Honua Kai Resort and Spa Condo

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    t

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by traveling mama on Feb 06, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We were very disappointed with this hotel, especially with regard to it's value. Certainly the room had granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, but the carpets were shabby and stained, and the furnishings were worn. The headboard on the bed was dirty, and the patio furniture was disintegrating wicker. We were assigned a room in the Hokulani tower which is the older of the two towers. This is the tower closest to the construction that is going on next door for the new Westin. Every morning we were treated to constant cacophony of construction noise. Sitting out on the mountain view balcony was not a pleasant experience. The pools were fantastic for children, but were too full of pool toys, and too shallow to allow for any real swimming. With high surf advisories, this left us with few options. Overall I would say that this resort would be suitable for families with small children, but value for the money for couples and older individuals can be found elsewhere.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3540 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    You should stay here!!

    Reviewed by dan_vs_daniel(Aurora, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    No one should be renting a hotel room in Maui when this place is available. Great location with all amenities of a hotel - Spa, Pools, Gym, Concierge, Valet Parking, etc. We rented a two bedroom condo (Hokulani unit 420) through Maui Resort Rentals. Condo was clean, spacious, and well appointed; featuring nice furniture and luxury appliances. Pack light, laundry in your room allows you to wash what you’ve brung. Partial ocean view was great, with vista’s of the ocean through palm trees, and Maui’s mountains to your left. The Lanai (balcony) was huge, with room for our family of four and our friend’s family of five. The grounds are spectacular and well maintained. There are 3 pools and a lazy river. With one being a quiet pool. Nice for reading in the sun. Beach is right in front of the tower. Splash all day and then stay to watch the sun set. When we landed, we hit up Costco for all our food and beverages. Maui Resort Rentals has a free shuttle, so the nights you want to go out you can leave the driving to them. Give up on “all inclusive” resorts and head to the paradise of Maui. And when you do, stay at the Honua Kai Resort, you won’t be disappointed.

    Best of both worlds; resort comfort in a VRBO

    Reviewed by 396robd(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife, 5-month old son and I stayed at Honua Kai in early March 2019. We booked our ground floor unit through VRBO, but you can also book through the resort and other travel sites. We were in the Hokulani 142 unit, which was steps from the lobby. We arrived late into Maui, and the drive was about 40 minutes from the Kahului Airport (OGG). Upon arrival the valet and bellboys were extremely helpful. They gave us our keys, overview of the resort, helped us with our luggage and parked our car. Self parking is also available, but we took advantage of valet for our stay. The Aina Gourmet Market in the lobby was a life-saver as they stayed open a bit later for us to grab some food, basic groceries and wine to get us set up initially. We also grabbed coffee and snacks each morning from this market. The staff are very friendly and get the coffees out quickly considering the high traffic each morning. Our unit was modern and had all the comforts we needed. A large tub and separate shower in the bathroom, as well as his and her sinks. The bed in the master was very comfortable, and there were bunk beds in the second bedroom. We had a nice large lanai off our unit, facing the green space in between 2 of the buildings. The noise in the unit was very minimal and didn’t bother us at all. There are 3-4 pools, and even a quiet pool, so something for everyone. We were there with a 5-month old, so we didn’t get to use the pools and waterslide to their full potential. It can be a bit harder to get chairs with an umbrella, so you have to scope them out or get there a bit earlier. We booked a $75, 2 - chair cabana for a day though, and it was well worth it to have a home base by the pool. We prepared some meals at our condo, but we also ate at Duke’s a few times. Duke’s is conveniently located by the pools and has a nice view of the ocean. The food and service is excellent as well. There is a nice boardwalk along the beach that runs in front of the resort, past the Westin resorts and all the way to Lahaina. It’s great for walking and taking a run along the water. We didn’t get a chance to enjoy the beaches, but there were many options in front of the resort and along the boardwalk. I used the gym facility once, and it was also great. There are 6-10 cardio machines and all the free weight and gym machine equipment one would require for a good workout. Overall, the resort is excellent; the staff are very friendly and helpful, the proximity to the beach is awesome, the pools are great, the convenient towel service was nice, and the on-site restaurants were good. I’d highly recommend this property for a family, group or couple stay.

    Perfect Family Location

    Reviewed by Amy K() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed in Hokulani 142 and it was a perfect unit for our family of 5. The unit is clean, modern and well maintained. The beds were very comfortable. The whole unit was well equipped to include beach items. The pool and restaurant on site were great. Each morning we enjoyed a stroll on walking path in front of all hotels and loved sitting on the beach for the sunset. The unit is close to Lahina and we easily connected to zip-lining, whale watching, surfing, and the Lahina Luau was a favorite. Our kids are 17, 14, and 11. Total bonus we did not think about was the smart tv so we could live stream the MN state hockey tournament!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Awesome property!

    Reviewed by Coastal22695635297(Chicago, Illinois) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I couldn’t be more happier staying at this property. The room was our own little suite with a beautiful terrace that overlooked the ocean. It felt like home with a full kitchen and washer and dryer. Would stay here hands down!

    Beautiful resort! Very nice Condo's

    Reviewed by lori730(Chaska, Minnesota) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed in a VRBO condo #441. It was beautiful, it was a 2 bedroom with wrap around lanai. We spent a lot of time on the lanai. We over looked the courtyard pool, which had some drawbacks. 1) early morning people would let their kids run around and scream down in the open greenspace. The view was nice but not always relaxing when inconsiderate people don't realize that they aren't the only people in the world! 2) Sometimes because of the proximity to the design of the resort you felt like you were on display. Think "Rear Window". The condo itself was very nice, great bedrooms, really nicely done bathrooms. Wonderfully equipped kitchen. It had air conditioning that worked well, although we hardly used it. The open Nana doors to make the inside feel like outside were an outstanding feature. Beware the birds, if you don't use the screening they will fly into your condo. Also don't feed the birds or leave food out on the Lanai. The pool areas were nice, the hot tub jets didn't work the entire time we were there. and even though they were hot, people still let their kids use them. The beach wasn't really usable we had strong winds when we were there and the surf left little room for sitting on or swimming in . But the boardwalk was nice to walk on and admire the beach. That was probably the biggest drawback. The onsite restaurant was impossible to get into at night.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX