Sonesta Ocean Point Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    m

    Had an amazing time, and would go back!

    Reviewed by missalicia on Jul 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I really enjoyed my stay at the Sonesta Ocean Point. The Sonesta Maho and the Ocean Point are right beside each other, and you can also go over and use the Maho's facilities. They are sold as separate resorts, but they are basically all one resort. However, the guests at the Maho cannot come over to the Ocean Point. The Maho and the Ocean Point share the same beach as well. You have to walk through the Maho to get to the shared beach. The beach there is Maho beach, which is where you can watch the planes land and it is also a public beach. This didn't bother me at all, and it didn't seem to be over packed. I was in the Junior Suite King room, and it was beautiful. Very comfortable bed and couch to sit on. No bath tub, stand up shower only. If you are wanting a tub you can upgrade to a higher room category. I had a beautiful Ocean View as well, right from my room/deck! I really enjoyed the restaurants on the Ocean Point side and the beautiful roof top bar. I recommend going and watching the sunset from the roof top bar! I ate at the main buffet which was quite good, and lots of options for a vegetarian. We also had dinner at the Azul restaurant, and I was very happy with the food. You can also go to the Azul restaurant for breakfast and order off a menu, if you don't want to go to the main buffet with lots of people. There are two pools on this side, but you also have access to use the larger pool with the swim up bar at the Maho side. The spa/gym/casino are all on the Maho side.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Lots of hype – Over Rated and Over Priced

    Reviewed by Seasoned traveller on Mar 31, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My wife and I stayed here for a week starting March 19. The grounds are very nice and the service is good, the staff being very pleasant and accommodating, but many little disappointments add up to a less than perfect vacation. Travel brochures show a lovely ocean beach – not here. The hotel has no beach. The public beach beside it is in front of the Royal Islander, so the beach lounges are all theirs, not Sonesta’s. The hype speaks of welcome champagne and a weekly manager’s party – didn’t get either. The TV remote didn’t work. The AC shuts off overnight but the fan doesn’t, so you get the noise, but no cooling. The rooms are supposedly soundproof, but we could unfortunately hear our neighbor’s TV much too well. Basic WiFi is free, but you have to re-register every 24 hrs. The hype speaks of an “infinity pool” – there is none. There is an attempt to provide a fake beach, by putting sand in front of a wading pool, the Edge Pool but the three rocks there are speakers that blare loud “music” continually, regardless of anyone being there. The room key is an RFID chip on a wrist bracelet – a great idea, since you always have it with you, but it took us a half hour to get into the room upon check-in and then we got locked out again later in the week. Very annoying. When a resort advertises Adults-only, one expects some peace and quiet. While there were no screaming kids, there was loud “music” at the pools, even when there wasn’t a soul there. If it’s adults only, why all the teeny-bopper noise? If people want music, they should bring their own iPods to ensure they get what they like. There is a supposed dress code for the Azul restaurant, but it's ignored - so why pack dressier clothes? The restaurant menus are the same all week.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1571 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Beautiful views and great atmosphere

    Reviewed by ReneMar0910() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel was very clean and our room was great. The views are priceless and the amenities in the hotel are amazing. I was so thankful that we stayed at the adults only section because the family side was very loud and kind of annoying to be honest. There are so many things to do out side the hotel and my wife & I always felt safe everywhere. DO NOT TAKE A TAXI anywhere they are so overpriced and the cab drivers are slick and will try to take advantage of you. Take the bus they are always running and the clerks will help you out with where to get them. Overall it is beautiful hotel with ok food and a nice beach but I would not rate this a 5 star. If you get this at a discount rate or a sale it is a steal just because of the views. The hotel did run out of water our last day there and some people did not get a chance to shower this type of thing never happens at a 5 star rated hotel.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-4

    If you are used to good service and peaceful time-stay away

    Reviewed by X2247BGannab(New York City, New York) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We were supposed to stay at Sonesta for 5 days, but had to cut our trip one day short and leave. Yes, we are spoiled by grand Mexican resorts with private concierge and top notch service, but it is not even about the staff, it’s about people staying here. We were aware that Dutch side of the island could be a little loud and rough, however, we didn’t expect to see obnoxious behavior of local guests. Considering, we are staying at the Adults Only part of the resort, I expected it to be very calm and relaxing-meaning no party people drinking at the pool all day. On our third day there a group of women (apparently American Airlines flight attendants) arrived to the resort and came straight to the pool. They started enjoying themselves, downing cocktails right in the pool, being loud and annoying. They stayed in the pool all day long drinking and “entertaining” other visitors. At night, they were still having party at their swim out room which is close to the restaurant we had dinner. Their behavior made the restaurant manager call someone, but it didn’t seem to help. I remember falling asleep still hearing them partying. Having been to many Caribbean resorts, we have never experienced this. This behavior won’t be tolerated anywhere else-people like that should stay at cheap resorts where they are allowed to drink all day long because other guests are doing the same thing! The only positive thing about this resort is Azul restaurant that has incredible A-la-carte menu and good staff.

    Great time, nice place, good value

    Reviewed by RobM1129(Toronto, Canada) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I'm a corporate jet pilot, so I do a ton of travelling. Stayed here July 8-12. Was worried when I booked this looking at the reviews. This was a work trip so I figured I try it and FYI we had 2 rooms (copilot). Some things said before are somewhat correct, others well.....everyone has their own experiences. Check in. Was brutal, took us 2 hours to get checked in. No offer of cool drink or place to sit down. The hotel lobby was very warm and not air conditioned. Room. Was very nice. AC worked awesome, very clean, nice beds, great views, very good water pressure both hot and cold. No complaint. Food. Buffet was ok at best. My fav place to eat was AZUL. The restaurant on the cliff. Staff was great, food menu changed every 2 days, they did what ever you asked. Food served was breakfast, lunch and dinner. Property was nice, bars where good. Location was good. Small shopping area next to hotel or rent a car and do the 30 min drive to Philipsburgh (wrong spelling) for awesome prices. I don't usually consider locations to take my wife, but I'd consider this proerty to take my wife for a quick get away.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Relaxing vacation!

    Reviewed by 81elisep(Houma, Louisiana) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had an awesome trip! This place is amazing!! Would definitely go back! Rooms were spacious and updated. Great amenities and the cleaning staff did an awesome job daily taking care of our space! The water is gorgeous and felt great! The pool was super refreshing and very clean!

    Beautiful Beach, Clean, Modern, Sleek Hotel, Clean Hotel Grounds....Food Blahhh!!!

    Reviewed by bdimplechin(Birmingham, Alabama) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Let me start by saying I did read many reviews prior to my stay and I can honestly say some things were true and some not, at least for our stay. 1. Construction/rebuild not at all a problem 2. Hotel very clean,sleek and modern. Fridge was stocked with soda,water, local beer and low end liquor was stocked as well. Comfortable bed, always had hot water with good pressure. Higher end toiletries (Molten Brown). 3. No problem getting a beach chair. Absolutely breathtaking crystal clear blue water with rock free white sand. 4. THE STAFF....for the most part everyone was cordial. There were a couple of staff members that were very dry and emotionless and almost on the verge of rude, according to U.S standards. I think as Americans we are really big on customer service with a smile and the staff at the resort fall short of that. Not sure if it's cultural or just people who see hundreds of different guest on a daily basis and are just burnt out. The restaurant staff are not in a hurry for anything. Service in the restaurants was always very slow no matter the time of day. Be prepared to wait a long time to be seated even though you may see many clean tables, be prepared to wait for coffee/drinks and any other thing requested. For breakfast and dinner there is just one person at the omelet, pancake and pasta stations.....so be prepared for long lines. 5. THE FOOD.....average at best at the Palms Grill and Ocean Terrace Buffet. The Azul restaurant food quality was a lot better however not very flavorful and bland...but again a higher quality meal at Azul. I was not too surprised at the resort's food due to reading other reviews. The pizza station was good for a quick slice of thin almost New York style pizza. Outside of the resort there is a strip that we were told was very live prior to the storm. They are still rebuilding but there is a nice bar on the strip called 3 Amigos that serves very good drinks and has nice music. Would we return, Yes. Management please get two people at the omelet and pasta station. The amount of people at the resort warrants at least 2 cooks to control the long wait time.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX