Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
    6. Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    K

    Beautiful beach, great room, wonderful housekeeping and waitstaff but nightmare with customer service regarding an offered upgrade.

    Reviewed by KM on Jan 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    Our room was clean, cool, and well maintained. The outdoor shower was wonderful, and the room quiet! The food on the night of our arrival was amazing but we were a bit disappointed to find that the food was not like this every night. The food was okay at the buffets for the rest of our stay but repetitive and the same at all the restaurants. The a la carte restaurants are the real stars! The food was great and we found the waitstaff to be wonderful! We also used room service, which was included. It was fast and tasted good. The beach was clean, with fine, white sand, and the water was clear. The exclusives at the hotel for members of the TravelClub and the TRS resort are not clearly marked. There were areas on the opposite end of the resort from the TRS that were exclusive only for them but had no signs. There are also exclusive shuttles that would completely ignore you and drive off empty. Shuttles for non-club members were few and far between. We were also offered an upgrade by a letter left at our door. When we went to reception before noon the next day like the letter said, we were told it was first come, first serve and that we were out of luck. When we tried to plead our case, we were offered a cheap, free beach bag and a tour of the areas that we would not be allowed to use without the upgrade. No where did it say that it is first come, first serve or we would have gone to reception when we received the letter. The customer service was appalling considering that they offered us an upgrade and did not carry through, then did nothing to compensate. The attitude of the people we spoke to at reception and with the Travel Club was very dismissive and we felt that our concerns and frustrations were brushed off. As a 5 star resort, they should have customer service to reflect that rating. Had our experience with customer service been more positive, we would have no problems returning to the resort in the future

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    m

    not the best

    Reviewed by michels on Apr 30, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is our 3rd all inclusive resort. I would not give it 5 stars. We were a group of ten and every morning at 0800 went to line up to make reservations for restaurant dinners. We were always told that it was fully booked or you could have dinner at 1030 pm! We asked multiple times and received no answers as to why there was always empty tables in all of these places when we walked in to try and get in. We also were told to use the APP but it worked very seldom. Then we were told to leave a message on line for reservations which ended up with 2 different times chatting with 2 different people. The WIFI only works in the lobby and sometimes in the rooms so it was hard to find our group and make plans about excursions etc. Everytime we had a question about anything the staff all had different answers. We were told the shuttle between hotels was closed as it was late night so we walked only to find out the next day that is always running and we had been given the wrong info again! It kind of started to be a joke for us! The buffets were all pretty much the same and the food was always lukewarm. We did get to 4 of the restaurants and 3 were good. The bartenders , waiters, dining staff, and housekeeping were all very good and worked hard. I feel that the resort is so big that you dont get that 5 star feeling because there are so many guests. The beach and pools are beautiful but the open smoking everywhere was an annoyance.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6845 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing Resort!

    Reviewed by Lovesclothes40(Vancouver, Canada) on May 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My recent stay with my family at the resort was a first time experiencing Mexico at an all inclusive and it did not disappoint! The staff were all very exceptional; truly outstanding incredible customer service!! I felt like a queen for a week! The staff truly make the resort an amazing place to be. The dinner options were incredible, breakfast & lunch buffets great selection, beaches & pools very nice, loved all the fancy drinks! Amazing family vacation memories made, we will definitely return to Grand Palladium!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Lovely hotel, but some disappointment

    Reviewed by Suzie12(Sheffield, United Kingdom) on May 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I have just returned from a 10 day holiday at this hotel with my husband and our 2 preschool children. The timing of the trip coincided with my 40th birthday. Overall, the hotel complex is lovely and met my expectations. We particularly liked: -The excellent pools: we spent most of our time around the main colonial pool, but visited other pools briefly. It is a big and busy resort, but it never felt that there were too many guests for the facilities, including sunbeds. -The setting of the hotel and the walkways between the different areas which offered lots of wildlife-spotting opportunities and fish food in boxes around the complex which was great for the kids -The complimentary boat ride around the lake at White Sands -Excellent food options, multiple buffet options and no limit to a la carte visits, which are often restricted at many AI resorts -Great drinks options, alcoholic and non-alcoholic, premium spirit brands -Staff were professional and pleasant to deal with -Good wifi easy to access all round the complex The frustrations we experienced that have led me to reduce my rating include: -The beach: I do appreciate that the seaweed issue is beyond the hotel's control and as other reviewers have said, there was a constant clean-up operation underway; however the fact remains that it is an issue and with my prime reason for choosing to travel to the Caribbean (10 hour flight and 6 hour jetlag) being to enjoy pristine powder sand and clear Caribbean seas, I would not have selected this holiday had I been aware and so feel I should help other travellers understand. To reach the sea, we had to walk over piles of seaweed, which also pooled in the first bit of sea before it became clearer. Also, the red flags were up every one of our 10 days in resort and as a result (or perhaps due to the seaweed?) it was not possible to use any of the watersport equipment such as pedalos. As a result, we stayed by the pools every day, which made me feel that we could have had an equivalent holiday closer to home. - Having booked a Kingsize room, I was disappointed to discover we had been allocated a twin - not great for my husband and I on a celebratory holiday. My initial request to change rooms was rejected by guest services (while the bellboy was still with us) - I know room type is not guaranteed; however why require one type or the other to be specified at time of booking if it is purely down to availability as I was told? My husband visited guest services later that evening and agreed with them to change us; however despite what he was told at the time, the process was made far from easy and effectively meant we were without a room for our 2nd afternoon (while my 2 year old required a nap). Instead of the bellboy service coming moving our luggage directly from one room to the other (in the same villa block), we effectively had to check out, with our luggage, put our luggage into storage, then check in again in the afternoon and again collect our luggage and have it delivered to our new room. This may not sound a lot, but given the size of the resort, the 32 degree heat, 2 small children and the need to visit 2 separate receptions it was a hassle we could have done without. Additionally, the sofa bed in our new room was not made for our children and it took several calls to guest services to get this sorted, ultimately at 9pm. We felt rather like we were the inconvenience to the hotel for changing rooms, rather than any attempt at remediation for inconvenience caused to us. -Every mealtime, as we arrived at the buffet restaurant(s), we requested a high chair for our 2 year old. It took an age for these to arrive - the worst case was 20 minutes, but it was rarely under 10. This usually lead to one of us battling with a bored and hungry 2 year old whilst we waited, moving breakable items from the table out of his reach, trying not to disturb nearby diners before we could sit down and enjoy our meal. Our request was never forgotten, there just seemed to be no sense of urgency to get us a high chair or awareness of the challenges of mealtimes with a 2 year old! -For my actual (40th) birthday, my husband arranged something special with guest services for our evening meal at Poseidon: this was all confirmed by them by email; however unfortunately it didn't seem to have been communicated to the restaurant so nothing that had been agreed actually happened! I believe this was around the placement of our table and some special treat during desert, but I will never know for sure!! My husband spoke to guest services the following day and whilst they apologised, they seemed generally unconcerned by it. -The resort is large, with many facilities; however we didn't feel it was well explained to us at check in which were available to us and which were exclusive to TRS guests, plus the map in the handout information didn't clearly show the locations of the various restaurants. Because of this, we didn't fully understand our dining options until the 2nds week and could probably have taken better advantage. There are better maps on boards around the complex and I saw a number of people photographing these for reference! -At times, around the main (Colonial) pool, it felt like there was a battle for airspace between the different entertainment options: music through the speakers around the pools competing with live music from the pool bar and live music or party tunes from the beach bar (and then sometimes with speakers brought by other guests to their sun loungers). We felt there was a bit of a 'spring break' feel to the main pool which may or may not be for you! The adult only pools were far calmer and an option for some peace and quiet, although much smaller in size so not really good for actual swimming. The White Sands pool also seemed far more peaceful so could be a good alternative as it seemed almost identical to the main Colonial pool except for the kids pool (the reason why we stayed with Colonial). On balance, I would recommend the hotel with the (strong) caveat about the beach: if the beach is not important, this is a great hotel; if it is, probably choose a different area (rather than just another hotel on this coast). From our perspective, that is the only definitive reason that we would not return.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Wonderful

    Reviewed by lornao628() on May 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had such a wonderful time at this hotel. There were a bunch of positives and only few negatives. I would definitely stay again! Good points - Iron and bored in the room - All the tap water is perfect to drink - As the complex is large and you can use all 3 hotels, there are Trains and carts that move you from each one. But the walk is nice. - My Brother came a week after and I requested he be placed in a near by room. Which was organised. - Mini bar was always topped up and one day when the room wasn’t cleaned at our request we received a phone call to ask whether we wanted anything - The evening entertainment was good. - There was an ice machine in each villa - Clean and tidy and the house maids were amazing - Eduardo at the small pool on the Kantenah side was amazing and couldn’t do enough for you. - You can go to any of al a carte restaurants. My particular favourites were El Dorado (steak house) and Portifino (Italian) our waiter Edgar at Portifino was so polite and helpful! - The local wildlife was so nice and harmless. - When we left the hotel in a taxi one day we were asked our room number. Confusing at start, but then the security on the gate then recorded 3 people from our room leaving by what means and by who. This was a lovely touch! - Hardly any insects, or mosquitoes. Except for near the mini golf where we did get bitten. - Three running routes around the hotels Bad points - The food at the buffet was cold. I am far from a picky eater, and normally I do not notice it when people say on here that it was cold. But it was noticeably cold. - The food in the sports bar was very greasy and not pleasant. Additionally when we ordered starters and mains they all came at the same time. - The seaweed was bad on the beach, and at other beaches. But that can’t be helped. But overall I would definitely go again.

    Wonderful vacation!

    Reviewed by Travel63570987606(Florence, Kentucky) on May 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Once we arrived at the resort our room was ready and clean! We were very pleased with the ease and quickness of the check in! The food was good and the staff was very friendly! The photos were a nice touch! We will definitely be recommending it to friends and family!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Decent hotel, great friendly staff, good food & drinks, but !?!?!

    Reviewed by Tu_ezguy(Kelowna, Canada) on May 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I took a group of 8 family members to this resort, my first time at this resort and 4th to Riviera Maya area. My rating ranges between 2 and 4.5 so pls read on. We enjoyed resort quite a lot but there is a couple of buts! The beach was really nice, lots of sun/shade and recliners but unfortunately the sargassum seaweed was really bad the week we were there due to high winds from the east. This is an issue all along the Maya coast and this resort had beach cleaning machinery out daily removing truck loads of the stuff. We went in the ocean only one day. The pools were very good, we especially liked the El Rinconsito. Edmundo the bar tender was great fun & entertaining. The food was very good, a la carte restaurants were quite accessible even with a large group. Only 2 required reservations. Waiter Omar at the steakhouse was great as was Kimberly the ever smiling crepe lady. I found it unusual that the big party nights were Sunday, Monday & Tuesday while Thursday, Friday & Saturday were pretty quiet with just the sports bar having any action. Drinks were pretty good here with plenty of variety. The theatre shows were ok, not really my thing. Now the big BUT - 2 young adults in our group who shared a room got hand, foot & mouth disease. To be fair the infection could have started off resort (like at a cenote with a rented mask). If the cause was off site I'd stick with a solid 4/5 for this resort! If however the disease was contracted at the resort I'd drop the rating to a 2/5 as its a nasty malady to bring back hime. They both need to stay off work for another week w/o pay. Its impossible to know the cause. If asked I'd still recommend the Kanetah, White Sands or Colonial. Don't forget your bubba mugs!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX