Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    W

    Will not be going to Secrets hotels anymore.

    Reviewed by Wayne on Dec 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have stayed at Secrets Maroma a few years back so we are comparing to that property. The staff were great and super friendly and was really happy on that front. But the room was another matter. We paid for full swim out and have a pool on the other side of the grass is NOT a swim out. It is just a pool close to the room. Not worth the cost to upgrade. Overall the resort and our room was really starting to showing its age. Our room had a number of small deficiencies. Tv mount broken, sink dripping, curtain torn, screen door not working etc. Nothing major but a so called 5 star should be seeing these obvious problems not allowing a guest to ever experience these problems. Guests should never have to report problems when you pay for a night at this level. The other issue was the seeming downgrade on the overall experience. The food was ok but not fantastic. The bars were stocked with the standard drinks but at this price I would expect some sort of top shelf products and there is none to be found. I was also really taken aback by how much upselling. I went over to the tequila tasting and they wanted to do was sell you a bottle. The new years eve dinner was a $300 upgrade. The house wine was terrible. Every decent bottle was a major upgrade. If I wanted to be pushed into spending money like that I would have just spent the day on the streets of Playa del Carmen. Talking to many of the other guests the comments were very much the same. In the end I feel I paid a 5 star price for a 3.5 star hotel. If I paid a 3.5 star price I would not have written this review.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    W

    Will not be going to Secrets hotels anymore.

    Reviewed by Wayne on Dec 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have stayed at Secrets Maroma a few years back so we are comparing to that property. The staff were great and super friendly and was really happy on that front. But the room was another matter. We paid for full swim out and have a pool on the other side of the grass is NOT a swim out. It is just a pool close to the room. Not worth the cost to upgrade. Overall the resort and our room was really starting to showing its age. Our room had a number of small deficiencies. Tv mount broken, sink dripping, curtain torn, screen door not working etc. Nothing major but a so called 5 star should be seeing these obvious problems not allowing a guest to ever experience these problems. Guests should never have to report problems when you pay for a night at this level. The other issue was the seeming downgrade on the overall experience. The food was ok but not fantastic. The bars were stocked with the standard drinks but at this price I would expect some sort of top shelf products and there is none to be found. I was also really taken aback by how much upselling. I went over to the tequila tasting and they wanted to do was sell you a bottle. The new years eve dinner was a $300 upgrade. The house wine was terrible. Every decent bottle was a major upgrade. If I wanted to be pushed into spending money like that I would have just spent the day on the streets of Playa del Carmen. Talking to many of the other guests the comments were very much the same. In the end I feel I paid a 5 star price for a 3.5 star hotel. If I paid a 3.5 star price I would not have written this review.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    We loved it! They met us off the bus with a warm cloth to refresh ourselves and a glass of champagne.

    Reviewed by Christine Boisvert on Jan 10, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I would definitely go back to this hotel. The staff was very friendly, they took the time to get to know you, remember your name and your favorite drink. they like to have fun while working. the room service was very tasty. The meals in the restaurants were small but filling, you could order more if you need to without judgement. I loved this holiday, the hotel was very nice, the rooms are huge. the decks are large as well. The beach was the best in the area, if you like to swim in the ocean you might want to have water shoes, the further you go out the more coral there is.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    e

    Terrible welcome, no swim outs, bad beach, good resort layout, great restaurants and service staff

    Reviewed by edmmorin on Jan 30, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We chose this place because Trip Advisor rated it #2 in Puerto Morelos. Our first couple of hours there were the most unwelcoming we have experienced in Cancun. We have been to three other resorts and all were better. We walked into the resort, and stood there for a minute or two waiting for someone to approach us with a champagne glass or water or refreshment. No one did, we saw a row of desks on the right and spotted a person sitting at the last one so we approached him and began our check in. Something you should know: Before going to your room after a long day of travel, a Secrets rep will sit with you offering a breakfast at Maroma. It actually is to sell vacation time, shifty. If you are not interested in listening to the talk, decline emphatically as it chews up a morning. The description of the room was swim out, there was 10 yards of grass from the end of our patio to the pool. Yes a ground floor room, but a swim out? The resort site states garden or pool view as a swim out room...really that is what they consider swim out, shifty. There was a lot of disappointment to start and we were not happy for the first couple of hours waiting for our luggage to arrive in our swim out room. We walked around the resort several times, it is nice. The staff is extremely helpful, resort lay out is good, and dining made up for the early disappointments. As we moved through the week there were only two nights where we had a wait for dinner. Nightly entertainment was, well, entertaining. A cool feature was movies on the side of the resort. It reminded me of a drive in, but in a beach chair. The beach is bad, Azul right beside Secrets did a much better job on the beach. In summary; those first few hours were frustrating and maddening enough to tarnish our experience there. The food was good, service excellent, too bad the servers aren’t welcoming you. My opinion is there are too many quality choices out there to accept the welcome with the swim out and Maroma misdirection.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 13183 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Last minute trip

    Reviewed by ssiano77(Fort Worth, Texas) on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We booked a last minute cheap Caribbean DOF and got SS. We were hoping for Akumal or Maroma but made the best of it. The service and food were excellent. The grounds were well maintained. The room we were in needed major updating. We had some rusty chrome in our shower and bathroom but as I said it was last minute and made the best of it. We have been to several other secrets and we knew going into it that it was an older property and that we may be placed here. We also visited the spa and our package included a romantic dinner on the beach and two 80min massages on the beach. There was some miscommunication when we arrived for our massages but it was great. The romantic beach dinner was awesome. A kitty kept coming up to our area and we fed it. Everyone probably does so we did too. We will most likely not return to this property but it served its purpose and we had great weather!

    Silversands 11 TH visit

    Reviewed by O5349XUmichaell(Belcamp) on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our 11th visit since 2015. In brief, people there are great. Food was wonderful, room was beautiful. Cannot say enough about Jerica, the preferred club manager. She went out of her way to make sure we along with our guests were happy. In fact, she was on her vacation while we were there and she took time away from her well earned time off to make sure we were attended to. Where has anyone gone that this has happened? Unfortunateluck, it appears that Silversands is the midst of some sort of management struggle between old and new ownership as well as AM resorts. This is terrible as the staff is basically laid off at this point and those who booked there are being sent elsewhere. This is a huge black eye for AM resorts in my opinion and shows how little they care for their employees, extended employees and clients. In addition, we are hearing that their are upper management employees that are hindering the ability of mid management to be relocated due to their petty differences. Again, AM needs to step up and recognize valued employees and get them back in the game. My best to all those at Silversands that made our many stays special: Jerica, preferred club manager, Miguel, Mar, Jeniffer and Jessica at breakfast, Louis at lunch in Oceana/Seaside. Juan (number Juan)Amanda/Karen/Philippe/Monica for their outstanding pool service, Gustavo, pool concierge for his hard work daily and getting sleeves to protect my sunburned arms. Alex as well for his assistance. Juan Jose and Roberto at Bordeaux, Sergio at Portofino. Mercedes and Daniel for evening bar service. Meredith for her late night coffee at CoCo Cafe. Juan Valdez for room service. All of these people and more deserve better than they are getting right now from upper management and ownership.

    It’s closed! Worst service ever!

    Reviewed by azlakes() on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    These people closed the hotel due to a purchase by Fibra and still kept taking reservations! Horrible! We were on our way there 6/1 and during a layover they called to say we were being moved. They didn’t give us any explanation, didn’t apologize, didn’t care about our transportation to the new hotel, nothing! Cat, or Catarina, the service rep had a monotone and almost laughed at our frustration. When we got to the new hotel, we met several guests with the same experience. Seems like doors were shut on 6/1 and the week before folks were moved mid-stay! Then doing some research, check out their Facebook page! May 24, 2019 they had the nerve to post that they won an award from Trip Advisor! Unbelievable!!!!

    Hotel is empty

    Reviewed by scott080(Durham, United Kingdom) on Jun 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Hello for anyone who is looking to book this don’t waste your time it’s derelict the sun loungers are stacked up and chained to the wall, the pools are green and there’s 2/3 site security guards around and that’s about it don’t waste your time

    DO NOT BOOK AT THIS RESORT!!

    Reviewed by SuzzTravel(Centennial, Colorado) on Jun 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Booked 6 months out. Friends arrived first to be told they the resort was CLOSED and taken to another resort. That night I received an email from the resort stating they were going through a REORGANIZATION! I called the resort 3 days out and was told they were under CONSTRUCTION but we could stay at the resort if we could deal with the circumstances.. We stated NO since we were meeting our friends. We had reserved a Beach Front Master Suite but could not get the same accommodation level at Secrets Playa Majeres Golf Resort & Spa was the alternative our friends picked. 3 hours on the phone with a guaranteed beach front room to solidify our travels but on arrival Secrets Playa Majeres had NO reservations for us. This was a complete and total disaster of a vacation and not worth the cost of the aggravation!!! Don't stay at either place.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX