Occidental Tamarindo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    A

    the daily activities and evening enterainment was the best i ever experienced, with the dancers at broadway level of quality, amazing!!!!!!!

    Reviewed by Anakyt on Feb 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    great hotel with an amazing helpful staff, great delicious food, entertainment was above any other resort, loved the location, the beach, a perfect holiday.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    We loved our stay. The manager of food and beverage is amazing "William" very interested in making the stay enjoyable

    Reviewed by Doyle on Jan 30, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    We had a great time! We just got back and we would go again to this same resort. We have NEVER said this before. the rooms were clean, the food was excellent. the pool warm and lots of room around the pool area to get out of the sun if you had too much. All in all perfect!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3465 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not the best Barcelo

    Reviewed by OCsenior(Signal Hill, California, USA) on Jul 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Virtually every room assigned to our group of 47 persons has minor to serious flaws including failed air conditioners, toilets, showers; poor drainage in bath tubs/showers and lavatories; cracks on walls, painting overdue in many areas and rooms.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Just don't do it.

    Reviewed by NorthStar12616272938(Richmond, Maine) on Jul 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Not as advertised in any aspect. Pictures look great resort not so much. Food was mediocre at best. Rooms smelled. Staff at bar and snack bar seemed angry ALL the time. So sad! We also stayed in another resort and the people were absolutely lovely. My guess is this staff is not paid well and they resent the guests.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-1

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-1

    My dive adventure.

    Reviewed by Vacation17766059283(Columbia, Missouri) on Jul 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We flew from St. Louis Missouri to Costa Rica. On the way down to Costa Rica or Miami flight was overbooked we end up staying in Miami that night and took another flight the next morning. The people at American Airlines was helpful. We rented a car at Alamo everything went well. The country has a 13% increase in everyone’s taxes on everything starting July 1 so some of the other companies tried to jack up our rate because we left June 26 and the tax increase date was while we were visiting, I did not go for it and did not get charged ultimately. Hotel staff was great the food was good our rooms were large I would recommend this place

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Mold in every room. Inadequate cleaning. Staff does the bare minimum.

    Reviewed by FarAway68130490520(Brooklyn, New York) on Jul 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We arrived to our room to find a stained comforter and stained mirrors. Upon further inspection there was urine underneath the toilet and black mold all along the bottoms of the curtains. Not to mention other signs of poor cleaning like water stains on the shower head and dirt/dust on the night stands and telephone. It appeared as though the room had not been cleaned since the prior guests checked out. Housekeeping arrived to assess the situation and tried to explain away the stains, but they could not dispute the mold. Reception offered us a new room but the bell service was nowhere to be found so we had to transfer our own bags after traveling nearly 14 hours to arrive at the resort. The new room was an improvement but there were still signs of mold on the lamp shade. We decided this would be as good as it gets and that any further hassle would not be worth it. Reception never followed up until checkout, when they were confused as to why our room number had changed. The new room was otherwise comfortable. Air conditioning worked well. The pool is nice and direct access to the beach was a plus. Also, proximity to some great beaches like Flamingo and Conchal made for some amazing day trips. Throughout our stay it felt as if the staff did the bare minimum and made no additional effort to improve the guest experience. For example, we had made reservations at the resort's a la carte restaurant on our last night. We arrived a bit late and were immediately turned away without question or any thought to somehow accomodate us. Overall the staff seemed indifferent and uninvolved. Of note, we stayed at another Barceló location in San Jose which was superior in every way.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Nice place to stay

    Reviewed by 52KevinF52(Stettler, Canada) on Jul 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed here in January with friends. We enjoyed the resort. The staff was great. We didn't care for the al-a-carte restaurants. The main buffet was really good.The beach was beautiful. The activity boards were not in english. Not a big deal. We would stay again.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX