Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino and Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 4659 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Nice way to spend your day

    Reviewed by JLE0920(New York City, New York) on Sep 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were on a cruise and decided to get a resort for a day pass here. And it was definitely a good decision. We laid on the beach and watched the planes land. We did some activities and we ate there and what a beautiful view. I can’t wait to go back

    9/12-9/16 family getaway

    Reviewed by nj8556(Orlando, Florida) on Sep 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    After reading some of the reviews before we left I was a little apprehensive about what experience we would get. We actually were in Sint-Maarten April 2018 and if you had seen the devastation from Irma that hotel was completely gutted down to the 1st floor. I was impressed with a lot of things and underwhelmed in others. Keep in mind we were there in the off-season. I read the elevators were slow. The only time I ever waited was when a large group got checked in at the same time and there was about 50 people trying to get to their room. That’s understandable and expected. I waited 5-6 minutes and I could have taken the stairs. The remodel was done exceptionally well. Lots of modern amenities. I would suggest ocean view. We had no problems finding drinks. Read a lot of criticism about the food/options etc.. there are really 2 options for breakfast. The cafe for a danish or apple and coffee or sit down buffet which had 2 omelet stations, fresh fruit, sausage, bacon, potatoes and much more. We had no problems getting a seat but we were usually sitting at 730/8 am all mornings. What happens later?? For lunch there is a buffet view ate at the palms grill everyday as their menu features curry chicken that was very good, fresh mahi, jerk chicken and fresh vegetables. You can get sandwiches if you wanted as well. It was that good. Dinner options were lava rock cookout at the palms grill where you cooked your own food on a lava rock. It was fun but you have to be careful to make sure you cook your food all the way through. I can see how people post about getting sick during their stay but it’s not the resorts fault. No one in our party of 9 got sick. The point is Italian and the chicken parmigiana was excellent. The jing was excellent as well. My only complaint and it’s not really a complaint is they want you to book all your reservations at their kiosk but it will tell you they are booked or you can’t get in. The reservation system could be a lot less stressful for all. We walked into the jing with no reservation at 630 and they seated us. Very nice. Stay away from the Mexican restaurant next door. Terrible. Overall we had a wonderful time

    First time in St Maarten

    Reviewed by Olivon101(Montreal, Canada) on Sep 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and I travelled from Aug 22nd to Aug 29th with Sunwing. Firstly, if you can travel with another airline, then do. Sunwing postponed our return flight three times and we had a flight cancellation as well. Not fun. As for the hotel , i had read reviews since May and we were prepared for all the previously mentioned complaints to find ourselves surprised. For example, room towels were always available, check in was super fast (we were just 2), restaurant reservations were available and the bar didn't take long at all to serve us. The only thing that did match the previous reviews was the food. The food at the buffet was OK and nothing compared to the restaurants. Our experience was only made more pleasant because of Marisol, our waitress. She's simply the best and Her smile uplifted our experience (compared to other servers)and she always checked on us during our meal. Simply put, she was professional, happy and efficient. Now the rest: Hotel room: clean, well renovated. Entertainment: good until 10pm. Everything ends at 10pm, which is bummer for the adults without young children. Restaurants: The Point was really good. Beach: always beautiful. Hotel beach towels: always available. Beach chairs: always taken in early morning, but if you go around 11ish or later, they free up. Beach vendors: too intense sometimes, and competitive with each other. Excursions: prickely bear in Anguila was really fun. Its a must. Activities: must go to Mullet Bay beach (10min walk) and Phillipsburg (2$ for a 20 to 30min bus ride). Mullet Bay was more calm than Maho and Phillipsburg scenic mountains along with its beach make it a must-do. Lastly, the people in St Marteen are truly awesome. The local security guard Michelle taught us a lot about the island and it's people. When you go, take into account that tourism is big and mostly everyone works 7-8hr shifts 6x/week. They work hard to service us the tourists. We would have certainly given it a 5star if there were more entertainments and activities to do specially after 10pm and if the food was better at the buffet. Awesome beach, awesome place, awesome island and ok hotel.

    Work Is Needed Badly

    Reviewed by anewgg7(Valley Stream, New York) on Sep 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Their website indicates that they opened February 2019 after being damaged by Hurricane Irma. In my humble opinion they are not ready to be opened to the general public. Allow me to start with the positives. The resort is very close to the airport and after traveling that’s wonderful. The resort is also very pretty with very modern accommodations. I had a premier ocean view room on the 7th floor and the view was amazing. The grounds are taken care of and also very pretty. I was part of a group of 30 and the hotel a separate check in table for us. The bread they served in the buffet was good and the pizza was adequate, hot and always available during the day. Wonderful! The negatives...... Not all of the rooms for the group were ready. So about half of us including me had to come back in an hour even though we arrived after 4pm because of a flight delay. The front desk clerk suggested we eat but didn’t tell us where. I had to ask where and then ask for directions. The Staff No one was overly friendly or offered assistance. Upon check in the clerk did not give me any map or provide any dining options for the resort. Many times during my stay an employee would walk past without uttering “good morning”. The gentlemen at the towel hut never smiled. The staff at the buffet seemed untrained and overwhelmed. On more than one occasion a complete tray of dishes came crashing down. Nothing was ever offered to me I had to ask for everything. I went to the front desk and wanted information about dinner reservations and was directed to one of two kiosks that worked. They were very glitchy and I was told that was the only way to make a dinner reservation. One evening the resort had a beach BBQ. We stumbled on it because nowhere was it stated about the BBQ. When we approached there was a sign that stated “Wait To Be Seated”. We waited a while and then one of the staff asked us why we were waiting? I pointed to their sign. She said “Its Tuesday Beach BBQ, you seat yourselves!”. I was so annoyed, how would I know that?? Why wouldn’t they have a different sign for Tuesdays. It’s not that difficult. The Food I’ve traveled to many all-inclusive resorts and by far this was the worst. Our first meal was at The Palms Grill. It was only place open to have a bite to eat. It had a very limited menu. The staff seemed unorganized and unprepared to serve us. One item on the menu was curried chicken and rice. One person in our group ordered it. After a long time they returned with curried chicken and french fries. The server never explained that they ran out of rice and never asked would french fries suffice, extremely unprofessional. Our dinner the first night was at Ocean Terrace Restaurant, the buffet. It was so disappointing. It was the sparsest buffet I have ever had. They had some salad items, five chafing dishes of which two were duplicated food. They also had soup but to get spoon was a constant struggle. Everyday they had a tasteless roast pork on a craving board and tasteless wahoo fish grilling. Even the fruit was not good. We are on a tropical island and never were served mangos, papaya, sour sop, pineapple etc. Really?? During breakfast they only had one omelette station that caused an incredibly long line. They also did not serve any food indigenous from St. Maarten. As previously stated it seemed as though they were rushed, understaffed and it felt like they didn't care. No flavor, no care, no love was put into their food. After a few days we started to eat off of the resort because of the limited tasteless menu. I did have the opportunity to dine at The Point Restaurant. That was my best meal during my stay there, very tasty. Regrettably the service was not professional at all. The Resort The resort has 3 elevators and during check in time it is impossible to get on. On a particular day there was an extremely long line to take the elevator. We decided to take the stairs. One of the staff directed us to stairwell. It was a dangerous mess! It was not completed. Stairs were rotting and rusty. Broken tiles all over the place. If there have been an emergency resort wide the stairwell would have hurt somebody. I have a video that I will post on FB. I sent my review to the resort's guest services department and never received a response. Overall there were way more minuses than pluses, a very bad experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-1

    First time to Carribean

    Reviewed by mikez726(Springdale, Pennsylvania) on Sep 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    There was so much postive to mention about this resort. This was the first time for us to take a Carribean trip. From when we first stepped onto the property it was nothing but positive. They say Disney is the happy place I have to disagree.I had not come across a single employee that was unhappy or wasn't friendly. Every employee there was happy to help you with a smile and acknowledge you. All rooms were fresh and new. Proximty to airport was close. Would defintiely recommend this Resort to all. The only one thing I would recommend is to book your dinner early at the kiosk. Would definitely return.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5