Occidental Papagayo

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    T

    3*** at best!!! don't waste your money

    Reviewed by Traveler on Feb 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort is not worth the money. In its day it may have been 4 star but not anymore. You have to wait in line for a half hour just to get to the buffet. The staff is doing a great job with the tools they have but the place is in need of a make over. The food is reheated from dinner to breakfast to lunch. The food is not bad but NOT 4-5 star. The whole place needs money bad. Deck chairs with worn out cloth, pealing paint, roof ties falling from the roof to Toilet paper holder falling off the wall in our room sliding door doesn't fully open. They all maybe small things but they should be charging 2 star rates for what they are offering. Go down the beach to Riu beach palace you will not be disappointed !! We booked with west jet travel, they are a great airline but they don't check up on the hotels they send you to. One last thing, when you get to the hotel they push hard to get you into a time share at the hotel. Looks like they are begging for cash to fix the place. This is the first revue I have done, so take my advice don't go, save your money!!!

    What to expect (based on 4436 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Poor Service and Management

    Reviewed by thehiltonexperience() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The views of the property were amazing but the wow pretty much stopped there. Guest services were rude after they failed to properly book our excursion, the pools close at 5 and 7 pm, the food options are few and low quality, except for the Ala Carte restaurants and you are only allowed to go to those twice during your entire stay. We did not have access to WiFi and was informed at Check in that it was an additional fee to use. Since it was our honeymoon, we made the best of the situation but we wouldn’t recommend and we won’t return. Very disappointing.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-3

    You get what you pay for...

    Reviewed by aislynnt() on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I would give this resort a 3.5, but that isn’t an option. Just spent 8 nights at Occidental Papagayo. If we return to Costa Rica we will not stay there again, but we will likely pay more to stay at a higher quality resort or rent a house. First, the grounds are beautiful and pretty clean. The views from our room (we upgraded to premium) was amazing. I feel like the quality of the room and the quality of service was fair based on what we paid, but don’t expect anyone to go out of their way to be helpful and don’t expect the food to be amazing. A huge shout out to David who worked in the restaurants each day....exceptionally kind and helpful! We did not use the shuttles as the walk to restaurants and main area wasn’t too bad, but we see the shuttles around quite a bit. Access to the beach was easy and it was beautiful. FYI, this is not a private beach to the resort so their is public beach access. This was not a problem, but just expect it to be more crowded on the weekends and expect people to come up selling you souvenirs and massage services. The spa at resort was great...I had 2 massages during our stay and both were excellent! A few tips.... Avoid the Asian restaurant, D’Oriental. Service was a joke and the food was very bad. Pool/beach towel service was a joke. Hard to guarantee that you’ll get a towel for the day, even if you go when they open in the morning. We had a $90 credit on our account from our initial booking. We booked a tour through the resort and decided to use the credit for that. Upon checking out we were told it could not be used on a tour. We asked if we could use it toward our spa services....no. We were told it could be used for wine, laundry, shuttle to nearby beach. It just would have been nice if they clarified that at the beginning. Don’t bother booking the beach excursions (snorkeling, kayak, etc.) at the towel desk by the snack bar as directed. They were not helpful and just casually told us that everything was full. If you actually walk down to the beach there is a tent where you can book these activities and they are super helpful. You might even get lucky to go out at the last minute if they have space....very accommodating. The food was not bad, but it definitely wasn’t great. After 8 days it got really old....even though the buffet has different themed nights the food was all very similar.

    Full of fun

    Reviewed by autumnluna80(Buffalo, New York) on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This resort is well maintained. It is spread out over a large area but they provide transportation thru out the resort. There is always something to do even if it's just relaxing and enjoying the view.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    WORST RESORT EVER.

    Reviewed by aleja33sma() on Jul 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    this place is thee worst i have ever been, and i travel a lot! they didn’t have any pool towels, every time i would ask for them in the morning they said they were out and it would take 2 hours to get some. they have two restaurants to choose from and the food is not good , the buffet has the same food everyday, the customer service SUCKS, the house keeping does not clean your room good at all , the drinks are watered down every single time. and they have no fun activities to do, they don’t have an entertainment group so it’s always so boring. the pool is small ! the beach is ugly, it was just a 1 star for everything , i have never hated a resort this much. and my phone didn’t work in the room and they kept saying they’re we’re going to fix it , and here comes the last day on the resort and still not fixed. yeah these people don’t care, and should defiantly have a 1 star review . shut this place down!

    Disappointed

    Reviewed by Orna B() on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Started off on the wrong foot, no pool towels for hours, pool staff did not even approach us to service the area we were sitting at, we had to go and get our own drinks. A/C in our room was broken and no other room was available till day #2. Our kids room - toilets were not operational, and internet service was painfully slow. On the second day, the staff who felt our pain was kind enough to move us to one of the suites, but most of our stay (only 2 days) was tainted by the above description

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX