Allegro Palma Real

2.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 2 and 3 stars. 2 star - Budget accommodation with limited facilities and services. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    D

    Great hotel, great amenities, great golf!

    Reviewed by DC on Jan 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel services were great. Staff were courteous and accommodating. Had fun in their nightly entertainment. Golf included is a huge bonus! Will go back in a heartbeat.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    Stay far, far away.

    Reviewed by Susan on Dec 26, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: September 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The only good thing is the location. We stayed there 3 years ago and it wasn't bad. This time it was horrible. We moved to a second room after 2 days and to a new resort after 4 days. 1st room the toilet didn't work and many other issues. 2nd room the safe was broken, no lock on patio door, no light bulbs in bedside lamps or in the hallway. We were both sick for the 4 days we stayed there. Nobody at the resort cares about anything. Once we moved our vacation was so much better. Westjet was most helpful but avoid this resort at all costs.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    By far the worst resort we have ever stayed at in 40 years of travel and we never do 5 star.

    Reviewed by Clayzie on Dec 24, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    the staff was good for the most part, the food was terrible. They had no beer 9 of the 21 days we were there and no Vodka more days than that. The water was turned off more than once in our building and no one could tell us when it would come back on. The worst resort we have ever stayed at.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    D

    Just hanging in there with regular service

    Reviewed by Dangermanmi6 on Apr 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Nice looking hotel at the far end of the peninsula. This hotel suffers from the usual Cuban problems in particular fountains not working, smoking allowed everywhere, and multiple equipment failures. Check in was a disaster of near biblical proportions, but check out was smooth as silk. Majority of the staff met or exceeded the standards the ones that didn't could be found in two locations; Lobby bar and Racket Club I'd normally name and shame but I feel that it is a management problem. Management has to be more hands on, service improved in the Main Buffet when Chef and Management were present and seen. For the beach all the normal praises apply to Varadero beaches with the added bonus that this section of the beach is quite quiet in comparison to other sections. Food the usual Cuban fare . Rooms a bit tired but serviceable. My rating on a scale of 1 to 10 I give it a 5 which is Read the reviews and make your own mind up.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Love the Palma! Definitely go back, feels just like home!

    Reviewed by Ms.Palmaxoxo on Apr 27, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I've been too Cuba twice, both times at Palma Real. Definitely go back again, loved this place. Perfect location, walking distance to; tons of shops, local bars, the beach is about a 5 minute walk! Food is alright, drinks are perfect, swim up bar is definitely the highlight, with the pool party everyday! Feels just like home when I'm here and very safe place! Also has Havana Club built in and free admission if staying here! Crazy fun place, this resort is awesome! Staff are very friendly too!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    b

    it was good before but the improvements have made it even better!!

    Reviewed by barb legere on Jun 28, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2016

    Trip Type: Single

    this is my second time. they are working hard to improve the look of the hotel i found it it is a friendly safe place to visit. the food is good always something to eat. a beautiful beach across the street and lotos of chance for eating out and shopping the staff are wonderful all you do is ask for what you want and they get it can hardly wait to go back!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Very disappointed in our all inclusive hotel. No complaints with reference to our flight experience.

    Reviewed by Calgary on Feb 27, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    location of this hotel was excellent. Beach was easy to access--the weather during our stay was very windy and cool but that is mother nature. Pool chairs adequate. Areas around the pools were clean.Our travels are extensive and we have never wrote a negative report on any of the hotels we have stayed at because the positives always seem to balance the negatives. This hotel was a very different experience.The elevator for our building did not work for the complete stay so stairs were the only option. The maintenance of ALL the buildings was VERY poor to the point of safety concerns. Our door handle for our room came off when we closed our door.Food -quality, presentation, temperature issues ie. cold when it should be warm and warm when it should be cold , variety, freshness---all major issues. The reserve restaurants equally of poor quality. I have to admit the coffee at the machines was good. Used bottled water, avoided ice, avoided raw vegetable hard to clean type etc. but both of us got sick by the end of our stay. Do NOT recommend this hotel unless it undergoes some major changes especially the maintenance of the buildings and food delivery systems. The Westjet representative was available as posted and gave out very good information. Airport transport very good.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    D

    Very disappointing stay at this resort!!!

    Reviewed by Derek Parsons on Feb 03, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We booked a two week all inclusive with west jet vacation in Jan 2016. Overall it was very disappointing. First we only had hot water 5 out of 13 days. Then we had to endure mold on the ceiling of our bathroom which they said they had nothing better when we tried to change rooms. As non-smokers we were unaware it was a complete smoke free area except for the dining areas so we could not enjoy all the venues that the resort offered, for example any of the bar areas where they had live music were smoke areas. Even the food was cold by the time you got through the line up as they did not have a means of keeping it warm/hot. They couldn't offer as much as an iron and you had to pay extra for a safe in your room. I would definitely not recommend this resort to family or friends...and very unlikely to book a vacation with west jet vacations as a result of this experience.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    L

    I enjoyed my stay and I would recommend this hotel.

    Reviewed by Louise Sears on Nov 05, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Friends

    The hotel had an inviting atmosphere and was clean. Nice hotel but is not right on the beach, but it wasn't very far to walk to it. The staff was amazing and accommodating. Very friendly. The food was good and plenty to eat. Yes I would go back to this hotel. The Manager was very friendly.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3087 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great location

    Reviewed by Laura W() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is very close to everything downtown and great clubs and dancing nearby. The hotel itself needs some work but the people are amazing. Moises is a gentleman that works at the bar in building 1. He was very kind to many people and assists everyone in a kind and pleasant way. I've been to this hotel at least six times and I'm going back in September. I hope to see Moises and all of the staff I've come to care for over the years!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    palma real

    Reviewed by defdef49(Hamilton, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I got the room that I requested, it was clean and overlooked the pool, the food is typical cuba hotel food but I didn't lose any weight, the customer service people in building one were very helpful when my friends wanted to move rooms into building 1 [thank you Ruly and Yamy]. The palma real is near all the night life in Varadero[beatles, calle 62 and Havana club]

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-3

    Really really bad...

    Reviewed by davizlizana(Murcia, Spain) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I came here with my family, and its such a bad hotel. Service, food, rooms, communal areas... Swimming pool dirty, no cleaning, people working in there look like hate their job... Never ever coming again, pls don´t go. Choose another hotel in the area.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-1

    Unbeliable that this hotel is still open...

    Reviewed by mrlizana(Murcia, Spain) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I really can´t understand how a hotel like this can still be open up. I have just come from the trip, and I can ensure you that this is the worst hotel I´ve never been to in my 30 years travelling. First of all, I want to stand out that pictures shown in this web gives you an impression that is VERY different to reality, it looks like the ideal hotel in Varadero but for sure its a long way from reality. I begin with all the stuff (with photos): We found out that pillows had mold inside, every day there was something disgusting somewhere at the hotel, glasses with beer in the stairs (this was the place where I saw most drunk people by the way), vomit in the floor during days, doors that where impossible to open, neither the elevators nor the public bathrooms were able to use...and the list go on. Its embarassing that a corporation like Barcelo allows something like this. I can only say here that I would never recommend this hotel, and that if you visit Allegro Palma Real youll feel so dissapointed or even offended. Its trash.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Will spend more time researching hotels next time

    Reviewed by addictedtotravelUk(UK) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Oh dear. If you want a cheap holiday, endless supplies of booze, alcohol fuelled pool entertainment and aren’t intending on spending much time in your room, this might just be the place for the place for you. Think of a hotel in Magaluf or Ayia Napa in the 1990s and you’ve got Palma Real Hotel. We really had to grin and bear it. It wasn’t until the last day that we were told all beach activities were free and there was a cocktail bar that was part of the hotel on the beach we could use. Might have helped if we were given a welcome letter or there was some info in our room. The service at reception is ridiculously slow and inefficient. The lady working in client relations is absolutely lovely and our favourite member of staff. The food at breakfast/dinner was fine and there were some good options (if you’re not vegetarian) and service was fast. Although the fruit was bad (some of it was fizzy), the bread was very good. The food in the snack bar was often inedible.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX