Barceló Maya Tropical Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    K

    The beach in front of the tropical we found the beach the best, as well the pool area was good ,service around the pool was just ok.

    Reviewed by KD from Calgary on Jan 31, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    would go back,service in the Italian restaurant in the mall was the best and would rate a 5 ,The Japanese was good.Alfredo Bacob was great in the main restaurant for breakfast and lunch

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    M

    We love Barcelo! Been in each section and love them all! Best beach on the Riviera!

    Reviewed by Matt on Aug 31, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    The location is fantastic. The resort is almost perfect, huge, with lots for everyone to do. The buffets are decent and restaurants are wonderful. There are newly renovated sections. The beach is amazing... lots of palm trees for shade, so big that you can have a section all to yourself. A nice pier in the middle for swimming or boat tours. This is our favourite Caribbean location. Having said all that, I have to admit, the front desk services are about as bad as it gets, lol. The cleaning staff, waiters, bartenders, maintenance people and activity coordinators are all great, never an issue and always smiling and helpful.... but the front desk, for whatever reason, and for just about any service, is painfully slow and usually disorganized. It would never stop us from going there, but you asked for an honest review!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Something for Everyone

    Reviewed by Beckie on Jul 03, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    So many things to do at this resort!! The Hydrotherapy was my favourite for sure!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    s

    The resort is very large. There is so much to do, that you would never be bored or your could just relax. The beach is amazing!

    Reviewed by sr on Jun 30, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Great Resort, with so much to offer for everyone!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Loved Hydratherapy water was the best

    Reviewed by A C on Jun 29, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    I had issues trying to get a bathmat, hand towels and beach towels to our room in Tuluum room 11111. They did not replace them after cleaning. Our sink leaked too, but when we called down to have someone come and fix it, someone arrived right away. Same with my calling Housekeeping to have those extra towels added on our first night. I didnt bother trying to call down every day as they were never replaced just taken. We did get bath towels. Just no beach towels, hand towels, nor face cloths

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    THERE IS SO MUCH TO DO AND THE RESORT IS DEFINITELY GRAND! HYDROTHERAPY IS WHAT I WOULD COME BACK FOR!

    Reviewed by K E on Jun 26, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    THE RENOVATED GYM AT THE BARCELO MAYA PALACE WAS STUNNING, I WOULD GO BACK JUST FOR THEIR HYDROTHERAPY, IT WAS REALLY NICE. I ALSO REALLY LIKED THAT THEY HAD A DISCOTHEQUE ON SITE WITH REALLY GOOD MUSIC AND IT WAS ALWAYS BUSY, AND BAR SERVICE WAS QUICK. THE PREMIERE LOUNGE IS SUPPOSEDLY PRIORITY CHECK IN BUT THEY WERE BUSY DOING ESCALATIONS AND RESTAURANT RESERVATIONS SO WE ENDED UP WAITING FOR AN HOUR AND HALF TO GET CHECKED IN...THAT PUT A DAMPER TO THE START OF OUR STAY, BUT ONCE WE GOT IN EVERYTHING WAS GOOD. OUR ROOMS WERE BIG AND SPACIOUS AND HOT TUB WAS AMAZING.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    D

    will recomend to families

    Reviewed by Delia on Jun 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    I like the location and amenities in this hotel and now with the new mall is a plus

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    All in all it was a fabulous experience. I loved the free hydromassage pool that came with our premium room!

    Reviewed by Shannon on Jun 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    The resort is vast and has many ammenities to offer. There was some issues during check in and our room that was a little frustrating, but considering the room was newly renovated I can give them a pass on those

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Something for everyone.

    Reviewed by Sue W on Jun 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    So much to do for everyone. Bowling, shopping, night life, swimming etc. The check in process could use some help but overall a great location and stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    c

    Something for everyone!

    Reviewed by christinek on Jun 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This hotel has so much to do, from a bowling alley to shopping mall to fitness centre (nicest one i have ever seen) spa, spa for kids, the list can go on. Loved the resort, rooms are welcoming, lots of resturants to chose from. Something for everyone. If you are looking for a large resort you wont be dissapointed!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6330 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Found my new vacation spot!

    Reviewed by keeko2019() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family traveled to the Bacelo in January and I have to say that it was our best vacation ever. The resort was immaculate and the staff were the friendliest I have encountered. Honestly, cannot say enough good about it. We stayed in the premium swim up suite at the Caribe and again, can't say enough good. We were there for 7 nights. When we didn't think things could be better, our expectations were again exceeded each night. We plan to visit again in January with a group of extended family but for now will settle for non-premium in June with my adult children, their girlfriends and their cousins! We have 4 rooms....a bit sad that we won't have premium (the younger people can't afford premium) but hey, we will be at our new favorite place! We cannot wait!

    Horrible service from booking to check in !!!!

    Reviewed by Suredesign() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I booked a trip to Barcelo Riviera Maya Beach resort Via Barcelo.com to meet my family members at the resort for their spring break. I cannot express how unprofessional and irritating the entire process has been since the beginning... When I booked I called to speak to somebody over the phone to make sure I was going to be staying at the same building as the rest of my family, they assured me that it wouldn’t be a problem and told me I was all set. I specifically asked if I could add the shuttle to my bill and they said it wasn’t necessary and to call back a day or two before arriving to book it. It was supposed to be $75. I called a couple days before leaving and lo and behold they said it was $245 because I should’ve booked it in advance... I was so upset and when I explained what I was told I was offered no apology or solution. Fast forward to the day of... our flight arrived at 9:30am, trying to find a taxi, shuttle or rental at that point was completely impossible we were being quoted upwards of $300 for transportation. 3 car rentals places later we finally make it to the hotel at 2pm, we park the rental at the building our reservation was in (Maya Beach) and the attendant says that we are in the wrong lobby that we had to go down two buildings on a shuttle that runs every 20 minutes to check in at the Caribe lobby, even though my reservation clearly stated I was in the same building as my family!!! At this point we’re livid, nobody has offered a solution or apology once more. We make our way to the Caribe lobby and proceed to wait in line for over 30 minutes where there are only two attendants working with a huge line of people accumulating. The first lobby had a bunch of attendants and nobody in line so this uneven distribution of employees was really the icing on the cake. I speak to the attendant who can clearly see on my face how unhappy I am... he called to see if someone can move us and is left on the phone for at least 20 minutes. He finally hung up the phone and said that he would find some supervisor to talk to and asked us to sit down without even offering us a drink like everybody else before us was given... It is now 4PM and I am still sitting in the lobby waiting to see if they can change my room... I’ve completely wasted the entire day just trying to check into this hotel. I’m not even drinking the cocktail I got for myself because I am furious all I want to do is get in my room and take a shower. You’re looking for a relaxing place to go don’t be impressed by how big this places it’s poorly managed and the service is terrible. I came last month to the Golden Parnassus resort which was 10 times smaller and not as fancy but the people were 1000 times more efficient, kind and proactive and taking care of their guests. I am definitely not coming back, worst vacation and it hasn’t even started it!!!

    Barcelo Maya Beach

    Reviewed by Shannon D() on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We were booked for Caribe, specifically due to Riviera construction and wanted to be closer to everything at the resort. We were placed in Beach and dump trucks worked ALL NIGHT, every night. Noise not noticeable during the day. At night was very loud. Could hear at 1am 2am 3am.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Great spot! Wicked staff

    Reviewed by KingKoltyn() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We travelled to this resort and just returned yesterday. I gotta say we are already wanting to head back. Everything was great from the rooms, to the food to the service. Most memorable was our amazing bartender Jose guiterez (sorry if the spelling is off). This man went above and beyond in making sure we felt like royalty. From the pool bar to the lobby bar, he was attentive , spoke very highly of his place of work and loved what he did. Kept the drinks coming fast and was great conversation. Not only was he attentive as a bartender but informative as a friend. He gave us plenty of tips and contacts for travelling to playa del Carmen , and made sure i had the local “scoop”. I would definitely head back to this resort again. Gorgeous beaches , friendly staff , and and just all around great vibe! Cheers !

    Luz Mar - amazing!

    Reviewed by Nick I() on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We arrived very excited and were even more excited after we found out we were chosen for a VIP upgrade. Thank you Luz! We are loving our vacation, this beautiful resort and the great personnel that work here, especially Luz, who is awesome.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX