Disney's Grand Floridian Resort and Spa

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 5284 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A So-So and Disappointing Experience

    Reviewed by Linda L(Delaware) on May 11, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    While we knew restaurant experiences were limited, we were very disappointed in the food choices offered at Gaspirilla's We've always had the ability to order healthy meal options and the food was always fresh and good. This time around we didn't get many options and the food did not taste fresh and was loaded with fat; we both got sick on the cheeseburgers and the fries tasted like they'd been sitting out for hours. The flatbreads were similar to frozen food flatbreads. There were no fresh beverages such as iced tea available. It would have been nice to be able to order The Cafe's menu for takeout, because that food was GREAT! We expected better when paying high prices for the GF resort. Also, the rooms were not consistent among buildings. At an outer building (Conch Key), we had no clock in the room and the toilet room smelled very, very bad. In the main hotel, after we switched rooms, we had a clock, a pleasant smell and nice little touches like monograms on the TP and Kleenex.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Updated Review : Failed experiment, we won’t return

    Reviewed by kisara_2014(White Plains, New York) on Apr 26, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Update: Updating my review to add some notes about/photos of other issues we had during our stay that I think are worth pointing out. In my original review, we did get a response from Disney on TripAdvisor that was apologetic and much more empathetic than how we were treated on site, but I'd like to note that there were no offers to work with us to try and make it up to us. One point worth mentioning is the housekeeping. It's modified due to covid, which is completely understandable. However, if you'd like, they will enter every other day to provide fresh towels (if yours are on the floor/in the tub indicating a replacement is needed) and empty the trash. One day, on returning to our room, we found the same wet towels we had left on the floor to be replaced had been folded re-hung up. Still wet. At least, I HOPE they were our towels. I called the front desk and someone did promptly bring up a bag of fresh towels for us to replace the wet ones ourselves, but I still found the incident bizarre. Never had anyone re-fold and hang up wet towels from the floor before... and I used to work in a high-travel industry so I'm well acquainted with hotel housekeeping. The other related issue is that rooms are supposed to be sanitized before you enter, but I found this claim dubious because the countertop in front of the television still had wet marks from someone else's drinks/water bottles and clearly hadn't even been wiped down. I had a few travel wipes on hand, and did it myself... but it didn't leave me confident about the sanitization process. It's a bit tough to see, but I'll attach a photo so you can see what I mean. Finally, our room's chair was ripped along the front seam (about 5-6 inches long, you could see the foam in the chair) and had some visible stains on the seat. This isn't a huge deal, but the rooms REALLY do need renovating and you expect more for a flagship/5-star resort. The sofa was pretty worn out too, but at least not visibly torn or stained. I didn't photograph this, but will happily share my room number if someone on site would like to fix that chair for the next guest. One last point to my original review - I still find it difficult to believe we couldn't be moved to at least a comparable room the night of all the noise (see original review below). WDW was at 35% capacity. Surely some rooms were open, and given that we ended up needing to use our own disinfecting wipes upon entry anyway, I wouldn't have minded moving to something that wasn't "fully sanitized". ---- Original: This was our first time at the Grand Floridian. First, I’d like to say that the staff we interacted with at the Grand Floridian Cafe and the Enchanted Rose were great. We also had a pleasant phone call with a room assigner before we received our room at check in. Bedding is very comfortable, but the room was dated and in need of a renovation. The front desk and so-called “back office” need a serious attitude adjustment. I felt like I was annoying the woman at the front desk at check in when I went to pick up our checked luggage and a gift basket I’d ordered via Disney, but the real issue didn’t arise until our second to last night. At 9pm after returning from the parks, the room next to us was.... loud. And I don’t mean excited kids loud - kids and adults so loud I could hear them over the tv when I turned it on. I honestly wondered if there was some kind of domestic dispute going on. I called guest services about 15mins later when it kept going and let them know the noise was pretty wild, and asked if either we could move or the other folks could move. They said the “back office” would call us back to discuss and they would send up security. While waiting, a bell hop delivers their luggage, makes no comment about the noise, and engages in loud hallway conversation with the. We are baffled. 30 minutes later, I finally get a callback (9:45pm). The woman I spoke to (I believe “Amanda”) was confrontational from the get go telling me they only have garden view rooms (we paid for a theme park), which wasn’t acceptable to us. She also told me they only checked in “less than 15 minutes ago”... untrue since they were in the room before I arrived at 9pm. I apologized saying I wasn’t trying to be a pain, but it was nearly 10 and I just wanted some quiet so we could sleep. I was told quiet hours aren’t until 10, so call back in a ten minutes if it’s an issue. “After all, they’re just settling in”. ...okay, but what about those of us who settle in without screaming? We were offered to move to a comparable room, but not until the following day which is our last night on site. No, thank you (pack and move for one night, no where to rest in the afternoon between parks, etc). We didn’t even get an “I’m sorry”. No apology, no “I understand why this is frustrating”. Nothing. I was made to feel like I was being ridiculous for wanting somewhere quiet to sleep. We didn’t pay thousands of dollars to listen to other people’s family arguments when we’re trying to sleep after a long day with an early morning planned. My husband went to the front desk - same story. I’m not writing this because I think Disney cares. They don’t. If they did, they’d have handled this VERY differently. I’m writing this to save you aggravation and money - pick another resort. I’ve never had this kind of poor service at another on site resort, and we likely won’t be back to the GF after all this late night frustration. It’s unfortunately ended our trip on a sour note.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-2

    The Grand Floridian Has Everything For A Fabulous Stay

    Reviewed by NHWanderlust(NH) on Apr 21, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We love staying at the Grand Floridian for a number of reasons, the main one being the location (right on the monorail), especially now that they've opened the walkway over to the Magic Kingdom - fabulous! It's also just a beautiful resort with Disney's impeccable touches everywhere. And the pools - for us, mainly the adult pool - have something for everyone. We like the quiet of the adult pool which is a no entry pool and goes to a depth of 4 feet 11 inches - really great. The poolside servers who come around constantly are not intrusive; they'll bring you drinks and food and our server was very pleasant. It's a great place to relax and enjoy the Florida sunshine and Disney's superior service and decor. Can hardly wait to go back!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Just Fabulous!

    Reviewed by DrLiz(Farmington, Connecticut) on Apr 17, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have been to Disney World numerous times however have never stayed at the Grand Floridian until this last trip. The beauty of the resort, the superior service and the fabulous location place this particular hotel at the top of Disney’s offerings in my eyes. Covid restrictions did dampen what I could only imagine would make this location even more attractive than it is— the spa services, the character dining experiences and some of the amenities were on hold until further notice. The abundance of ever present staff was notable, and of all the members that we did interact with, they were none that were anything but friendly, helpful, and bent over backwards to assist us with whatever it was that we needed. I mean everyone! The grounds, the rooms and other venues were spotless. Our room was beautifully decorated and had everything we needed – – we were pleasantly surprised by an upgrade in our room to one with a balcony overlooking the water. The beds were beyond comfortable with lots and lots of pillows and the bathrooms stocked with plenty of luxurious toiletries needed during our stay. Even though the idea of mobile ordering of food at some of the quick serve places was born from Covid restriction recommendations, it worked beautifully— no lines, quick to get food, service with a smile. Privately I’m hoping that this carries over beyond Covid Beautiful pools, nighttime activities with some Covid rearrangement but overall my favorite Disney resort so far

    Exceeded my expectations

    Reviewed by PJ103A(Salina, Kansas) on Apr 17, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just wrapped up an excellent stay here at Grand Floridian. I hadn’t stayed at a park hotel since the Contemporary in the 1980s. I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of this most recent stay. The resort is beautiful and very well maintained. We were upgraded to a concierge level suite and the room was just perfect. Ice cold A/C and a huge bathroom and tub. The area in the main building was quiet so there were no disruptions. The staff was very friendly with some even greeting me by name on the last day. They have a very nice fitness center and walking trails around the property. You also can’t beat monorail access for convenience. Finally we ate breakfast at the main cafe and I was pleasantly surprised here too. The lobster eggs Benedict and chicken and waffles were delicious. I would stay here again.