Ocean Vista Azul

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    C

    We enjoyed our family vacation here !!

    Reviewed by Celestino7703 on Mar 27, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    We just got back from our vacation to Varadero Cuba at Ocean Vista Mar 21 to 26. I searched this resort based on cleanliness of rooms and location. We were impressed!!! The front desk Rachel was very helpful in accommodating our rooms together for my family, she helped out a lot!!!! The rooms were very clean, bathrooms were very nice a phone in the washroom which was a bonus :), no bugs whatsoever. These rooms were the best I have experienced in Cuba being there a few times already. Thanks to Yainovys who was our Chambermaid, she was very friendly :) The beach is small in one section and split to another larger one on the other side, but that didn't effect much as many chairs were available. The pool was nice, snack bar food was great and pool bar staff were nice too! This resort is easy to get around. A very special thank you to David Cortina and Jessica Garcia at the Buffet restaurant, they made our trip extra special. Always smiling and always at our table if we needed anything. My birthday was March 25 and they gave me a nice surprise birthday sign and delicious cake with singing in the mix :) That birthday surprise I will never forget that surprise was the bonus of our trip!! :) Abel who brought our luggage to our room was also very helpful!! I highly recommend this resort and hope to be back next year!!! Thanks again to everyone at Ocean Vista Azul. A great hotel indeed!! :) Celestino

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    I loved my stay and the bellmen helpped me with my bags from shopping to when I left.

    Reviewed by Donna on Jan 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    I would go back to this hotel the staff was very friendly and very helpful. There were great selection of food and the room was very clean.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    K

    WILL NOT RETURN!

    Reviewed by Karen C. on Jan 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We booked a 10 day stay and ended up coming back after 3 days. Although the resort was clean, the food was disgusting (entire cows on a grill-including head, feet, tail), blood pudding sausage balls, awful poached eggs, a "not Italian" Italian restaurant, very limited bar, unreliable restaurant hours, etc. We have traveled extensively and this is NOT a 4 1/2 or 5-star resort. Westjet needs to reconsider this selection.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    K

    Not worth the trip. A true disappointment for a Westjet vacation.

    Reviewed by Karen C. on Dec 28, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We were scheduled to stay for 10 days and returned home after 3. We've traveled extensively and never experienced such disgusting food and rude staff (with exception of the room maids). Although we appreciate the fact we were in another country and culture, some things are simply unacceptable. Also, an all-inclusive should have a wide range of alcohol and not require you to be a privilege member to get it. Not a chance we'll go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    K

    Stayed for our 40th wedding anniversary, treated to wonderful breakfast in our room with a beautiful cake & wine

    Reviewed by Kurian on Sep 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Staff was wonderful will return

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3457 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing

    Reviewed by 4589p() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hello friends,my name is Ivana from Canada,I wanna write a review about that beautiful hotel and great people. I know that’s you are Cuban,for that reason you are doing very wet your job.i love everything from there.the most important this is having a good time and we got that. I wanna say hello to the entertainer team, special Danny,Felix,Miguel.thanks Danny you are great

    Good Rooms - Nice Beach - Friendly Staff - Poor Food and other annoyances.

    Reviewed by jaygrant123(Canada) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I was a bit torn with this review because the resort has a lot of good points but they seem to really fail on the food. I know Cuba has had food issues for many years but the cost of this resort was about 20% more than most similar ones so I had high hopes for the food and was really let down. It was a lot of little things, like only cheese pizza and it was cold, tough chicken, 40 minute waits at the pool side burger place, dirty tables, no onion or green pepper for the entire week, melted ice cream, bland tasting meals in the a la carte restaurants, no pork for the grill, no shrimp for the grill, raw bacon and I could go on and on. It seemed like 80%+ of the people staying that week were Cuban, most of the rest were French Canadians. They had horrible muzak playing all the time which was pop and classic rock songs done by the same singer in a 1930's style, totally butchering the songs. There was no live entertainment in the lobby on Sat. and Sun. evening for some reason. They are adding sand to their beach, so it was closed for most of our stay. Cell service is very spotted but wifi worked well. Most days there was no clean beach towels to trade in. You know, just a lot of small things that added up to a feeling of disappointment in general. I have traveled to Cuba about a dozen times over the past 15 years, so my expectations were not high. It just seemed like they set a really low bar for a newer resort that charges a premium.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    INCONSISTENT

    Reviewed by AnnaKG13(Oakville, Canada) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Came to Varadero for a girls trip in August 2019. The resort is beautiful however they could improve as there are several inconsistencies. The room, for the most part was clean, smelled a bit musty, but that is to be expected in a hot humid environment. Next time I will bring an air freshener. We stayed in building five on the main floor, the air conditioner worked very well, the maid was less than impressed to be there and was quite miserable even though we left her daily tips and gifts. I went two days without a top sheet before I had to request one, and we ran out of toilet paper that was not replaced again and had to request it from the desk. The main beach should have a bar on the beach not at the top of the stairs. The other smaller beach was much nicer despite the huge tube coming out of the water. It wasn’t until the second last day that they decided to put up some umbrellas and set out some chairs. I have to say the beach was one of the most beautiful beaches I’ve ever seen. The grounds of the resort were neat and tidy but I did see a lot of empty plates just strewn about and a lot of dirty floors. The pools are beautiful, but I felt that they were murky. I guess they could use a little more chlorine. Clean towels were a huge issue. Even though in the room it tells you to put your dirty towels in the shower if you want them replaced, they never replaced them. They would take the dirty ones but not leave you clean ones again until you requested them. There are no clean beach towels for days, and I’ve been to resorts where you can change your beach towels two or three times a day. Some of us actually had dirty beachtowels left for us which smelled horribly. These are all small issues that can be rectified quite easily if the management just paid better attention. The food isn’t that bad. None of us starved. A great tip is to visit the snack bar by the beach for their lunch buffet. The staff at that buffet is lovely, attentive, and the buffet food was much better than the main buffet. Shout out to Katia and Sherley, such sweet girls! Eric the chair and umbrella guy was amazing too!! With all this said, I think I would give this resort another chance. It was a nice vacation and again the beach is absolutely stunning.

    Incredible

    Reviewed by Campran28() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hello worker from Ocean vista. My name is Jennifer. I was Ocean with my husband for a week,i just want to say that it was great,I can’t wait for coming back.i miss all of you guys. I hope that you keep working like this. Especial greeting for Danny,animator.thanks for all

    Great Resort

    Reviewed by Dims01() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Best resort I’ve been to in Cuba. Great food, drinks and gym onsite. Beach was great, 2 locations to access the sand and water. Enjoyed the entertainment, there was a new show every day, Dayana and Madia were standout performers.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX