Catalonia Royal Tulum

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 9109 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    CRT Vacation 5/11-5/18

    Reviewed by tarver11(Memphis, Tennessee) on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Warning: Long Review Catalonia Royal Tulum Review 5/11-5/18 To level set, my husband and I have traveled to Mexico over 10 times, we usually stay at adults only All Inclusive (AI) resorts but have occasionally stayed at an all ages AI. For comparisons sake, we have stayed at Aventura Spa Palace (before it became Hard Rock), Fiesta Americana, Valentin (VIM), Ocean Maya and now Catalonia Royal Tulum (CRT) Kalido Transfers – Excellent service, most efficient airport transfer we have ever had, we were out of the Cancun airport and on our way to the resort within 10 minutes of clearing customs. Likewise, on our day of departure we were scheduled for an 8:30am pick up, our driver was at the resort and ready to go at 8:10am. There was a mix-up with another transfer service at the resort, they insisted on us getting out of the Kalido Van and getting in their van, the Kalido driver was prompt, efficient and in control of resolving the situation. We will never use another airport transfer service other than Kalido. Total time to the resort was 1 hour 15 minutes, total time back to the airport was 1 hour Catalonia Royal Tulum – Overall impression of the resort is romantic and very low key, we booked the privilege package and other than access to BLoved restaurant did not see very much benefit. I have heard it called the poor man’s VIM, but would not agree with that assessment at all, they are very different types of resorts. I will break down the resort from our point of view. Check-In – With privilege the website stated early check in, we arrived at 2pm and were told we could not check in until 3pm. This was fine, we went and had some lunch and returned at 3:05. Still no room, at 4:00pm the front desk advised they had a room for us in building 1 (privilege) but it had double beds. We preferred a king so, they offered us a room in building 5 (not privileged building) and advised we could move the next day. At this point, we were exhausted from being up since 2am traveling and were grateful to go to our room. Front desk staff were kind but slightly frazzled, in all fairness it was Saturday and they seemed to have a lot of travelers checking in. Building 5 Room 5206 – Although it was not one of the two privilege buildings, it was closest to the pools and beach so we opted to stay in this room and not move. The room décor was fine, nothing fancy or elaborate, but had everything we needed (except for good air conditioning, more on that later). The room had 1 nice size drawer, a place to set your suitcase, closet with hangers, in room safe, and 4 or so cubby holes for clothes, iron, ironing board, umbrella, coffee maker, fridge that did not get cold…room was not the nicest we have ever stayed in but overall did the job. Bathroom was nice sized, 1 sink, light-up make up mirror and large shower. Of all the resorts we have been too CRT had the best hot water and water pressure. The shower head is one of those large rain shower heads and has a knob you can press to force the water out thru a hand held wand. The shower was one of the best points of the room. It also had a shower chair in the bathroom which came in handy one of the days after a few too many refreshing cocktails. The only downside to the bathroom was no air vent, so it was really hot and stuffy. We were on the 3rd floor, which I highly recommend (if you don’t mind climbing stairs). The view was jungle tree tops, but we did get some blue sky as well. Anything lower and I wouldn’t think you would get much sunlight at all. Balcony had 2 chairs and a small coffee table. Air Conditioning – This was the worst air conditioning of any resort we have stayed at. It was an older style control that you had to turn, it was obvious that it was governed, as when you tried to turn it below 25 Celsius it made a clicking noise. I reported this on 3 different occasions, was told maintenance would come, it was the same every time we came back to the room. It did not cool down sufficiently and several nights we had to sleep on top of the covers. The room did have a nice ceiling fan, but that only circulated not cold (i.e. slightly warm) air. My husband works in extreme heat conditions, so cold air in the room is a deal breaker for us. This would be our number one complaint and would be at the top of the list for why we will not return to this resort. Room Service – Ordered room service twice, very hit or miss. First time I called to order a bucket of ice and 3 pepsi lights, it took over 3 hours and 3 more phone calls for them to show up with 3 pepsi lights and no ice ? the next time we ordered a sandwich, fruit plate and dessert and it showed up promptly within 30 minutes. The food we did get from room service was fresh and tasty. Maid Service – I know these people work hard and I appreciate it, the towel art was lovely. But basic things seemed to be lacking… i.e. unless I specifically left a note and asked for it, we rarely got fresh towels and wash cloths, coffee pods or coffee cups. To me, these are the basics and I shouldn’t have to leave a note asking for them. Now when we did leave a note, with a tip things were replenished. It, like room service seemed a bit hit or miss compared to other resorts. Beach Towels – I don’t like their beach towel plan as much as other resorts where towel cards are used. Here you bring your towel back to the room and someone will come by and get your wet beach towels and bring you another one. Twice no one showed, and we had to use a wet towel the next day and on 2 occasions they didn’t show up until almost 9:45pm. Maybe it’s personal preference but I like to drop off my wet towel on my way to the room after my day at the beach and go ahead and pick up my fresh towel. Beach – The beach was truly lovely, in spite of the terrible seaweed problem it was gorgeous with plenty of lounge chairs, bean bag chairs, hammocks, bali beds and palm trees. Clearing the seaweed seemed to be hit or miss as well, some days you had 1 or 2 guys shoveling with pitch forks and some days you had lots of folks (including guests one day) working. Either way, the seaweed piled up off to the side of Beloved was unsightly but didn’t really bother us, and for the amount that was piled up, there really was no off-putting smell. We spent most of our time at the pool, but did go into the ocean for a swim every day. Ocean was cool and refreshing but there was a lot of seaweed, didn’t really bother us. Hot Tub – One of my favorite things about this resort. I enjoyed having my morning coffee from the hot tub overlooking the beach/ocean. Water temperature was consistently semi-warm, never really cold or hot. We enjoyed the view daily. Pool – There is 1 pool, and 1 small wading pool with loungers in it. There were a good number of loungers around the pool. We are early risers, so we never had a problem getting a place to sit around the pool. I do not consider us players of the towel game, as we reserve our chairs early, go to breakfast and then spend the rest of the day between the loungers and the pool. There were lots of umbrellas for shade and a little table for every 2 chairs. The water was cool and refreshing and there are several lips around the edge of the pool where you can sit and read or relax. Very little entertainment going on at the pool, which may be a plus for some folks. For us it was too quiet, we enjoyed the entertainment staff at other resorts that facilitated games/activities throughout the day. This is one of the benefits of having more than one pool at some of the other resorts we have been to, one quiet pool and one more lively. I knew this was the case going into the vacation, so it wasn’t a surprise, I just didn’t realize how much I enjoyed the livelier pool area. This would be our second reason for not returning to CRT. Again, not the fault of CRT, it is touted as a quite relaxing resort, just a bit dull for us. Pool bar construction was underway while we were there, but it was never intrusive, the mgmt. at CRT seemed very considerate of its patrons regarding construction. Grounds – The grounds are very well maintained, beautiful and easy to navigate. The bridge/walk from the stone path where the rooms are located leading to the pool and beach is unique, especially with the changing colors at night. We enjoyed watching the jungle wildlife as well. The best part about CRT for us was the food and the coffee! The a ’la carte restaurants served some of the best AI food we have ever had. Breakfast - We ate breakfast at Beloved 3 times, the food was good but the true draw for us was sipping one of the coffees from their coffee menu while overlooking the beautiful ocean. Service here was outstanding. The rest of the week we at breakfast at the buffet. No complaints here at all, it was standard resort breakfast buffet food. Some folks complained that it was cold and not replenished enough, but again we are early risers and were there when they opened at 7am so we had no issues. Lunch – Buffet was not all that great for us, we ate there 2 times. The rest of the times we ate at the snack bar, which we found to be fresh and delicious. Between the two of us, we had sushi, club sandwich, cheese sticks, nachos, buffalo wings, frys and pizza. All of it was fresh and tasty. Again service was excellent. Dinner – We did not eat at the Tapas or the Asian Restaurant so can’t really comment on those. Our favorites in order were: Steakhouse – Best AI steak I have ever eaten. I had the ribeye and my husband did the T-bone. We ate there 3 times. The second time I had the skewer which had steak, sausage and shrimp and it was delicious. Also tried the ribs, Caesar salad, buffalo wings, cheese sticks and my husband adored the Claim chowder served in a hot bread bowl. Service was excellent, with a view of the ocean, truly one of the highlights of our trip. Italian – Again excellent service, food was delicious, hot and fresh. We had lasagna, fettuccini alfredo, eggplant parmesan, capresi salad, chicken dish (w/ham and cheese), bruschetta, Caesar salad. Air conditioning was nice ?? Mexican – Can’t remember the exact names of the dishes we had, but they were fresh and tasty. I had something that was similar to a fajita but it was on a large flour tortilla, again very delicious. We both had dessert here, the best lime and orange sorbet I have ever eaten in a delicate sugar bowl. My husband had the 3 milk cake which was wonderful as well. Again, air conditioning was a big plus. Drinks at all the bars were generally pretty good, but as others have noted they were sporadic in their composition. Seemed each bartender made the drinks differently, even something very easy like a margarita. But they were all tasty. CRT is upholding the no alcohol before 10am rule, and they are very strict about it, several times I sat at the Beloved bar waiting for the staff to get the go ahead to start serving. We never stayed up past 11pm, so I have no idea if they served after that. Drink service around the pool was always fast and efficient. Rauxa Show – Was closed for 2 weeks while we were there, this was a big disappointment for me, as it was on the top of my list of things to do while there. It would have been nice, had that been communicated somehow prior to the trip (but again it did not make or break our trip). We did get to hear them practice one night and it sounded good. The whole Rauxa theme seems a bit weird for this resort, does not really fit in with the rest of the CRT vibe. Overall, it is a lovely resort and I can see why some people are CRT repeaters. We enjoyed our vacation, how could we not…great food, beautiful beach with my best friend… but for the main reasons 1. Poor AC in room and 2. Lack of Entertainment at pool we will not likely return.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Beautiful Resort, Less Than Beautiful Experience

    Reviewed by BC0405() on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The Good: The beach is beautiful, lots of shade. The bars and bartenders are extremely friendly and fun. The food is wonderful, from the buffets to the beach-side dinner we had. It's away from other resorts and has a laid back relaxing feel to it which is exactly what we were hoping for. The service staff is diligent, eager to help, and fun. The spa services were wonderful and left us feeling rejuvenated. The Bad: It was our honeymoon, and we had booked the "Romance Deluxe" package, which promised a banner on the door, champagne and fruit plate upon arrival. Our neighbors had banners, but when we showed up at 3 there was nothing. At around 6:30 PM housekeeping brought us a banner and a warm bottle of champagne. Not exactly the warmest welcome. When I brought it up the next day, I was basically told "That's what time we do that. If you wanted it at a different time you have to request it before you arrive." We also told them our room was less than ideal. Nothing about it felt special compared to a normal room, there was no couch like the pictures we had seen but two desk chairs. Eventually, they moved us to a new room that was technically a downgrade, but came with a couch, double vanity (The "Romance" room has you sharing a sink?", minimalist furtature that made the room feel bigger, and just a more modern looking room. We booked an excursion through the group with the station at the beach (name escapes me, red shirts). It was a Catamaran ride with snorkeling, and we told it's a 20 minute ride from the resort and leaves at 11:30. Perfect for a half day trip! Well, we didn't get to the boat until 1:30 PM, didn't leave the dock until after 2, didn't get the lunch that was promised until 4, and didn't get home until almost 8 PM. Again, when we expressed our dissatisfaction to guest services, they kind of shrugged and said sorry. Things we wish we knew beforehand: Every room (except the Jr. Suites) is the same size. The only thing the "Privileged" or "Romance" packages do is add extra amenities. If you want anything ready for you when you get there, you need to specifically request it (see above).

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    So many pluses.... and minuses.

    Reviewed by SuperSheri(New Braunfels, TX) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Pros: Medium size is nice and not crowded. Food is better than any other all inclusives we have stayed in. Moderately priced. Grounds/facilities are beautiful and well maintained. Fresh juice bar on the beach is a real treat! The Grill offers tenderloin steaks that rival ours back home in Texas! Beach service from the bar is the BEST we have had in the nine all inclusives we have stayed at through the last few years. Beautiful palm trees thick along the beach. Staff is very friendly. Cons: Beach is covered with sargassum seaweed (can't be helped). No solid shade on beach - only palm trees - if fair you will get burned. Hot and humid in all the buildings - no strong A/C except in the restrooms by the Mexican restaurant. Lots of outdoor eating only. The only non-super hot place was right on the beach due to the breeze. Our room A/C would not go low enough to keep us from sweating. Refrigerator in the room was only slightly cool. Only ONE beach towel each allowed per day. Also, could not get extra bath towels and wash cloths in the room for when we needed more than one shower a day due to the jungle humidity and heat. Crazy. Called the front desk/guest services several times and the phone was NEVER answered. Bed in remodeled room was very poor - lumpy. And NO air vent in the room bathroom - always hot and humid in there so took only cold showers. Bottom line - we won't be back but it certainly has good points. Just couldn't take the heat and being wet most of the time.

    A gem in the rough or how to miss an opportunity

    Reviewed by Inspire07047098630(Tucson, Arizona) on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The hotel has so much potential! It is located in a wonderful nature setting that could really be a great place to enjoy the tranquility of watching local wildlife and the great vegetation around. The staff is great and quality of the food is just marvelous. This was the 3rd we stayed here and the reason why we will likely not come back is because we have witnessed over the years how this gem of a hotel is trying to cater more and more to the party folks that need animation around the clock and cannot stand silence. The music at pool blares on for hours and makes a enjoyable relaxation at the beach almost impossible. The animation folks are annoying the heck out of us and their babbling over the speakers at the pool can be heard even over the wind noise at the beach. The same goes on at night to close to midnight. We like to recharge and relax on our vacations and that does not include losing sleep because the hammering music from the pool can still be heard in the room through earplugs at night. This is the kind of stuff I would expect from a place in Playa Del Carmen or in Cancun itself but not near Tulum. The other ordeal we had to suffer through multiple times during our 2 week stay was this embarrassing attempt of placing street vendors in the walkway so you had to squeeze by them and endure the annoying sales pitches from these folks on your to and back from dinner. This is just beyond anything I have ever seen. I know these tactics from 3rd world countries like Egypt or below but at least they would not harass you in your hotel or being sanctioned by the hotel itself. Come on, Catalonia, I know you understand that I am not paying to be harassed like that in my sanctuary. Remove these folks or put them where one has the option to avoid them at the very least. Sadly we will have to find another place for us to spend our vacations at as this is not the kind of experience we are looking for. I think you are making a mistake wasting this great location to cater to the party folks as they will move on when there's another "in" place to be at.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Great stay

    Reviewed by JoAnne T() on May 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Over all an excellent place to stay: good food, great service. The rooms need a bit of TLC ( age showing) but are extremely clean and spacious. Very helpful and friendly staff The WestJet vacation person was very helpful with booking my excursions and had some great ideas about how to spend my limited time with still being able to see everything I wanted. The spa was lovely and I had my first hot stone massage......incredibly relaxing! The walk way from the main lobby to the rooms, the pool, the beach is bathed in soft light at night while lovely soothing music plays in the back ground. The walkway is flanked by beautiful foliage and adorable Coati! Look but don’t touch they need to remain wild!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX