Paradisus Princesa Del Mar

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    wil never go back to this resort!

    Reviewed by Byron Lucas on Feb 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    staff were gr8. food was ok but only warm. beach & pool bars either had orange juice or vodka, not both. no signage to show where things were. pathways poorly lit at night, if at all. surprised by the number of other people that said they would never come back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    s

    Royal Disappointment

    Reviewed by sharon on Mar 08, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very unsatisfied with the overall experience "royal services" - not worth it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    We had fun but definitely not the resort we expected.

    Reviewed by Michelle & Dick Bowles on Feb 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Definitely would not consider this a 5*.. We paid extra for butler service & royal service but was not worth it...for example when we requested things it did not happen and on the butler menu there are things on there that are no longer in place and/or there are now charges for them so their butler menu is out of date. In our room there was a spa menu/brochure and it stated that because we were "royal service" guests that we would receive 30% discount at the spa for "all" massages. This was not the case, we only received 20% discount and it was only on a few of the massages not all of the massages like advertised in our room. Meals overall were just average, nothing spectacular. Getting cocktails at most of the restaurants was impossible....usually only beer and wine...I asked for mojitos, champagne, mimosos on several occasions and they did not have them so we would have to go to the pool bar or other bars to get a drink and then take them to the restaurant with us. The resort definitely needs a bit of TLC in some places...hot tubs on the grounds and in the spa were not working, so were empty. Our butler booked scuba diving for our husbands and they went out front to be picked up but the scuba diving was cancelled but no one informed us. The spa was definitely not a 5* spa... you only need to go 5 minutes before your services as there is no where to sit and relax before hand. So overall, definitely disappointmented in this 5* resort and the extra we paid for butler and royal service.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    Very happy with our choice to stay at this resort!!!!

    Reviewed by Maureen on Mar 13, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had a awesome vacation, no complaints. All the staff were very friendly, our room was kept clean, the bed was a little hard but we slept good anyway. It was such a beautiful place, both my husband and I think of it every day since we have come home almost a month ago. Would definitely stay at this resort again. Cuba is wonderful place to go for a vacation.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7447 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Varadero, Cuba Resort

    Reviewed by tourcentral() on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Beautiful, well kept resort; courteous and friendly service and good entertainment. One of the best beaches anywhere. Food quality is good but variety of dishes, especially on menus at the a la carte restaurants, could improve somewhat.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Back and Forth Between 3* and 4*...

    Reviewed by gochlm(Calgary, Canada) on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We just returned from 10 days at the Paradisus Princesa Del Mar. I am really torn about rating this resort - at times in comparison to other resorts in Cuba, I would rate it a 4* but in comparison to all of the places I have traveled it is average at best. When we arrived, check in was fairly quick and smooth and we were taken by golf cart to building 4. There are no elevators so be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs - the bellmen will help but they do expect a tip. The three rooms our group were given were in pretty rough shape - ours was very run down, the ceiling was very dirty, the back of the door looked as though it was never washed in its lifetime, and the shower didn't work properly and light fixtures were falling down and eventually did fall right down. We had maintenance come twice on the first day and they started fixing our sink until I told them the issue was with the shower. The next day we went to the front desk to ask if we could move to a newly renovated room as we had heard that there were some. We were told to come back at 1 pm and when we did they had three new rooms for us in building 6 all ready. This made us very happy but it was obvious this happens all the time - it was almost like they were just ready and waiting to see who would ask for a room change - it would have been nice to just get the 3 rooms in building 6 right at the start. Regardless, we were very happy with the new rooms, much newer and cleaner and everything worked. Beds were very firm and pillows were not very comfortable but it was a minor inconvenience. Sometime in that first two days a small amount of money ($50 and $60) went missing from 2 out of 3 of our room safes. We are not sure when it happened (room 1 or room 2) only that we were both missing money. Repeated visits to the front desk and security over the next few days did not result in any action. We didn't expect our money back we just wanted the resort to know and the runaround we were given multiple times was very disappointing. The resort grounds were beautiful and constantly being taken care of. Resort was quite spread out and I prefer resorts where the pool is within view of the ocean because I am an ocean person but a lot of my friends and family like the pool so I would have preferred the two to not be so far apart. Not a criticism of the property just a personal preference. The beach and water was beautiful, so calm and it was quite shallow until you walk a fair way out. Service was very good overall. Had a couple of grumpy front desk reps but mostly very pleased with the service that we got at all bars and restaurants. There were regular activities at the beach in the mornings and the pools in the afternoon such as aqua exercise, volleyball, dancing classes, mohito making etc. You can get involved as much or as little as you want. We did not use the spa or gym. The entertainment staff went above and beyond and it seemed like they never got a break - but always had a smile for the guests.The evening entertainment was typical resort style entertainment and was always decent but nothing fantastic. The three women that performed in the lobby bar were very good as was the band on the rock night show. As for the food, everyone knows you don't go to Cuba for the food...we never went hungry. We always managed to find something at all of the restaurants and the buffet - each day we got a little braver with what we would try. There definitely were issues with not cooking eggs, meat and fish long enough, but we would just ask for them to cook it longer and it was fine. The fruit wasn't as good as I remember on previous trips and fresh vegetables are limited (a real shortage of tomatoes we noticed) but there was always something.The bread is always delicious and so is the cheese. I wouldn't call any of our meals at the ala carte restaurants great but they were always good. We paid extra to go to the hill top restaurant and for most of us the meal was one of the best. I am not sure I would like this resort at peak busy times because even at 35% capacity they ran out of food often . The 24 hour cafe often didn't have everything on the menu - making the selection even more limited then it already was. I strongly suggest you bring mosquito repellent. I didn't use any on the first 2 nights and I had over 40 bites on my legs. It was obviously very hot and humid at this time of year which we knew coming into our 10 day vacation. It would have been nice to have somewhere to go, other than our rooms, that was air conditioned and inside to play a game and have a drink. The piano bar did not appear to be air conditioned or it wasn't working very well. We found ourselves retiring early to get out of the heat and the mosquitoes. This resort is one of the last ones down the peninsula - taxi's into Vardero were either $15 CUC or $20 CUC depending on the driver. One guy tried to get $25 and we just laughed at him and eventually settled on $20. It's about 15-20 minutes to get to the main street. There is some shopping and a pharmacy as well as a disco at the Marina across the street so that was convenient to walk to, but all in all, it was a little far from town. 4 of us took advantage of the included golf round that we got with our vacation package and teed off at 7 am - it was a hot 18 holes but the course was in surprisingly good shape. We had a fun and would recommend. I am sure I am forgetting something. Please message me if you have any specific questions.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Paradisus Princesa del.Mar

    Reviewed by jjim525(Miami, Florida) on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Nice hotel.and friendly employee Nice.room.and exterior areas On the food.area buffet offering a large seleccion but meat are preparing with no taste They shoul be marinate before cook And especial.restaurant menu are not upday some of they do not offert what is on the menu like japones restaurant offer a fixe menu totaly diferent frim the menu Some of the restaurant like the one close to the beach is closed wish is nice and big convenient when you are on the beach Menu at the beach should offert more variety of choice isnted paella every day is a heavy food for the midle of the day coul offert hamburger hot dog they are like food decired when you are at the beach Buffet closed when special.rest are open limiting your option to dine.On general.service is good But on food and beverage should be some more option and more quality on food

    Very disappointed

    Reviewed by Shakey37(Tamworth, United Kingdom) on Jun 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Just came back from here, and I can say I will never return, the beach and sea are beautiful, the food is absolutely terrible, I have been ill 3 times the first was the second day I was there (Sunday) having diarrhoea, never ate anything till the Thursday, then I was ill again on the following Monday, had to visit the doctor on site who gave me an injection and antibiotics also a dehydration drink, I again never ate anything for a few days, tried again and was ill again on the day of my return. The food is never cooked correctly the salads are warm and not covered, the ice cream is like water, only offering of food at lunch and evening was beef or pork, sea fish and pasta, this was every day, whilst I was at meals with my husband and me just sitting there not eating I was people watching and I noticed staff taking empty bottles of water to the bar, the waiter then filled the bottles with tap water, and gave them back to the waitress, they are making you believe you are drinking bottled water and you are not, also the bottled water in the rooms sometimes was not sealed so this was also tap water, I reported this and too my rep who told me you should not even brush your teeth with tap water, this fell on deaf ears as 3 days later I saw them doing it again. We was also bitten to death by mosquitoes, the room was full of them and we had to have it sprayed. Do not do the trip to bay of pigs and visit the best beach in Cuba as we was told, all I can say is Weston super mare is better, The water was brown and rubbish everywhere the beds were chained up and was filthy, see pics below, the restaurant there served terrible food also, I will be taking these issues up with the travel agent, I have never wished my holiday to end as much as I did here. Three days a week we had to visit the al a carte restaurants as the buffet was closed, no one mentioned this too us until we went down for dinner The Japanese restaurant was one of them, I never had anything but went along for my husband, he liked some of it but they really need cooking lessons, then the chef waits for a tip, then the waitress does the dessert and then she doesn’t move till she gets a tip, think this is so rude when you have paid for an all inclusive holiday, the entertainment was the worst we have seen, same thing most nights same music played over and over, I could go on and on about this place but think I have said enough now

    As good as it gets

    Reviewed by ArielP180(Miami, Florida) on Jun 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I spent 3 days at the resort with my parents celebrating my mom’s BDay. Since the very beginning treatment was spectacular, we were welcoming at the Royal Service by Indira and Arletys and they were extremely helpful since that point, they even prepared a surprise for my mom in the room on her anniversary , she actually said it was her best BDay ever!!!!! The quality of the installations, food and drinks were great but what impress me the most was the human service provide in your hotel, every single person makes you feel as family always with an smile and very very cooperative. Management were all the time around, checking every detail and talking with the guests, which makes you feel even more special. I want to say Congratulations and thank you very much for this wonderful days!!!!!! Realicé el comentario en inglés para que más personas lo pudieran entender pero no quería dejar de escribir unas palabras en nuestro idioma conociendo que la gerencia es española, una vez más muchísimas felicidades por el servicio q brindan, el cual es muy difícil encontrar en Cuba y ustedes lo superan con creces, Graciassssss!!!!!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX