Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    W

    Will not be going to Secrets hotels anymore.

    Reviewed by Wayne on Dec 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have stayed at Secrets Maroma a few years back so we are comparing to that property. The staff were great and super friendly and was really happy on that front. But the room was another matter. We paid for full swim out and have a pool on the other side of the grass is NOT a swim out. It is just a pool close to the room. Not worth the cost to upgrade. Overall the resort and our room was really starting to showing its age. Our room had a number of small deficiencies. Tv mount broken, sink dripping, curtain torn, screen door not working etc. Nothing major but a so called 5 star should be seeing these obvious problems not allowing a guest to ever experience these problems. Guests should never have to report problems when you pay for a night at this level. The other issue was the seeming downgrade on the overall experience. The food was ok but not fantastic. The bars were stocked with the standard drinks but at this price I would expect some sort of top shelf products and there is none to be found. I was also really taken aback by how much upselling. I went over to the tequila tasting and they wanted to do was sell you a bottle. The new years eve dinner was a $300 upgrade. The house wine was terrible. Every decent bottle was a major upgrade. If I wanted to be pushed into spending money like that I would have just spent the day on the streets of Playa del Carmen. Talking to many of the other guests the comments were very much the same. In the end I feel I paid a 5 star price for a 3.5 star hotel. If I paid a 3.5 star price I would not have written this review.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    W

    Will not be going to Secrets hotels anymore.

    Reviewed by Wayne on Dec 30, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have stayed at Secrets Maroma a few years back so we are comparing to that property. The staff were great and super friendly and was really happy on that front. But the room was another matter. We paid for full swim out and have a pool on the other side of the grass is NOT a swim out. It is just a pool close to the room. Not worth the cost to upgrade. Overall the resort and our room was really starting to showing its age. Our room had a number of small deficiencies. Tv mount broken, sink dripping, curtain torn, screen door not working etc. Nothing major but a so called 5 star should be seeing these obvious problems not allowing a guest to ever experience these problems. Guests should never have to report problems when you pay for a night at this level. The other issue was the seeming downgrade on the overall experience. The food was ok but not fantastic. The bars were stocked with the standard drinks but at this price I would expect some sort of top shelf products and there is none to be found. I was also really taken aback by how much upselling. I went over to the tequila tasting and they wanted to do was sell you a bottle. The new years eve dinner was a $300 upgrade. The house wine was terrible. Every decent bottle was a major upgrade. If I wanted to be pushed into spending money like that I would have just spent the day on the streets of Playa del Carmen. Talking to many of the other guests the comments were very much the same. In the end I feel I paid a 5 star price for a 3.5 star hotel. If I paid a 3.5 star price I would not have written this review.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    We loved it! They met us off the bus with a warm cloth to refresh ourselves and a glass of champagne.

    Reviewed by Christine Boisvert on Jan 10, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    I would definitely go back to this hotel. The staff was very friendly, they took the time to get to know you, remember your name and your favorite drink. they like to have fun while working. the room service was very tasty. The meals in the restaurants were small but filling, you could order more if you need to without judgement. I loved this holiday, the hotel was very nice, the rooms are huge. the decks are large as well. The beach was the best in the area, if you like to swim in the ocean you might want to have water shoes, the further you go out the more coral there is.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    e

    Terrible welcome, no swim outs, bad beach, good resort layout, great restaurants and service staff

    Reviewed by edmmorin on Jan 30, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    We chose this place because Trip Advisor rated it #2 in Puerto Morelos. Our first couple of hours there were the most unwelcoming we have experienced in Cancun. We have been to three other resorts and all were better. We walked into the resort, and stood there for a minute or two waiting for someone to approach us with a champagne glass or water or refreshment. No one did, we saw a row of desks on the right and spotted a person sitting at the last one so we approached him and began our check in. Something you should know: Before going to your room after a long day of travel, a Secrets rep will sit with you offering a breakfast at Maroma. It actually is to sell vacation time, shifty. If you are not interested in listening to the talk, decline emphatically as it chews up a morning. The description of the room was swim out, there was 10 yards of grass from the end of our patio to the pool. Yes a ground floor room, but a swim out? The resort site states garden or pool view as a swim out room...really that is what they consider swim out, shifty. There was a lot of disappointment to start and we were not happy for the first couple of hours waiting for our luggage to arrive in our swim out room. We walked around the resort several times, it is nice. The staff is extremely helpful, resort lay out is good, and dining made up for the early disappointments. As we moved through the week there were only two nights where we had a wait for dinner. Nightly entertainment was, well, entertaining. A cool feature was movies on the side of the resort. It reminded me of a drive in, but in a beach chair. The beach is bad, Azul right beside Secrets did a much better job on the beach. In summary; those first few hours were frustrating and maddening enough to tarnish our experience there. The food was good, service excellent, too bad the servers aren’t welcoming you. My opinion is there are too many quality choices out there to accept the welcome with the swim out and Maroma misdirection.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 13187 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Secrets, where your reservation will be a secret!

    Reviewed by Mindy C() on Jul 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I booked a vacation to this resort back in January. I called once I saw the other reviews about the issues going on. The call center offered me a new resort which I accepted. I received a email confirming this. Fast forward to the week before my travel I called the resort itself to confirm, and they didn't have my info I was directed to the call center, who said everything was taken care of on the back end. They said only managers are given the file with who was being sent from silversands. So I called and asked for a manager, still no record of my reservation. I forwarded the email with my confirmation and was told it was not possible. They were already over booked on the dates I was supposed to show. One phone call alone lasted me 4hrs and 44mins in order to finally be told the call center didn't communicate properly to the resort. After a total of over 12hours in calls most of which I was on hold for, I asked for a full refund. I was told it would take 7 days to get. Well 7 days came and went, I called back and they still had activities such as my couples massage still active, no record of me canceling.... After emailing cooperate headquarters I finally got a refund two weeks later. Worst service ever, they are not staffed to handle a phone call let alone communicate with the resort to arrange accommodations. It was a nightmare like ive never experienced.

    Excellent location

    Reviewed by Dianna T() on Jul 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Room was the best i have ever stayed in and the food top notch, one other thing we all thought was cool was there was a guy who trained falcons who came out every day and had them do tricks and things , you could hold the bird with a glove on too.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Lovely honeymoon!

    Reviewed by knorfolk2018(Sheringham, United Kingdom) on Jul 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Good service, nice rooms, helpful reception staff, several nice pools, good selection of restaurants at night and food. Lunch a bit limited. Evening entertainment okay not the best. Drinks watered down!

    Last Minute Cancellation by Secrets Silversands

    Reviewed by ljg01(Dwight, Illinois) on Jun 27, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Less than 24 hours before we were flying out, we were contacted to be told the resort cancelled our reservation because they were overbooked. We were given two resorts to choose from and neither were resorts we would have ever picked! We received a verbal confirmation on one of the resorts and when arriving in Cancun, we were told to pick from two different resorts. A lot of discussion occurred before we were taken to the resort in which we had received a verbal confirmation. The next day we walked to Secrets Silversands and found out they were nearly empty because they were closing. Someone we met on the beach told us they were told of their stay cancellation 10 days before their planned trip. I think this was handled terribly and an alternate resort was just crammed down our throats since this was so last minute. When I wrote to Secrets Silversands directly I never even received an acknowledgement let alone an apology for our inconvenience and stress.

    Last minute trip

    Reviewed by ssiano77(Fort Worth, Texas) on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We booked a last minute cheap Caribbean DOF and got SS. We were hoping for Akumal or Maroma but made the best of it. The service and food were excellent. The grounds were well maintained. The room we were in needed major updating. We had some rusty chrome in our shower and bathroom but as I said it was last minute and made the best of it. We have been to several other secrets and we knew going into it that it was an older property and that we may be placed here. We also visited the spa and our package included a romantic dinner on the beach and two 80min massages on the beach. There was some miscommunication when we arrived for our massages but it was great. The romantic beach dinner was awesome. A kitty kept coming up to our area and we fed it. Everyone probably does so we did too. We will most likely not return to this property but it served its purpose and we had great weather!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX