Fairmont Grand Del Mar

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Amazing girls weekend!

    Reviewed by JR on Jul 25, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    This hotel is a little out of the way but it's so worth the drive! I felt like a princess the entire weekend. Everything is so fancy! The attention to detail is superb. From the scented candle in the lobby to the chocolate covered oreo at bed time, all of your senses will be delighted. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, even anticipating our needs. They noticed that we had purchased two bottles of wine and brought an extra ice bucket to our room! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, luxurious getaway.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2089 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Quiet, Grand Property

    Reviewed by Happyowl97(Los Angeles, California) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I have to admit I felt grand staying at this property. I was here for a wedding and had a nice room overlooking the gardens. The property is big and luxurious and spacious. The halls are long and winding but I found my room just fine. The king room was big and beautifully appointed. The bathroom was lovely and the temperature of the room perfect. The bed was comfortable and when I called to have my pillows changed it was taken care of within 15 minutes. I also visited the chapel at the property and it is really pretty and fit all the guests comfortably. The food at the wedding was good and the wine was served perfectly chilled (just my own pet peeve when it is not cold enough). It is a lovely property but comes at a very high price so just be aware of what you are paying. There are some pricey extra charges like a $40+ resort charge and a $40+ overnight parking fee. We literally just used the room to get ready, then sleep and left early in the morning so the extras were lost on us. But a very pretty and classy property, certainly worthy of a wedding location.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    A beautiful resort for couples, families, conferences

    Reviewed by wendy4413(Pasadena, California) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I attended a conference at the Grand Del Mar six years ago. I had not heard about it but friends at the conference had assured us that the golf was fantastic and the facilities and restaurants were superior. That turned out to be an understatement. Our daughter and her husband and baby accompanied us and we were able to book two rooms side by side with an small entry off of the hallway which opened to our separate doors which made it very easy to walk back and forth. The hotel went out of its way to make a young family with a baby comfortable. Nothing here is "snooty" though it is elegant enough to think that it might be. We were treated very well and the large conference rooms provided lovely spaces for outside patio bar with appetizers and then to move in to a dining room with excellent service and wonderful food. Since the first trip to the GDM we have returned twice for great dinners. I found this to be a perfect place to celebrate a personal holiday such as birthday or anniversary for two or an entire group. Though very expensive, this resort and also the fine dining facilities are top of the ladder for something very special.

    The best hotel I’ve ever stayed in

    Reviewed by reevsie(Carrickmines, Ireland) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here as part of a trip around the West coast. We stayed in some top rated hotels as part of the trip and this one blew the others away by a country mile. It’s so good that after checking out for the next leg of the journey at Shutters on the Beach in Santa Monica we found such a drop in standards we checked out and moved back to Fairmont. There was no comparison between the two. This hotel is truly outstanding. We’ve stayed in some of the top hotels around the world (not boasting here just trying to make a comparison) and this one tops the lot. Check in, the rooms, pool area and staff, the general ambience are absolutely superb. A special mention to the guys on the door and especially the bar staff looking after us on the cigar terrace. A truly exceptional experience. Can’t wait to save up and visit again. These memories will last forever. Thank you.

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by mark s() on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    After seeing the great reviews we decided to stay here a few nights for part of our honeymoon. We were a little disappointed they didn't offer us a a room upgrade at checkin, especially when we realized our room was literally as far away as you could get walking past suite after suite. No star deduction for that though, just would have been a nice bonus. We found the decor to be a bit opulent/creepy with the gold toilet handles/gold framed tv and endless long hallways with strange paintings. One night we told our waiter we had a long walk back to our room and he said be careful there may be a couple twins staring at you around the corners. A little like the Shining- but other guests didn't seem bothered by it. It just wasn't our cup of tea and creeped us out a little, especially since the grounds seemed so empty in certain areas and you would begin to feel a bit like you were wondering around on a scary movie set. We ate at Amaya and had room service and found the food to be very overpriced in addition to just not being very good. Thursday night an alarm went off and the speakers said there was an emergency in the building and to exit. We exited with some other confused guests. We asked some staff on the way out if we needed to evacuate and didn't really get any answers (possibly due to a language barrier). Once outside we encountered no staff to direct us. We stood outside for awhile and I eventually went back in to see what was going on and could hear a new message saying it was okay to return to our rooms. There was no way to hear this from outside. We checked the activity schedule our last day and saw a BBQ by the pool listed so thought that might be fun to check out and get a bite to eat, expecting a complimentary or low-priced hamburger or hotdog offering. Instead half of the offerings was from the kids menu at a $35 buffet price. It was somewhat disorganized with no beverage station, food stations often empty and no silverware. They said smores would be by the fire so we thought that would be nice after our swim but not when we saw it was slapped with a $15 charge for a smore kit. Not even included as part of buffet price. The daily activity list generally had asterisks next to activities that required an additional fee but, confusingly, nothing was listed for these. ***Upon check out, noticed they overcharged us $65 a person for the pool buffet. It took a couple phone calls to rectify this. An automatic 20% gratuity we were not informed about was still added on to the corrected price even though there was no wait staff taking our drink orders or picking up finished plates. On the plus side, the staff are friendly, we liked having the option to no cost self-park not far away, the Friday night fireworks display was very nice and when we decided to cut our stay a night short, they were very accommodating.

    San Diego

    Reviewed by 47charlesc() on Aug 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great hotel with wonderful staff except two flaws or so: 1. The room and furnitures are old; 2. The concierge is friendly but often requires a quiet a bit of wait; 3 kids pool is really far from hotel and bar the guests from attending barbecue and light works; 4 the hotel failed to deduct the Resort fee which was promised and the kid meal. Other than that may be a decent place to stay but not a five star resort. I may return but not with a great hope or expectation

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX