Sandos Caracol Eco Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    R

    Beautiful location, poor management from Sandos.

    Reviewed by RSG on Apr 03, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Pros: - beautiful location. - Great kids facilities - General staff very nice. Cons: - Poor Management - Buffets and bars are not well kept, temperature checked, or cleaned on a regular basis. - Lack of staff means long lines. - Resort runs out of basics regularly. Overall, I experienced enough, and heard enough negative comments from Sandos staff, timeshare staff about Sandos, Travel representatives from all the Canadian companies (Westjet, Sunwing, Transat) about Sandos in general. Not to return to a Sandos resort. There are simply too many other choices out there. One supervisor said ?I wish the entire management team would go back to Spain?. That said a lot for me.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    S

    We loved our stay! We will definitely be back!

    Reviewed by Shauna Cutcliffe on Jan 29, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We just got home from our first experience at the Sandos Caracoal Eco Resort. It was AMAZING!! We did not book an excursions as there is so much to do for FREE on the resort! Monica took us on an Eco Tour which was so informative. The Entertainment team was hilarious and so interactive with our kids (ages 7 & 9). The only negative things I would say is: 1) we did not get to go to the Tepinyaki restaurant as there were no reservations available when we arrived, 2) the Brazillian BBQ was only available to families after 8pm; 3) the Laguna buffet food was lukewarm 99% of the time. We upgraded to the Eco Signature room and it was well worth the money! We loved it so much. We will definitely be back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Go for the nature not the accomodations

    Reviewed by M on Aug 07, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We (family of 4, two adults two children) spent 1 week at the resort. Positives: beautiful wildlife, jungle, lots of chairs on beach and overall the food was great (lots of options at buffet). The Japanese and Mediterranean restaurants were amazing and highly recommended. Negatives: Massive amount of seaweed on the beach (other resorts we've been to clean it with a tractor), room service was unreliable/very limited menu and took far too long to arrive (90 minutes for a fruit plate and sandwich). Very rude/unhelpful concierge manager, although all other staff were fantastic. Parents traveling with children should note that life jackets are not provided to use at the beach or pools (you'll need to contact the Sub Director for assistance). Rooms aren't anything special and wifi is spotty at best. Overall, its an okay resort for a family with children but we likely would not return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    c

    Eco Family Suite; separate kid room with a bunk bed/trundle was most attractive to us

    Reviewed by cold in calgary on Jul 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We stayed for 6 nights in the eco family suite (newly renovated) with 2 kids (5 and 3). We were on the 3rd floor and overlooked the waterslides from our balcony with a plunge pool (never used it, but sat in it without water). We had two shower stalls and 1 water closet (toilet), not as the described on the webpage. The shower stall(s) had water flow issues, with just one in use the water would stay cold the entire time or ?run out? and then come back on randomly. We called for service and they did come the next day and seemed to get it running again for another day. The in-room water dispenser (room temperature) was handy to encourage the kids to drink more water. The separate kid room with a bunk bed/trundle was most attractive to us and ultimately why we selected this resort for our vacation; for that reason it was a success.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Great time, loved the eco theme of the resort.

    Reviewed by Rob A on Mar 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were great. Had trouble with logging into the wifi and went to check with staff. A manager Patrick was very helpful and found out our middle name was needed to sign on. The staff were all very helpful and took time to change our minibar with just the things we liked. We really enjoyed the canoe ride which included champagne and chochlate covered strawberries (all free). The evening shows were great especially the Mayan ones. We loved that the resort had so many animals. Several monkeys showed up on our deck to monkey around. This was a definite advantage and source of interest. The beach was a bit rocky but I was prepared for this from the start. The food was good but the Brazilian food was excellent. Was in the select adult section so there was always lots of lots of chairs and service. The eco tours were nice which gave a good understanding of the Mex ecosystem. Very pleased with the whole experience.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    R

    Mediocre for the dollar value.

    Reviewed by RLS on Feb 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Wedding

    This resort had lots of nice plant life and animals. The waitresses/bartenders and staff in the restaurants were all very attentive and friendly. The layout is quite large so be prepared to do a lot of walking if you haven?t upgraded your room. Our room was in the 44?s and it took us 10 to 15 minutes to walk to the beach. Our room itself was a disappointment. It was dirty and smelled very mouldy. The balcony was overgrown with trees so we were unable to even sit outside. The housekeeping consisted of making the bed if they even showed up that day. The booklet in the room mentions 24hr room service but when we called for lunch they told us our room did not include room service. If you choose this resort I recommend upgrading your room and wristband to gold or black as the green band doesn?t allow you to eat or go in the ?select club? areas. If you have kids they aren?t allowed in some restaurants on certain days at certain times. Overall a disappointment for the amount of money we spent.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    J

    Excellent family vacation

    Reviewed by JWhite on Jan 23, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Amazing staff and resort! I gave it a 4 out of 5 only for 2 reasons: The rooms are more 2.5-3 star but the resort, staff and restraunts make up for that. Tip: Bring swim shoes for swimming in the ocean as it is very rocky and don't expect luxaury for the rooms. They are super basic.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Water slides are over rated not worth the Extra Money

    Reviewed by Brian on Jan 11, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Beautiful Jungle Resort..with the monkeys and racoons and wild life! My beef is with the slides, we spent alot more here than previous resorts to try the slides. My wife and I have a son of age 3...The Todler water park had a little Mexican blowing a wistle stead yelling something then saying ..Just for kids...Just for kids. Aparently adults are not allowed to use them and hold your child! The next size slide my son was to small...oh I was to Tall...lol I,m 5'7" The next size up well of course my son was to short never came for the hike up. When i got up there I wasn't allowed ...I had a watch on.....so I had to hike down. Slides were a waste of money for us! Food was ok ..Steak was all grissel. The Staff Were The BEST!! The room was on the second floor, stroller no elevator....we survived it. Any Vacation in Mexico is better than 8 days in the Alberta winter!!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    A

    People are friendly and helpful

    Reviewed by Anton on Dec 31, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    We would definitely go back. This was an excellent WestJet recommendation. Not the best resort but well maintained with friendly people.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    c

    We are planning on going back!

    Reviewed by chantel on Dec 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Family of 4 two boys 8 and 5. We loved this vacation. Spent alot of times at the water slides water was a bit cold but didn't seem to bug the kids to much. The activities for the kids was amazing from face painting, feeding the animals, swimming in the cenota, playing ping pong and Foosball. They had two night that we were there with amazing children shows what i rember most is iron man shooting firworks from his arms and spiderman coming down from the ceiling, Disney themed show as well with frozen and toy story. lot of options for food for my picky eaters. really the only negative i have for this resort is the beach is nice and sandy but to swim in the ocean at the resort the bottom is super rocky so really hard to swim there. We plan on going back this winter the kids loved it and i felt super comfortable and safe.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 16615 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fabulous Family Resort!

    Reviewed by JoeGoldston(Asheville, North Carolina) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I, along with my brother, sister in law and niece and nephews (ages 6,4 and,2) spent a week at Sandos Eco Resort and had a great time. We loved having everything we needed right there. We enjoyed the trails through the jungle to get to the beach, pools, restaurants and lobby, never knowing what wildlife we might see along the way--the peacocks displaying their lovely tail fan was spectacular! The resort offered lots of planned activities daily and nightly entertainment, which was nice to do as a family. The kids loved the water park. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Our adult-only room was spacious and comfortable and looked out over the forest so it was very private. Food was good though we didn't get to eat at one of the most popular restaurants because it was fully booked. Loved having a choice of pools and it was great that at least one of them was an adult-only pool so much quieter. Overall, a great resort! We would definitely return.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    incompetant staff

    Reviewed by jammycow(england) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Arrived at hotel, waited forever to check in to be told there is no record of my booking...despite my paperwork proving this. when we finally got a room...its was dirty, had cockroaches in it....staff kept saying they would sort this...took 4 days of our 7 night holiday!...not enough staff...very poor service...staff running around like headless chickens...injured animals everwhere...not quite the eco resort we were expecting...expensive but economy treatment. Would never come back here again.

    Terrific family resort

    Reviewed by MaestroNewJersey(Livingston, New Jersey) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This resort has some great features. The waterpark has three sizes of slides to accommodate different age kids. Since the park is exclusive to hotel guests we never experienced lines. We enjoyed all the wildlife wandering the resort, especially the monkeys. Our room was a family suite with two bedrooms, a large terrace, and a bathroom with two toilets and showers. We had a VIP concierge service with this room, which was very nice - our concierge Ursula was very helpful with recommendations for things to do and made reservations for dinner every night. She gave us a WhatsApp number to contact her anytime and was responsive. Food was good, especially the Riviera and the Steak/Seafood restaurants. There were quite a few options for eating. Also quite a few pools - four plus the waterpark. Lots of seating at pool and beach. Overall a great choice.

    Sandos caracal Eco resort

    Reviewed by 457crystalg(Redvers saskatchewan) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Had a excellent time at sandos caracal Eco resort the food is decent. Service wasn't great but all week we had a terrific waiter named Cesar morales and he knew all of our drinks that we wanted each morning and he would just bring them to us and always checking up on us to see if we needed anything. We really enjoyed the feeling of being in the jungle with all the animals. We enjoyed the ocean but we heard from other reviews that it was rocky so we were prepared with water shoes. The water park was excellent and there was always food and drinks for everyone and lots of water slides for everyone. We rode the segways and the Segway guy estaban will hook you up it is well worth your money! There is a fresh water lagoon beside the lobby for scuba diving and snorkelling which looked very neat but we didn't get to try it! The shows were fantastic the dancers and singers are very talented and beautiful we went to the hero show, the dream girls show and the fire of life show and they were all great! The mini market came into the resort acouple times when we were at the resort and it was nice because then we didn't have to leave the resort at all. There was entertainment every night from fights in the Italian restaurant to fire in the international restaurant very entertaining lol!

    Fun family resort set in jungle on the Riviera Maya

    Reviewed by Kate A(Palo Alto, California) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We have just returned from a 9 day stay at this wonderful resort. It has a bit of everything for a family: -Comfortable, modern and spacious rooms - we shared a new 'Eco family penthouse' which was perfect for us and our 3 children. -A range of good food options, both buffets and a la carte. The 'Templo' and 'Los Lirios' are a must! The best breakfast was in 'Las Mascaras' and our kids loved the Italian 'Toscana' -One of our personal highlights was the wildlife on the resort. We saw spider monkeys, coatis, turtles, pelicans and many fish on a daily basis. -The best pool for us was 'La Tortuga' as it was often quieter than the main pool. -It was great to have so many different facilities. We made use of the kayaks, swimming in the cenote and some of the shows. Many others seemed to enjoy the other organised activities too. Following our stay, we travelled to Merida to take in some of the sights in the Yucatan - highly recommended! We have come home feeling relaxed, with many good memories of our time in Mexico!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX