Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort
    6. Grand Riviera Princess All Suites and Spa Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    K

    Wonderful stay. Bring ones and fives for tipping. Change is hard to come by.

    Reviewed by Kirk on Apr 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Great time for a week in early April. Really big resort. Bring a waterproof watch so you know the time. No clocks anywhere. Pool bats close at 6pm. Pools close at 8pm. Buffets aren't 5 star but the a la carte's such a steakhouse and Japanese Miso we're great. Seaweed in water and on beach but big deal. Warm water but small waves. No complaints. Great time for families and non families looking to unwind. So many pools.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    N

    Had a great time

    Reviewed by Nadine on Feb 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Overall great resort. Beach is lovely and so are the pools. However, when we booked I asked what was all included and we were told that the kids area (kids pool, buffet, etc. we?re all included) we have 3 & 5 year old so it was important to us. When we got there we went to the kids area and a staff member came out and told us we had to pay $9/person to play in the pool. The pool was ice cold so I said not to worry about it that we will leave. My kids had fun at the other pools and beach anyway but not the point. Not sure if this was westjet a error or if the hotel is trying to scam people. We talked with other families and they had experienced the same thing and other days they could go and play in the area. Other then this our stay was great.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Great holiday.

    Reviewed by Manitoba Seniors on Nov 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Go directly outside airport to your rep. About 45 minute bus ride from airport. Hotel was very clean. Room spacious and clean. Great selection and quality of food and drinks at numerous bars, buffets, and restaurants. Pools are clean and lounges plentiful. Nice beach with small rocks only along water's edge and sandy once past the edge. Not great for snorkeling due to waves stir up sand. Slacks or dress golf shorts and golf shirt with closed footwear acceptable in a la carte restaurants. A la carte reservations made behind lobby bar. Casual dress in buffets. Try the ice cream parlor and have a panini in the 24 hour Sports Bar. Lizeth Hernandez and Beatriz Caamal in snack bar/buffet closest to beach were wonderful hostess and server. Large resort with fair amount of walking. Comfortable foot wear such as runners/good sandals recommended. Entertainment in theatre was good most evenings. Staff were wonderful, friendly and accommodating and warranted tips in pesos which they genuinely appreciated.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    j

    Terrible vacation from strt to finish

    Reviewed by jb on Mar 29, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Please note that this is an official complaint concerning our trip to Mexico at The Grand Riviera princess and travels with Westjet vacations. Let me start at the beginning on our flight to Mexico, where we were booked on the most less desirable seats on the plane that we could not change. We were immediately advised by the stewardess that we were booked on points seats. The flight was not enjoyable by any means. These seats have less leg room than any other available seat on the plane. Upon arrival at the Cancun Airport we were not listed with the transportation company that brings you to your hotel. This delay was almost one hour waiting at the airport. Arrival at the hotel was less than welcoming. We were advised that our room was not ready and that our package was an "almost all inclusive package" meaning we were only allowed to dine at certain restaurants, order drinks from the left side of the bar, and no access to the wifi. We immediately requested an upgrade willing to pay for all extras to try and salvage this disastrous booking, but for whatever reason the hotel did not allow us to. Please note, we tried several times to upgrade without success. We were assigned a room at the middle area of the hotel, room 7251. Nothing special by any means, but we settled in none the less. On the third day we returned to our room to find an unbelievable smell from the paint and construction that had been done on either side of our room making it unbearable to breath. We immediately reported the issue to management and made our way to the front desk. The 1st person at the front desk did not want to accommodate us with another room, we then requested the manager. After much persuasion, the manager offered us a downgraded room on the other side of the resort. This was our only option. Room #1266. We were obliged to pack our belongings and wait most of the night for the transfer causing us to miss our supper and show. Room 1266 was in a state, the bed was b

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 10426 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Large resort with lots to offer

    Reviewed by CalH_12(Lloydminster, Canada) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We booked this resort through Westjet Vacations. The experience here was excellent. We upgraded to the Platinum and I would highly recommend doing that since you get a private pool area, private beach area and the rooms are located close to the beach. The buffet food was very bland but I think that is with most resorts. The al la carte restaurants were very tasty and we liked the Steakhouse the best. The people working at the resort were very helpful and we had no issues throughout the trip. I would recommend staying here.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    worsed hotel I ever visited

    Reviewed by sitek2015(Poznan, Poland) on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    in general after solving the problems the trip was ok. But the way the handled it is below all standards. A scandal. We are from Poland and it seems they only care about Canadian and Americanos. We booking at the agent and I asked explicid for a queen bed, which was written on the order. The room we received had however 2 single beds. The room was on the ground floor based in a corner wit no view. The room was a platinum suite in the exclusive area whith a la carte restaurant services etc. We want to rest ones a year for some extra money. I can tell you that for less money in the Maldives and Dominicans I had better Food, bed, rest, service, drinks etc etc. This hotel is not worth the 5* We talked with others from Europe and we have worse rooms which is in general the problem. Our room had mould and everything was wet. Even the metal things in the room were all rusted. When I complained that it is not healthy to sleep in a room with mould they put some etheric oil in the airconditioner. We indeed could not smell the odour anymore. I complained again and Demanded a senior or manager to see the room. That was not neccessery and byond that there wre no rooms available. The next day at last somebody came to see and agreed that it is not good. I showed also the bathtub with hair and the damaged bed and dirt on the bed. We received a room on the first floor whith seaview. That was better. In general the ground floor rooms have problems with watter and mould. Then the service of platinum guests. In general ok and the bar is ok. But in the other restaurants and bars you have to ask for the imported alcohol and drinks. In the restaurant there should be a la carte breakfast. We found the card ourselves after 5 days because nobody knows where it is. The English in general is not good spoken by everybody. My Spanish is nothing. In the main restaurant the food was in general much better as in the a la carte restaurants. So after 2 days we ate there. A waste of money for the extra's. Then the airconditioning was fixed on 21 degrees celcius without any possability to change. I downloaded the instruction from internet, and reprogrammed it so we had a cooler room. The good things are the beach wich i the best of what we have seen close buy. We had sand. Others have rocks. Concrete in the sea or no easy acces to the ocean at all. The beach is cleaned every day. Pools are very clean and there are enough place to lay on beds wich are more then enough for all the guests. in Total I heard there are 2500 guests. You need the train indeed to get to the main lobby from the beach or a 13 minut walk. Personel is friendly but spoiled by the tips. Maybe that is why. So we tipped also and got good service.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-4

    Nice resort, but disloyal customer service at the front desk

    Reviewed by Expedition467237() on Mar 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    During check-in, one of the front desk clerks (was the tallest out of the three who were present and taking care of customers), he requested I pay a tax in the amount of $15 per room. I paid $30 since I have reserved two rooms, however when I was checking out I have requested a receipt of the tax I have paid. A different clerk printed the receipt, and the amount I observed was $7.50 per room instead of the $15 I have paid at the check in. I left a complain about this mismatch with the front desk, which was to be addressed immediately as told my the clerk, and I have also written two emails right after my return, however till date I have not heard back from this hotel on this mismatch and how it would be addressed.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-4

    “Lorenzo The Great”

    Reviewed by thedfd() on Mar 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I stayed at this resort and enjoyed ourselves a lot. We tend to connect To usually one person on these trips. That person was our server Lorenzo. He made me and my family feel special. We knew he was a special person. He was our server at the “Snack Sunset Restaurant “. Thank you Lorenzo. Your the best.

    Highly Reccomened

    Reviewed by Roam04336900135(Toronto, Canada) on Mar 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Fantastic hotel and staff, beautiful beaches and pools. The rooms are gorgeous and well maintained. Enjoyed the restaurants and bars as well. We would definitely go back to this hotel, worth every penny!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX