Meliá Marina Varadero

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    R

    Our second time back at this hotel at the "Level" and we were even more impressed with service!

    Reviewed by Ringo on Feb 04, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    We stayed at the "Level" and the service, food and accommodations were the very best. Everyone went beyond their abilities to accommodate the most basic and complex request for us.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Avoid - Won't forget that smell...

    Reviewed by Darryl M on Jan 12, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Friendly and accomodating staff in a somewhat dated hotel beginning to show it's age. The most disapointing elements were the inconsistency with the meals (particularly the buffets), the sanitation (constant terribile sewage smells) and the hotlel was constantly running out of items from beer to toilet paper to hamburger buns. Overall a disaponting stay for the 6 of us that stayed in two rooms 12/30/18 - 01/06/19. Would not recomend and certainly nowhere near the 4.5* rating that WJ puts on this property. 5/6 of the people in our party left with upset stomachs. The beach, pool area and facilities were all decent but the hotel seemed to really be struggling to keep guests happy and the guests we spoke to seemed to have a similar experience.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    ON RETOURNE N IMPORTE QUAND

    Reviewed by DPAQUIN on Mar 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    BELLE ENDROIT CLIENTELE VARIE PAS DE FETARD BELLE PLAGE DE TOUS POUR TOUS LES GOUTS

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    s

    We don’t recommend this resort to anybody.

    Reviewed by sally D. on Jan 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I stayed at that hotel last November for 10 days. We travel often to various countries but this was our worst experience ever! First, we booked a suite room, but it turns out to be really far from the lobby, gym and other activities. The apartment was full of mosquitoes! We spent the first hours upon our arrival to kill them thinking that we will get rid of them but they keep showing up all night. We contacted the clientele service management to change the room but they told us that the hotel was full and they will have the room sprayed with pesticide the next day. In fact, the hotel wasn’t full as we found out later they had shut off blocks of buildings to safe on electricity. We didn’t sleep well the first night as we were bitten all night. The following day, we waited outside the room all afternoon to avoid the pesticide smell. They were able to kill them that afternoon but the mosquitoes got back in the room that night and kept us up again. As well, we found a big cockroach in the bathroom. I never saw that size before. In the morning, we insisted to talk to a manager and she accepted to give us another room in the main building. Which was a small simple classic room with obstructed view of the side of the resort. She refused to compensate us for the difference of price between the 2 accommodations. But we were relieved to not deal anymore with the mosquito issue.The restaurants were another issue that I have to bring up. The food at the buffet was uneatable, very bland, no flavor at all and almost the same dishes every night. The food at the restaurant were items that was available in the buffet! In the morning to get fresh cooked eggs or crepes you have to wait in line forever as they only have one person with a little pan in charge of cooking them. The room service is very poor and we had to call them every day to get floor towel and small towel, as they don’t replace them automatically. The beach area was small and far from the hotel.You ha

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    n

    I had a wonderful vacations

    Reviewed by nick on Oct 18, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great hotel to relax, the food was really good, in special the desserts, really beautiful view from the room and the most important a wonderful staff, I wanna thank you all of you in special the staff of the buffet and the greatest, the bellman michel, who did a great job and help me up with directions and very friendly

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    I

    Great value in the resort!

    Reviewed by IW on Aug 05, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Located in the very end of the peninsula with some fantastic views with the Marina and the Bay. The staff were wonderful. There is lots to do on the resort and has nearby shopping and other dining options nearby. Plenty of activities but does get noisy at night as all the rooms face the Marina and the nightly entertainment is just right outside.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    P

    Cancunesque, but that's not a bad thing!

    Reviewed by Phil C on Aug 01, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This hotel may represent the new wave in Cuba as it feels a lot more like you are in Cancun than Varadero, but that's not a knock. Despite the sleek decor and upscale atmosphere their staff consistently display that famous Cuban hospitality as they go above and beyond to make you feel at ease. There's a lot to like about this resort. The food is better than any of the other hotels I've stayed at in Cuba. We particularly enjoyed the Oriental restaurant as the sushi and appetizers were actually really tasty and a lot more authentic than I'm used to for Cuba. The buffet has a wide selection and switches up regularly. We were very impressed with the entertainment staff as the nightly shows were top notch. Enjoyed the pool layout as the pool with the swim up bar has a lively atmosphere and the other pool is more relaxing plus there's plenty of loungers near both. I was a little apprehensive prior to arriving at the hotel about it not being directly on the beach, but my concerns were quickly alleviated as it's only a few min stroll from the pool area to the beach and they also offer golf cart service if needed. The beach is great even despite being near the end of the peninsula and they have lots of palapas plus they offer bar service only a few steps away. The rooms are modern and comfortable and the rain shower and water closet are nice features. They don't offer a steam iron which I thought was bizarre, but apparently not that uncommon. Depending on what floor you're on the views of the marina and ocean can be quite spectacular, definitely request a higher floor if you can! Another definite plus for staying at this hotel is that it's always the first stop after coming back from excursions.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    Large rooms with huge walk in showers! Lively atmosphere in the evening

    Reviewed by Colleen on Jul 31, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    Beautiful resort overlooking the large Marina with shops surrounding the boardwalk area. The rooms were very nice with jetted tubs and walk in showers which could fit at least 2 people if you wanted. Food was fairly good and the staff were attentive if you can catch their attention as very busy lobby and buffet areas of the resort. Entertainment in the lobby and outside along the boardwalk was wonderful except when one day it started in early afternoon and kept going until late at night. If you have a little one to take a nap or even yourself it was difficult that day as music was very loud. Overall a great resort and located outside of the busy downtown Varadero area at the end of the strip of hotels.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    j

    great hotel.

    Reviewed by jstevens on Jul 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    This is a large resort with many activities. The only down side is the beach is across the pedway about 300m away from the hotel. They do however have golf carts that will travel you back and forth if you wish. The rooms were large even for a standard size. clean, friendly staff. the hotel is about 15 minutes away from downtown varadero. We asked for extra pillows and was told they just had a few around the hotel and just had 1 left but the maid came the next day to bring another. the only thing to watch for during the rainy season is there's no windows down thehallways and the water tends to pool around,but they were quickly cleaning them up in the morning.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    M

    Nice hotel with great views of the ocean.

    Reviewed by MP on Jul 27, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    I enjoyed my stay at the Melia Marina Varadero. The staff was great, the food was tasty and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4339 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Awesome property

    Reviewed by Thechurchill12(London, United Kingdom) on Jul 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel was fantastic. Service at the level was top, thanks guys for the reservations on a la carte restaurants, the spa free pass, great internet, and all the friendliness I have found. I consider the hotel my second home and I hope to find you all next october. Thanks to my Cuban family

    Fantastic Stay and the people are great

    Reviewed by Iancampbell123() on Jul 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and our two kids (not so little anymore 21, and 23) but last trip on mom and dad visited the hotel in February. The hotel was fantastic and I had the pleasure of meeting up with the two most wonderful ladies that work at the hotel, Yeinsy Jimenez Perez and Dianys Diaz Almeida. Both ladies were instrumental in making our stay great and also in making arrangements to help us donate items to a local orphanage, clinic and school. I will enjoy going back here and meeting my friends again and enjoying Cuba and its hospitable people and the great atmosphere of Marian Varadero. The nightly dancing was great. Oh ya, and I cant forget our great chambermaid here name escapes me now but I sure hope her kids enjoy the toys. Thank you to all the Hotel Staff.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing holiday

    Reviewed by Joel T() on Jul 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Really good experience on this hotel, the food was so nice, the service was really good, the room beautiful. Amazing customer service for Guillermo Sastre Ballester. Was a paradis, I will be back soon.

    Lovely vacation days!!!

    Reviewed by CubanaCM() on Jul 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Once more at The Level Meliá Marina Varadero! Me and my friends are very pleased about the service that The Level team provided to us! Thanks Arasay & Team, you're doin' great! Perfect views in our rooms, quiet sunny afternoons, relax 100 percent, and top-kind service!! We'll definitely return for our next vacations!!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    A Wonderful and Memorable 12 Day Vacation

    Reviewed by montrealer2011(Montreal, Canada) on Jun 30, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We just came back a few days ago from a wonderful and memorable 12 day vacation in Varadero, Cuba. This was our BEST vacation so far since coming to CUBA for our 8th time. The place is very HUGE and modern as this RESORT is only 6 years old. The lobby is very spacious, airy and nice to relax there with a breeze from the entrance to the back. It has a terrace that overlooks the MARINA. What a sight it is. The rooms were super clean and comfortable. Our room 1555 on the 5th floor had a beautiful view of the pool and ocean. The a la carte Restaurants were beautiful as the service and the food were excellent. The main dining room for the BUFFET was extra BIG. It had so many choices of food in which there was always something that you would definitely like to eat. Guaranteed. The pools were extra clean and very big. The grounds were very clean and well maintained. The beach is within walking distance just 5 minutes away or if you prefer not to walk, there is a shuttle cart that brings you there and it comes very often. This service is one of the BEST thing that the hotel offers. As for the beach, it's just beautiful and clean with many chairs and umbrellas that are available. . The nightly entertainment is very good with different shows every night. The ACQUA show at night is a must to see. Just top of the line. It was #1 to me. As for the STAFF, they are the best with always a SMILE and are very friendly in helping you when you need info. They also have an exchange currency office. Another thing is the beautiful Boardwalk that they have just next to a stunning Marina. It’s an enjoyable stroll to do at night. There are many stores and restaurants along the way. They also have 8 Bowling allies if you like to bowl. My CONGRATULATIONS goes out to the Management who will help you if you have a problem, the reception people at the front desk always there with a smile in helping with info, the cleaning room maids, people working at the bar especially Sol, the servers of the restaurants with fast service, the entertainment people doing their best to entertain you at night, the animation people morning and afternoon especially José who was the Best, and ALL the others for a work well done. Cheers to them.. I would definitely go back and also recommend others to try it out as you won’t regret it. Trust me.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX