Grand Bahia Principe Coba

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    O

    Great staff, definitely would go back.

    Reviewed by Oldman on Nov 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Had a great time. Everything was good, good food, nice room, etc. Beach was a tad small plus the seaweed was terrible. The hotel can't be blamed for the seaweed though. We were there at the tail end of Tropical storm Michael with the wind blowing the seaweed in. They did have people cleaning it up as best as they could though. Had the use of the beach and most facilities at the sister hotel Tulum. Shuttle service was great and made getting around easy. Great place for kids. 24 hour snack bar was perfect if you got the munchies or a little thirsty at 2 am. Would go back in a heartbeat.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    s

    terrible experience here. Save yourself the headache and go elsewhere

    Reviewed by steve on Oct 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    I just spent a week at this resort and I am baffled at how this place has a 4.5 star rating. I have been to Mexico a number of times, and this is by far the worst place that my family has been to. With all of our visits to Mexico, we have never encountered rude staff, but at this resort we encountered this problem multiple times with the bartenders. The pool area was a mess, with garbage being left for days sitting on the ground and mold growing on the poolside lounge chairs. There is NO poolside service, so if you would like a beverage or food, you have to get it yourself. There is only 3, or better to say only 1 buffet restaurant, because after having lunch at the pool area buffet, it was decided to go to the main buffet due to the food quality. The food was OK, but pretty much the same thing everyday.We spent the whole week trying to find a drink that was worth drinking, but the low alcohol quality, and the bartenders inconsistency to make a quality drink made that next to impossible. The seaweed at the beach was piled up. I get that it s an ongoing process for the resort to deal with, but having a 3' windrow of weed on the beach for days in unacceptable. They could help this problem with more cleanup crews, but I doubt they care too much. Our Villa had no ice machine, and our room had a mini fridge that didn't work. After trying a few times to get it working, we just gave up. They would stock it sometimes, and sometimes they wouldn't. Our king bed was so old that it had large "dents" in it where previous guests had slept. We maybe slept for 1-2 hours at a time before waking up and having to change positions because some part of our bodies were numb. The bathroom had mold growing in the corners and on some edges. Shower toiletries consisted of shampoo, and conditioner, but no shower gel and hand soap, except for the last day that we were there. Our room had a dehumidifier, but no other rooms in our party had this luxury. They have work vehicles that are in disre

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    G

    Other than seaweed on the beach, everything else was great. Definitely considering going back.

    Reviewed by Gordon on Oct 10, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is an excellent resort. Great people, services, food and lodging.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    J

    Amazing people

    Reviewed by Joy on May 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    I loved the people.. They r amazing .. My first family vacation to Mexico n i would go back there.. Buffet was good lots of selection .. Formal dining was great esp Filipe at La Gormet .. Had a lol hiccup during checkin but during the stay I forgot all abt it .. I was treated like a princess

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Loved this resort for families.... the waterpark is awesome!

    Reviewed by Christinek on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    The Coba is not directly on the beach, its a 5min walk, but i thought it was great as staying by the pool at the coba was really nice, it was quiet and relaxing. A definite stay for a family with the nice waterpark!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    P

    Clean Room, Good Food, Poor Service

    Reviewed by Peggy2017 on Apr 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Clean room and the food was good. It lacked service, and friendly staff. I personally would not go back, as it seemed that you had to tip big to receive good service. Due to the lack of good service we didn't tip as much as we normally do. The pools had lots of debis in them, and the pool bar had one bartender and one blender. We would try to order a few drinks when we were up there due to the slow service, but the bartender would just ignore you if you ordered too many drinks, 4 drinks being too many, or drinks that he didn't feel like making. Our drink orders got ignored on several occasions despite tipping and being polite. We got charged for a late check out because we called concierge to pick up our luggage, we were on the opposite side of the resort from the lobby, and they didn't come until an hour later and after another phone call. We tried to explain this to the front desk staff and they still charged us. We called for ice a few times and they were always prompt to come. One day the cleaning lady must have been cleaning the patio and she left the patio door unlocked, we were on the ground level, luckily nothing was missing from our room.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    N

    Don't think it's a 5 star resort and think of it as 2.5-3 star

    Reviewed by Not a recommendation on Oct 31, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Friends

    It was better then punta Cana but not worth returning to at all. Few issues that we faced last week when we were there. 1- it was 4 friends that went there 2 rooms with single beds. We also confirmed with our agent and also send an email to the staff to make sure it was 2 single beds per room. When we get there sure enough both rooms had single king size beds. When we asked to change our rooms they replied not till tomorrow. We had to call them the next day several times to get the rooms changed. 2- no system for the buffet room. You walk in find an empty table leave your stuff on that table and then go get food before someone else takes the table. 3- always trying to find empty clean plates as usually thought our stay there were non avaliable until you wait for them to being clean plates. 4-hard to find a server in there for drinks and majority of the time we didn't even find anyone to bring water to the table. 5- new room gives to us was on second floor and the TV, ac and shower were not working in the room. We called the front desk a few times but no one came to check. We gave a good tip to the room service to fix TV and shower issue but ac was hopeless. Definitely was not a 4.5 or 5 star resort and no one should book it thinking it is that.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    t

    The No-Ba is a 3*. Maybe.

    Reviewed by travelbird on Apr 08, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We did what we thought was our due diligence about taking our family of 5 to the Bahia Coba, as well we have been to other Bahia Principe hotels. Coba was a disappointment in so many regards. Check-in was fine. We showed up at 1.30pm and were assigned our adjoining family rooms, close to the children's pool as requested however of course, the room was not yet ready. Fine. We returned as told at 3.30pm and our room was no longer available and we were assigned to building 3 which is pretty much at the end of the resort. No amount of pleading would change this. Further, the explanations varied depending on who we asked and ultimately we were completely lied to. Someone else got our room. New room in villa 3: a/c wasn't working, really pronounced mould smell and the very worst: mosquitos. So bad. Our daughter had 3 bites in her mouth that swelled her cheek up. Disgusting. Food was blasé. Restaurant reservations were brutal -- lines to get a reservation were impossibly long. Our family of 5 was granted 3 a la carte reservations at the amazing time of: 8.30pm. Our final meal was at Tequila @ Tulum which was actually really very good. So that's something. We have been to many AI resorts, as well as cruising. Never have we experienced the lack lustre service we received at Coba. We started calling it No-ba as truly -- any request for ANYTHING was answered with a NO. No we don't have your room anymore. No we can't fix the problem. No, the mosquitos aren't that bad in your room. No we don't have any premium liquor. No we don't have cream for coffee. No we don't have a better dinner reservation time for you. No, we don't have pancake syrup. No we don't have guacamole. No the snack bar isn't open even though it's 24 hours. No we don't have anyone running the tween/teen clubs. No we can't do your currency exchange because we have no currency. No we don't have a shuttle taking you that direction. No you can't take a photo. Seriously: NO-BA.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    A

    Amazing Stay! Excellent Customer Service!

    Reviewed by Andre & Melanie on Jan 24, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    This is definitely a place to go for anybody looking for a great resort. It's three resorts into one. A lot to do every single day. Beach, Pools, Casino, Golf and so many excursions too. Staff was excellent! We we're located in Villa 4a. Outside of our Villa, was the Iguana jacuzzi/bar. Would like to give a big thank you to our bartender JESUS! He was amazing! So friendly and did his job very well. Meanwhile, we went for our breakfast and lunches at the Buffet Cozumel. We had our regular waiter in Jose Marcial Coomol Ciov. What a great gentleman. Smiling all the time, cracking jokes but most importantly giving us the best service you can think of!! A great resort and thanks again Bahia Principe. Andre & Melanie Ontario, Canada

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    I

    Quick get-away, but much better hotels in the Mayan to stay at

    Reviewed by Islander on Dec 07, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    I have stayed at numerous Grand Bahia hotels in the past and figured I would try the Coba, it was a mistake. The hotel complex is extremely close to the highway depending on what room complex you stay in . The hotel grounds were not kept clean to what I am accustom to with the brand. Upon going to the sister hotel, Tulum it was evident that the Coba was the less loved child of the complex. The beaches which are government owned are very rocky and the nice beach is only accessible to the Akumal guests luxury property . Pools were extremely dirty and the main one had exposed wires which management was alerted to numerous times but did nothing about. The staff however, was excellent and actually cared about the stay. The Best Day Travel representative at the hotel was super helpful and helped us plan out our excursions which made the trip fun. Hotel says its a 5 star, 3.5 at best, pay the extra to stay at the Tulum side.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 15310 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Be Cautious

    Reviewed by Genie P() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    We went here for 12 days in Feb. Was good. We came home & partner hospitalized for 3 days. Testing said we both got E Coli 157. Not good experience. Didn't eat - except on resort. Was not good for us.

    Good Value

    Reviewed by Double M() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We visited during our March 9-16, 2019. I thought the resort was great overall. The grounds were meticulously maintained and the sheer size of the resort kept things fresh. Being able to use multiple resorts in the same area with convenient shuttle access added even more to the experience. Here is a more detailed breakdown. A La Cartes - The food was phenomenal. You get to pick 3 restaurants. The app made booking it easy but everyone is correct that there are practically no times available at all. We had to book one for 10pm on our final day because it was the only option. Overall, the employees at the A La Carte's were friendly. However, one server stood out far more than the others. Felipe from Le Gourmet was exceptional. He went above and beyond his call of duty. His service was unmatched across the rest of the resort for our stay. We also ate at La Gran Tortuga, which is the Brazilian steakhouse restaurant. Food was fantastic there as well. Our 3rd restaurant was Portofino, Italian. It was extremely greasy but tasted good. Transport from Airport 4/5: We had to wait about 30 minutes after we landed because somebody on their guest list didn't show up. Hard to blame the transport company for this but was annoying nevertheless. The van we took had a screen showing a movie for the ride which was essential. It took near 2 hours to get to Coba. We had one stop but the slow, winding road to get through the resort delayed us by about 20 minutes. At the end of our trip, it took 90 minutes to get to the resort with no stops. No movie this time. Buffet: 2/5 - There was only one on the Coba resort. It was always extremely busy and borderline impossible to get a table. The food was very average and repetitive. We hardly noticed the 'themes' they apparently had each night. Service 3/5 - We read on here the shuttles were frequent and that the drivers were helpful. The shuttles were definitely frequent, but the drivers were lazy and acted like we were making them go out of there way. When we first arrived, we said "can you take us to this villa, we just got here and don't know where we are." He sighed, pointed in the direction of the villa, muttered something about it being close. I asked him a second time and he reluctantly took us. I found it frustrating that everyone was always defaulting to Spanish. I know it is the native language but it seemed clear that the vast majority of visitors on the resort did not speak Spanish, yet that was always the first language spoken (even on open mic performances), and then the English version after was rushed, mumbled and often confusing. Often times you would look around after they said something and people would laughing saying "What?" "Did you catch that?" "What did he say?" This started on the airline, Interjet, and continued throughout the trip. Many workers did not understand english at all or at least used it as a reason not to help. Having been to Cancun a few times, I assume that is where most of the good english speakers end up. As mentioned above, Felipe at Le Gourmet was exceptional. Mauricio at the main buffet was the only good waitor we found there. Everyone else had tables that weren't cleaned and rarely, if ever, brought drinks. Roberto at front desk was very welcoming and helped us multiple times over our week stay. Pools 4/5 - There was the main 'party pool' that was split in to 2 sides. The one side had a swim up bar, the other side was closer to the kids area. The other "quiet" pool was located near our room and was much quieter. There was a snack bar next to it with mediocre food. The menu is posted in my pics alongside this review. Coba also had a couple mini pools which had mini bars next to them, but nobody was ever working at those bars so we didn't bother using those very small pools. One of them was just 3 whirpools making up one 'pool'. The Room 3/5 - We were on the 3rd floor which was nice and quiet. It was a decent size. It had an extended area with a couch, table, 2 chairs. I read the beds were hard. They were firm but not too bad. My biggest issue was the AC. We did not get our room below 23C once on the entire trip despite having it on full blast for 7 days. It would occasionally go over 24C while sleeping. It was uncomfortable. I'm sure it must be programmed to not allow it lower or it just sucked in our building. I called 3x to ask about this. They said they sent somebody but it never changed. TV in the room was useless for english speakers - Out of about 40 channels, 35 were spanish only. The other 5 alternated between spanish/english. Bars 5/5 - The sports bar was where I spent most of my time. It had AC & sports so it was good enough for me. The sports bar setup was much more like you'd see at your local US & Canada sports bars. Lots of TVs & seating. The nachos were often pretty gross though with very watery cheese compared to elsewhere. It also had a little area with pool, foozball, 2 Xbox Ones (Always with a kid playing Fortnite) and 3 old school arcade machines. The main lobby bar was often quite busy but had a decent vibe to it. They also had a lot of outdoor seating near the theater where people would congregate and they had a little pop-up bar of sorts. Other resorts 4/5 - You also get to use Grand Bahia Principe Tulum, which was a nice change. They are very similar but I found Tulum was more centered around the 'main pool', the lobby, buffet, A la carte's, shopping, etc all in the same general area. The rest of the resort seemed to be all villas. We also went to Akumal and checked out the infinity pool on the beach. Apparently we weren't even supposed to be allowed to use the ammentities there but I ordered drinks a couple times the day we went. We didn't bother chancing it again. Beach 3/5 - There is no beach on Coba. We went to Tulum to use it there. It was very rocky. We also checked out the beach on the Akumal side. Neither were very good but at least had sections portioned off that were blocking the waves. Casino - It had some tables, roulette & blackjack, but nobody else was ever playing when we popped in so I didn't want to play alone. Some slot machines as well but relatively small overall. Wildlife - The wildlife on the resort was awesome. We saw a ton of iguanas, coati, colorful birds, Sereque and more. There are signs everywhere saying not to feed them but we saw many people doing just that. Weather - 30-32C every day. 22C at night. No rain. 11 out of 12 on the UV scale most days though so bring sunscreen! We have stayed at many Grand Bahia's and always have a good time. This was one of the most beautiful resorts we had stayed on but some of the points above could use improving. For the price we paid, we think it's a good place to choose.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Relaxing in the sun

    Reviewed by Lyn P() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was our first visit to the Mayan Riviera and first experience with Grand Bahia hotels. We were there for 10 days. Grounds and accommodation are excellent, clean and well laid out but directional signage is terrible. Lobbies are beautiful and invite you to spend time there, but the quality of evening entertainment was not always up to par. Our hotel room was beautiful and the mini bar fridge is stocked daily with bottles of water, beer and pop. Mini cafetiere with coffee/tea makings in the room. Though the property is quite large (there are 3 resorts in one) they can all be accessed quite easily by the shuttle service or maximum 20 min walk depending on where you want to go. Shuttle service is frequent and can be most easily accessed at any of the main lobbies. My husband and I are retirees and we never had an issue. Coba itself is not on the beach. But it is a 10min walk from Coba to the Akumal beach. The beach itself is fine sand with many palapas and lounge chairs. It is very busy during the day but late afternoons are better. There are complaints about the accumulation of seaweed but it appears to be more of a problem at the Tulum end rather than Akumal. We found some spots in the water near shore to be very rough/stoney and hard on bare feet. Pools - there are 3 at Coba, two of which are more quiet; the third has an adjacent water park for children. The pool bars are very good as is the 24hr bar/restaurant La Casita (near one of the pools). It has a good buffet that you can use between meal times. Lounge chairs poolside tend to be "claimed' with towels etc though there are signs prohibiting people from doing that. This is not enforced so shade is at a premium. Lots of palm trees around though. Buffet restaurants - the food is good and plentiful but the main buffet is inadequately staffed for both clearing and serving, sometimes resulting in long line-ups at the door. (One buffet restaurant was closed while we were there). However the staff themselves are very hardworking and doing the best they can with great speed. Management needs to address this issue. A La Carte restaurants: because we were there 10 days we were allowed to use 4. We used Cozumel (Coba), Mediterraneo (Coba), La Gran Tortuga (Tulum) and Don Pablo (Tulum). Cozumel and Gran Tortuga were the best but the other two were also good. Men are required to wear long pants and shoes though I saw many men in t-shirts, shorts and sandals. These are reasonably formal restaurants, so personally, I would dress accordingly. Negatives: There was an appalling smell on occasion in the grounds, seemingly related to when the sprinklers were in use. Either a rotting garbage or sewage smell. We did report it to the front desk but not sure if it has been resolved since then. This was at Coba but we also encountered it at Tulum on one of our walks. Staff - though very friendly and efficient and keen to help, there were many who at times, clearly did not understand what we were trying to say. Yes, they speak English but their command of the language is minimal. Keep it simple! Positives: One of us had a significant birthday and the management brought champagne and chocolates to the door, plus a birthday banner. Rose petals decorated the dinner table at the a la carte on the birthday evening. Lovely touches and very thoughtful. All in all, it was a great holiday. We just wanted to relax and we certainly achieved that.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-4

    A 3, 5 star hotel.

    Reviewed by 69mazene() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Thanks for stopping by. The good: This hotel offers a huge landscape filled with really well kept and designed buildings. They have a good selection of food at the buffet. Excellent green space and great general atmosphere. The cleanliness of the room was fantastic. The meh: the beach is disappointing given the lack of sand space, activities, and availability of seats. The beach from coba is about a 10-12 min walk or you take a shuttle that comes every 15 minutes or so. The room was okay. Beds are meh. The bad: this is were I dock star points. Service! The staff are not friendly and very tip driven which is fair but you definitely don't get this experience in other hotels (been to 5 other all-inclusives). I ran into a very unfortunate homophobic event between guests and the security staff dealt with the situation in a rather alarming way. However, their actions were corrected once called out. I also was told a couple of homophobic comments from the staff. Never took them to heart but still felt unprofessional. The room's air-condition was also not working properly and it was never fixed. Regarding entertainment, it was very hard to really organizer anything because the resort is so big. So you don't really have a cohesive staff that cares for that.

    Best holiday ever!!!

    Reviewed by lukebucknall(Nottingham) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Best holiday we've had. Hotel was faultless. Food was fantastic, drinks were plentiful, staff friendly and welcoming. The bar staff will make you any drink you ask for even if it's not on the list. Branded spirits. Rooms clean and good size. The hacienda is the place to be of an evening. Plenty of beds around the pools. Made some great friends.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX