The Sands at Grace Bay

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 2307 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Love the Ocean, Beach, and the Sand Summer 2019

    Reviewed by BAK(Manchester Township, New Jersey) on Apr 10, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Please note: Our last stay was pre Covid-19. July 2019. In order for me to post I had to list it as July 2020. Sorry this review is so late. Life has a way of getting in the way of vacation stays. This will be our 6th visit to the Sands. We are an extended family of 5. Daughter, Son-in law, and grandson now age 13. MY husband and I have been to the Island 9 times and we stayed at different places. We always return to the Sands. Our last stay was in July-August 2019. Because of Covid-19 we could not return. I had booked three times and each one was cancelled. We did manage to go to Aruba and there were restrictions in place there too, but they let us in and we had a wonderful time at the Hilton, which we stayed at several times before. Different type of vacation. Hotel vs Condo. We arrived at the Sands and they showed us too our room in Building 1 first floor 2 bed /2 bath with a long view of the ocean. This was not what I paid for. I requested a 2 bed/2 bath first floor closer to the ocean. Barbara at the front desk agreed to move us the next day. The reason for this request was at the time my husband was 74 (now 76) and I was 70 (now 72). He had two knee replacements and I have some mobility problems and the walk to the pool, beach and restaurant was long to do all day long. Changing rooms was a pain but it was so worth it. I felt as returning guests we should have been given some consideration for the above and the room I had booked. Naturally I returned to the desk the next morning and after watching Barbara input the change order in their computer the afternoon before, they told me there was no reference tho this. I was clam and was not going to stay in the original room. They told us to go enjoy the grounds and when a room was available they would let us know around 4 PM. I went back at that time and after a few minutes discussion with the higher ups a room was given too us. A BIG THANKS too Barbara at the front desk. It was exactly where I wanted it to be, right behind Hemmingways. I could see the pools , beach, etc. and we could always return and enjoy our patio without the long walk back. Needless to say our trip after that was wonderful.The staff was very nice and no problems with housekeeping. Everything was done on time. Beach staff was accommodating and bar staff at the beach and near the pools was spot on. I do hope I receive my requested room and that they note we are returning guest. We are so looking forward to our return trip to the Sands the end of July beginning of August. We will all be fully vaccinated by mid May and still follow safety measures as they are in place. I have only one complaint complaint about the 2 bed/ 2 bedrooms, there is only one safe in the main bedroom and with passports etc. it gets very crowed. Also the other family has to come into our room to put things away. Yes, we are family, but other places we have stayed in, both bedrooms offer a safe. I am so looking forward to our stay this year. We have made many friends at "Hemmingways" and so looking forward too seeing them again. Wishing all of you a safe and enjoyable vacation. BAK, NJ USA

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Our stay at The Sands was good, neither bad nor excellent.

    Reviewed by 726sallyh(Fontana, California) on Apr 10, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We definitely enjoyed some aspects of The Sands but there are a few things that could be improved for sure. The positives; great people, beautiful grounds and beach, great food at Hemingway's, not over populated, having a veranda in the room was a plus and within walking distance to shopping and other resturants to try. Would like to empathize on how attentive Ross was and our housekeeper as well as some ladies at the resturant. The negatives; variable service at Hemingway's (especially when transitioning from lunch to dinner), pretty run down grounds (our bathroom actually overflowed one time), pools don't seem to have a filtration system, no music in the pool areas, the rules set for towels and such were only followed some of the time and having just a single resturant/ bar on the grounds didn't make for much selection. All in all, we enjoyed our stay but if we come back to the Turks, we may end up trying somewhere different. If you like smaller and quieter resorts this is definitely a place for you.

    Beautiful but aging property and questionable decision making

    Reviewed by rs496(Brooklyn Park, Minnesota) on Apr 04, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I am a longtime guest of The Sands. The location is ideal and the beach is *amazing*. The property, however, is aging and is in need of maintenance. The only building which was available at our booking was building 1 which is an ocean view. Along with the great view comes a premium price. I understand that. The room, however, is badly in need of maintenance and upgrades. Most of the other rooms in the resort have been upgraded with beautiful travertine floor tiles. For some reason, our room had the old worn white tiles with stained grout. It looks really tacky for a quality resort. The ceiling fans are in rough shape too. If they are run at any speed higher than low, you will hear constant clunking as the fan shakes. Same thing with the exhaust fan in the bathroom. As soon as you turn it on, it sounds like a jet engine ready for takeoff. The sliding door track was also broken and the patio door does not open or close smoothly. The toilet also appears to be original to the resort and barely flushes. The kitchenette sink sprays water when the faucet is opened. The resort seems to have a serious shortage of linens. If your room is not one of the first rooms to be visited by housekeeping, you will not get 2 bath towels, 2 wash clothes, 2 hand towels, and a kitchen towel. When you call the help line on the phone, they take note of your shortage but it can take several hours for your linens to be delivered. The same thing occurred at the beach towel hut - they were out of towels multiple times and said it would be a while before they received more. One of the reasons we keep returning to The Sands is due to the terrific beach and the complimentary water sports. However, during our last two stays, management will regularly fly the red flag on the beach - thereby banning use of the water sports equipment for the day. It's frustrating because at the same time, the surrounding resorts are not considering the conditions to be worthy of red flag conditions and you will see their guests enjoying the sailboats, kayaks, and paddle boards. The conditions are exactly the same as next door but it almost seems that The Sands want to limit the guests enjoyment of these fun activities. Another issue is the heated pool. Only once during our stay has the pool been warm. They seem to either turn the temperature way down or turn off the heater as the pool is consistently cold. Very disappointing when ocean conditions are not favorable for swimming. To the Sands benefit, the staff are all polite and attentive. When walking the grounds, everyone will say hello. They have fixed the hot tub of which the jet circulation pump had been broken the past two years. We've stayed at multiple properties in the TCI and The Sands is one of our favorites. It's my hope that management can pay attention to the guest experience and make our vacations even better.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    The most beautiful place I have ever visited!!

    Reviewed by lgroech() on Apr 03, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had the best time at the Sands at Grace Bay on Turks and Caicos. The staff was very friendly. The accommodations were perfect for our group. Beautiful grounds. Easy access to the pool and beach. Beach staff was very helpful and The restaurant had excellent food in the prettiest setting. I have been on many island trips and none have been this nice and easy to get to. There are lots of fun activities: boat trips, snorkeling, kayaking, shopping, walking, paddle boards, iguana island, hidden beaches and amazing food. You can even visit the pot cake rescue in town and volunteer to walk/socialize a puppy for a couple of hours. ?? Turks and Caicos is so beautiful, the water is beyond belief!! I highly recommend this resort!!

    perfect vacation Great resort

    Reviewed by nanapat8669(Oxford, Massachusetts) on Mar 25, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed in building 4 a 2 bedroom oceanfront. The condo was excellent and well maintained , very clean. The grounds were beautiful and the pools were great .But there are two reasons to stay here...... the beach is fantastic can be compared to anywhere in the world and the staff was very accommodating especially RUSS at the pool and beach. He goes above and beyond to accommodate everyone, He is truly a valuable asset to the resort. He made it a 5 star stay. We will definitely return. P.S. food is fantastic at Hemingway's Restaurant on site.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5