Grand Velas Riviera Maya

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    M

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Michelle on Mar 18, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Best AI I ever stayed at ; stayed at well over 10.... Service over the top, food amazing, solo beautiful!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4051 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Very good but not perfect

    Reviewed by Y7322W(New York City, New York) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Our family of four stayed at Grand Velas during spring break - high season - in the Ambassador section. I would rate this hotel somewhere between 4 and 5 stars. Meals: Buffets were above average but we did find some things either overcooked (roast beef) or raw & undercooked (chicken). The international foods were quite bland, but the local/Mexican foods were better. Frieda & Chaka were better and worth the effort. They were good, but these restauarnts would not survive outside of an all-inclusive, if that makes sense. Our meal at Lucca was a big problem. It took nearly 30 minutes after being seated to place our orders, and then we had to wait another 20 minutes before we were brought water, the wine we ordered, and bread. The food when it came was just okay, for example my pasta was cold. The clams in my husband's dish were inedible, really overcooked/rubbery. I think it was not at all worth the effort, we should have just gone to the buffet. We were so tired after waiting so long that we left without dessert, but it was put on our bill anyway, which was strange. Cocina de Autor was entertaining, and lovely to have the live flautist, but it was not really enough food. I don't think the food was 'weird' as some have suggested, no more so than any other tasting menu. Health: We did all end up with turista by the end of our stay. It's hard to know what we did wrong. We ate and drank everything at the resort, including the salads, ice, sushi. We also swam/snorkeled/kayaked in the ocean. Entertainment: Kids loved the Karaoke, and the nighttime shows were better than I expected. Eco Tour was not good. Kids Club: Our kids liked going. I'm on the fence about the safety, though. One or two times we saw older men hanging out in the teen club and that bothered us. That room needs to be strictly limited to teens except for the brief drop off/pick up period. Rooms: Ambassador rooms were beautiful, with high ceilings on top floor. Comfortable beds, immaculate. The in-room bath towels were scratchy though - not really five star towels. We desperately needed more towel hooks in the bathrooms and a place to hang wet swimsuits to dry somewhere inside the bathroom/shower area. The sliding doors between the bedroom and bathroom would not stay closed which presented a privacy issue -- they need to have an interior latch! Concierge: She was nice but our requests weren't honored (e.g. additional nespresso, additional creamers) and she wasn't able to do much with the dinner reservations because it was so packed. Maybe I should have gone to her with my problems getting beach chairs but I am not sure it was her area. Gift Shop: Really lovely Spa: Didn't go Poolside: Food was consistently okay, service was friendly. Despite tipping and asking for extra alcohol we found the poolside drinks were very watered down. The biggest problem we had was getting chairs. We were with friends and wanted to find four chairs together, and that was a huge problem even if we were down at the pool at 8am. I do think that Ambassador guests should have some priority for chairs at the Ambassador pool. People from lower cost Zen section would come very very early and stake out the chairs (the Zen pool is not good). The hotel claims that they don't allow this, but there is no system in place to stop it, and items are left to reserve chairs for hours on end. A staff member also told me that some chairs were being reserved for people starting at 5am by staff members (they were clearly getting paid to do this). The managers need to find a way to solve this problem with tags, assignments, an app, something. The chair situation would be the #1 reason I would consider not coming back to this hotel. I don't want to get up at 6am on my vacation to fight for a pool chair, not after spending over $1000/night!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Almost flawless week

    Reviewed by Expegger76(Ottawa, Canada) on Mar 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and I and our two children ages 8 and 10 stayed at Grand Velas for a week during school spring break. We booked a pool suite at the Zen and were really glad that we booked the Zen which was more our speed as compared to the Ambassador section. That said, we didn’t use the pool on our deck at all - its very shallow and you can’t actually swim in it. Save your money and book at a room on the second level. We booked the resort because of the food reviews and found that it fully met our expectations on this front. We really loved Cocina and Piaf for our nights out without the kids - aside from a less than impressive creme brûlée at Piaf, the food at both was outstanding. We also had very good experiences at Lucca (try the salmon) and Frida as well as Chaka and Azul for breakfast and lunch. Service in the restaurants was ok but not particularly memorable and we found the sommelier at Cocina a bit pushy (we had to ask whether there was wine pairing within the included price or whether our only option for pairing was to pay more as he initially led us to this impression). Gabriel at the Zen pool was by far the best service at the resort and he deserves a special thank you from us! Our kids did not use the Kids Club extensively. In general we found it a bit disorganized - activities were often not as advertised and sometimes the woman on duty did not even know what activity she was supposed to be doing. Our eldest who is nearly 11 felt very out of place and eventually wandered into the Teens club where we was more at home. We found resort activities like beach volleyball and salsa lessons hit and miss - we showed up a few times at the advertised time and place and no one was there. That said my daughter and I did yoga one morning on the beach which was great and also did a few dance classes by the Ambassador Pool. The biggest disappointment of the trip was our concierge who we barely saw. She reached out to us only once all week and didn’t actually fulfill our few requests (eg yogurt for kids delivered to room before bed time). In the end we were able to manoeuvre thru the week without her but the resort shouldn’t make such a big deal of the concierge service given that they are pretty non existent. We have stayed at three different Six Senses resorts and the concierges there were head and shoulders above ours at Grand Velas. The resort and rooms are lovely and we had a really blissful week. But it was not perfect and I can’t give it five stars. It’s more like 4.5.

    Fantastic

    Reviewed by Sana A() on Mar 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Upon arrival, we were received with nice cool, aromatic hand towels and escorted to the lobby. As we waited in Grand class section for our room they offered champagne to relax...and what a speedy check in. We were received by Jose Fierro who was so kind and courteous. He explained the service and amenities they offered. He made dinner reservations at our convenience. And did whatever we may need to enjoy our vacation at Grand Velas. What a fantastic service we had. The grounds were impeccably clean, food was absolutely delicious especially when its all-inclusive. There was never a shortage of food. They have excellent management which we saw at Ambassador breakfast where people were piling in to eat. The hotel was CLEAN and perfect. There was no room for mistake. Again, the service was outstanding and enjoyed their welcoming greetings at all times. Room service, food arrived quickly AND was delicious. Thank you Jose for making our vacation a memorable experience...looking forward to go to Grand Velas at Los Cabos for another beautiful vacation.

    Spectacular in every way!

    Reviewed by regal2018(Saint Louis, Missouri) on Mar 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved our week at Grand Velas Riviera Maya! It was beautiful and the food was fantastic. The service was the best I’ve ever experienced. Every employee was friendly and helpful. I wish I could list them all. Luis was so incredibly kind to us down on the beach. We looked forward seeing him every day! He made our vacation extra special.

    Nice place - but keep this in mind

    Reviewed by Ziggywally() on Mar 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Dates stayed 3/18/19 - 3/23/19 -I booked this as a getaway for my family after losing my mother a month ago. We all just needed a break - and the reviews looked good. The place is pretty and well maintained, and they pride themselves on the service. Our personal concierge Raul really tried to make our trip great. However, if I were coming back for the first time this is what I would want to know: 1. The resort is rigid around the dinner restaurants - men have to wear long slacks and closed in shoes - no tevas or even nice leather sandals. There isn’t any grace, they won’t let you in - even if you just arrived and didn’t know about the rules. Also, make sure you know when your reservations are - we had a miscommunication and showed up at 650 For a 700 reservation and was turned away because it was for 630 instead. It happened to be our only date nite with my wife and the lady was not even a little bit nice. Good service also means working with your guests when things happen - and the language barrier means they will - at no fault of your own. 2. They tried to sell us an investment on our trip. They said no time shares - but they asked us the spend between $40k-over $300k on pre paid vacation nights at their resorts. This was vacation and down time for us - and I didn’t need to be asked to spend that kind of money while here. When they called us they said we wouldn’t have to spend money - but they sure pitched us. Was a downer for us. 3. They keep the beach nice - and we stayed Grand Class ocean front. However, you will be having your coffee listening and watching the tractors running as they clean the beach - ruining your peaceful morning and high priced view. So in summary, if you don’t mind rigidity and inflexibility around dinner, being asked to spend big bucks on their investment, a bit of a language barrier, and want to spend this kind of money - then this might be a good place for you. We enjoyed it, but won’t be in a hurry to rush back.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX