    Reviewed by elisadens(Roseville) on Apr 21, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Visited Moon Palace Sunrise in Cancun during Spring Break , we definitely had a blast. There are few reasons why I didn’t give 5 though . Let me start by starting the Pro’s first . A lot of restaurants, activities , some resort credits , huge pool , 24 hours room service , organized COVID testing with results within 1-2 hours , friendly staff , rooms being cleaned 2x a day . Johnny definitely made us laugh at the Bugambilias and Asadero Restaurants. He is very personal and always attentive . There were few restaurants that we ate that took a long time for our food to come but I understand , our timing was very busy . The beach is not attractive . You will not find a turquoise colored beach in Moon Palace . There were restaurants that is needing for reservations . Unfortunately, we were not able to try Agra, Momo Teppanyaki, and Riviera Maya because it was always full booking up to the last minute . Every time I will book, it’s all full up to our full day in the resort .I also have problem with the Palace Resorts APP, I was at the Grand Moon Palace on July 2020 and I’ve used the app with no problem . This time , I could not even make any room service requests with the app at all . I cannot make any reservations in any restaurants except when I call the operator . I have tried to go to front desk and tell them about the APP , the only suggestion they have was to delete and reinstall the app. Which I did but it didn’t work. The hotel was also up to 81% capacity , which makes the hotel packed most of the times . There are times that you need to go in line , before able to eat breakfast especially dinner .They are implementing social distancing with most of the restaurants but I was surprised when I have joined the activity in the main pool. We were initially social distancing but after few minutes we were basically at shoulder to shoulder and was less than 6 feet apart . So I have to leave because I was not comfortable with it anymore. During that time , I’m not yet due for my COVID test. To add up, Every time I try to go to front desk , there is always a lot of people in there . The resort credit is good but you can buy limited items in their gift shops . You will be lucky if the items is even available. We ended up using the resort credit for a day pass at the Grand . We ate breakfast at The Grand Buffet, surprisingly, we need to go in line for them not to pack the people who are getting their food. I get it , due to COVID again. But overall, we had a great time with family and friends .