Ocean Coral & Turquesa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    h

    We loved our stay! Friendly Staff, Great Pools and Comfortable Rooms

    Reviewed by heidiyyc on Jun 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Ocean Coral & Turquesa. While this hotel/beach, and all others in the area, suffer from a seaweed issue, the pools were amazing and fun. We spent most of our days at the "Chill Out Pool", enjoying the lounge chairs, pool bar, music, activities and games. We spent the extra money on Privilege and enjoyed that service very much. It was worth the additional cost and would definitely upgrade again. Drinks were plentiful, food was excellent and the staff were friendly. We received great service everywhere we went. While the hotel wasn't perfect, it was Perfect for us and we would stay there again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    The food was terrible, except one outdoor Italian.

    Reviewed by R.W. on Sep 20, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: August 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    The food was the worst, no beach because of seaweed. Half of staff were friendly other half were rude.Room service was lengthy and little if any choice of "meals" (which were so miniscule, a mouse couldn't be satisfied!). Overall, would not go back and would most certainly not recommend it to my worst enemy. Even the entertainment was bottom of the barrel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    H

    Great 4 star resort!

    Reviewed by Heather on Jun 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    Yes, this resort has lots of seaweed at the moment. HOWEVER so does literally every other hotel in Cancun and the Mayan Riviera. It's due to the current weather (storms, El Nino, etc.) and this is not the hotels fault. The hotel has a huge crew working on clearing the seaweed that washes up on the beach. There is only so much they can do as the rest is up to mother nature. This hotel has a beautiful length of beach and a cool reef out in front. If you are uncomfortable with seaweed, there is a neat snorkle tour you can book through their water sports centre where they will take you way out to a gorgeous reef that is away from shore. This resort is a great value. It has lots of pools with different atmospheres in each one so there are alway options, depending on what you are looking for each day. There are lots of a la carte restaurants and they don't limit you on how many a la cartes you can have per week which is awesome. The shows at night are a little more on the basic side but there is usually at least one or two during the week that is great. The rooms are clean and the beds are pretty comfortable. However I would highly recommend upgradng to Priviledge. It puts in you a room with a better location, upgraded amenities in the room and access to the Privilege Lounge which has a beautiful patio where they have breakfast available. The Priviledge also gives you higher end liquor and unlimited room service and access to the Priviledge section of the beach with waiter service. All in all, this resort is definitely a great value and *not overpriced* by any stretch of the imagination.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    1

    Brown Ocean Water, no Ocean Swimming, seaweed problem is extreme

    Reviewed by 10th Wedding Anniversary on Apr 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Extreme seaweed problem at this resort. I cannot stress enough that if blue ocean and ocean access is important to you this is not the resort for you. You cannot wade through the seaweed. It cannot be cleaned off the beach. The water is brown, not beautiful clear blue that we have enjoyed in other resorts. The pool areas therefore cannot keep up with demand when hotel is busy. Guests are up at ridiculous hours trying to save pool chairs. My family left the resort for one day to sit on a white sand beach in Puerto Morelos. We paid for chairs, food and beverage, taxi, etc just to have an ocean day. My second warning is that the hotel was very unaccommodating upon arrival and stressed that our room type booked with WestJet Vacations was not guaranteed. We negotiated for 3 hours and our bellman and his supervisor finally assisted. With that being said the property is lovely. The food and beverage service is average and above average. The front line staff are really lovely and amazing. The live chickens in the lobby as some type of Easter display were disgusting, smelly and bizzare. We are sorry that we booked his resort simply because we travel to the Cancun and Mayan Riviera area for the ocean access. This seaweed issue is not a 'few month' problem. All of the resorts near have a similar problem. Dissapointed :(

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    S

    Right on the Beach, no golf carts needed!! Loads of Restaurants for a smaller resort

    Reviewed by SandraD on Jul 20, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Awesome Resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    A

    Enjoy our stay

    Reviewed by AntieP on Feb 21, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel over all was very nice. The customer service was great! Can not say enough good things about Wilbert, Angel, Mafio, and Sebastian service by these gentleman was out standing. There are many different dining Experience to choose from.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    K

    Destination Wedding Above and Beyond Expectations

    Reviewed by Kristina on May 24, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2014

    Trip Type: Large group

    We travelled from November 26 - December 3 with a large group for my destination wedding. From the moment we boarded he plane the WestJet staff greeted us and helped me with my gown and really made the flight enjoyable. Once arriving into Cancun the WestJet rep on the bus made us feel special by congratulating us and along with the Best Day Travel folks made the drive to the resort fun. I was in awe when we drove up to the resort - the architecture and colours are just beautiful. Check in was a breeze. All the staff made us feel welcome and almost like family. It is like a big city with a small town feel! Wifi throughout the resort - it is spotty but you are on vacation and shouldn't need wifi all the time! The pools were great! Not crowded and they were very clean. A little on the chilly side for my liking but great to cool off. The beach was beautiful. There was seaweed but there is a reef just out from the resort so naturally there will be seaweed. We did trash the dress pictures and it actually added to the look of the pictures! Because the pools are along the resort it is just a few feet to the beach so your party can be spread between beach and pool and still interact without having to go far. I can't say enough about the wedding staff!!! Amazing women who work so hard to make your day more then you could have ever dreamed of. The food was delicious at every restaurant and the coffee at Mike's was heaven! In all we were 38 people and I didn't hear 1 bad comment. We had people with dietary needs gluten free, dairy free, vegetarian and their needs were met. No issues getting lounge chairs or the large sun beds. The dance parties in the evening by the main pool were definitely a highlight of the day where we all got together and just danced. I would highly recommend this resort for a getaway as a couple, family, group of friends and for a wedding! We hope to do a 5 year anniversary trip and do it again with everyone :

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 14489 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excellent Resort!

    Reviewed by VacayAdvocate() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First let me start off by saying, if you are a beach person then this is not the resort for you. Yes the beach is covered in seaweed with an awful strong smell. There was no one on the beach at all because of this issue. The water is brown and not the normal Mexico turquoise blue. Resort workers are up every morning early, trying to remove the seaweed as much as possible I must say. But it doesn't change the beach situation at all. HOWEVER, I still give this resort five stars. The resort is humongous. Has a family side, a kid side and a adult side. 4 pools. It was 3 of us including my 16 year old son, and we were upgraded to a priviledge suite upon check in. The suite was lovely. Had a two sided terrace, 2 bathrooms. A living room with a sectional sofa ans pullout bed. And a dining area. 1 king bed and 2 sofa beds in the sleeping area. Lots od closet space. Huge bathroom and shower. The food at the resort was delicious at every restaurant! The staff was very friendly. Pools were clean and humongous.And the entertainment great!

    Don't book excursions through the hotel.

    Reviewed by Joe S() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We took a family of 13 with 4 rooms booked and the refrigerators in the rooms do not keep anything cold, the beaches could not be utilized due to seaweed and the smell of raw sewage. We booked a deep sea fishing excursion for 7 of us and a small boat took us out to meet up with a larger fishing boat. When out time was up; no one came back to return us to the hotel, so the operators of the larger boat flagged down two random fishermen and asked them to take us back over 20 miles. They were not affiliated with them, didn't speak English and had no liability for our family's safety. the hotel refused to make it right and in addition; they charged my credit card more than the agreed amount of $720.00. Extremely upset about their disregard for our safety! Food was good, but the restaurants were too hot to enjoy staying in them. Overall it was very clean and the pools were great! We will not return and we go to Mexico every year.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Amazing Experience

    Reviewed by jimmy_rodrigues() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    A group of 7 friends decided to take on Mexico for the first time and we are glad we chose this place. Amazing staff all around, amazing cleanliness throughout the resort, and an experience we won’t forget. Alejandro Morales, who took amazing care of us during the night shift at Route 66, was most definitely the highlight staff of our stay. He went above and beyond in his work and you can really tell he enjoys being there and doing his job. He deserves some recognition for his outstanding service. Angel at the poolside bar was also amazing to us and even remembered our faces, knowing what beverages we would order. Harvey and his team, who led the activities and entertainment really knows how to get the crowd going. He also really enjoys his job and his smile is very welcoming. These guys all went above and beyond during our stay and they are a lot of the reason that this review is so good. Orlando, who was our waiter during breakfast at Cuisine Del Mar everyday also went above and beyond to make sure our eating experience was a great. I read some other reviews that complain about the beaches and the seaweed and these reviews are inconsiderate. There is nothing that can be done about nature. They do have staff that try to clean up the sand area where the seaweed comes in contact and in my book, that’s perfectly fine. If we ever return to Mexico, this is the place we will be staying at. If I could rate it more than 5 stars I definitely would.

    A M A Z I N G ????

    Reviewed by lexLugga401() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My 1st Time our then USA & we couldn’t have picked a better place. Since the 1st day we’ve been here it has been amazing! Everyone who walked past us on on or off the clock said hello! Drinks, food & entertainment was amazing! I just want to point out the excellent customer satisfaction of Harvey the entertainer & Alejandro @ Route 66 ! We loved you guys , you need a raise ! We will be back for you both!

    Route 66

    Reviewed by Melanie B() on Jul 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I stayed at ocean coral with a party of 7, everyone had so much fun and is so excited to now plan our next trip. I must say the staff was wonderful. The restaurant Route 66 is open really late and has alcohol really late also. My group met Alejandro Morales and returned every night to eat and drink because of him. He was wonderful, made sure everyone was having fun and also always recognized us and talked to us when we were just walking by. I hope the hotel takes good care of the staff because Alejandro deserves recognition for us wonderful service.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX