Grand Bahia Principe Tulum

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    G

    Great Place. Don't Let the Negative Reviews Deter You.

    Reviewed by Guest2223 on Apr 29, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    I read over quite a few reviews of the Grand Bahia Principe Tulum from various sources before deciding to book a vacation there. Here is what I thought of the resort while I was there. Food: Yes, the buffet is pretty standard and only has slight changes per day. That is normal for most of not all resorts. The food was excellent and had no issues during my stay. The A-la-carts are always difficult to book. What I noticed was that a number of people will book and not show. If you don't get the one you want, you can always take a chance and wait for an empty spot at the restaurant. But please, dress appropriately for them. Beaches: Yes, there was some seaweed when we first arrived. It was cleaned up in the morning of the third day we were there. There was no smell and you can easily walk over it to get to the water. It was no big deal. Animals: Yes, there are animals there. You are in the jungle and so there are lizards, birds, etc. most of the areas are open and so yes, the animals can wander in there as well. It is no big deal. Rooms: I was very surprized at how well the rooms were kept. The one we were in did not show it's age at all. Clean and all was functional. Overall, I highly recommend this resort and will definitely be staying there again. The staff was excellent and very helpful. Additionally, tip the staff! They work hard and deserve it. Many of the staff there went out of there way to help with directions, free rides, etc. Amazing how many people did not tip at all. Regardless of whether it is all inclusive or not, you would always tip in your native location. Why not there?

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    We LOVE Grand Bahia Principe Tulum. The staff at the swim up bar always friendly and the waiters at the Internation Buffet were great.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Nov 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our 3rd trip to Grand Bahia Principe Tulum and we will be back again next October with family to celebrate our 40th Wedding Anniversary. We Love Westjet and whenever possible we fly with them. The Resort was very busy this time but the service was still excellent. The location is excellent as you are close to sightseeing tours or perhaps a shopping trip into Playa Del Carmen..For the most part the staff was great, however, we didn't find the people on the reception desk to be very friendly..got more help from the fellows at the front that help unload your baggage. We were able to accomplish what we set out to do getting things arranged for next October and having an enjoyable vacation once again at the resort. Next year will be vacation Number 4 to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    We are going back. Loved it

    Reviewed by Mona on Sep 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The staff were amazing. From the cart drivers, to the wait staff to the room cleaners. The staff at check in were fantastic and very helpful

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    This resort is awesome..staff went beyond what you'd expect to accomodate your requests. Best place in our view to stay in the Tulum area.

    Reviewed by Barbie on Jan 28, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    We LOVE the Grand Bahia Principe Resorts and have stayed at GBP Tulum 3 times and plan to go back again this October and again next October. Great location, the staff are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can. Lot of variety as far as food and beverages are concerned. Great location to go exploring ..Like I said we just love it there. Would hightly recommend it for family, friends or just two people. GREAT is all I can Say

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Home away from home

    Reviewed by Shanzsato on Sep 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    This resort is my home away from home. My whole family has been many times including my wedding in the Tulum Gazebo. Amazing staff and some of the friendliest people I have ever met. Before coming here we were the type of people who always tried new places and never went to the same place twice. Since our first trip here in 2009 we have not gone anywhere else and now are planning out 16th trip.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Families will love it here!

    Reviewed by ChristineK on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    This property has so much for families! I loved how clean it was, loved the pool and beach! Lots of watersports! Close to Tulum!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    Y

    If your looking for a nice resort, KEEP LOOKING. This is not for you!

    Reviewed by Yellowdukk on Feb 09, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    It all started within the first 30 minutes after arriving. We checked into the hotel and immediately went to guest services to book our A La Cart dinners. We did our research and decided beforehand what we wanted, but to our surprise there were no decent reservation times available anytime during our entire stay. We could have booked for a 10pm dinner but who wants to eat that late! We had to settle for whatever was left, which wasn't much. note: there were never more then 50% of the tables used when we walked by We soon learned that certain travel companies allow pre booking of meals but WestJet wasn't one of them. It just went downhill from there. 2 hours later we were settled into our room. Not by choice, but to find a room that didn't have 2 twin 4 post beds or a hole in the ceiling and water all over the floor. Front desk were little to no help in resolving this issue and persisted to try and make us stay in these rooms for a few days and then move. Not happening! Finally off to bed but to only be awaken at 2am with a room at 13 degrees. The A/C was broken and wouldn't shut off. We decided to just turn the unit off and on as needed for the week instead of moving again. Lets just say that this was just the start of our horrible holiday. It didn't get any better throughout the week but we did make the best of it. It's a safe bet that we will never be back to this resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    not impressed!

    Reviewed by KelliHeikel on Apr 14, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Went for my best friends wedding, paid for an upgrade to a larger room to accommodate my small child. Only to find out that this is a scam and there actually is no upgrade and all 30 people that came with us had the exact same room and didn't need to pay. I notified the hotel staff and they simply said that yes we paid for it and everyone that was with us must have been upgraded for free. Then they told me to speak with the rep on site. He basically told me you pay for what you get and too bad.... The hotel staff were not friendly, rooms need many upgrades, lights not working, mold in the room and an awful smell. Some days we did not get towels even though we tipped everyday. We also did not get face cloths and always running out of toilet paper. We were there for 10 days and we were unable to book an a la carte which was included in our price. Eating at the buffet for 10 days became very tiresome as it was always the same food, it would have been nice to eat something different. By the last few days, my baby wouldn't eat anything and looking at the buffet literally made my stomach turn. I would like to mention that my best friend's wedding was absolutely gorgeous. The service was amazing, the food was great...I was very impressed by that as I am planning my own wedding at this time. Ceasar was fantastic and the service at the wedding was superb. This service would have been nice to have more than just one day. Also Jordan in the buffet was the best server there and we enjoyed him very much. The grounds of the hotel were well kept and beautiful. I absolutely love westjet but this trip has left a sour taste in my mouth and this make me very sad.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 14823 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Self catering villa in Green 3 villa 17

    Reviewed by IanHayman(England, United Kingdom) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    New, clean, well equipped and comfortable stay with very efficient aircon and ceiling fans. 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, lots of storage space Easy to connect to WiFi. Netflix on TV. Small shared pool just outside (8m long). Lovely rooftop jacuzzi and terrace but would be even better with a few chairs or hammocks. Access to all complex facilities but you definitely need a car because no groceries are available on site and nearest 'train' stop linking the 4 hotels is a fair walk away from the villa. Small shop down road (motorway filling station and 7/11 good for beers and milk and hot dogs!) where you can buy essentials but note that you can't buy any food or drinks within the complex as most guests are all inclusive which costs 60 Usd per day. Some of the hotel beach is great, but some is very rough, weedy and rocky. You cannot walk from the villa to the beach without crossing the main road which is like a motorway Great base for Coba, Tulum and Akumal beach where you can swim with turtles! We had a great time here and combined sightseeing with lounging by some very large and beautiful swimming pools.

    First time holiday in Mexico!!!!!

    Reviewed by Alex J(Sheffield, United Kingdom) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Absolutely amazing holiday in Mexico. Both the Animation staff and bar/waiting staff are fabulous and work extremely hard! Would 10/10 recommend this hotel. The wildlife here also adds a speciality to the hotel and are very friendly (just don’t feed them otherwise they come back for more with 20 of their friends!). Great for families as there is entertainment throughout the day and night. I would also like to make a personal shoutout to Eduardo who is hilarious and kind hearted and makes amazing paper hearts out of $1 notes!!!! Everybody come here.

    Almost Perfect Stay at a Wonderful Resort

    Reviewed by KUExplorer(London, United Kingdom) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed at GBP (Tulum) for a week in August 2019. At the time of booking directly with the hotel, there was an offer for around 60% off the normal rate and we paid just under £1000 for a standard room (2 people) for a week which was a reasonable price for a 5* all inclusive resort. The hotel is part of the Grand Bahia resort which has no less than 4 huge hotels which make up the GBP estate sprawled across lush jungle. Each one working like its own little community with its own restaurants, pools, entertainment and accommodation whilst still managing to maintain tranquility and preserving the best of the natural surrounding environment. We chose Tulum over Coba (even though Tulum was a little more pricey) simply based on reviews and pictures; we preferred the slightly more modern looking rooms at Tulum. If you book with the hotel directly you can provide your room location and floor preference as well as make your A La Carte restaurant reservations 5 day's before arrival. Our price also included return transfers to/from the airport (and you'll either get a small mini-van or big coach provided by one of their sister company. The vehicle you get is naturally determined by the number of guests on your flight) and the journey will take about an hour from Cancun. We had a small minivan shared with 2 other arriving guests which was fine (air conditioned and enough space) There's a lot to talk about in this review but let's start with the rooms... We got a room on the 3rd floor, Villa #1. This actually wasn't what we pre-requested via the MyBhaiaPrincipe portal (we asked for a 2nd floor room in Villa #41, further out from the main hub) but in hindsight, we preferred being in Villa #1 as it was close to the restaurants, bars and pool and wasn't noisy at all. Which leads me to my first tip; in the sweltering heat, you may prefer to be in a villa closer to things to avoid walking in the heat - the grounds are vast and getting from the furthest villa to the main buffet could be about a 10-15minute walk. There's also a handy, free golf cart that goes around the grounds frequently (running from 7am to about 2am every 5-10mins) so if you do get a villa far away, you dont always have to walk and can jump on one of these to take you around the resort and even to the other GBP properties and restaurants. Even if you do have to (or want to) walk, its through gorgeous green grounds and you'll spot lots of harmless wildlife (Agoutis, Raccoons and Iguanas are most common). Being on the 3rd floor also isn't bad as there aren't many stairs to climb. That said, if you have any medical or mobility issues then you'll likely want something on the ground (1st floor) as most of the villa blocks don't have elevators (I'm sure there are specific villas with elevators for guests who aren't able to use the stairs). The room was spacious, clean and well presented with a hint of the 'colonial' Spanish look and feel common in Mexico. The room had a fairly large flat screen cable TV (although there weren't many channels and signal was sometimes poor - although I didn't come here to watch TV so not a complaint for us anyway), there was a small coffee table with seats, a dressing table with wooden chair, mini fridge (stocked with 2 cans of beer, 2 large bottles of water and soft drinks which are free and replenished daily). A lockable safe, iron and ironing board are also provided. In terms of the room, the only slight remarks I would make is that there was only 1 spare wall socket for plugging in our appliances. There's another one in the bathroom, but having only one in the room meant that we had to be clever with trying to charge 2 phones, use hair straighteners and charge the digital camera! We ended up having to move the bedside table and disconnect the alarm clock just to free up another wall socket. I'm not sure if all the rooms are like this, but ours certainly was. You can make it work of course - but it isn't ideal to have to rearrange furniture and charge your phone in the bathroom just to get some power to your appliances! The other slight remarks about the room is that the fridge isn't tall enough to fit the 1.5l bottles of water provided, we had to remove the glass shelf and store this away just to be able to fit the bottles of water in. You can't be picky of course, and it's great to have free soft drinks replenished daily, but bottles of coke/sprite/fanta might not be welcomed by everyone - and it might be an idea for the hotel to consider providing non-carbonated drinks too - especially for guests with children! Another possible recommendation for the hotel would be to provide bath robes - given that this is stated as a 5* hotel, I would have expected bathrobes to be a pretty simple but obvious inclusion in any 5* rated property. I don't use them myself, but I know some potential guests would probably expect these kind of things from a 5* rated property. The bathroom was clean and modern, although perhaps a little bit cramped. The usual amenities are provided, plenty of towels, including ones for the floor, a dental kit (one toothbrush and toothpaste - I'm sure you could ask for more if you needed), sewing kit, soaps, a hair-dryer and exfoliating pad, shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. Just a small remark for the hotel management; there seems to be a focus on being environmentally friendly which is fantastic - however, small plastic bottles for shampoo/conditioner etc are probably not the best way to be environmentally friendly! The shower/bath unit featured a rain shower and handheld unit, as well as a faucet to fill up the bathtub which seemed to have a Jacuzzi feature (although we never used this). The room has an air conditioning unit and ceiling fan both of which are quiet and effective at cooling the room. If you don't like the air-con at night, the ceiling fan does a good job of providing a gentle cooling breeze. There's a walk out covered balcony with a small table and a couple of chairs and we had a view of the grounds and sea which was great. However, its not advisable to keep the door open, as you'll likely attract biting insects (we made this mistake and suffered 2 nights of mosquitoes sharing our room and keeping us up at night) - not the hotel's fault at all but worth mentioning as a warning to future guests. All in all, the room was comfortable and cleaned to a high standard every day and we had no complaints or problems about the room during our stay. Moving on to the resort; POOLS: We only used the main pool (nearest to the main lobby) which was a large clean pool and was cleaned daily. As with any resort, you'll find that a lot of guests will reserve loungers from early on in the day, but there were plenty around the pool, up on the sandy areas slightly further back, and plenty more further back towards the sea. We didn't have a problem with not finding a free lounger, although if you are someone who needs to be front and center, then you might want to run the "sun lounger gauntlet" at sunrise each morning. We did walk past some of the other pools across the GBP:Tulum grounds which seemed quieter and were smaller so you might prefer these pools if you want a more quiet experience. The main pool was the focus for the in-house entertainment teams activities including water polo, aqua aerobics (which was eerily popular with everyone) and other fun and games throughout the day. I would perhaps suggest that there should be more shaded areas in the pool; most people would want full on sun, but some people (like us) would like to enjoy hours in the pool without being exposed to the burning sun. POOL BAR: I felt sorry for the staff at the pool bar; although guests were patient, as only 1 person was serving at the bar, you sometimes had to wait 5 minutes to be served. I really think the hotel needs to put 2 members of staff here, not to improve the service but merely to give the lone bar-tender a break. Arcangel and Luis would rotate on long shifts, always with a smile, although you could tell they were running at 100mph just to keep up with the requests. They did a fantastic job and I personally would not even want to make a comment about how long it might have taken to be served given the shifts they put in. Please; consider tipping them as they really do a fantastic job in what I would consider unpleasant conditions and long working hours set by the hotel. One tip; you may want to consider bringing your own insulated drinking bottles as sometimes the plastic ones at the pool bar were only "flash washed" with a quick rinse rather than coming out fully cleaned. BUFFET RESTAURANT (Yucutan): The Yucatan restaurant is GBP:Tulum's main buffet restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant is big enough and there are two seating areas, one smaller air-conditioned seating area, and one covered but open-sided larger seating area. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner run for 3 hours at least, and if you have to wait for a seat, then the wait isn't that long. If you come at peak dinner time (for example at 7-8pm) then you'll likely have to wait a bit to be seated - one night we had to wait about 5-10minutes after arriving at 7.30pm. But most evenings by 9pm its quieter. There's a huge amount of choice at the restaurant and even a gluten-free section. Anyone who complains about not having enough choice/variety really is being ridiculous. There's usually a themed cuisine section (like Mexican, Asian etc) but always you'll have a huge selection of different Fish, Meat, Chicken, Veg dishes across the Italian, Asian, American, Mexican sections. I've seen some people complain about not enough choices - well most days there were about 5 or 6 different types of fish to choose from, seafood, 3 of 4 chicken dishes, different meats, different types of pasta (including live pasta station) sushi so honestly, you wont go hungry. I agree that there are similar foods which show up each day, but that's because the hotel knows what people want! There's even a kids section with lower height stations so that the kids can help themselves. Further to this, it was rare to see anything "out of stock" but if one of the dishes were empty, it seemed to be quickly replaced. A LA CARTE RESTAURANTS: Depending on how long your stay is, you will be able to reserve a number of dinner bookings at the various A La Carte restaurants (included as part of an all inclusive package). For a stay of 3 weeks you usually get 3 bookings. There are 9 to choose from across the Coba and Tulum resorts and you'll be able to make reservations 5 days before arrival through the MyBahiaPrincipe App or Website. We secured bookings at Mashua [Japanese/Peruvian], La Gran Tortuga [Brazilian] and Mikado [Japanese]. These restaurants are quieter and more relaxed than the main buffet restaurants and naturally feature table service. The menus aren't particularly large and you may find the choice somewhat limited, however, the food is good and presentation, flavours and freshness can't be faulted. Smart/Formal attire is required at some of the 'Gourmet' A La Carte restaurants - please respect this and don't turn up in swimwear or shorts and flip-flops (especially gentlemen). If anything, these restaurants are a nice break from the hussle and bussle of the buffet restaurants, or if you want a bit more service instead of self-service. ENTERTAINMENT: The Entertainment Team host sports, games and activities throughout the day for both kids and adults. There's also an evening entertainment program and you can find the schedule posted in a couple of different locations. We were quite impressed with the evening performances. I've become accustomed to cheesy karaoke performances and underwhelming acts, however, the magic show and circus show were truly amazing productions. The Rock show wasn't as great but the crowd seemed to enjoy it. I would also suggest that the bars stay open a little later. They close at 11pm but clean-up seems to start from about 10:30pm. That seems a little early, especially on a Friday/Saturday night as it pretty much means "lights out" at 11pm. Of course, you can head over to La Hacienda (5minute walk from lobby) where the hotel has an on resort Casino and Club (drinks included as part of an all inclusive package) GYM: There's a mid-size gym on site with treadmills, free weights and resistance machines. Changing rooms, Towels and cold water are provided and the facilities and equipment, although not the newest equipment, they were clean and in good working condition. On one of the days, there were about 10 members of the fitness team sitting in the "yoga" area having what seemed to be a team meeting. They were there for the full hour we were in the gym. They happily moved out of the way, if we needed to use equipment, however, we did find it a bit uncomfortable to have so many members of staff taking up so most of the space in the gym. To use the equipment it felt like we were getting in the way of their meeting/team talk. TROLLEY/GOLF CARTS: As mentioned, these run frequently between 7am - 2am to help you get around the resort (villas and restaurants and pools) and also help you get to the other hotel sites. They are definitely needed if you want to go between the Coba/Tulum/Akumal sites as the walk would be too long. It's great to have this free and helpful service. BEACH (Tulum): The white sands are gorgeous and so is the sea. There is no escaping the fact that the resort suffers from the Sargassum seaweed problem. However, this is a problem across the whole of the Yucutan and Riviera Maya due to global warming. The hotel is clearly doing their best to fight this. Yes, you will see some tractors and heavy vehicles, and yes, they do sometimes create some noise - but if they weren't there, the seaweed problem would be much worse. In my opinion, they are doing a fantastic job at tackling an almost impossible deluge of seaweed. They are there from sunrise to sunset and late into the night doing their best to reduce the amount of seaweed piling onto the shore. GBP have cleverly used floating cordons to completely secure a long section of the beach meaning that you can swim and enjoy the beach without a spec of seaweed. Just walk to the right for a few minutes and you'll reach this seaweed free area. You cant completely fight nature however, and there is a section adjacent to the pool that has a big pile of seaweed which admittedly, can smell horrendous on some days if the heat and conditions are "right". Again, this isn't the hotels fault, this is nature and if anything, we only have ourselves to blame. I've also read that there was an incident in Coba in June and that some guests (perhaps in Coba) experienced street sellers on the beach. I can certainly say that not once during our stay did we ever see even one beach/street seller on the beach - in fact, we didn't even see any non-resort guests. Maybe the Coba site can sometimes have this, but certainly didn't seem to be a "problem" at the Tulum site. CHECK IN: Our check in was quite quick - we had to wait about 10minutes although we arrived quite late in the evening. We did see some big check-in queues on some days, however, this was generally if a big coach had come in full of guests just arriving from Cancun airport. So yes, if you come in on a big coach full of people, you will likely have to wait in a queue for check-in. Now for my main complaint of this property. This is the only thing that "soured" our stay... In the lobby, you will no doubt come across a desk manned by some overly friendly hotel staff. These members of staff are part of Grand Bahia's "Gold Club" - and their sole job is to hard sell you their VIP package through tempting you with offers to the Grand Fiesta Mexican Show (Thursday Nights at La Hacienda, $18pp). The truth is, you'll of course have to endure 2 to 3 hours of presentations and hard-selling tactics and being mis-sold and lured into taking up their "amazing offer". I really didn't appreciate this and although I've seen it all before, I decided to do it merely to get the free tickets because I was told it would only take 90minutes and would be presented whilst having breakfast!! In fact, it was nearly 3 hours and not at the same time as having breakfast. The whole thing really ruined that day for us and I think the hotel needs to revisit its tactics here. Let's be honest, they are trying to get you to pay around $30,000+ dollars just to be a VIP member and visit GBP resorts for all your future holidays in exchange for VIP rooms, VIP club access and personal golf carts around the resorts. Oh and $500 a year "user fee". Realistically only 10% (if that) would really be interested in this, so they are wasting their time spending 2 hours trying to sell this to people. Instead they should stop annoying guests and wasting guests holiday time, and give a leaflet at check-in detailing the benefits and prices - if guests are interested, they can go and find out more themselves without being hassled and manipulated by guests. A big thanks to the team for arranging the most beautiful balloon decorations in our room for my partner's 30th birthday too. And thanks to the following members of staff who worked hard or did something special to make our stay wonderful - Leiber, Rafael, Victor, Arcangel and Luis That said; would I stay here again; Yes. Absolutely. It was a fantastic resort and we had an amazing time and left feeling so relaxed and refreshed. Great food and drinks, friendly staff, clean, gorgeous resort and good entertainment. Don't hesitate to book a stay here. If you have a little more to spend, then choose this property over Coba; on our visits to the Coba site, things seemed a little more busy and hectic and crowded. One last suggestion for the hotel; there's a focus on environmental causes, through their Eco Bahia program. We saw protected, fenced nests for turtle eggs, conservation areas and information about protection of local wildlife which was great. However, I am completely against your Dolphinarium where a number of dolphins are kept in a small pool and guests can swim with them and the dolphins perform tricks. I didn't even walk past this area as we are against animals being used to entertain people. Please GBP, let these animals be free and stop profiting from animals that should be in the wild. I've read other reviews of people who were upset by how sad the dolphins looked. I urge you to quickly stop this and I also ask guests to reconsider paying for this "attraction" - these dolphins belong in the sea, not trapped in a pool and guests should choose to be entertained by humans who make that choice, not by these beautiful, wild animals forced into performing and forced to live in confined spaces.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-3

    Amazing holiday

    Reviewed by C2796MEandyh(Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just returned after a 10 night stay. Every was perfect, accommodation, food, staff and entertainment. Buffet restaurants and snack bars all served excellent food. The restaurants requiring booking into were all superb especially the Argentina steak restaurant. Staff can't do enough for you, glad i took dollars for the well deserved tips. Mini bar restocked daily with water, pop and beer. Evening entertainment was a very high standard, not the usual cheesy stuff. Branded spirits at all bars. Wife and daughter loved it and want to return next year.

    Summer holiday

    Reviewed by chrissy641(Derby, United Kingdom) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great hotel, food was lovely and a wide selection to suit everyone’s needs. Couple of negatives not enough bar staff around the pool areas had to wait a while for drinks as only 1 staff serving. Room were cleaned every day but not to a good standard as dead mosquitoes stayed where we killed them. Entertainment was ok. Beach staff worked continusly to clear the seaweed so the beach was accessible and clean.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX