Aston at Papakea Resort Condo

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Condo was great. Will go back very soon

    Reviewed by Johnnygun on Jan 22, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    Great location,clean and friendly

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1219 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Terrible room & service but great views

    Reviewed by SarahGrajeda() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I always take bad reviews with a grain of salt...you never know the full situation, how particular the person is, or why they felt they had a negative experience. With that said, my husband and I have traveled a lot, both all inclusive and not. We’re apart of two different time share companies, so we understand the random variances from locations & rooms, fees, rules, and “catches” that sometimes come along with hotels/resorts/locations. I knew when booking this trip that each room was individually owned, however, I was under the impression that it would still be like a resort with amenities and services like they claim on their website. We were part of a big wedding group, with about 12+ rooms being reserved on the property. About half of the group was happy with their rooms and the other half had major issues. I can only speak for our experience, which was not positive. Check in was easy & totally fine until I was asked for a CC to be charged $300 for cleaning services (we weren’t given a heads up about this and thought we paid in full already). I’ve heard of daily resort fees before, but they’ve always been minimal, and we’ve never been charged cleaning fees on top of the cost of the rooms. This room cleaning fee ONLY covers for when you check out...NOT for any cleaning services during your stay except for trash removal. You want fresh towels, clean bedding, or anything else? You have to pay a min of $11 each time (varies on what you need and the size of your room). Good luck getting housekeeping to actually come to you though. We called housekeeping several times and they never actually came to our room. Don’t bother calling the front desk for it, they just tell you to call housekeeping. Our reservation was for an ocean front room with a king size bed. The view was AMAZING. LOVED being ocean front. We had a full bed. Not a queen. And the room hadn’t been updated from the 80’s/early 90’s. It was clean, but not CLEAN clean. TV sucked- huge delay (not that we watched tv much at all but on the rainy nights it would of been nice) AC was NOISY & rattled. Ice maker was NOISY... would wake us up throughout each night. We don’t spend much time in our room on vacation, but we do sleep there, and we both slept like crap all 7 nights. I called the front desk after seeing our room and asked for a better room. They did actually let us view another available room but it was almost exactly the same... when I asked about anything better, (because I know they had updated rooms as others in our party got upgraded just because) the front desk was slightly rude & not helpful...the girl literally just shrugged her shoulders & gave me a blank stare. Didn’t apologize at all for the mix up or inconvenience. Some of the group members got room upgrades or dining credits (without having any issues at all) for no reason at all, but we did not even after I requested a room change..... We did have friends in our group that did get a room change for an ant infestation....and I’m talking ants everywhere....in between the plates in the cupboards, all over the bathroom & kitchen counters, etc. but they were first asked if they’d like the exterminator to come. Uh, yeah, no sh*t. They had to wait a day & a half to change rooms. So our situation could of been worse lol We also tried to rent equipment early (8am) for a beach day but concierge wasn’t available for 2+ hours. Just as an FYI, “Fully equipped kitchen” doesn’t come with salt/pepper/coffee filters/etc... I packed salt & oil spray just in case & I’m glad I did. We’re apart of a time share that has fully equipped kitchens that provides these basics & assumes this condo would as well. No storage containers with lids or foil/zip locks/plastic wrap...just an FYI! They do provide dishwasher soap (for multiple loads) & laundry detergent (for 1 load), but I did bring several Tide 3 in 1 detergent pods! Also, they want you to recycle but no recycling bin in room, and you have to drive it to the ABC store recycling disposal area. Our room did not have chairs, mats, coolers, umbrellas, or anything helpful in it, but some of our friends rooms did. We did bring a collapsible cooler I got off amazon which was amazing to have! You can rent those things at different places (or concierge if you can get ahold of them) but it’s obviously cheaper if it’s already in your room! Positives? The grounds were very well kept, two nice pools & hot tubs, and two nice gazebo areas. Overall, we HATED our stay here & would not recommend it.

    Poor room great view

    Reviewed by knolting(Yellowknife, Canada) on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The is our second stay at the Aston. Our condo the first time was amazing, clean , updated and modern, so we were really disappointed when we saw our room this time. Mold on the pictures, ripped carpet, missing mouldings and the kitchen cabinets were a mess. I am shocked that a unit in this condition could even be rented. Be very careful on which unit you rent, this was unit F202

    Vacation

    Reviewed by Sabrinacook(Nashville, Tennessee) on Apr 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed here for 10 days while in Maui. The front desk receptionists are helpful. The room was clean and stocked with usual necessities. The grounds are beautiful. The pool looks clean. There is a hot tub as well as a 12 hole putting green. Be sure to look in closet for tennis racket and balls, golf clubs and balls and coolers. We bought a cooler before we had looked in there so we left it. Our room had a partial view of the ocean and grounds. But we really didn’t stay in our room that much as there is so much to see and do in Maui. There was ample parking near our condo plus restaurants and shops within walking distance of the condo. Great place to stay.

    Rooms with excellent ocean views

    Reviewed by Nil_Sahoo(Bhubaneswar, Orissa, India) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We visited Maui on Nov, 2018 for a family vacation. Initially we booked Aston @ Kaanapali, but that got over booked, and we are transferred to Aston at Papakea Resort. Initially we ware worried about the rooms that we would be getting, but we realized that these rooms are better compared to Aston @ Kaanapali. With full view of ocean it was really a refreshing experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great place on Maui

    Reviewed by BruceAlan1969(Cloquet, Minnesota) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Stayed inL404 overlooking the ocean. Condo had a great view of the water and much quieter than all of the big resorts along the board walk. If you are looking for peace and quiet only a quarter of a mile of all of the big resorts this is it. Price is only 2/3 of the big resorts but is very nice even though it’s a little older.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX